Central Highlands

ryang said:
Probably right with the venues, Learmonth or Bungaree the only other 2 that could get the gig as they can't be used on Saturday. Nicholson was ok, kicked 3 but the game was over at 1/2 time. Waubra looking ominous & will take some beating.

From what i hear Hepburn will Play daylesford on the Saturday at Learmonth and Bungaree will play Learmonth at Springbank on Sunday. My tip is for Daylesford to beat Hepburn and thompson is the key along with there brilliant midfield, and due to being biased the Lakies to beat Bungaree though they will need to improve as from memory Bungaree flogged them last time.
G/F tip early is for Waubra to play Daylesford.

ryang said:
The days when country clubs could win a flag with a team full of locals are long gone. Hepburn have the money and prowess to be able to recruit gun players and good luck to them. Credit to the blokes running the show out there for trying to change the reputation they have earned over the years as being thugs. They are nothing like they used to be and I agree that sometimes their reputation works against them. Old wounds are slow to heal.

Thought ild follow up with my last comment with how many players are locals from Learmonth-
Sobey/Basham X 2/Aaron Davies/Powell/ Duffy/Davey/Robertson/Lee/Neville/McMurray/Karslake/McKinnon- 13 regualar senior players not to bad- + Mcguigan etc lives locally but was a product of Gordon.
Hepburn havnt changed their reputation..... I still hear bad things regarding them... Will have to watch them this weekend, as you would be silly to miss that game. And how their supporters behave..???

Daylesford V Hepburn match should be great, and although i am a daylesford supporter, will be tough for them with so many key players under injury clouds. On the local issue, the bulldogs had on the weekend 17 / 22 local boys playing, so that just shows the difference between Hepburn and Daylesford with our juniors, and it is only going to get stronger in the next five years.

crusader said:
Daylesford V Hepburn match should be great, and although i am a daylesford supporter, will be tough for them with so many key players under injury clouds. On the local issue, the bulldogs had on the weekend 17 / 22 local boys playing, so that just shows the difference between Hepburn and Daylesford with our juniors, and it is only going to get stronger in the next five years.
17/22 is a good ratio crusader but the town of Daylesford is much bigger than all other towns supporting CHFL teams so it follows that they would have a bigger local talent pool than others. Saturdays game will be a ripper, can't wait to see how many turn up. With fine weather forecast the Bungaree oval should be bursting at the seams. Crusader did a Daylesford player suffer a season ending injury on Saturday, heard that was the case but don't know who.

ryang said:
17/22 is a good ratio crusader but the town of Daylesford is much bigger than all other towns supporting CHFL teams so it follows that they would have a bigger local talent pool than others. Saturdays game will be a ripper, can't wait to see how many turn up. With fine weather forecast the Bungaree oval should be bursting at the seams. Crusader did a Daylesford player suffer a season ending injury on Saturday, heard that was the case but don't know who.

Player in question is Adam Hall, but not sure how serious. Heard it was a broken leg, but thats just a rumor at this stage. Cant believe the game is not at Learmonth, why wouldnt you use the best ground in the district rather then a spud farm. Would expect no less then 7-8000 as they drew a crowd of 4000 during the season. Will be a bumper, and i believe the Doggies will just have too much in the tank. They dont fear Hepburn, which has caused othersides in the league plenty of problems in the past. Hepburn actually fear Daylesford, and see them as a real threat throughout the whole district.

Just wondering if anyone has heard anything about Lee "Fridge" Browns ankle??? Waubra would be wrapping the big unit up in cotton wool at the moment wouldnt they???

learmonth said:
Player in question is Adam Hall, but not sure how serious. Heard it was a broken leg, but thats just a rumor at this stage. Cant believe the game is not at Learmonth, why wouldnt you use the best ground in the district rather then a spud farm. Would expect no less then 7-8000 as they drew a crowd of 4000 during the season. Will be a bumper, and i believe the Doggies will just have too much in the tank. They dont fear Hepburn, which has caused othersides in the league plenty of problems in the past. Hepburn actually fear Daylesford, and see them as a real threat throughout the whole district.
Is true, Adam Hall suffered a broken leg, but they have given him a chance to get back if they make the final. All the boys at Daylesford were hoping the match would be at learmonth aswell, but if they are going to win, they can do it anywhere if they are good enough. Wont be suprised if Bungaree make an early exit this week either. haven't been setting the world on fire, and learmonth have turned the corner after coping a hiding from the dogs. Daylesford still have a few that will be under the microscope at training tonight. All three gun forwards Thompson, Rodgers and Bourke missed training on Tuesday so they may be one or two short down there. From all reports Grant is set to miss with a hamstring which they have been calling a corky. Was quiet last time and probably wont have an impact. Siez will cop a hiding off cronin again, probably in the top three back men in the league. Only issue i can see is containing Andy McKay. Probably one of the most talented players in the league.

