Central Highlands

X Man said:
Thought id start a thread about the Central Highlands League and the happenings of it.
Saw waubra vs beaufort on saturday wasnt much of a spectacle. Brown kicked 12 and s.mullane was bog. Any repots from any other games???

I heard Springbank picked up a guy called Darren Leahy any one know of him and how has he gone?

HappyDayz said:
Does anybody know how a bloke by the name of Jamie Wilson has been going? Joined Newlyn about half way through the season i think. Smallish, stocky onballer.
Can anyone answer this question re: Jamie Wilson.

Goes by the name of Woody I think

Can regularly be seen talking to umpires before, during and after games.

Any boys from Newlyn on here that can help.

Just interested in his progress.

September said:
Can anyone answer this question re: Jamie Wilson.

Goes by the name of Woody I think

Can regularly be seen talking to umpires before, during and after games.

Any boys from Newlyn on here that can help.

Just interested in his progress.
I'm told he has been going very well since moving there mate. Newlyn more than happy with his output.

ryang said:
Bungaree sitting 3rd Xman but No.1 big man Scott Crough left in an ambulance with a neck injury on saturday, under rated chf Quinlan missing with a broken hand and guns Tony Trigg and Chris O'Keefe are as fragile as Smiths crisps, so they might be ripe for the picking for a tough and seasoned Hepburn come finals - they will meet 1st week if the ladder stays as is.
As for crusaders howler that Hepburn are paying their players 4 times as much as Daylesford, so that must mean Hepburn are forking out about 350 to 400k! I have heard from several people who knocked them back how much Daylesford were offering pre season so don't put that crap on here. Funny how they were broke but could still afford 4 new sets of jumpers, netball uniforms, training jumpers and then spruik off in the paper that they were going to build new club rooms. Maybe Carlton should join the CHFL next year for the same reason Daylesford did - to be more competitive. W. A. P. Played finals 5 years out of 6 in BFL, drew with Sunbury last year - only club to take points from them, and they squib it and want to be big fish in a little pond. 2 x Adams, Winduss, O'Brien, Jurcan, Thompson, Nesbitt, Rogers, Keighran, Rahill, Bourke, they are all playing for nothing are they? I bet they are.
Have seen Salesi Uhi 4 times this year and he has been best on in 3 of those. He is the best player in the league by a street. A freak!
Bar Andrew Madigan and Anthony Beacham, Learmonth are soft. Should be known as the turtles, and I don't mean because they have hard shells.

RyanG, before you go running your mouth, identify yourself and how you know so much about daylesford?

I have been at the club for the last 6 years and yes you are right we played finals for most of those, that is one thing you said that is correct. As for all of your other comments, unless you have been a mystery member of the Daylesford Commitee for the last 5 years, you would not have a clue about the financial status of the club.

So all i ask, is that you identify yourself and put some credit behind your comments because you are way off base.

:mad:

RyanG, haha, very interesting comments mate. Shows what people know about Daylesford hey. The bulldogs got new jumpers and uniforms through grants mate, thus thats how they can afford them. Shows how much you know. Adams boys play for nothing cause they are local boys and aren't money hungry prciks like others out there, as goes the same for Rodgers, Winduss, OBrien, Thompson and Jurcan. So just stop talking rot mate, cause you have no idea about what is going on. And there is a fair chance Rahill wouldnt be getting a cent because he is over in europe for two years, so well educated answer mate.
As for Learmonth, Madigan is hard at it, but beacham is one of the biggest cats out there. He comes up against Daylesford this week, and from all reports after slagging off a few boys from Dford he and Wade Veldhuis will be very lucky to make it through the day. So ryang, good answer mate, real good.

Who would be Top 10 players in the league i have only seen 4 games so im not worthy of posting 10 but what i have seen and heard blokes like Mullane, Uhi, Mackay would all be in there???

Fair enough DfordDog and crusader, you're right I don't know the financial position of the Daylesford footy club, just as you crusader don't know how much Hepburn are paying their players. It's all just speculation isn't it. However, as I said, I do know they were offering pretty good dough pre season to a few blokes from other clubs. If, as you claim, many of the players I mentioned are playing for 0, I suppose they would be in a position to do so. DfordDog, maybe you could tell us why after 1 off year Daylesford left the BFL. Most clubs struggle at some point, both financially and on field, but stick it out - Redan is a perfect example. The Marsh and Sebas are perennial strugglers but keep backing up each year.
I take it from your comments crusader that Beacham and Velduis are going to meet with violent retribution on Saturday for slagging off Daylesford people. Does that mean that it is ok for Daylesford people to slag off players from other clubs, ie Beacham, but not vice versa? I would have thought it would be a bit foolish to risk reports this close to a finals series that Daylesford will obviously play a part in.

