Central Highlands

learmonth said:
By all accounts in what i heard from the weekend, Daylesford are the real deal. They looked quick, used the ball well and have a forward by the name of Dave Thompson, when on song, is very hard to match up on. They are my tip to play Waubra off in the G/F, but dont discard Bungaree. As for the other 3 sides, Hepburn may make the G/F but cant win it on the BIG Nothern Oval..Too slow and too many old players. (They like small ovals). Seiz only kicks goals against weaker sides. Learmonth & Ballan who ever makes it are great on their day, but are another season atleast away from competing with the other 4 sides..???
Good post. Spot on.

learmonth said:
Since everyone else is having a go at their top 10, I'LL give mine, but it may vary as i only judge on what players do when i see them and not from what others say. I select match winners and not players who bludge behind the line and get easy kicks.
  1. Mullane-Grant
  2. Cade Obrien
  3. Sean Mullane
  4. Wade Veldhuis
  5. Luke Adams
  6. Scott Winduss
  7. Weymess (Bungaree)
  8. Justin Harris
  9. Hayden Cartledge
  10. Matthew Peake
Appologies to Brown, but when i saw him play, he was completely outclassed by Veldhuis who beat him in about 12/15 contests. The guy must be able to play as he has kicked plenty of goals against quality opposition.
Probably raise a few eyebrows by having Wemyss in there but not a bad call. Under rated but rarely beaten.

crusader said:
Went and watched the Daylesford and Learmonth game on the weekend, and as i said before, Learmonth are no way near up to the standard of the top 4 teams in the league. Too small in the midfield and were thrown around by the big men such as winduss, joel adams, and dave thompson. madigan copt an awfull hiding from thompson, and if he had his kicking boots on would have kicked 10 goals no worries. Nothing against madigan, but thompson is going to be the danger man come finals time if his kicking improves. ryang, the two players learmonth will be massive drawcards for the chfl if they get them, both are guns.
Top ten players from what i have seen this year would have to be>

Glenn Handley
Andy McKay
Scott Winduss
Leigh Brown
Rob Rodgers
Justin Harris
Hayden Cartledge
Sean Mullane
James Sobey
Matt Peake
That comment about the potential Learmonth recruits just makes me even more curious. Come on you blokes how about just a little hint on their identity. I promise not to tell anyone.

I think these blokes better start giving us some clues in regards to these new Learmonth recruits. I know Bungaree have a few big names in their sights too. One of them is in the sights of Learmonth as well. Cant name but will keep trying to find out.

NCFL said:
I think these blokes better start giving us some clues in regards to these new Learmonth recruits. I know Bungaree have a few big names in their sights too. One of them is in the sights of Learmonth as well. Cant name but will keep trying to find out.

Its amazing that recruits are already getting thrown away, the silly season has began. The CHFL is becomming stronger every year, and i can see many quality Nth Ballarat and BFL players coming back for more $$$, less travel and commitment. I am sure all clubs in the league will recruit heavily and ensure that they are a chance of playing finals next season. Rumor has it that the Bulldogs may be even stronger next seaon with the recuiting of 2 stars from East/Points midfield. Both play in a band with a current Bulldog player by the name of Adam Hall. They are Luke Faull and im not sure of the other guys name, but he wears 17 and plays on the wing.

learmonth said:
Its amazing that recruits are already getting thrown away, the silly season has began. The CHFL is becomming stronger every year, and i can see many quality Nth Ballarat and BFL players coming back for more $$$, less travel and commitment. I am sure all clubs in the league will recruit heavily and ensure that they are a chance of playing finals next season. Rumor has it that the Bulldogs may be even stronger next seaon with the recuiting of 2 stars from East/Points midfield. Both play in a band with a current Bulldog player by the name of Adam Hall. They are Luke Faull and im not sure of the other guys name, but he wears 17 and plays on the wing.
Kade Nicholls

NCFL said:
X- man,
You seem to have an interest in Waubra. Maybe you can shed some light on the rumour that the other Brown brother will be at Waubra next year. Given Waubra has wine making in the area the Brown brothers would have a nice ring to it.

