Central Highlands Part 2

been down the street yet?[/QUOTE]

Yes I have and it was not good.

First person I saw was ex/bulldogs president. Patronizing git.

Second person I saw was ex- Daylesford teammate. Redheaded patronizing git. I think I will shop in Creswick for awhile.

Someone at work asked me how is it that L'Month can flog the Bulldogs, Hepburn can give the Lakers a touch up and then the Bulldogs embarrass the Burra.

Is it all in the head(s)? Or ruckman?? Timmy your thoughts please.

Missing from Learmonth side last week:

J Lyonjelm (hip) - unlikely to return

R Lyonjelm (Hammy) - this week or next

W Veldhuis (cheek/jaw) - getting close

J Sobey (back soreness) - wait till it counts

N Willox (Overseas) - returned

L Davey (calf) - this week or next

B Hubble (QLD) - work - wont return

J Basham (shoulder) - getting closer

......These 8 all played every snr game in the first month

Also to return

J Duffy (Played first game for season in 2's last weekend after shoulder surgery - injured in first pre season praccy match)

T Sinclair (suspended) - back this week

P Kennelly (VFL) - hoping for this week

Tim B has had 2 matches back after missing since Round 4 with achilles.

Hope this fills in the gaps CHFL Fan5. No bells and whistles like Franticman - just the facts.

Thanks whodatbabydaddy, Awesome reply!

Might also explain the 170 point turn around for Springbank, Gotigers, you should be able to tell better than anyone where you need to improve more, I dont see every game, mainly just lack the class, speed, footskills and the big names these days to match it with the top 6, you have good facilities, a strong jr comp, but you lack the names and the bank account.

There was preseason gossip that the adam's brothers were coming across to coach/play with you guys, was there any truth to that? You add those boys, a key defender like Veldhuis and a Key forward like Chair or Simpson and you would probably have a look at finals... but then again you could throw those guys in an under 18's team and probably have a shot.

been down the street yet?

Someone at work asked me how is it that L'Month can flog the Bulldogs, Hepburn can give the Lakers a touch up and then the Bulldogs embarrass the Burra.

Is it all in the head(s)? Or ruckman?? Timmy your thoughts please.[/quote]

Archie, be careful that you are not seen to be " pushing the barrow ". While Sam Conroy may not have had his best ever day last week, he is still far and away the BEST ruckman at the "Burra " His previous efforts this season are testament to the claim. He has taken on some of the best in the comp. and come out on top on many occasions. (you can't win 'em all.) He will in my opinion, one day be close to the equal of the " OX " who I am sure would be happy that Sam may have learnt a lot from his experience of last saturday. ( A great part of Ox's ability is the way the on ballers are set up around the contests. )
On the other hand, there is another at the Burra who is no doubt an up and comer ( I pretty sure you know who I mean ). From what I have seen, his endeavour and commitment at the contest is second to none, but needs another season to hone his skills.
One day, the twin Sams, will be the envy of the competition with a bit of luck and hard yakka. I look forward to that day with anticipation and excitement.:thumbsu:

Archie, be careful that you are not seen to be " pushing the barrow ". While Sam Conroy may not have had his best ever day last week, he is still far and away the BEST ruckman at the "Burra " His previous efforts this season are testament to the claim. He has taken on some of the best in the comp. and come out on top on many occasions. (you can't win 'em all.) He will in my opinion, one day be close to the equal of the " OX " who I am sure would be happy that Sam may have learnt a lot from his experience of last saturday. ( A great part of Ox's ability is the way the on ballers are set up around the contests. )
On the other hand, there is another at the Burra who is no doubt an up and comer ( I pretty sure you know who I mean ). From what I have seen, his endeavour and commitment at the contest is second to none, but needs another season to hone his skills.
One day, the twin Sams, will be the envy of the competition with a bit of luck and hard yakka. I look forward to that day with anticipation and excitement.:thumbsu:[/quote]

been down the street yet?

First person I saw was ex/bulldogs president. Patronizing git.

Second person I saw was ex- Daylesford teammate. Redheaded patronizing git. I think I will shop in Creswick for awhile.