X Man said:
Just wondering if anyone has heard anything about Lee "Fridge" Browns ankle??? Waubra would be wrapping the big unit up in cotton wool at the moment wouldnt they???

Saw him at the Trots on Sunday with a Bourbon in his hand with a few of the Waubra boys. Was walking around with no problems. He will be a definant starter, and they would have just taken him off for precaution.

Got the good mail on Lee Brown. When he did his ankle and hit the deck he was squealing like a pig. Aparently he has done more than ligaments on close inspection of the ankle in question. The Waubra trainer found a gun-shot wound to the ankle. Witnesses say a man fitting the description of Robbo was seen loitering near the grassy knoll carrying a sawn off shoty.

NCFL said:
Got the good mail on Lee Brown. When he did his ankle and hit the deck he was squeeling like a pig. Aparently he has done more than ligaments on close inspection of the ankle in question. The Waubra trainer found a gun-shot wound to the ankle. Witnesses say a man fitting the description of Robbo was seen loitering near the grassy knoll carrying a sawn off shoty.

Good Call, but I think Robbo should be looking at doing the same to Thompson from daylesford. They dont have a match up for him. No side in the competition does. He was the premier Full Forward in the BFL 5 years ago until he did his knee. Can possibly win Daylesford a flag on his own in the CHFL, especially with the supply he gets from the midfield.

NCFL said:
So how does a team stop Thompson?? Someone more athletic??

Thompson was clearly beaton by Newton on the weekend. Cant believe Robbo's comments in the paper. He is a guy that cant give any otherside credit, and he is the blame for the loss as he doesnt discipline his players for there thuggary and undiscipline play. That is why they wont make the G/F. Luke Adams clearly out coached him, which was great too see. Ross MAnn gets in the best, U have to be kidding. Rob Rodgers gave him an awful flogging. I bet he still hasnt been able to sit down due to his butt eing so sore.
Great win by the Lakies as well....Bungaree are a good unit, and im sure that the Lakies pace and fitness can get them further if the weather stays dry on the BIG Bungaree oval....
It was amazing to hear that supporters left the ground at the 20min mark when the Lakies were down by 4 goals. They would have had a shock reading the paper, and missed one of the greatest finishes in CHFL history...

Went to both matches on the weekend. Both were nail biters. Alot of talent running around.

I must say though, i was sitting near the goals in the Hepburn V Daylesford match and to touch on comments about supportes made in this thread earlier, i was sickened by some of the foul abuse by a group of Hepburn supporters. Amongst them a former coach who i thought was well respected in football circles. He sure lost my respect. I did move away from them after the first quarter and was kinda glad Daylesford got over the line simply because of the hepburn supporters (mind you, it may only of been a select group of supporters but it was enough to turn me off them, and im a neutral spectator)

Ok, back to the more important aspects.
Hepburn V Daylesford
Hepburn came out alot harder and faster than Daylesford and looked like they would win comfortably. After half time Daylesford were a completely different team. No. 6 for Daylesford, Robert Rodgers was the integral part of the Daylesford turn around in the 3rd quarter. Hepburns backline stood up well, holding down the main forwards. I believe Thompson went goalless. Hepburns forwards didnt fire, were well held by Daylesfords backmen which shuts down alot of Hepburns fire power. Both midfields were very good, Daylesfords getting on top in the end and winning the game. I have one question for anyone who can answer. No. 19 for Daylesford, Michael Cummins. Is it true he is 17 years old? Very talented player, fast, great skills.

Learmonth V Bungaree
What a strange game. I was standing on the opposite side to the clubrooms so i didnt get to feel the suspense amongst the crowd but im sure it was intense. Bungaree had the game won. And then Learmonth lost a key backman to injury, and the Learmonth coach for 15min. Bungaree should have steam rolled them. But maybe the Learmonth coach being yellow carded was what Learmonth needed. James Sobey was moved into the midfield and No. 10 Madigan pushed forward off half back. These 2 turned the game. The most bazar game ive watched in a few years. Bungaree stopped and were completely shocked at Learmonths late burst of attack.

Next weeks games will be interesting.
Waubra V Daylesford.
Touch one to call so i will leave it at that.

Hepburn V Learmonth
Hepburn look like they should win it relatively easy but if Learmonth play like they did in the final 15 minutes of Sundays game against Bungaree, Learmonth will win.

