Autopsy Cats lose to Lions by 41 points.

Don’t agree about arrogant display. Lack of respect for Brisbane by many of our supporters. I really think last week’s game was a poor preparation.
Don’t think it was just a lack of respect- have you seen Brissy’s last 6 weeks? Not exactly convincing. They turned up tonight and if they play like this of course they will give the flag a shake. But that form hasn’t been there lately. It’s a funny old season- who knows how things will go.

Feels like we were almost denied a game of footy tonight.

Had vaseline on our boots from the get-go and simply couldn't win kicking the way we did.

Didn't really learn much. Brisbane are a good outfit and defended us well.

Next time we play this mob....CS best use whoever Andrews is playing on as a decoy.

We can't kick it near him no matter what. Neale gets wrecked by these big strong defenders and is made to look like a guy who just posts gym pics in the preseason and doesn't actually lift.

We looked tired... Maybe it's a good time to cop a bye.

I'm not overly concerned about losing... Just didn't happen for us on this occasion.

Also think getting Brisbane after a couple of losses was stiff timing... They were due.

What a frustrating game.

Harris Andrews gets out muscled in a contest and gets free kicks for falling over.

Neale gets the same treatment and it's play on.

The good thing about Geelong is you know within 5 minutes of the first bounce what you're going to get.

Dangerfield trying too hard for the "fairytale". Dog shit efforts all around.

You can pick wily old Duncan against young, inexperienced teams. You can't pick him against Brisbane.

That Ollie Henry came on for a quarter and got more of the ball than nearly half the team speaks volumes.

J Henry saved us from a 10 goal shellacking, COS played well and Mullin blanketed Charlie Cameron.

Geelong were outworked and outplayed from the first bounce.

Those who are arguing tonight is the only awful loss Geelong has had this year are ignoring there have been other losses which very much fall into that category (e.g., waiting until the 2nd half to show up against St Kilda and allowing Carlton to play their best game of the year).

Not to mention this is the second loss at GMHBA this season where our inaccuracy has cost us four points. Dropping eight points in such a manner will come back to bite us in Septemb irrelevanter ladder-wise.

For the team to be as flat as they were for a big milestone games is inexcusable.
Yep we've had a few poor games this year. Generally pretty good in the rest. Similar to 2024, we will be worried about the prospect of turning up flat for a final or having a horror quarter.

I find the insistence upon analysing this loss as if there's some kind of "deeper" meaning other than skill execution and conversion to be pretentious. It's like people dislike looking at those factors because they're "too obvious" or something.

Sometimes the truth is boring. Sorry!
Because people are inclined to wonder why that lack of skill execution came to be.

20 of 23 footballers just forgetting how to play football at the same time is rare, and a mighty coincidence.

I don't think anyone is suggesting some grand conspiracy, just that if you're 5% off in this competition (whatever the reason for that may be) then this is what occurs.

I am not one who usually gets on Miers but yes he was that bad tonight. Cost us two goals directly at least, he got a bronx cheer at one point for hitting a target...

I didn't say we are cooked, but I think it's unusual for premiers to be putting in a performance like tonight this deep into the year. I'm happy to be proven wrong of course. Still think we can do damage.
It’s mid June, it ain’t that deep into the year, in fact this is the time weird performances occur

Because people are inclined to wonder why that lack of skill execution came to be.

20 of 23 footballers just forgetting how to play football at the same time is rare, and a mighty coincidence.

I don't think anyone is suggesting some grand conspiracy, just that if you're 5% off in this competition (whatever the reason for that may be) then this is what occurs.

It's like 18 players had a group amnesia tonight and completely forgot how to play footy.

Bizarre.

Understandable to be pissed with that one but at the end of the day we played a team coming off two disappointing losses and we were coming off 5 in a row and a massive kill last week.

Thats our mulligan for the year.

We were horribly off early and butchered F 50 entries and couldn't hit the broad side of a barn in the second half. Reckon 3-4 goal loss was more like it and I'll take that based on how shit we played.
Regroup after the bye and aim for top 4 , we are definitely not out of it based on that game.

Understandable to be pissed with that one but at the end of the day we played a team coming off two disappointing losses and we were coming off 5 in a row and a massive kill last week.

Thats our mulligan for the year.

