Central Highlands

who was she? how does jamie wilson keep getting runners up or even in the top 5? iv seen him play heaps and dont think to much of him. is it cause his in a shit side?

Bonny someone, plays for Ballan, about the only time all the blokes in the room were paying attention when she stood up.

Can't help you on the other question as its a complete mystery. Do you mean top 5 or 50??

1st of all what a boring night the CHFL medal count is (Do I owe an appology there??).... Should be on a Saturday night or the Sunday afternoon after the preliminary final. Have a band, guest speaker, Rookie of the year, Team of the Year, Coach of the year, umpire of the year etc + a guest speaker all on the one night. That would then be value for $40. Bit rich, If i just wanted to hear numbers called out Ild go to BINGO!

The contact must have set me up cause he is involved in the betting side of it and is an umpire, as its from a reliable source, as stated, even more $$ for the end of season trip. I didnt have a bet on it, and still believe betting should be outlawed. So they didnt get my money but if you want to listen to rumors etc then all is fair and love and war. I hope the umps enjoy their trip. I dont think anyone would have got a return, but well done to Louis, well deserved. Still would like to know how opposition sides players get votes when their side doesnt get within 100+ points, just confuses me, I would suggest that their would be a minimum of 3 better players from that winning side.

Also though both Umps from the Learmonth/Waubra game did an excellent job, best we have had all year, as I didnt even notice them. So well done to Darryl and Mr Deveraux.

As for the 4 remaining sides, anyone on their day can win.... Its not ability, but how the players prepare mentally.

Agreed, it is a boring night. Can't work out why they choose a bloke who doesn't seem very popular with anyone in the room to read the votes either.

Well done to Lou Franc, don't think he would have been anyones tip pre-count, and also to Bernie Jurcan - both good blokes.

As Off Shore said, the comment about the umpires from Saturdays game must have been tongue in cheek. I have had the pleasure of witnessing umpire Devereux destroy games of football on many occasions. Seems to be arrogant, has little or no grasp of either the rules or the spirit of the game and struggles to keep up. Apart from that he's ok. I must admit I didn't get to the game, but it's surprising to hear that he got a gig in a final.

1st of all what a boring night the CHFL medal count is (Do I owe an appology there??).... Should be on a Saturday night or the Sunday afternoon after the preliminary final. Have a band, guest speaker, Rookie of the year, Team of the Year, Coach of the year, umpire of the year etc + a guest speaker all on the one night. That would then be value for $40. Bit rich, If i just wanted to hear numbers called out Ild go to BINGO!

The contact must have set me up cause he is involved in the betting side of it and is an umpire, as its from a reliable source, as stated, even more $$ for the end of season trip. I didnt have a bet on it, and still believe betting should be outlawed. So they didnt get my money but if you want to listen to rumors etc then all is fair and love and war. I hope the umps enjoy their trip. I dont think anyone would have got a return, but well done to Louis, well deserved. Still would like to know how opposition sides players get votes when their side doesnt get within 100+ points, just confuses me, I would suggest that their would be a minimum of 3 better players from that winning side.

Also though both Umps from the Learmonth/Waubra game did an excellent job, best we have had all year, as I didnt even notice them. So well done to Darryl and Mr Deveraux.

As for the 4 remaining sides, anyone on their day can win.... Its not ability, but how the players prepare mentally.

No "appology" required for calling the vote count boring, most would agree that the night is about as entertaining as watching the meat raffle get drawn at the Golf House of a Friday night… Agree that depending upon the availability of venues, the night would be far better suited to the Saturday night after the preliminary final with a band and festivities. It is however difficult to fit in four best and fairest counts into one evening and I’m not sure that there is an easy way to compress proceedings without taking away from the count?? Perhaps someone could provide some input as to other leagues B&F’s that are successful??

However an apology is appropriate when you’ve questioned the integrity of the umpires and the system in place. I’ve no problems with conspiracy theories or the “leaks” that are bandied about, hey the same thing happens each year around Brownlow time, where someone draws up an excel spreadsheet and claims that it’s a leaked document from the AFL, but no-one is stupid enough to publicly attack the league or the umpires in case the theories are wrong..

