Central Highlands

Hey snail, have you heard which clubs are looking for new coaches next year and do you know anything about Jason Hill?

Uncle you better lay off fridge I have heard he has some mad mofo mates but you may be right about the dirty bird though

On the coaching front have heard that Waubra are trying to hold onto Skontra but are struggling with the $$$. Apparently they have offered him a share in one of the wind turbines to power a small commercial precinct he is looking to set up just on the Waubra side of Learmonth. It is believed to have a KFC and a tanning salon which Skontra rekons he can cash in with especialy if the fridge stays at Waubra and with the Waubra netball girls and a rival coach nearby he maybe on the money. No, on a more serious note he has been made an offer, and is believed to be considering a coaching job up Echuca way. His girlfriend loves it up that way and lets face it everyone needs to be happy.

If Skontra goes, George Russell will become a playing coach at Waubra. Russell was on the big bucks this season - for both his abilities as a player and as an assistant to the coach. Russell masterminded many of the moves this year. Some even say that Skontra was merely Russell's puppet as George prefers to keep a low profile. This move would also help retrain some of the netballers as he is real ladies man - particularly when it comes to the young fluff.

Uncle CC said:
If Skontra goes, George Russell will become a playing coach at Waubra. Russell was on the big bucks this season - for both his abilities as a player and as an assistant to the coach. Russell masterminded many of the moves this year. Some even say that Skontra was merely Russell's puppet as George prefers to keep a low profile. This move would also help retrain some of the netballers as he is real ladies man - particularly when it comes to the young fluff.

I can actually back this up, George Russell will become playing coach of Waubra. I used to play with him over in Adelaide, where he's leadership qualities both on and off the field really did shine through and inspire us all. If he wasn't taking a massive screamer on the field he would be practising he's shotgun technique on any random possible. He would simply lure them in at a club and show them he's breathtaking liquid dancing moves and then load up he's pipes for offloading. He's only weakness is if she comes from the right which can be a problem at times...But grussl shouldn't have a problem taking the Waubra boys to back to back flags!!!

Harry HP said:
I can actually back this up, George Russell will become playing coach of Waubra. I used to play with him over in Adelaide, where he's leadership qualities both on and off the field really did shine through and inspire us all. If he wasn't taking a massive screamer on the field he would be practising he's shotgun technique on any random possible. He would simply lure them in at a club and show them he's breathtaking liquid dancing moves and then load up he's pipes for offloading. He's only weakness is if she comes from the right, this a result of the freak dodge ball which can be a problem at times...But grussl shouldn't have a problem taking the Waubra boys to back to back flags!!!

George Russell is a natural leader, and was the brains trust behind Waubra's success in 2006. Although the Roos are keen the sign the big man up again, I hear he has already had several coaching offers for 2007. Few players have the communication skills and leadership qualities that George does possess. Waubra's only hope now is to quickly sign David 'Wiggy' Ammaterstein, before they both go as a package deal.

Teeth said:
George Russell is a natural leader, and was the brains trust behind Waubra's success in 2006. Although the Roos are keen the sign the big man up again, I hear he has already had several coaching offers for 2007. Few players have the communication skills and leadership qualities that George does possess. Waubra's only hope now is to quickly sign David 'Wiggy' Ammaterstein, before they both go as a package deal.

Skontra has done all he can at Waubra, made them into a force... time to move on and challenge himself in a higher league... All the best to him

learmonth said:
Skontra has done all he can at Waubra, made them into a force... time to move on and challenge himself in a higher league... All the best to him

Skontra has done the hard yards why would he not challenge himself to keep waubra up and aim for back to back, then he has made them into a force.

As for Russell have heard he is holding talks with Ballarat as an assistant to Swooper can anyone back this up? From the talk going round don't think this would happen as he sounds set on coaching on his own .

T REX said:
Skontra has done the hard yards why would he not challenge himself to keep waubra up and aim for back to back, then he has made them into a force.

As for Russell have heard he is holding talks with Ballarat as an assistant to Swooper can anyone back this up? From the talk going round don't think this would happen as he sounds set on coaching on his own .

I think Skontra wants to take up the challenge but it is believed that Russell has said to Skontra "This town is not big enough for the two of us. Its either you or its me". I don't know if Skontra could maintain it all without the help of Russell. What do you guys think?

Uncle CC said:

I think you mean 'retain', although from what I've heard, it probably wouldn't hurt to re-train some of them anyway.

And the 'young fluff' comment can be put to rest, as apparently George was spotted at a local club getting chummy with an in-law of one of the Waubra hierarchy. Although looks can be decieving and it may just have been a few friendly drinks. She's looked to be out of his league anyway.

I think the feeling is at Waubra that Skontra should go around again.

I have herd George is moving on in search of some fresh crumpet anyway.

Skontra is looking at making Matt Clarke assistant coach, he will fill the massive hole on & off the field left by George's departure.

