Central Highlands

Astro Boy said:
Lockett will be a handy player & he's a good bloke as well, good luck to him in the CHFL not sure he will tear it apart tho.. The netballers will be in for a treat as he is a bit of a ladies man.

Interleague is a good idea, A team of the year should also be introduced.

Couldn't see him getting too cosy with the Learmonth netballers, doubt there would be too many could measure up to the tidy piece he currently has on his arm. Wouldn't want to upset her old man either.

Don't know about the interleague idea. The squad would more than likely be made up of players who have experienced representing leagues at a higher level (like Ballarat) so may not be that attractive to the best.

Riff Raff said:
I think you can add Jones to the list, would be a fair start to their season!

Reid, Jones, Nicholson, MacDonald, Jeffrey, Quinlan, not a bad list to pick a forward line from. Chuck in O'Keefe, Carmody, O'Donohue who could all run through there and it looks pretty potent if it comes together.

learmonth said:
He will sign tonight along with a couple of others. Went to Nth this season to please his family and i accepted that. He will be a massive asset, as he has the size, skill and fitness to tear the Central Highlands up! Has a couple of handy mates as well who can play the game.

With all clubs recruiting heavily, Im sure the Central Highlands will continue to become a great league. They need to look at introducing an Interleague game against Riddell or Geelong District to reward the BEST players.

Good to see you finally 'come out' on the NTFL thread learmonth.

I've heard Gunn may be returning to your mob from Lake Wendouree next year. Any progress there?

helmut said:
Reid, Jones, Nicholson, MacDonald, Jeffrey, Quinlan, not a bad list to pick a forward line from. Chuck in O'Keefe, Carmody, O'Donohue who could all run through there and it looks pretty potent if it comes together.

Must have plenty of coin, Jayden wanted 20K.

helmut said:
Good to see you finally 'come out' on the NTFL thread learmonth.

I've heard Gunn may be returning to your mob from Lake Wendouree next year. Any progress there?

At this stage still in preliminary discussions. He has a very hectic work load + is going back to uni full time as well. Would be a great pick up for Learmonth, but still along way away from playing with us.

As for the NTFL sight, always good to keep yaself informed as what is going on. Certainly will be looking at securing a couple of players from up that way and have the right guy in the right position to secure that for us. I will be up there in early January to talk to possible players that may want to return and play at Learmonth.

Astro Boy said:
Must have plenty of coin, Jayden wanted 20K.

20K no one is worth that in the Central Highlands, + its good to have all those BIG forwards, might as well add Crough to that as well if he isnt injured or retired.
Problem is they can get in the road of each other, and some may lose form or feel crowded. Will be interesting to see if they do sign Reid as I heard from a reliable source last night that he conducted a leadership group info session for all redan senior players at his house the other night.
Very hard to get Redan players away, especially the premiership captain, but if they pull it off, what an excellent effort.

learmonth said:
20K no one is worth that in the Central Highlands, + its good to have all those BIG forwards, might as well add Crough to that as well if he isnt injured or retired.
Problem is they can get in the road of each other, and some may lose form or feel crowded. Will be interesting to see if they do sign Reid as I heard from a reliable source last night that he conducted a leadership group info session for all redan senior players at his house the other night.
Very hard to get Redan players away, especially the premiership captain, but if they pull it off, what an excellent effort.

Well I have heard he's taken the job. I'll bet my right nut he didn't put any piss on for the redan boys @ the meeting @ his house.

I Agree no one is worth 20k, only time will tell , good luck to him, he's a good bloke. I look forward to seeing him in action in the CHF if my source is on the money.

learmonth said:
He will sign tonight along with a couple of others. Went to Nth this season to please his family and i accepted that. He will be a massive asset, as he has the size, skill and fitness to tear the Central Highlands up! Has a couple of handy mates as well who can play the game.

With all clubs recruiting heavily, Im sure the Central Highlands will continue to become a great league. They need to look at introducing an Interleague game against Riddell or Geelong District to reward the BEST players.

Learmonth, i know you very well and i am used to you making rash calls, but locket will not tear up the league sorry mate. He will be a handy pick up, but he should be playing up darwin, cause he is more than likely to go walk about. And the netballers shouldn't be hassled to much, because i remember him at daylesford, and he was more infatuated with blokes than girls.
Gunn would be a handy player, only cause you fellas need someone other than beacham in the middle that is hard at it.
Bungaree looking real strong if they pick those redan boys up, but they are a pretty loyal bunch so dont know if they would all go.
Hepburn having been going hard. Offered a mate of mine $1200 from down melbourne and got knocked back. Ha, hopefully the empire crumbles. Alot of local boys are also thinking of leaving due to getting f#*&ed in the back side by out of towners getting payed big bucks.
rumor has it a big name ruck man delisted this week from an afl club will be heading CHFL way next year. very good chance to a club that is on the rebuild???