We were horribly off early and butchered F 50 entries and couldn't hit the broad side of a barn in the second half. Reckon 3-4 goal loss was more like it and I'll take that based on how shit we played.
Regroup after the bye and aim for top 4 , we are definitely not out of it based on that game.
2-3 goal is probably where it should’ve been, we not only butchered set shots we uncharacteristically took the wrong options and butchered opportunities when we took the right ones. Completely off

Thought I'd reply here as Daz was going to lock the other thread

I have no doubt we'll see that from the media, just as we've been seeing it on here throughout the match

Did we play well - no, but it also didn't feel like we were dismantled, destroyed and back to the drawing board etc

Tonight reminded me a bit of our pre-season clash with Essendon; they couldn't miss and looked a million bucks throughout the match and we made everything look hard. That night it was 23 scoring shots to 19, but Essendon ran out 21 point winners... Let's look at how the two teams are currently fairing

While I'm disappointed in the defensive pressure; 50 tackles for the match with 17 in the last quarter which is great, it makes the 20 in the first half look like the shit it was

We more than had our chances throughout the night - what may have been if Tyson kicks the first goal against the run of play? Instead we see Brisbane pile on 4 quick goals, including at least one arsy one

We just missed way too many gettable goals that we've been converting in recent weeks

As the final predicted scores say - we convert we win. I get the frustration from the fans, but the coaches aren't throwing everything out the window after tonight's performance

If tonight's performance becomes a pattern, then it gives the coaches something to seriously think about. But we don't throw out what's clearly been working over the first 15 rounds and seen us get to 10 wins - let's not overreact off one loss

View attachment 2347308

Well said. Their defence was fantastic. They just never allowed us any clear entries, or failed under defensive pressure out of our forward line, that attack had been working so well for us. Writing on the wall first quarter when because of their pressure and early goals, we were slow and overthinking every kick, missing almost leads, a vacant midfield, and no plan and farking around and getting intercepted. My worst player was Close, infantile mistakes for a player of his experience.

Very very smart coaching by their wily old chewbacca, gave our strengths plenty of thought and his troops stuck like glue and stifled us.

Put a line through it and reset after the bye.

Not one redeemable thing to come out of tonight as a group.

Sure there is - this happened in June and not September

View attachment IMG_3684.mov

Over to body language specialist, Dr Cal Ligman of ‘Lie to Me’. . .

Unusually awkward, with darting eyes + agitated shoulders. Gor first five seconds of his presser, he was squirming.

Scott was able to put aside turmoil + seamlessly switch to professional mode.

Straight into his groove.

“You’ve heard me say for 15 years. . .
Well, if you need a milestone to try, then you’re not a true professional.”

“They were sharp tonight + we were the opposite.”

Well said. Their defence was fantastic. They just never allowed us any clear entries, or failed under defensive pressure out of our forward line, that attack had been working so well for us. Writing on the wall first quarter when because of their pressure and early goals, we were slow and overthinking every kick, missing almost leads, a vacant midfield, and no plan and farking around and getting intercepted. My worst player was Close, infantile mistakes for a player of his experience.

Very very smart coaching by their wily old chewbacca, gave our strengths plenty of thought and his troops stuck like glue and stifled us.
There defence was ok, Harris Andrews played well, I think it was more our entries were either the wrong option or kicked like crap.. again, uncharacteristic on evidence to date

If Essendon were very easy to play against last week, Brisbane were quite hard to play against.

Sure we butchered it heaps but they were impressive when they didn't have the ball. They do push the legalities though around the mark, I think we got 3 fifties and it should have been more.

But aside from that they defended well, and ran well forward for the cheapies when we fluffed it. It was not unlike the Carlton game in that regard

Credit where it's due - Ollie Henry showed a lot of urgency and intent to compete in the short time he was on which had been lacking for most of the year. He ended up with more touches in 31% game time than Close, O'Connor and Zach Guthrie.
The second most disposals he's had in a game this season - only behind the 12 he collected against Port

I replied to Daz during the match that maybe he did get a rocket over the past fortnight; he was starting on the wing, working back deep into defence and then into attacking positions

Not sure where things necessarily go from here, but hopefully he takes some positives from tonight as he really did provide something when he came on

Players must've got confused. That's usually a performance we put in the week after the bye, not the week before it.
I think the blue shorts confused us and we were looking for the white shorts all night 😉

We got beaten tonight and it is not the end of the world, they are a very good team at their best!
The way they beat us looked like how we play when we are in control and our possession is at its cleanest.
They bounced off the half back found different angles and uncontested marks and came in at times direct and at other times unpredictable angles as well. Well played Brisbane and well done Tom Atkins you have been inspirational this year.