Is it all in the head(s)? Or ruckman?? Timmy your thoughts please.[/quote]
Well done whodatbabydaddy on your honest reply, great to see a bit of Learmonth news on here.

Now Archie, i hope you havn't forgotten that we did defeat the Dogs by 10 goals in last years Grand Final., and beat them in last years final home & away game without Coxy and Andy, who got poleaxed in the opening minute.. but a 25 goal turnaround between top sides is very rare. Also i see that Gisborne also got flogged on the weekend with 33 goals kicked against them. Bad days do happen.....
To answer your question, ive thought, and been asked the same thing, and really have no idea.
Why can Essendon continually lose to the Kangaroos, but have no problems beating Carlton? And guess what, Carlton have no worries beating the Kangas.
But i will say, Daylesford will always dominate games if you let their quality on ballers do what they want, and like i said, they do have the best Ruckman this district has ever produced. And dont worry, Scotty copped his floggings learning his craft, and learnt very quickly. Sam is a great kid, and always listens and wants to learn. Obviously i wont give too much away on what we saw on Saturday, but its going to be a great challenge for all the top 6 sides to try and come up with a winning formula once the finals start.
I hear Cade O'Brien will miss a couple with a bad groin, can anyone from Daylesford confirm this?
To our supporters, it hasn't happened to us for a while, but after a flogging like Saturday, you tend to learn a lot about the players and how they tick. Yes its been a big couple of days at the Laurie Sullivan Reserve, and everyone involved with Saturdays performance has been prepared to take the blame, work harder, and rectify it. very good signs, and we arn't done with yet.
but with a performance like that we have copped some flack and we do deserve it.

One day, the twin Sams, will be the envy of the competition with a bit of luck and hard yakka. I look forward to that day with anticipation and excitement.:thumbsu:
[/quote]

Hang on a minute your telling me this kid will be as good as Scott Winduss??

One day, the twin Sams, will be the envy of the competition with a bit of luck and hard yakka. I look forward to that day with anticipation and excitement.:thumbsu:[/quote]

Hep over L'month: Aj admits himself that his boys go to water when they play hepburn.

L'month over Daylesford: Aj also knows how to read and play Daylesford, especially the midfield. But they have only beaten us 3 times in 4 years and it has always in early in the year. '06 round 1. '08 early mid season and '09 year round 2. They always peak to early in my opinion.

Daylesford over Hep: Apart from the grand final last. The Daylesford boys usually have it over Hepburn boys especially there locals. Its there in ports that win there games like Cox, McKay, Uhi, Neweton, Peak, Dillon, James boys . Also the old firm win these games in the middle.

HOUND8DOG please do not put Conroys name in the same sentence as the Great Scott Winduss. Hes a hell of a nice Kid but its insulting to the 2 time premiership player in two leagues, Club best and fairest winner and 2 time BFL Henderson medalist winner.

Hang on a minute your telling me this kid will be as good as Scott Winduss??[/quote]

No, I said CLOSE !!! Now you tell me why not, Phenoble...
icon10.gif

He will in my opinion, one day be CLOSE to the equal of the " OX "

Hang on a minute your telling me this kid will be as good as Scott Winduss??[/quote]
icon11.gif

Hey Ferrit, the CARETAKER who has'nt TAKEN CARE choosing his words wants you to tell him the answer. As an astute and mostly unbiased man, I'm sure I can rely onyou for an honest and well founded answer.

icon10.gif
[/quote]

Because he will only ever win a Granny, No League B & F, prob no club B & F. We don't have interleague and if he left the Burra you would all hang shit on him like the rest of the talented youngsters that have left your club and he would never come back. You asked.

icon10.gif
[/quote]

2 time premiership player in two leagues, Club best and fairest winner and 2 time BFL Henderson medalist winner. Good luck to the young fella if he can be. How old is he?? If hes still young enough dont think the Burra will have him for long as he will be in the TAC cup pretty quick if hes that good?

Oh yeah never said he wasnt going to be :D

Archie, be careful that you are not seen to be " pushing the barrow ".

Pull up big boy.

The very point I was making was that Big Sam (Conroy) and Little Sam (winnard) are no where near OX"s standard. Big Sam maybe one day because of his mobility but little Sam is not in that league.