X Man said:
Who would be Top 10 players in the league i have only seen 4 games so im not worthy of posting 10 but what i have seen and heard blokes like Mullane, Uhi, Mackay would all be in there???

Salesi Uhi (Ballan)
Matthew Peake (Hepburn)
Andrew Tranquilli (Springbank)
Lee Brown (Waubra)
Sean Mullane (Waubra)
Luke Adams (Daylesford)
Joey Gilbert (Buninyong)
Chris O'Keefe (Bungaree)
Glenn Handley (Clunes)
Justin Harris (Clunes)
Hayden Cartledge (Ballan)
Scott Winduss (Daylesford)
Matthew Brown (Hepburn)
Andrew Madigan (Learmonth)
Andy McKay (Hepburn)

Could only narrow it down to 15, sorry. I am still sure to cop it from someone. There are a couple of blokes on the list getting on a bit, but are still very good players.

Righto time for the serious questions???

Waubra are they the real deal this year?
Learmonth are the only team to have beaten the blue and white and im just wondering if the boys down at Waubra can stay off the **** and out of trouble for another month or two. Coach Skontra (who is an angry man at stages) has the boys up and running leading into an important month and by reports from one of my moles may be pulling on the boots again to be a suprise packet for them late in the year.
Apparently the big unit in Fridge Brown didnt leave the goal square last week (when does he) as he kicked 11 and the qualtiy on baller in mullane ran a muck as per usual as they handed out a cricket score to Gordon.
Can this outfit go all the way to a flag or who will knock them off there perch??

I was thinking the same myself... I think Tom made the VCFL District squad so surely he would be in the top 10 in the league... What about Troy Ferrier from Hepburn as well, very quick and silky skills.....

ryang said:
Salesi Uhi (Ballan)
Matthew Peake (Hepburn)
Andrew Tranquilli (Springbank)
Lee Brown (Waubra)
Sean Mullane (Waubra)
Luke Adams (Daylesford)
Joey Gilbert (Buninyong)
Chris O'Keefe (Bungaree)
Glenn Handley (Clunes)
Justin Harris (Clunes)
Hayden Cartledge (Ballan)
Scott Winduss (Daylesford)
Matthew Brown (Hepburn)
Andrew Madigan (Learmonth)
Andy McKay (Hepburn)

Could only narrow it down to 15, sorry. I am still sure to cop it from someone. There are a couple of blokes on the list getting on a bit, but are still very good players.

A guy at Learmonth called Wade Veldhuis who hasnt been beaten all year... Plays CHB and has been the major reason why they have been successful this season.
Mullane-Grant is a GUN, but the best player in the league by a mile, and that comes from playing with and against him is Cade Obrien (N.o 23 for dford). Hard at it, skillful and quick

ryang said:
Fair enough DfordDog and crusader, you're right I don't know the financial position of the Daylesford footy club, just as you crusader don't know how much Hepburn are paying their players. It's all just speculation isn't it. However, as I said, I do know they were offering pretty good dough pre season to a few blokes from other clubs. If, as you claim, many of the players I mentioned are playing for 0, I suppose they would be in a position to do so. DfordDog, maybe you could tell us why after 1 off year Daylesford left the BFL. Most clubs struggle at some point, both financially and on field, but stick it out - Redan is a perfect example. The Marsh and Sebas are perennial strugglers but keep backing up each year.
I take it from your comments crusader that Beacham and Velduis are going to meet with violent retribution on Saturday for slagging off Daylesford people. Does that mean that it is ok for Daylesford people to slag off players from other clubs, ie Beacham, but not vice versa? I would have thought it would be a bit foolish to risk reports this close to a finals series that Daylesford will obviously play a part in.