No "appology" required for calling the vote count boring, most would agree that the night is about as entertaining as watching the meat raffle get drawn at the Golf House of a Friday night… Agree that depending upon the availability of venues, the night would be far better suited to the Saturday night after the preliminary final with a band and festivities. It is however difficult to fit in four best and fairest counts into one evening and I’m not sure that there is an easy way to compress proceedings without taking away from the count?? Perhaps someone could provide some input as to other leagues B&F’s that are successful??

However an apology is appropriate when you’ve questioned the integrity of the umpires and the system in place. I’ve no problems with conspiracy theories or the “leaks” that are bandied about, hey the same thing happens each year around Brownlow time, where someone draws up an excel spreadsheet and claims that it’s a leaked document from the AFL, but no-one is stupid enough to publicly attack the league or the umpires in case the theories are wrong..

Never questioned the integrity of the umpires, just a few people involved in the betting on the league medal who are looking after their own pocket. If it was taken that way then I appologise to those umpires that dont have anything to do with the betting which is 99%. I think the league is run very poorly and wont hide that. I think the delegates and the paid personal looking after the CHFL run it very poorly and need to be moved on. This league has overtaken them, and they are holding it back from going in the right direction. We need a board system that can support all clubs, increase sponsorship etc..
And where do they get off charging $1 for records at finals, there is less information in them then at Home & Away games due to less sides being in. A cheap money raiser in my opinion. Maybe some player profiles, history on past finals etc in their may endorse the $1 fee.

I know of leagues that only count from half way- That would wipe of 2 hours, Have forms on each table with results up to half way which would show who got votes in which game and current leader board etc. More interest as noone cares really at the start. Have a comedian, guest speaker and band and we can fit taht in on the Saturday night. The money made over the bar, might even cover them in not charging $1 for records at finals....
Cheers

cheers ryang. I meant top 5 in league. But Iv worked it out. shit team and midfielder. at ballan Zacch peoples won b/f but didnt get single league vote, how does that work?

Learmonth why dont you think about running for president of league when your coaching career is over? think you would do a better job then the people that are doing it know

cheers ryang. I meant top 5 in league. But Iv worked it out. shit team and midfielder. at ballan Zacch peoples won b/f but didnt get single league vote, how does that work?

Learmonth why dont you think about running for president of league when your coaching career is over? think you would do a better job then the people that are doing it know

I saw 2 Ballan games this year and both times Peoples stood out. The first time I had no idea who he was but he was by far the dominant player on the ground in a winning side and clearly deserved the 3. The 2nd time was an 8 goal loss and even then I would have thought he was right in the mix for votes. Maybe he has a bit to say to the umps I don't know. Umpires certainly see things differently sometimes and I'm sure there would be a lot of other players in every side who miss out on votes they deserve. It helps to be well known in country footy when it comes to b&fs.

On this weeks games, Hepburn to be too strong for Learmonth - although they better be on their game as Learmonth proved last week they are the real deal. Waubra to bounce back in the other match.

This weeks tips Hepburn V Learmonth by 5 goals on fast track
Pretty sure that Robbo will get key match ups right unlike Waubra did the previous week. Some very poor match ups??????? Also believe that Hepburn may have turned to ST BRENDAN during a recent training session, or just visiting Dooley's old stomping ground.

Waubra V Daylesford comfortably. waubra looked very underdone last week not sure if they can bounce back against a well drilled Daylesford outfit.

Hoping to see two exciting games of football. Unlike last weeks dull affairs

Pretty sure that Robbo will get key match ups right unlike Waubra did the previous week. Some very poor match ups??????? Also believe that Hepburn may have turned to ST BRENDAN during a recent training session, or just visiting Dooley's old stomping ground.

Waubra V Daylesford comfortably. waubra looked very underdone last week not sure if they can bounce back against a well drilled Daylesford outfit.

Im gathering your a dford person, last week you tip Waubra to beat learmonth, with learmonth out in straight sets. Waubra are a good unit, just got beaten by a better side on the day, things could have easily gone their way as well. What were the poor match ups in your opinion?? Who shouldnt or should have played on who that you didnt like?

The poor match ups were in your favour, I'm pretty sure you would have liked what you saw in your forward 50. and yes were beaten by a better side on the day, waubra are a quality side and no not a Dford person.

