Autopsy Cats lose to GWS by 4 points

Crowd of 28K on the weekend. Only once has the crowd gone above 33K since the re-opening, and that was 39K against the Saints R1 last year. With 90K members, would've thought we'd be getting higher crowds.
Yep its piss poor. If this was the outcome you have to wonder why bother spending the money.
It should be full. Geelong members travel to Melbourne but I'm not sure the reverse happens all that much.

Yep its piss poor. If this was the outcome you have to wonder why bother spending the money.
It should be full. Geelong members travel to Melbourne but I'm not sure the reverse happens all that much.

Do we know how many members live in Geelong and surrounding. Would be interested to find that out.

I'm due to go down to KP. Used to go every game many years ago.

Interested on opinions of what the best scheduling is for our KP games too
For me it's Day or Twilight but I'm in Melbourne

I'm not a fan of day games at KP personally as a Melbournian. It always feels like it takes up your entire day coming down for an afternoon game, whereas night games I always feel like less of my schedule is being eaten into. Also the sun has a more adverse effect on the viewing experience at KP than it does it at other grounds for some reason.

Plenty of excuses yesterday
Mothers Day, opposition...

Last year Hocking said that the club was pushing for 4:35pm Saturday as their preferred time slot for KP games and we played 3 of our home matches in that slot - GWS, Hawthorn & Adelaide

So far this year we've had no games scheduled in that time slot

I think reasoning for that is that it's late enough on a Saturday to allow for morning sports attendance, but still an early enough finish in the evening that those traveling any type of distance - Ballarat region, Melbourne or other side of Melbourne etc, would still be able to get home at a reasonable time

The early Saturday time slot (like we had in round 1), is one we've long struggled for really strong crowds due to local football & netball etc - think that's why we don't really like the 1:20pm start and instead have looked to push that out to 4:35pm

Crowd of 28K on the weekend. Only once has the crowd gone above 33K since the re-opening, and that was 39K against the Saints R1 last year. With 90K members, would've thought we'd be getting higher crowds.

The novelty of the stadium upgrade seemingly wore off for people after basically one game. The immediate drop-off was pretty disappointing, I would have expected the honeymoon period to last longer than that.

Lot of its just poor scheduling for people that have trips of over an hour, cant imagine we get a great crowd next Thursday Night either.

Thursday night is terrible scheduling outside of school holidays especially

Last year Hocking said that the club was pushing for 4:35pm Saturday as their preferred time slot for KP games and we played 3 of our home matches in that slot - GWS, Hawthorn & Adelaide

So far this year we've had no games scheduled in that time slot

I think reasoning for that is that it's late enough on a Saturday to allow for morning sports attendance, but still an early enough finish in the evening that those traveling any type of distance - Ballarat region, Melbourne or other side of Melbourne etc, would still be able to get him at a reasonable time

The early Saturday time slot (like we had in round 1), is one we've long struggled for really strong crowds due to local football & netball - think that's why we don't really like the 1:20pm start and instead have looked to push that out to 4:35pm
Must admit the Hawks game in the twilight spot was a great spectacle
That 4.35 spot could really work for us

However we are a pretty high demand team for FTA games too

We have 80000+ members. The timeslot stuff is a cop out for a 40k capacity stadium.
It should be at least 35k full every game.

We have 80000+ members. The timeslot stuff is a cop out for a 40k capacity stadium.
It should be at least 35k full every game.
Were we ever turning fans/members away pre redevelopment though?

30-32k is probably a decent benchmark for a Geelong game.

The upgrade was badly needed and the venue also provides opportunities outside football for one of the biggest growth areas in the country

There was tons of room in standing on Sunday, okay interstate team oppo, but they seem to be having trouble filling the Selwood stand as well. They had a promo earlier this year to fill seats only there, sort of buy one get one.

The car park has been disgraceful gridlock forever, and they pass the buck to council who won't hire staff for extra entry/exit. Or open extra gates to get out in the dark. One person on the entry gate, and she was busy chatting to her mother and baby for five minutes while everyone waited. Disability parking has been a free for all for years, despite complaints, and more passing the blame from one entity to the other.
Finally this week, they provided a mini cart to drive people 500 mts to the entry, for the wheelchairs they won't even open the gate, push it over grass. So many older people just refuse to go, ask at any bowling club, and that is a combination of factors including late games, and being technology challenged and the Ticketmaster rorts. Our Western District cohort is also vanishing fast, due to game times. Then it's $30 GA for a young student, standing room only, so not likely to attract the youngsters for seats.

Thursday night is terrible scheduling outside of school holidays especially

Must admit the Hawks game in the twilight spot was a great spectacle
That 4.35 spot could really work for us

However we are a pretty high demand team for FTA games too

All I've heard for years is how Geelong fans find it difficult to get to Melb for a Fri night game.

