Review Cats salute in Duncan's 300th

• Thread starter Thread starter cats_09

Speaking of the broadcast - What i would give to be able to watch with crowd noise only.
It’s such a simple thing to incorporate as well.

The other night I had to mute the game because Jack Reiwoldt was unbearable.
It’s worth rolling back to the Dempsey “mark” just to hear the noise Reiwoldt let out. I actually thought he may have climaxed.

We don’t need play by play commentary. We can see what’s happening.
It’s so much more enjoyable to watch the game without ex footballers giving their opinions.

Rant/
One of my most favorite sports viewing experiences over the decades was when an NFL game was broadcast with field sounds only. Can't remember if by design or something had broken, but it was the best, all the sounds of the game and the crowd.
I usually watch games on streams from gambling sites. Sometimes their streams aren't in English. They are usually restrained in tone until something obvious exciting is happening, very soccer like. Sometimes there is a screw up and network feed is missing and there is only the field feed and it's commentary by crowd noise. :thumbsu:
I've read before here that they(7, 9, whoever) tried it and it was too popular. Nobody wanted to listen to the commentary channel. :laughv1:
Play by play is an art and different sports require different styles. Special comments is also an art, and the AFL's seems based on name recognition/boys club connections over quality of the commentary.
My ideal AFL call would be one guy, maybe let us know who got the ball and who is downfield and not on screen... something we may not be able to see onscreen. Commentary maybe only during stoppages, giving some unfolding tactical info... Enough of the panel of special commentators competing for most vanilla spruiking or hottest takes. Mostly just stop with the need for a voice to be making white noise every moment of the match. Let the crowd tell the story more.

I just watch a game on mute when you have the really terrible commentators like Dermie and the big thing you miss is the umpires feed as you don't hear the whistle or understand what they have paid. Crowd noise + umpires feed would be perfect. It would save them paying hacks like Derm too. Everyone wins.

It's frustrating in the sense that they have been poorly coached in their early years for that to become part of their game.
I've got no problem with Holmes bouncing early and too often.
It does stand out when he does it.

But the way I see it is this. If frontal pressure arrives you'd better hope that you've already got a bounce in or you're a huge chance of running too far or making a rushed decision because you know you cant bounce and you know you're about to go too far.

The late goal given up in quarters by Geelong has been going on for so long it has now become a given for me,that's an area the coach could work on as well as rego intoprogramming Max Holmes to take his full 15 meters before bouncing.
Every time we go into our go slow, chip the ball around style close to the end of a quarter you just know we are going to make a mistake and cough up a goal.

I've got no problem with Holmes bouncing early and too often.
It does stand out when he does it.

But the way I see it is this. If frontal pressure arrives you'd better hope that you've already got a bounce in or you're a huge chance of running too far or making a rushed decision because you know you cant bounce and you know you're about to go too far.
I don't think he thinks about it at all Tony as Pollywaffle above just said and I agree it's a habit and I reckon it will be addressed eventually even this week hopefully.

If half of our board had their way, Close, Dempsey and Miers would be flying into contests like that 10 times a match and their careers would likely already be over.
Agree
I get the feeling some posters are living vicariously through some of our players and all this harden up talk is a symptom of that.

Dempsey , Close and Miers are endurance beasts putting in ~ 15 kms per game - very hard to do that if you throw yourself needlessly into a contest and pick up a cork.
They are also highly skilled touch players who can produce magic when they are free when they take possession, they give themselves space to allow this to happen.
None are soft in particular Close who competes hard one on one.

I think all 3 are getting better at knowing when to go and when to sag off , hopefully we can all get on board with that.

Agree
I get the feeling some posters are living vicariously through some of our players and all this harden up talk is a symptom of that.

Dempsey , Close and Miers are endurance beasts putting in ~ 15 kms per game - very hard to do that if you throw yourself needlessly into a contest and pick up a cork.
They are also highly skilled touch players who can produce magic when they are free when they take possession, they give themselves space to allow this to happen.
None are soft in particular Close who competes hard one on one.

I think all 3 are getting better at knowing when to go and when to sag off , hopefully we can all get on board with that.
One contested effort from Miers this week was I thought very brave considering he was just returning from a concussion.

Just watching the mini match and I think what I like most about Neale's game is how different his goals were:
  • Crumbing goal in the goal square
  • Snap across the body in congestion
  • Big contested mark and set shot
  • Burned off O'Donnell and goaled on the run
  • Set shot after wining a ruck free kick

Not a one-trick pony at all.
Bloke is 203...

400 / 800 background so long high speed repeat efforts are good.
Is very very agile for said 203
Great kick and style of action

Ripping bloke - not a flog - by all reports.

And luves being at the club.
Trains to the max to get stronger and fitter... but not meat head style...

WE could reall yhave something here and has played what 30 games?

Go Catters

Bloke is 203...

400 / 800 background so long high speed repeat efforts are good.
Is very very agile for said 203
Great kick and style of action

Ripping bloke - not a flog - by all reports.

And luves being at the club.
Trains to the max to get stronger and fitter... but not meat head style...

WE could reall yhave something here and has played what 30 games?