Mate if your tips are right Hepburn by 5 goals and Daylesford comfortably you wont see two exciting games of football now will you....

If the weather is kind we should see two cracking games if it's wet anything could happen.

Hepburn over Learmonth
Waubra over a well drilled Daylesford outfit.

Waubra v Learmonth #4 next week.

Had the pleasure of witnessing the Hepburm V Learmonth game today. Saw some great things for a low scoring game of footy, and as long as Learmonth can get T. Beacham back, by the looks of it it will be a rematch again in two weeks. Probably with the same result. no other team has kept hepburn scoreless (bar 6 points) in the second half. I see M. Dillon did not get in hepburns best but he saved the game for hepburn when learmonth were attacking in the second half, sweeping the ball off the half back flank just as soon as John Cantwell had tapped the ball 20m to learmonths advantage at almost every hitout. Umpiring was not great, but about normal CHFL standards, not favoring one side more than the other. Did anyone else happen to see Shep kicking Learmonth's number 5 in the leg off the ball? Cox looked lame, and will be better for the two weeks off, but was it lack of match practice that had them score their lowest for the year? and the closest margin since their loss to Dford. It was made clear today, and over the last two weeks that Learmonth can bounce back. looks like AJ learnt some lessons from their last towling, just as he did with waubra. But can hepburn learn from today as well? Looking forward to tomorrows game, Last time waubra had it over Dford, tomorrow I think it will be turned around. Any other thoughts from anybody who seen todays match? Learmonth... were you happy with your guys? do you thing they can take it a step further? Hepburn... Bad day? or is that the best you have? will the lack of match practice hurt?

I see the large umpire from the Waubra-Learmonth game got dropped to the Hepburn-Daylesford 2's game yesterday, still managed to screw up pretty badly in that game.........dropped to the U/18's next week my tip!!

Anyway good hard slog yesterday in s*ithouse weather, Hepburn would have to be worried with there conversion rate wouldnt they after kicking 5.15 yesterday and a similar score in there previous game against Daylesford....Cox didnt seem to be quite on, was his usual self in the air with his strong pack marks but didnt seem to be confident kicking at goal.

Anyone with an update on Tim Beacham's injury?? Didnt seem to be in a good way. Will he get up for next week against Waubra or Daylesford??

Would love to hear your take on the game AJ??

I see the large umpire from the Waubra-Learmonth game got dropped to the Hepburn-Daylesford 2's game yesterday, still managed to screw up pretty badly in that game.........dropped to the U/18's next week my tip!!

Anyway good hard slog yesterday in s*ithouse weather, Hepburn would have to be worried with there conversion rate wouldnt they after kicking 5.15 yesterday and a similar score in there previous game against Daylesford....Cox didnt seem to be quite on, was his usual self in the air with his strong pack marks but didnt seem to be confident kicking at goal.

Anyone with an update on Tim Beacham's injury?? Didnt seem to be in a good way. Will he get up for next week against Waubra or Daylesford??

Would love to hear your take on the game AJ??

Shocking conditions, but thats football. Hepburn are a very disciplined in the way they play football. They were just too good for us in the 2nd quarter when we had the win, and should have made in roads. We blazed away, and without Tim we certainly struggled in the conditions to kick a winning score. Dillion was best for Hepburn in my opinion, played a great game as a defensive wingman running the lines. Hepburn are certainly beatable, especially on the BIG northern oval but it will take a good side playing 100mins which we were unable to do. Brought the margin down by 10 goals and if we are lucky enough to get another chance we have certainly learnt new things about hepburn.
As for Shepherd, just low in what he did, who kicks someone when their not watching thats not football and shows the mentality of the person, not very smart. Could easily cost hepburn a premiership if he has another brain faze.
As for front on contact I think that has gone out of the game as on the weekend if it was AFL there would have been some massive suspensions handed out. 2 X Hepburn players 1 X Learmonth player and the front on contact to D Liston in yesterdays game. Atleast they were consistent.

We get another chance to play in a grand final so its up to us and dford will be a great challenge for us, as to beat them you need to beat their midfield which is a lot easier said then done...

Game is at Dunnstown...