I know that he is going away for a couple of months and that Skontra is very keen to have a chat with the big unit when he gets back. They may have the pen and paper out this weekend as i understand that he is going down to show Skontra and his boys how to drink a t shirt, (his words not mine):D . Another factor is the money issue with the coach already getting paid big big dollars, would he be willing to take a substantial pay cut to allow Brown to slot into the big man brigade we will have to wait and see;)

Learmonth, very big call saying that them two boys are coming over to Daylesford next year, because they are two of the best midfielders get around in the BFL. Faull got offered the coaching job at Newlyn last year, and although very young, money could have been eniticing to him, but he knocked it back cause he wants to be part of success. As for Nicholls, rumor has it that this is his last year of footy all together due to bad problems with his back.
ryang,, the two players in question for learmonth are both big name guns, with bfl premiership glory behind them and both playing at different ends of the ground??????? They will be very lucky to get them as they are both happy where they are now, in the sun!!!!!

And yeah, if you need some lessons at school, those two learmonth recruits can help in that area. Enough said as that could be anough clues to answer your queries.

Big bucks alright! The word going around Bungaree the other day was he is on the big bucks and he has just been given a car, a maroon commodore, possibly by the club. But having said that, by all accounts he is worth it, I listened to his 3/4 time address when Waubra played against us and he spoke very well. He seems to have good support from his coaching staff as well.

crusader said:
And yeah, if you need some lessons at school, those two learmonth recruits can help in that area. Enough said as that could be anough clues to answer your queries.
Yeah mate, very good clues thanks and yes they would be very handy pick ups to say the least. I believe one of them went very well on the Gold Coast in the ACFC last weekend.

NCFL said:
Big bucks alright! The word going around Bungaree the other day was he is on the big bucks and he has just been given a car, a maroon commodore, possibly by the club. But having said that, by all accounts he is worth it, I listened to his 3/4 time address when Waubra played against us and he spoke very well. He seems to have good support from his coaching staff as well.

Havnt heard that NCFL but i will do some investigating but he is not afraid to put a bit back over the bar and enjoy some froffys:thumbsu: ....
Yeah i have listened to him a few times and certainly seems a very swithced on bloke, i have listned to a fair few coaches address thier sides and this bloke would be in my Top 3, (Nigel Allan and John Cossar the other 2) If these boys get up at the end of the year this bloke will be crowned king of Waubra i reackon and one of those signs up at the entrance of the town Home of Shane Skontra (hahaha). Long way before that happens though NCFL.

X Man said:
Havnt heard that NCFL but i will do some investigating but he is not afraid to put a bit back over the bar and enjoy some froffys:thumbsu: ....
Yeah i have listened to him a few times and certainly seems a very swithced on bloke, i have listned to a fair few coaches address thier sides and this bloke would be in my Top 3, (Nigel Allan and John Cossar the other 2) If these boys get up at the end of the year this bloke will be crowned king of Waubra i reackon and one of those signs up at the entrance of the town Home of Shane Skontra (hahaha). Long way before that happens though NCFL.

Who are Nigel Allan & John Cossar...??? Skontra has done a great job for Waubra, and with certain stars to come back in, they will only get stronger. Needs to win the flag this year to prove that he is the supercoach of the Centralhighlands. If they dont win it, or even worse, dont make the Grand Final, where to then...

learmonth said:
Who are Nigel Allan & John Cossar...??? Skontra has done a great job for Waubra, and with certain stars to come back in, they will only get stronger. Needs to win the flag this year to prove that he is the supercoach of the Centralhighlands. If they dont win it, or even worse, dont make the Grand Final, where to then...