Go Catters

As an aside, I found out today apparently K-Rock went to read this tweet out on Thursday night then said they couldn't read it on air.

Only found out about it today when I was at my parents' place for lunch and my mother said my uncle was wanting to know what I had said that couldn't be repeated on air. 🤣

Every time we go into our go slow, chip the ball around style close to the end of a quarter you just know we are going to make a mistake and cough up a goal.

I disagree. It's how we won in the last quarter. The Dogs had just drawn level and we went into keepings off mode, made them run after us, and all of a sudden they were the ones who looked gassed. We then kicked three goals in about eight minutes to ice the game. And the goal we conceded in the last few seconds was from them winning the centre square possession and having a ping from outside 50.

Except I didn't claim that.

I pointed out we were above average or below average depending on the year from scores from turnover, which you claimed was our game-plan in 2016-2020.

⤵️

Do you actually read the posts?

For reference, in our years of finals failures (2017-2021) we were 8th, 6th, 3rd, 7th, and 11th from scores from turnover.

We were okay at it, but it wasn't our strength, and we couldn't beat Richmond who actually excelled at it, and built their dynasty off it.

2022 is where we changed the game-plan and moved up to 2nd (60 points a game off TO) when embracing a more chaotic style that actually stood up in finals.
Sorry if i misinterpreted what you meant by below and above average. You didnt mention turnovers in that statement. Only in the paragraph underneath.

However, I clearly said years 2016-2020. You have ignored 2016 and added in 2021 to help make you point. The only year we werent above average is the year of 2021 (I didnt include it cos we had changed game plans in the back end of 2020). Pretty sure we were also quite high in 2016 (a year you arent including).

I just watch a game on mute when you have the really terrible commentators like Dermie and the big thing you miss is the umpires feed as you don't hear the whistle or understand what they have paid. Crowd noise + umpires feed would be perfect. It would save them paying hacks like Derm too. Everyone wins.

Often watch games on mute ( you know you can watch the replay with the commentary ) especially if its a must win , like the Bulldogs game , and plenty of Geelong finals over the years , i dont want to have distracting screaming commentators when the Cats have to win

The truth , 2010 qualifying final against StKilda , i had it on mute the whole game , in the last qtr to use a bit of boxing parlance the Cats were boxing StK ears off , inside 50s 17-1 at one stage , Cats just needed the knock out blow , and when Ling got the ball and goaled ( with no commentary thus no umpires whistle ) i thought Geel had hit the front , and it was good night Irene for StK which it would have been

What an anti climax when i realized theyd paid a free kick and thus the goal didnt count .

Just watching First Take on Fox Footy and Montagna has pumped up Neale and Cameron as the most athletic duo since Buddy and Roughead.

Nice compliment, but they also played footage from JC’s miss in the last quarter when he did the outside of the left dribbler and it was rushed. I must have missed it in the emotion of the win, but Neale is tracking JC every step of the way in that play, after just kicking his 5th goal for the first time, he moves from a handball receive position to apply a shepherd and give JC time to get a shot off.

Now, I don’t want to turn this into a comparison, but would OH bust his gut to apply the shepherd after kicking his 5th for the game or would he be looking for the dish from JC and his 6th? I think most of us know the answer to this and meanwhile JC probably gets rundown.

It’s why I’ve never worried about Neale, he will make it long term with his team first attitude and skillset, he’s in the Hawkins mould. Thursday night and the goals isn’t a declaration of victory about Neale, but hopefully further evidence for the unconvinced to see what many posters have been seeing about Neale.

O'Connor had a few really good moments, especially with the ball always seeming to wobble the Dogs way once it hit the floor in our D50.

View attachment 2322973
He has improved since having a role. That was an excellent passage of play. He is versatile + agile. Good footy brain too. It’s exciting to see players find a role to suit their strengths.

Will he remain when Kolo returns? 🤞🏻

Gee just watching on TV, there was very few empty seats 💺, and the capacity of the stadium is 40,000 🤔🤔🤔
Also, the crowd was loud.

Doggies’ DHs booing Baz was ludicrous, thankfully they stopped.

Miers and Dempsey do the same. We have a few of them, but the positives they provide outweigh the negatives. We are still looking at a big step down if we go from Close to Wiltshire etc.
Miers laid some hard tackles on Thursday.

If there are two Geelong players tackling an oppo player, what’s the point of Miers jumping on top? His role is to snaffle the ball if/when it comes out + move it to our players. Sure, if he’s the closest, then tackle.

Just watching First Take on Fox Footy and Montagna has pumped up Neale and Cameron as the most athletic duo since Buddy and Roughead.

High praise, but also pretty meaningless praise, since Neale's prime isn't going to coincide with Cameron's prime in the same way that Roughead and Franklin's primes coincided, so it's not like we're not going to be able to take advantage of having two athletic beasts at the peak of their powers working in tandem.

I can't really think of many times we have had a forward so early into his career and one so late into his career that are very similar players but Cameron doesn't really strike me as the type that will drop off, I think we could get 2 years of very good Cameron as Neale comes into his peak.

What I wonder is how we will look when Cameron eventually retires at 38.