Shocking conditions, but thats football. Hepburn are a very disciplined in the way they play football. They were just too good for us in the 2nd quarter when we had the win, and should have made in roads. We blazed away, and without Tim we certainly struggled in the conditions to kick a winning score. Dillion was best for Hepburn in my opinion, played a great game as a defensive wingman running the lines. Hepburn are certainly beatable, especially on the BIG northern oval but it will take a good side playing 100mins which we were unable to do. Brought the margin down by 10 goals and if we are lucky enough to get another chance we have certainly learnt new things about hepburn.
As for Shepherd, just low in what he did, who kicks someone when their not watching thats not football and shows the mentality of the person, not very smart. Could easily cost hepburn a premiership if he has another brain faze.
As for front on contact I think that has gone out of the game as on the weekend if it was AFL there would have been some massive suspensions handed out. 2 X Hepburn players 1 X Learmonth player and the front on contact to D Liston in yesterdays game. Atleast they were consistent.

We get another chance to play in a grand final so its up to us and dford will be a great challenge for us, as to beat them you need to beat their midfield which is a lot easier said then done...

Game is at Dunnstown...

Learmonth I think one player in your team is very lucky to be playing at all this week. He made a head high bump on the weekend which I thought was very lucky not to be reportable. I wont name names as that is unfair however im pretty sure you would know who he is. He seems to do this week in week out and will be very very lucky he doesn't get sighted one day. Not a big bloke but very talented. Have you addressed this with him as yet?

Also once again thought the umpiring from yesterday's game was ordinary to say the least. To send a player off for swearing in such a cut throat game where expletives were used all day by both teams was very very ordinary by the umpire.

Like the Learmonth player I think a very very influential Daylesford player is very very lucky to be playing this week after two seperate incidents with a Waubra player on the weekend. Apparently the Waubra player has both sides of his jaw fractured.

Saw both games and those umpiring decisions were absolutely sh*tful. All the incidents resulted in free kicks and from the understanding i have, if there is any head high contact a report should have been made. Well with less matches being played now in the coming weeks, lets hope those umpires that were involved in these matches each get the ass so we can have some consistent and decent umpiring. What a joke about the games being played at dunstown. Bungaree is a better option with the surface being a lot even all over the ground. Heard one of Daylesfords senior midifelders is gone with a broken arm also. Will mean less of a headache for the learmonth players this week.

It has been extremely disappointing to see the Finals games in the Central Highlands League over the last two weeks be completely ruined by incompetent umpires. The inconsistency of decisions has been terrible. In yesterday’s match Waubra vs. Learmonth the decision making of the umpires was truly farcical. The game was played with intensity and passion by both teams, but was ruined by bad umpiring from start to finish. How can a player be yellow carded for swearing yet another player not be even given a penalty for felling a player in front of the umpire? It certainly said it all when some Daylesford supporters after the game clapped the umpires off the ground. The question should be asked as to whether the same umpire is allowed to umpire the same team two weeks running throughout finals?? I just hope that finals football can get back to being determined by the spirit , grit and determination of players trying to win the game not by umpires making inconsistent and ridiculous decisions.

Totally agree, the standard and inconsistency of umpiring decisions/ non decisions has been poor at best. Some of these guys need to realise that the crowd isn't there to watch them.:confused::confused::confused:

Did see both games on weekend and there are 5 blokes who should be sitting on the sidelines watching for the rest of the season 3 from sat and 2 yesterday. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Learmonth I think one player in your team is very lucky to be playing at all this week. He made a head high bump on the weekend which I thought was very lucky not to be reportable. I wont name names as that is unfair however im pretty sure you would know who he is. He seems to do this week in week out and will be very very lucky he doesn't get sighted one day. Not a big bloke but very talented. Have you addressed this with him as yet?

Also once again thought the umpiring from yesterday's game was ordinary to say the least. To send a player off for swearing in such a cut throat game where expletives were used all day by both teams was very very ordinary by the umpire.

Like the Learmonth player I think a very very influential Daylesford player is very very lucky to be playing this week after two seperate incidents with a Waubra player on the weekend. Apparently the Waubra player has both sides of his jaw fractured.

Agreed, i think the Learmonth player was very lucky to just get away with a free kick in an incident that probably would have drawn 4-6 weeks in the AFL, didnt see the Sheppard incident, but if what you said is true AJ that should be his season over too.