John Cossar is the charlton former 'supercoach' he had coached charlton up until the end of last year, since the dinosaurs become extinct....ok, sarcasm, but hes had alot of success and alot of experience

Yeah that is spot on learmonth, if he can take them to the finals and go out in straight sets, just shows he has a good list and a good bunch of players, but the top coaches stand up come finals time and bring something new to the table, which wins those big matches, and from all reports last year they didn't.
If Ballana get in watch out because Scotty knows what he is on about and with blokes like brendan heir just hitting their straps, they will be one dangerous team. This week is their grand final though, against the doggies, so if they cant beat them this week there is no point them even making. Same with yoour team against clunes, which is also a very dangerous game.

crusader said:
Yeah that is spot on learmonth, if he can take them to the finals and go out in straight sets, just shows he has a good list and a good bunch of players, but the top coaches stand up come finals time and bring something new to the table, which wins those big matches, and from all reports last year they didn't.
If Ballana get in watch out because Scotty knows what he is on about and with blokes like brendan heir just hitting their straps, they will be one dangerous team. This week is their grand final though, against the doggies, so if they cant beat them this week there is no point them even making. Same with yoour team against clunes, which is also a very dangerous game.

Will be making my way out to the game this week (CRUSADER). A must win for the Lakies, and a very very dangerous game as Clunes play their ground really well, and we cant forget that learmonth lost to Beaufort. If the Daylesford Dogs get home and Learmonth win, then Ild say the Lakies will be playing finals as they would have to lose their last two games against Ballan & Gordon. Both are at home were the Lakies play better. Ballan a real danger side, have spent BIG $$$ on Heir who is a money man, has played for about 12 clubs in 7 seasons, and in finals football, Passion and Pride will always beat a paid player..
Ballan play the small ovals well, but from what ive been told, struggle on the BIG ovals, should make for a beauty of a game b/t Ballan & learmonth if Ballan are able to beat Daylesford. Who ever wins that game will play finals.. Oh how tight its getting!!!!

crusader said:

Why all the rave about Ballan..>?? They may be playing better, and have flogged some mediocre football sides, but are yet to beat a side within the top 5. Yes they have recruited some guns 1/2 yearly, but its your bottom 10 players (depth) that will get u too the finals and win u a flag. They dont have that..??
My tip for the final 5 is-
Waubra
Hepburn
Daylesford
Bungaree
Learmonth
Will be great to watch hepburn & Dford slug it out again.... especially on a neutral ground. Dford to win- too much class and leg speed.
Bungaree to be too strong for learmonth, though on their day they could possible upset anyside (from all reports, Coach beecham, has no fear and gives his players the confidence to play with flair and risk) could bring him down in a close game/ That is my only question about his coaching style.
Anyone else have suggestions.

Tough for Bungaree if they miss the double chance. Hepburn this week, then Waubra, then finals, thats a hard run.Learmonth not quite good enough. Maybe next year their big recruits. Out of the top three.

Saw the 2nd half at ballan v daylesford on saturday, entertaining game, pretty much goal for goal. Difference was thompson up forward who has a great pair of hands. As mentioned previously ballan lack tall backmen and maybe a ruckman but apart from that they are a fairly young side, which i would say might contribute to their lack of success against the top sides. Reckon you're a little harsh in your assessment of their bottom 10 learmonth, i'd say only their bottom 5 fall away a bit, they're not far off. BUT, there is a rumour circulating that scotty told the players BEFORE saturdays game that he would'nt be coaching next year. Don't know any details as to why, if he is coaching elsewhere or whatever, but have heard that everybody at the club was shocked and devestated, especially the players. I've been told ballan has a history of falling apart at the seams pretty easily so it will be interesting to see what happens. The improvement might count for nought.
As for daylesford they have the best midfield going around, good forward set up but I reckon a tall forward line might cause them some problems. I don't know if they were missing anyone on saturday, maybe somebody could fill me in, crusader maybe, if you were there I would be interested to hear your thoughts.
Bungaree will roll hepburn this week, so should set up a ripper in the last round against waubra to decide whether its bunga or the dogs that gets 3rd. Big ask to beat waubra out there though.

Hi to everyone.

First of all, great thread. Keeps me up to date on the league happenings and player performances.