Wont make it to next weeks games however. For those that do, please post your views and observations of the games.

Thank you
Paul

Was Thompson beaten or did he sacrifice himself for the team taking Newton out of the way?? How is Wade Veldhuis. The injury didn't look real flash. Any reports lads? Saw a bloke at the game on Saturday, he looked like a tennis pro straight from the ATP tour event in Miami. At closer inspection relised it was AJ wearing a white visor. White is a great color because it makes ones tan look even more golden. Saw a story on sixty minutes last night on the worlds oil shortage, no wonder with the amount he had applied to him on Sunday.

NCFL said:
Was Thompson beaten or did he sacrifice himself for the team taking Newton out of the way?? How is Wade Veldhuis. The injury didn't look real flash. Any reports lads? Saw a bloke at the game on Saturday, he looked like a tennis pro straight from the ATP tour event in Miami. At closer inspection relised it was AJ wearing a white visor. White is a great color because it makes ones tan look even more golden. Saw a story on sixty minutes last night on the worlds oil shortage, no wonder with the amount he had applied to him on Sunday.

In my opinion Thompson was beaten in the 1st quarter then sacrafised his game for the team. Did it well. Smart coaching by Luke Adams. Not sure on the injury scene, but ill be at training on Thursday night to see how he goes. In my opinion wouldnt be worth Veldhuis training at all.
Rumor has it that Learmonth added X amount of oil into Aj's contract at the start of the season..??? George bush may be looking at attcking him and his arms, as Iraq is falling short!!

learmonth said:
In my opinion Thompson was beaten in the 1st quarter then sacrafised his game for the team. Did it well. Smart coaching by Luke Adams. Not sure on the injury scene, but ill be at training on Thursday night to see how he goes. In my opinion wouldnt be worth Veldhuis training at all.
Rumor has it that Learmonth added X amount of oil into Aj's contract at the start of the season..??? George bush may be looking at attcking him and his arms, as Iraq is falling short!!
Yes that would make sense that the man touted as possibly being able to win a flag on his own for Daylesford, former premier forward of the bfl and the man that NO club in the league can match up on, would sacrifice his game to take GUN match winner Sammy Newton out of the equation. Rumour has it that should hepburn and daylesford meet again this finals series Luke Adams is going to get all of his players to sacrifice their games ensuring a nil all draw. Then in extra time they will unleash hell!
Not sure on the injury scene but not worth velduis training at all??? Mmm. What, he has a broken leg but you arent sure which 1? Or youre not sure why he is in a wheel chair but the grass is too lush at learmonth to try and push the chair through training. Dr Peter Larkins has a rival.
Should be an interesting match on Sunday. One side has a coach who won't discipline his players and the other a coach who sets the example on discipline by getting yellow carded in their most important (at the time) game of the year. Learmonth as you appear VERY close to AJ, perhaps you should have a quiet word in his ear regarding the need for cool heads .

helmut said:
Yes that would make sense that the man touted as possibly being able to win a flag on his own for Daylesford, former premier forward of the bfl and the man that NO club in the league can match up on, would sacrifice his game to take GUN match winner Sammy Newton out of the equation. Rumour has it that should hepburn and daylesford meet again this finals series Luke Adams is going to get all of his players to sacrifice their games ensuring a nil all draw. Then in extra time they will unleash hell!
Not sure on the injury scene but not worth velduis training at all??? Mmm. What, he has a broken leg but you arent sure which 1? Or youre not sure why he is in a wheel chair but the grass is too lush at learmonth to try and push the chair through training. Dr Peter Larkins has a rival.
Should be an interesting match on Sunday. One side has a coach who won't discipline his players and the other a coach who sets the example on discipline by getting yellow carded in their most important (at the time) game of the year. Learmonth as you appear VERY close to AJ, perhaps you should have a quiet word in his ear regarding the need for cool heads .

last time i checked the scores from sundays game learmonth had a win when most on here thought they wouldn't. i'm sure AJ being the experienced footballer he is will be thinking hindsight is a wonderful thing and be smarter this week but really in a pressure situation in an elimination final things can just go wrong. all you ppl that get on here and pot him behind a name are cowards, you are probably the w ankers that Tim & AJ have looked after getting you good money etc playing football and now because you have had a falling out you think its your privelage to get out and pot them

helmut said:
Bit harsh i reckon. Aj may have been sent off but he was flying the flag for his team mates so i reckon well done to him. As for that bloke from hepburn, what a wan ka. Afetr the game he sat there for 15 minutes just staring at his team in disgust. Bit harsh on them as well. footy was pretty hot and he got into them for playing bad footy. If they played bad well the daylesford boys were woeful. If they were on song they would have belted the absolute christ out of hepburn, but everyone has there bad days. Will need to lift against a much more disciplined Waubra outfit. Winner of this will win the flag. Learmonth will roll hepburn if they paly a running game because hepburn are too old and slow and cant match running teams- ie losses daylesford * 2 and waubra, both good running teams. Number 19 in question is michael cummings. 17 year old kid who is probably one of the most skilled players getting around at that age in country footy. Has got a very good footy brain as well. Hard to match up becuase of his skills, speed and stregth in the air.