Anyway congratulations should be given to Hepburn for making it into the Granny, well deserved, I think the performance of their 2's side also shows the depth that they have within the club.

Bit of an intriguing match-up this week, can't wait!!! :):):thumbsu::thumbsu:

Unfortunately it happens everywhere you go with the umpiring and I'm not sure what the answer is. The best ones are the ones who umpire the game and aren't out there to hog the attention. All a player asks for is consistency from the umpires and inconsistency generally leads to player frustration etc!

Saw both games and those umpiring decisions were absolutely sh*tful. All the incidents resulted in free kicks and from the understanding i have, if there is any head high contact a report should have been made. Well with less matches being played now in the coming weeks, lets hope those umpires that were involved in these matches each get the ass so we can have some consistent and decent umpiring. What a joke about the games being played at dunstown. Bungaree is a better option with the surface being a lot even all over the ground. Heard one of Daylesfords senior midifelders is gone with a broken arm also. Will mean less of a headache for the learmonth players this week.

No way. played on the oval on the we and it was very very good. better than bunga

Yes it is a time when umpires are becoming more and more of a concern. It use to be that people went to a game and came away remembering a great goal, good mark, good contest etc. Now it is about how bad the umpires are. All we hear is the umpires this and the umpires that, They are meant to be there to officiate and implement the rules, not to be the focus of the game and determine results.

That been said I agree that there should have been a few reports on the weekend. The worst by far was sheppards kick behind play, far worse than the elbow from the daylesford player and the knee from the learmonth player, they were both in play. each to their own though.

this week should be a good game depends on how both teams pull up after this week. Hopefully the weather is better. ie. a fair bit less wind. Sunday at learmonth was good in the second half with no wind, allowed footy to played on even terms.

Jimmy Bartel will go back to back

Yes it is a time when umpires are becoming more and more of a concern. It use to be that people went to a game and came away remembering a great goal, good mark, good contest etc. Now it is about how bad the umpires are. All we hear is the umpires this and the umpires that, They are meant to be there to officiate and implement the rules, not to be the focus of the game and determine results.

That been said I agree that there should have been a few reports on the weekend. The worst by far was sheppards kick behind play, far worse than the elbow from the daylesford player and the knee from the learmonth player, they were both in play. each to their own though.

this week should be a good game depends on how both teams pull up after this week. Hopefully the weather is better. ie. a fair bit less wind. Sunday at learmonth was good in the second half with no wind, allowed footy to played on even terms.

Jimmy Bartel will go back to back

I think what we have to realise is that players are simply not protected by the umpires in the CHFL. There quite possibly could have been three incidents at the Learmonth game on the weekend where players could have been seriously injured and a further two at Sundays game. Players simply have no confidence in umpires to protect them. Unfortunately it will probably take someone to get seriously injured for them to do something about it.

It has been extremely disappointing to see the Finals games in the Central Highlands League over the last two weeks be completely ruined by incompetent umpires. The inconsistency of decisions has been terrible. In yesterday’s match Waubra vs. Learmonth the decision making of the umpires was truly farcical. The game was played with intensity and passion by both teams, but was ruined by bad umpiring from start to finish. How can a player be yellow carded for swearing yet another player not be even given a penalty for felling a player in front of the umpire? It certainly said it all when some Daylesford supporters after the game clapped the umpires off the ground. The question should be asked as to whether the same umpire is allowed to umpire the same team two weeks running throughout finals?? I just hope that finals football can get back to being determined by the spirit , grit and determination of players trying to win the game not by umpires making inconsistent and ridiculous decisions.

Umpire DEVEREUX again by any chance?

I was there at Learmonth watching and saw Lee Brown take an absolute screamer! According to the umpire your not allowed to do this anymore. He's explanation was that putting your knee's on someones shoulders and taking a hanger was simply too dangerous. What a joke! Then minutes later Brown was absolutely crunched illegally and the same umpire called play on! It was a disgrace to say the least! This particular umpire needs to go umpire the under 15's. Or on second thoughts never again. Ruined what was a good game of footy to watch.:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Spot on mate . I have a query if Lee Browns knees were on a blokes shoulders was the other bloke sitting down?