That is why i said RAAky may be our only option come finals. Not to push little Sam but to have a go at Timmy for not recruiting a ruckman over the past 15 years :)

Sorry Houndog you may have misunderstood me also.

Sam Conroy is our best ruckman. OX is the best ruckman in the district. What I was sayinig to Timmy was is that I think that we may have to play RAKKY against the Bulldogs because we have no one else capable. (including little Sammy)

quote=Ferrit;

Because he will only ever win a Granny, No League B & F, prob no club B & F. We don't have interleague and if he left the Burra you would all hang shit on him like the rest of the talented youngsters that have left your club and he would never come back. You asked.[/quote]

Confucious say ---- Prophet who doubts young roosters ability in henhouse, may finish up with egg on face !!!

Some of you really need to work on your posting skills. Some of those posts are unreadable because you are quoting incorrectly. Everyone's words are being mashed in together.

Archie, be careful that you are not seen to be " pushing the barrow ".
Pull up big boy.

The very point I was making was that Big Sam (Conroy) and Little Sam (winnard) are no where near OX"s standard. Big Sam maybe one day because of his mobility but little Sam is not in that league.

That is why i said RAAky may be our only option come finals. Not to push little Sam but to have a go at Timmy for not recruiting a ruckman over the past 15 years :)

obviously you have forgot that Chief controlled our ruck problem from 1996- 2007. (CHFL B&F, CLUB B&F x 2, RU x3 PREMIERSHIPS x 2 , CLUB CAPT, CLUB COACH )and didnt Sal play in the ruck and Dominate the big games last year? 3 flags there between them, and some good kids coming up , im happy with that. Unless you want to give me the name of someone privately, that you know WOULD be interested in becoming a Burra. GOOD ruckman are like hens teeth, very very hard to find

Some of you really need to work on your posting skills. Some of those posts are unreadable because you are quoting incorrectly. Everyone's words are being mashed in together.

D2T , I am not really computer savvy, but could this site have the hic-cups ?? Seems like it has to me ! Be bloody funny if it had, and all the posts got jumbled good & proper... Craig could finish up sounding like the Burras' NO1 ticket holder.. ( Heaven Forbid. )

Hahaha would make for some interesting rebuttals that's for sure.

No I think what has happened is that someone started off a chain reaction of poor quotes. They have stuffed up a quote somehow, and then when other people have gone to quote the messed up quote, they have inherited it and it shows in their post. Keeps getting passed on, like genes.....or herpes.

Hahaha would make for some interesting rebuttals that's for sure.

No I think what has happened is that someone started off a chain reaction of poor quotes. They have stuffed up a quote somehow, and then when other people have gone to quote the messed up quote, they have inherited it and it shows in their post. Keeps getting passed on, like genes.....or herpes.

I like this analogy.

Regarding the quote stuff, don't change what it puts there. It should go:

[noparse]
User Name said:
"and the quote here"
[/noparse]
I think people are deleting that start or finish tag. :thumbsu:

Sam Conroy is going to be one hell of a ruckman. The kids only 17, so to go and say he will be better or not as good as scotty is ridiculous. But in saying that, once he grows into his body he will play some great footy. As most kids do who come through daylesfords junior ranks, isn't that right timmy? Also i would hate to be the team that finishes third, with waubra looking like finishing sixth. Form wise in the top three and are looking ominous come finals time. So enough with the D'ford Hepburn crap, what does everyone think of the teams in the finals mix chances?

Why did he choose not to stay at Daylesford then?

Thanks whodatbabydaddy, Awesome reply!

Like a good steak knife commercial CHFL FAN5 - but wait ........there's more

Failed to mention Dyson George who missed a couple after playing every senior game thus far. Handy goalsneak who will be gladly welcomed back in the run to the finals.

Sammy Basham and Paul Rogan played a full game in the reserves on Sat to blow out a few cobwebs in the run to the finals. Both have had little game time over the last month.

Used the opportunity to give a few local kids (Braszell, Pongho and Mayall) a taste of senior footy and they all put their hand up - which is great to see.

No side ever runs out with 100% of the list feeling A1 at this time of the year. Challenge remains though to get as many of these dozen or so senior players up and running for September.