I didnt make it to the Ballan Vs Daylesford game on the weekend. Saw in the Herald Sun that it was a close game with Daylesford running out winners. Was anyone there that could inform me of some of the players performances? (best players). Have heard both teams have some great players. Ryan G you mentioned Dave Thompson had a good game? What about Mullane-Grant at the other end???? I have noticed he has kicked quite a few this year.

So yeah, if anyone can inform me of player performances in this game, and maybe some standouts in other games it would be appreciated.

Thank You
Paul

Was at Ballan Daylesford game, Adams boys and Winduss dominated the middle, while Ballans backline couldn't stand up. Mullane-Grant looked dangerous early but lack of opportunity particularly in the second half saw him move up the ground. Ballan went too wide when kicking forward which didn't help the likes of Mullane-grant, Watts and Uhi.

Daylesford look very dangerous and if Bungaree fail in the next two weeks and Daylesford snare third spot they will be Waubras big threat.

Apple Eater said:
Was at Ballan Daylesford game, Adams boys and Winduss dominated the middle, while Ballans backline couldn't stand up. Mullane-Grant looked dangerous early but lack of opportunity particularly in the second half saw him move up the ground. Ballan went too wide when kicking forward which didn't help the likes of Mullane-grant, Watts and Uhi.

Daylesford look very dangerous and if Bungaree fail in the next two weeks and Daylesford snare third spot they will be Waubras big threat.

Heard a rumor floating around that Malcome Scott announced his resignation before the Ballan/Daylesford game and came as a complete surprise to the players and may have distracted them. Scotty likes to get his own way and if he doesnt, he makes very rash statements. The Ballan committee will not tolerate his ignorance and he is very exchangable, even though he thinks he isnt.

ryang, daylesford were nearly full strength on the weekend, couple of blokes still to come in, especially one under 18 player if they dont make the finals, absolute gun and probably one of the most skilled players in the juniors in the chfl. The forward structure is pretty big, but thats going to test alot of teams if they cant man up four talls. Rob Rodgers is also another, who although short will need to be manned up by one of their best players. So if there is any team that can man up five gun forwards, they will beat daylesford. Scott has resigned, because he knows that ballan are a great chance to win next year with a couple more recruits, and for a coach who gave all his money back to the club to recruit players, i dont think he would throw it in that easy. Bungaree vs Hepburn this week looms as the biggest match of the season. Who ever gets up is a real chance for top spot still, especially hepburn. But if Bungaree get up, they are my tip to make it to the grand final no worries and to play off against either waubra or daylesford. Hepburn have hammered some teams of late, but they wont be able to match the speed of the others on the big ground.

CountryScout said:
Hi to everyone.

First of all, great thread. Keeps me up to date on the league happenings and player performances.

I didnt make it to the Ballan Vs Daylesford game on the weekend. Saw in the Herald Sun that it was a close game with Daylesford running out winners. Was anyone there that could inform me of some of the players performances? (best players). Have heard both teams have some great players. Ryan G you mentioned Dave Thompson had a good game? What about Mullane-Grant at the other end???? I have noticed he has kicked quite a few this year.

So yeah, if anyone can inform me of player performances in this game, and maybe some standouts in other games it would be appreciated.

Thank You
Paul

Mullane-Grant was well held by Cronin?? (I think) but as apple eater said, Ballan stuffed around with the ball when going forward. I am told he was dangerous in the 1st half, kicked a couple and missed a few others he would normally kick, but he looks like a one legged duck. His knee looks to be getting worse. I know there are big wraps on him this season on the basis of his goal return, but when fully fit he is way better than this. He is unstoppable on his day so I hope he gets his knee fixed and shows what he is capable of.
Winduss for Daylesford dominated and fed the ball to his on-ballers on a platter, and when those on-ballers are as good as Daylesfords their dangerous forwards are going to be a handfull.
At other clubs, Bryce Nicholson is killing them up forward for Bungaree. I know a lot of people who say this bloke is soft, but he is a match winner.
The big fridge in the goal square for Waubra has been a headache for all clubs this year as has Sean Mullane. There is a young guy at Learmonth who has caught the eye, Powell I think his name is??? Very clever and dangerous around goal.