Clarke has one of the best football brains in the business & is always an inspiration when he addresses the team. I think this combination could work.

I have herd Jayden Reid & Piggy Linton may be heading to Bungaree as joint coaches would be a good get if this is correct.

Astro Boy said:
I have herd Jayden Reid & Piggy Linton may be heading to Bungaree as joint coaches would be a good get if this is correct.

Have heard that as well (Wouldnt be surprised to see a mass exit of Redan players this year to Nth Ballarat and into coaching positions), and heard the the Creswick coach has walked out as well, due the lack of professionalism.
Gladman has retired from footy, so there will be a few changes. Ballan still looking but rumor has it Cartledge and Mullane-Grant will be joint coaches.

learmonth said:
Have heard that as well (Wouldnt be surprised to see a mass exit of Redan players this year to Nth Ballarat and into coaching positions), and heard the the Creswick coach has walked out as well, due the lack of professionalism.
Gladman has retired from footy, so there will be a few changes. Ballan still looking but rumor has it Cartledge and Mullane-Grant will be joint coaches.

This may be the case but plenty of clubs have had cracks @ Redan players in the past and many of them find it hard to walk away from the success.

Also Heard that Malcom Scott could be off to Nth City as an assistant to Betty.

R a few lakers boys considering heading back to L'month?

Ive heard on the grape vine that Waubra are only losing the tough and rugged full back in Rodney "Fanta Pants" Stepnell to retirement. If Skontra goes round again he is sure to recruit big, and make an even stronger Waubra outfit. If this happens i really can't see anyone stopping Waubra next year.

What do you guys reckon?

ROOSTER1 said:
Learmonth, you are an absolute **** smoker. If ever I have read some bull**** it is from you! I agree that some supporters and I mean some use some very inappropriate language for the family atmosphere in some games. However, I read in the Courier earlier this year about a supporter from Learmonth yelling abuse from the sidelines against Hepburn. Is that correct? I believe that this no brainer was the brother of your current coach (that other idiot that everyone in Ballarat wants put down- like a useless dog).
I do believe that Robbo does everything for a purpose, im just happy that they sang their song outside against that weak as **** team from Learmonth.
Get off this site Learmonth, you are making the general public that read this site sick

May the best side win tomorrow
Abusing the learmonth coach won't help you, Rooster.
In fact your dumb comments won't help you.
You will only make things worse by abusing learmonth.

Harry HP said:
Ive heard on the grape vine that Waubra are only losing the tough and rugged full back in Rodney "Fanta Pants" Stepnell to retirement. If Skontra goes round again he is sure to recruit big, and make an even stronger Waubra outfit. If this happens i really can't see anyone stopping Waubra next year.

What do you guys reckon?

Think you will find that all sides will be recruiting at the moment and there are some sides that only need 3 or 4 of the right blokes to make a large impact on the league in 07. True waubra are going to be the bench mark again , but i'd say it's to early to know how many players will go around again at any club . Phones start ringing this time of year!!!!

On a different note who won all the club B&Fs?

Harry HP said:

What do you guys reckon?

Harry all clubs will recruit strongly + im sure there will be plenty of Waubra players being poached from other leagues due to their success for Bigger $$$ then what Waubra can offer. Very hard to keep a premiership side together if u dont have the coin.
Top 5 from last season along with Ballan and the Bunnies will be the sides.
Rumour has it that Hill and Weatherly back to Clunes next season, so that would vcertainly put them amongst the mix!!!

I haven't heard that one (and I hear alot of things), but I have a mate at Nth Adelaide (where the Goat played this year) so I should be able to find out if that's the case or not.

Have heard that the bunnies have signed a good FF for next year already. The source said his name might be J Porter. They are also talking 2 a couple of on ballers from the wimmera league with learmonth also trying to attract the same 2 players to there club for next year.

roaring tiger said:
Have heard that the bunnies have signed a good FF for next year already. The source said his name might be J Porter. They are also talking 2 a couple of on ballers from the wimmera league with learmonth also trying to attract the same 2 players to there club for next year.

Nice whisper rt. Which WFL clubs the onballers belong to?

Uncle CC said:
Some even say that Skontra was merely Russell's puppet as George prefers to keep a low profile.

Sorry, Uncle CC, I missed this part of your post. What you say is absolutely correct though. This is why George spent so much time throughout the season on the bench - to assess the play from the sidelines and make those cruicual decisions. Many wondered why Shane would keep a player of Georges calibre on the pine for so long each game, but this is the reason.

IS Leo Fitzpatrick coaching Beaufort?
My mail is Mick Foster ,Drewie @ Aaron Bones may all be heading back..

roaring tiger said:

From what i have heard u are spot on the money, and the club is Nhill in the Wimmera Football league. Also heard Leehane will be going with Porter from Carhnam Linton