Not much has been said lads about the league medal i have noticed. Really excited about getting to watch Adams this weekend as havent seen him yet.... Huge effort by Danny Liston to come third although missing many games through injury. Noticed as well that Uhi didnt poll that well either... Any thoughts?????

X Man said:
Not much has been said lads about the league medal i have noticed. Really excited about getting to watch Adams this weekend as havent seen him yet.... Huge effort by Danny Liston to come third although missing many games through injury. Noticed as well that Uhi didnt poll that well either... Any thoughts?????

Adams deserved to win the medal. Has had a great season. Liston unlucky with injury but these things happen. Uhi polled very well early on but hardly any votes come the final 6 or 7 rounds.

Once again it was players through the midfield that polled all the votes. Brown from Waubra kicked 104 goals for the year but only polled well in the last 5 or 6 games.

DfordDog said:
Adams deserved to win the medal. Has had a great season. Liston unlucky with injury but these things happen. Uhi polled very well early on but hardly any votes come the final 6 or 7 rounds.

Once again it was players through the midfield that polled all the votes. Brown from Waubra kicked 104 goals for the year but only polled well in the last 5 or 6 games.

Its a midfielders award, and its very weird looking at who the umpires give there votes too (It is very confusing sometimes). Plenty of good forwards and backs who should have got more votes. Luke Adams a very very worthy winner. Uhi is a good player, but not a great player. He is an athlete who tries to take players on with his rugby background and brings others down around him by not giving the 1st option. Would prefer Luke Adams in the Midfield any day over Uhi. U cant buy football smarts.
Mullane from Waubra had a sensational year from what i hear and didnt poll too well- Very surprising.

Quick question for all football followers out there, how can players from sides that lose by more the 20 goals get 2 votes, surely the winning side must have had at least the 2 best players in the side..???
So in my opinion its more prestigeous/worthy to win a club B & F.

learmonth said:
Its a midfielders award, and its very weird looking at who the umpires give there votes too (It is very confusing sometimes). Plenty of good forwards and backs who should have got more votes. Luke Adams a very very worthy winner. Uhi is a good player, but not a great player. He is an athlete who tries to take players on with his rugby background and brings others down around him by not giving the 1st option. Would prefer Luke Adams in the Midfield any day over Uhi. U cant buy football smarts.
Mullane from Waubra had a sensational year from what i hear and didnt poll too well- Very surprising.

Quick question for all football followers out there, how can players from sides that lose by more the 20 goals get 2 votes, surely the winning side must have had at least the 2 best players in the side..???
So in my opinion its more prestigeous/worthy to win a club B & F.
Course it is. If a team wins by 20 goals they have probably had the 5 best on the ground in 99% of times. How they come up with the votes is anyones guess. Know of two 3 vote winners in that count who played just over 1/2 the game yet still got the 3. Uhi a great player, but yep you're right he is an athlete above anything else. He wasn't fit and carried injuries all year, missed 4 games in the 2nd half of season. First I've heard of the rugby background though?? Played TAC Cup for the pioneers.

clifton's lookalike said:
last time i checked the scores from sundays game learmonth had a win when most on here thought they wouldn't. i'm sure AJ being the experienced footballer he is will be thinking hindsight is a wonderful thing and be smarter this week but really in a pressure situation in an elimination final things can just go wrong. all you ppl that get on here and pot him behind a name are cowards, you are probably the w ankers that Tim & AJ have looked after getting you good money etc playing football and now because you have had a falling out you think its your privelage to get out and pot them
What a ridiculous post. Is that an attempt at humour or are you just a d ick head. No need to answer that, I read some of your dribble on the central murray thread - you are a d ick head.

helmut said:
What a ridiculous post. Is that an attempt at humour or are you just a d ick head. No need to answer that, I read some of your dribble on the central murray thread - you are a d ick head.

you only checked the central murray thread, silly boy i save my best stuff for this thread. enlighten me then harry the helmut why is it that you and many on this thread get on here and pot someone? is it because of insecurities?