Don't know about the interleague idea. The squad would more than likely be made up of players who have experienced representing leagues at a higher level (like Ballarat) so may not be that attractive to the best.[/quote]

I like the idea of interleague or team of the year, one or the other though as both sides would or should be the same. There are some guns in the CHFL and a team of the year 06 would be an awesome side.

Anyone know all sides well enough to have a crack at Team OF The Year 06? I'll start with the easy part.

B. Newton

HB. Madigan

C. Adams

HF. Nicholson

F. Brown

Foll. Winduss Mullane Peake

Int.

"rumor has it a big name ruck man delisted this week from an afl club will be heading CHFL way next year. very good chance to a club that is on the rebuild???"

That AFL ruckman wouldn't happen to be Tristan Cartledge would it???
Which club is he rumoured to go to?

tud34 said:
"rumor has it a big name ruck man delisted this week from an afl club will be heading CHFL way next year. very good chance to a club that is on the rebuild???"

I wouldnt call him an AFL Ruckman...More like VFL and the only reason he would come this way is because he probably couldnt get a game at VFL or BFL level. Worst draft pick ever!

Hampton Hammer said:
Do you have a stutter mate, stop repeating yourself..... :D

afl clubs love height, he'd still be a chance of getting picked up, so surely he'l play vfl next year

tud34 said:

No it's Clark Keating. He's going to Gordon.

I hear from a pretty good source that after already quitting, Melcom Scott has changed his mind and decided to coach Ballan again.

Can anyone confirm this??

tud34 said:
I hear from a pretty good source that after already quitting, Melcom Scott has changed his mind and decided to coach Ballan again.

Can anyone confirm this??

He is coaching as far as I know. Job prospect fell through so he stayed.

I hear Gordan are having their AGM tonight and they are going to decide whether or not to close the doors. Good luck to the Gordan boys tonight...I reckon they'll press on. They need to, otherwise they can't have a footy trip.

Uncle CC said:
I hear Gordan are having their AGM tonight and they are going to decide whether or not to close the doors. Good luck to the Gordan boys tonight...I reckon they'll press on. They need to, otherwiase they can't have a footy trip.

Yeah, I think they will be right. Their players love the footytrip too much to let the club go under.
I mean what other club can go back to back wooden spoons and go for Footytrips to Fiji and Phuket respectivly.
I see what you mean about the social side of the club maybe being too good CC.

Uncle CC said:
I hear Gordan are having their AGM tonight and they are going to decide whether or not to close the doors. Good luck to the Gordan boys tonight...I reckon they'll press on. They need to, otherwise they can't have a footy trip.

Won't that be their second crack at the AGM? Heard they had it scheduled for last week or early this week & hardly anybody showed up. Not a great sign if that's the case. It doesn't matter what the players think if not enough people put their hands up to run the club.
On the subject of their footy trips, I know of a few blokes who are a bit pi ssed off with the fact their trips have been o\s, because they just can't afford to go.

helmut said:
Won't that be their second crack at the AGM? Heard they had it scheduled for last week or early this week & hardly anybody showed up. Not a great sign if that's the case. It doesn't matter what the players think if not enough people put their hands up to run the club.
On the subject of their footy trips, I know of a few blokes who are a bit pi ssed off with the fact their trips have been o\s, because they just can't afford to go.

I dont think they have had an AGM this week. And from all reports of overseas trips they seem to enjoy them. If they are run properly then the players have enough time to be able to budget for them and save money.

Apparently Gordon had a rebel footy trip where 8 blokes that couldn't adfford the big one went to Apollo bay for the weekend.

Here is a interleague/best team for '06'.

B: R Allan S Newton L Pellissier

HB: S Eason A Madigan S Uhi

W: M Peake D Liston J Sobey

HF: A Tranquilli B Nicholson S Mullane

F: T Mullane/Grant L Brown S McKay

Foll: S WInduss L Adams H Cartledge

Inter: C Scoble W Veldhuis A Beacham J Harris

Apologies to B Powell, G Handley, C O'Brien

Feel free to add or disagree Ladies and Gentlemen

Just heard some whispers about Gordon's crisis meeting. Not folding yet, but may. They have a committee but no Coach or President and no one wants to be Pres.

The Ghost said:
Here is a interleague/best team for '06'.

I thought there would have been room for Gav 'wild man' Miller in there somewhere. I heard he had 37 touches in the GF in what I thought could have earnt him BOG.