There surely can't be an excuse for night games in Geelong, that's rubbish.

Im not sure what the internet is like now but when I went in round 1, I basically couldn’t use my phone for the entire time I was in the ground. Just no reception.
It’s 2025 ffs.
Can’t use cash (although this is probably the same for all stadiums and venues as it’s becoming more frequent)

It’s incredibly annoying. Haven’t been back since.

Not twilight on a Sunday
Not Friday night.
What about 2pm Saturday or early Sunday afternoon?
We're also 110 minutes from Geelong

Yeh and we had scarlett, ablett and enright. all generational players in their positions.
The danger comment still stands
Well, not Ablett for most of it. Anyway Danger's an out and out champion of course. We can all agree on that. He made a very good choice to join an incredibly successful club, more than being the sole transformational force behind its success.

FWIW i went with the Ball&Chain.
It was a hurried scrambled affair coz of it being Mother's day.
2 of my daughters & partners gave it a miss due to commitments on the day... yes Mother's day.
The 4 in front of us were MIA due to Mother's Day commitments in Melb whilst 6-8 others that sit around us were the same as they were heading to country locations for festivities with family.
Mother's Day afternoon was a graveyard slot from when it was announced.
IMO The day. Will always cost u a quarter of folk that normally go.
I was surprised that it was 28,000 patrons as the opposition would've been lucky to have 500 that turned up.
Best time for going to the footy in G Town is Saturday night or Sunday arvo for me.
Friday's are an absolute shitshow and Saturday arvo are not great either as they are set aside for local sports especially those with kids.
I reckon we as a club try and find a niché in the television market and slot our games into the Sunday 1-2pm spot especially in the heart of winter.

Im not sure what the internet is like now but when I went in round 1, I basically couldn’t use my phone for the entire time I was in the ground. Just no reception.
It’s 2025 ffs.
Can’t use cash (although this is probably the same for all stadiums and venues as it’s becoming more frequent)

It’s incredibly annoying. Haven’t been back since.
Not much better.... Most annoying part of going there IMO.

There are lots of valid reasons for the lowish crowds we seem to be getting, such as:

• Expensive to get a seat.
  • Older members with reserved seats not going when it starts getting cold.
  • Distance being inconvenient for night Thu / Fri night games in particular.
  • Ingress issues (app membership still can be clunky, security taking too long)
  • Match day experience (aural assaults before game and during breaks, visual assaults from overly bright advertising)
  • KP still haven't learned to set up the 'snaking' queues at food and drink outlets, leading to crowdedness when walking around.
  • Poor internet
  • All matches live on pay TV

Often legit reasons, but then again, sometimes those are excuses, on the plus side, we have:

• A good stadium with excellent facilities
  • A team that is entertaining to watch
  • A team that we have honestly taken for granted how often they win over the last two decades.

There will come a time when the older profile of our fan base will trail off, and maybe the fortunes of the team on the field might too. All things considered, I think we are right to be disappointed with overall crowd sizes. The club need to find a way to keep people attracted to coming to the games.

I was surprised that it was 28,000 patrons as the opposition would've been lucky to have 500 that turned up.
Good point, I think 28K is a good crowd in this instance, and historically it is also a pretty high number.

Would be nice to crack that ~34-35K number a bit more often. Big watch on some of our remaining games. If Essendon keep playing OK then I'd hope for at least 36000 to that one. Also wish the AFL would schedule Sydney at KP, their fans always turn up.

There are lots of valid reasons for the lowish crowds we seem to be getting, such as:

• Expensive to get a seat.
  • Older members with reserved seats not going when it starts getting cold.
  • Distance being inconvenient for night Thu / Fri night games in particular.
  • Ingress issues (app membership still can be clunky, security taking too long)
  • Match day experience (aural assaults before game and during breaks, visual assaults from overly bright advertising)
  • KP still haven't learned to set up the 'snaking' queues at food and drink outlets, leading to crowdedness when walking around.
  • Poor internet
  • All matches live on pay TV

Often legit reasons, but then again, sometimes those are excuses, on the plus side, we have:

• A good stadium with excellent facilities
  • A team that is entertaining to watch
  • A team that we have honestly taken for granted how often they win over the last two decades.

There will come a time when the older profile of our fan base will trail off, and maybe the fortunes of the team on the field might too. All things considered, I think we are right to be disappointed with overall crowd sizes. The club need to find a way to keep people attracted to coming to the games.

Distance?

That's the excuse for Melb games.

Everything is expensive right now, I’m surprised more people can afford memberships tbh

There will be a time soon where the tickets to every event will be significantly down soon
This.

Especially for younger people.

Everywhere I go - cafes, pubs, footy, etc - there are plenty of older people but not as many 16 - 30.

Autopsy Cats lose to GWS by 4 points