The truth behind Daylesford leaving the BFL is pretty obvious. They just dont have the players to compete in a major league + who wants to play in snow every second week. (Very hard to attract quality players i.e have a look at their 2's). Due to the change in employment situations, this has seen many locals leave the area due to costs of living and work oppertunities.
ALSO there are a few older players amongst the club that looked at the oppertunity of winning an easy premiership in the CHFL (Which i dont blame them, as they have been great servents of DFC) compared to the BFL, which was just too far out of their reach as they didnt have the depth or finances. Daylesford are the best side in the CHFL (2 x Adams, Winduss, Thompson, Obrien, Nesbitt, Rodgers, Trimble, Cronin & Bourke). They will win a flag within 2 yrs

crusader said:
Yeah i was there for the Hepburn - Daylesford match. Was great to see the Bulldogs get up against a team that is supposedly spending 4 times as much them on players. Shows that money isnt the only thing that will get you by in country footy. Learmonth are not going to be much come finals. They beat waubra the top team last week, but come finals time they will just choke, cant handle the pressure games, and they wont have a double chance, so Beacham will start blaming his teammates as he supposedly used to do at Daylesford

Really silly comment from you Crusader, If you knew anything about football, Learmonth have beaten two quality sides in Daylesford and Waubra and come from behind at 3/4 time in both games. Now thats what i call choking..??? But yes they have lost to Beaufort, which just proves footy is played 90% in the mind and 10% with the body. All players have 2 legs/arms/eyes and one tongue, so we are all even when u step onto the field.
As for Beacham blaming his former teammates, on what evidence do u have..?? As far as i know him, he is a tough but fair person, who wouldnt expect any of his players do what he wouldnt. They call it dedication and committment.

clifton's lookalike said:
Anyone tell me how the bloke Uhi is going for Ballan?
How are Learmonth travelling under new coach Beacham?

Learmonth are sitting in 5th with by 6 points and percentage. Need to win 3 of there last 4 to guarantee a spot in the finals (Play daylesford (A), Clunes (A), Ballan (H) & Gordon (H).
HAve lost games they should have won, but have also won games that otheres expected them to lose.
Has brought many new and different game plans, and you will see Learmonth rapidly improve over the next 2 years, as there young guys gain more experience. Are still a shot this season, but b'ware in 2007 as many quality players from major leagues are sure to play at Learmonth next season

learmonth said:
Learmonth are sitting in 5th with by 6 points and percentage. Need to win 3 of there last 4 to guarantee a spot in the finals (Play daylesford (A), Clunes (A), Ballan (H) & Gordon (H).
HAve lost games they should have won, but have also won games that otheres expected them to lose.
Has brought many new and different game plans, and you will see Learmonth rapidly improve over the next 2 years, as there young guys gain more experience. Are still a shot this season, but b'ware in 2007 as many quality players from major leagues are sure to play at Learmonth next season
Don't tease us learmonth, give us some hints as to who the major league players might be. Agree, Daylesford are the best side I have seen this year but Waubra very good also.
As I believe I have said before Mullane-Grant is a gun, but left him out because he is lame. On 2 good legs he would kick a 100. Fair call on O'Brien but don't agree on Velduis & Ferrier. Not in same class as others. Go ok though.

X- man,
You seem to have an interest in Waubra. Maybe you can shed some light on the rumour that the other Brown brother will be at Waubra next year. Given Waubra has wine making in the area the Brown brothers would have a nice ring to it.

With 3 weeks to go and 6 teams left in the race, who are the contenders and who are the pretenders?? I like the fast game of Daylesford, the experience of Hepburn and Waubra seem solid. Bungaree cant be wriitten off and add either Ballan or Learmonth it makes for a great finals series. Give some feedback on what you all think.

NCFL said:
X- man,
You seem to have an interest in Waubra. Maybe you can shed some light on the rumour that the other Brown brother will be at Waubra next year. Given Waubra has wine making in the area the Brown brothers would have a nice ring to it.

For a first time poster; NCFL you are quite quick witted. I think the Brown Brothers would be more interested in owning a brewery rather than a winery - they may already have shares in them!!
I am sure that Waubra would be keen for another big man during the off season (not sure if brown is the man)to boast their big man brigade. It was good to see over the weekend that some of Waubra's second tier players stood up and solidly met their opponents head on with a couple of good old fashioned stoushes...It is also encouraging that Waubra still has room for improvement with a couple of their senior players set to return to the side over the next couple of weeks. So NCFL i would certainly say that after watching Waubra on the weekend they are still keen, not getting ahead of themselves and "taking it one week at a time" in order to break a long drought and make it to that big day in september. :thumbsu:

scoop22 said:
For a first time poster; NCFL you are quite quick witted. I think the Brown Brothers would be more interested in owning a brewery rather than a winery - they may already have shares in them!!
I am sure that Waubra would be keen for another big man during the off season (not sure if brown is the man)to boast their big man brigade. It was good to see over the weekend that some of Waubra's second tier players stood up and solidly met their opponents head on with a couple of good old fashioned stoushes...It is also encouraging that Waubra still has room for improvement with a couple of their senior players set to return to the side over the next couple of weeks. So NCFL i would certainly say that after watching Waubra on the weekend they are still keen, not getting ahead of themselves and "taking it one week at a time" in order to break a long drought and make it to that big day in september. :thumbsu:
Scoop,
Was the Springbank Waubra clash a bit heated? I saw Ballan get over the line against a brave Newlyn. Big game this week for Ballan against Daylesford, whats your thoughts?

NCFL said:
With 3 weeks to go and 6 teams left in the race, who are the contenders and who are the pretenders?? I like the fast game of Daylesford, the experience of Hepburn and Waubra seem solid. Bungaree cant be wriitten off and add either Ballan or Learmonth it makes for a great finals series. Give some feedback on what you all think.

By all accounts in what i heard from the weekend, Daylesford are the real deal. They looked quick, used the ball well and have a forward by the name of Dave Thompson, when on song, is very hard to match up on. They are my tip to play Waubra off in the G/F, but dont discard Bungaree. As for the other 3 sides, Hepburn may make the G/F but cant win it on the BIG Nothern Oval..Too slow and too many old players. (They like small ovals). Seiz only kicks goals against weaker sides. Learmonth & Ballan who ever makes it are great on their day, but are another season atleast away from competing with the other 4 sides..???

Its interesting, some big games to go. Who suits austar arena the most? Daylesford, and Bungaree if they are fit

NCFL said:
Scoop,
Was the Springbank Waubra clash a bit heated? I saw Ballan get over the line against a brave Newlyn. Big game this week for Ballan against Daylesford, whats your thoughts?

This clash between Waubra and Springbank certainly had a bit of spark early on with a good blood nose going to a Springbank player. I think the book did come out of the back pocket of the main umpire at one stage during one of the heated clashes. Not certain on this though.

I would certainly say on form that the Bulldogs will win this game, although I certainly wouldn't put it past Ballan to provide one of the upsets, as it is a must win if they are to keep their finals aspirations alive.

Went and watched the Daylesford and Learmonth game on the weekend, and as i said before, Learmonth are no way near up to the standard of the top 4 teams in the league. Too small in the midfield and were thrown around by the big men such as winduss, joel adams, and dave thompson. madigan copt an awfull hiding from thompson, and if he had his kicking boots on would have kicked 10 goals no worries. Nothing against madigan, but thompson is going to be the danger man come finals time if his kicking improves. ryang, the two players learmonth will be massive drawcards for the chfl if they get them, both are guns.
Top ten players from what i have seen this year would have to be>

Glenn Handley
Andy McKay
Scott Winduss
Leigh Brown
Rob Rodgers
Justin Harris
Hayden Cartledge
Sean Mullane
James Sobey
Matt Peake

crusader said:
Went and watched the Daylesford and Learmonth game on the weekend, and as i said before, Learmonth are no way near up to the standard of the top 4 teams in the league. Too small in the midfield and were thrown around by the big men such as winduss, joel adams, and dave thompson. madigan copt an awfull hiding from thompson, and if he had his kicking boots on would have kicked 10 goals no worries. Nothing against madigan, but thompson is going to be the danger man come finals time if his kicking improves. ryang, the two players learmonth will be massive drawcards for the chfl if they get them, both are guns.
Top ten players from what i have seen this year would have to be>

Glenn Handley
Andy McKay
Scott Winduss
Leigh Brown
Rob Rodgers
Justin Harris
Hayden Cartledge
Sean Mullane
James Sobey
Matt Peake

Since everyone else is having a go at their top 10, I'LL give mine, but it may vary as i only judge on what players do when i see them and not from what others say. I select match winners and not players who bludge behind the line and get easy kicks.
  1. Mullane-Grant
  2. Cade Obrien
  3. Sean Mullane
  4. Wade Veldhuis
  5. Luke Adams
  6. Scott Winduss
  7. Weymess (Bungaree)
  8. Justin Harris
  9. Hayden Cartledge
  10. Matthew Peake
Appologies to Brown, but when i saw him play, he was completely outclassed by Veldhuis who beat him in about 12/15 contests. The guy must be able to play as he has kicked plenty of goals against quality opposition.