Central Highlands

Judging by the previous posts it seems there'll be a few coaching changes next year. Daylesford, Hepburn, Learmonth, Springbank & Clunes are the only teams that i haven't heard of any coaching changes. Are they keeping the same coaches? I'd be suprised if the rumours of Skontra stepping down from the Waubra job are true!

Yes, i hear that Leo Fitzpatrick is coaching the Beaufort Crows this Year.
Also hear Foster is most likely coming back, unsure about the other two... but will be very handy and are needed! With these boys back the only was is up!

footystand said:
Yes, i hear that Leo Fitzpatrick is coaching the Beaufort Crows this Year.
Also hear Foster is most likely coming back, unsure about the other two... but will be very handy and are needed! With these boys back the only was is up!

Fitzpatrick one of the Lake Bolac guys?

Well what a massive two weeks it has been. After watching Skontra and the crew take out the CHFL grand final i was able to encounter some the still celebrating Waubra footballers at the NCFL grand final. It was a Brown quinella with Fridge and his brother both winning grand finals within a week of one another. I would certainly say that the pubs have cringed at the sight of the Brown boys walking into certain venues over the last two weeks. Rumour has it that Fridge is still celebrating with beer and not KFC!! His posse of teammates certainly made it known that they were at the NCFL final with a certain player getting on the PA and announcing that the team had arrived at Wedderburn with a little bit of leaverage!!
Overall it was fantastic to witness a Waubra win after 24 years, their dominance all year proved that they were certainly the most switched on team to win the CHFL premiership and lets hope for the league that Skontra decides to have another crack at a double premiership. Waubra certainly have the talent if they can keep it to take it out again next year. they need to keep Miller under control and Liston in cotton wool, another fantastic season out of Mullane (one of the better players seen over the last year) and i just think they may be the goods again.
Let the preseason begin and let the stories surface from football trips!!!!:)

N Bartos said:
Judging by the previous posts it seems there'll be a few coaching changes next year. Daylesford, Hepburn, Learmonth, Springbank & Clunes are the only teams that i haven't heard of any coaching changes. Are they keeping the same coaches? I'd be suprised if the rumours of Skontra stepping down from the Waubra job are true!

Have heard that Adams has stood down from Daylesford due to time commitment with a new job and young family, Hepburn will resign Robertson. A.J Beacham is on his 2nd year of his contract and will be in charge again of the Lakies.
At the B&F Powell was a runaway winner with Veldhuis and Pat McGuigan Runners up!

There has been an exodus of BFL players into the Central Highlands last few years, is there any more rumoured to be heading that way next season. Heard that mcguigan from East may head to Learmonth.

Also talk that the Daylesford Bulldogs are talking to some current BFL players about coaching there next year.

Jarman03 said:
There has been an exodus of BFL players into the Central Highlands last few years, is there any more rumoured to be heading that way next season. Heard that mcguigan from East may head to Learmonth.

Also talk that the Daylesford Bulldogs are talking to some current BFL players about coaching there next year.

The players in question at the Bulldogs would be Faull & Giggsy to play along side their good mate Adam Hall. Both were seen reguarly out their last season. Central Highlands is certainly becoming more professional these days with the inclusion of BFL players. Only good for the League.

N.C.F.L have you heard any interesting news over the last 48 hours regarding the Waubra F.C??? What players would they be chasing up in the off season to defend there crown??
Scoop quite right in saying that the Waubra boys put on a show at the ncfl grand final with great support being shown for the better brown brother (there words apparently).
Heard a whisper that Benny Naylon and the Fridge were put under immense pressure by a couple of the donald recruiters during the game. Apparently both were very keen with the package deal that was offered.... Dont think they will go though Donald doesnt have a k.f.c so i cant see the big fridge moving too far from his beloved Chicken franchise:D

X Man said:
N.C.F.L have you heard any interesting news over the last 48 hours regarding the Waubra F.C??? What players would they be chasing up in the off season to defend there crown??
Scoop quite right in saying that the Waubra boys put on a show at the ncfl grand final with great support being shown for the better brown brother (there words apparently).
Heard a whisper that Benny Naylon and the Fridge were put under immense pressure by a couple of the donald recruiters during the game. Apparently both were very keen with the package deal that was offered.... Dont think they will go though Donald doesnt have a k.f.c so i cant see the big fridge moving too far from his beloved Chicken franchise:D

What chance of the "better brown" moving down the highway to Waubra, so they can have the Brown Brothers.

gerta said:
What chance of the "better brown" moving down the highway to Waubra, so they can have the Brown Brothers.

My mail has it the deal is as good as done.

T REX said:
My mail has it the deal is as good as done.

if it does eventuate look out JD's, look out maccas and look out for the big chicken place!!!! Only kidding Skontra will have them on a strict regime of water and salad for the whole preseason....a drinking ban would surely have to be put in place!!!!:)

scoop22 said:
if it does eventuate look out JD's, look out maccas and look out for the big chicken place!!!! Only kidding Skontra will have them on a strict regime of water and salad for the whole preseason....a drinking ban would surely have to be put in place!!!!:)

Heaven forbid, a water and salad diet, hazeldenes chicken farms would have to retrench workers... and as for those poor maccas staff that would be looking for work ;)

gerta said:
Heaven forbid, a water and salad diet, hazeldenes chicken farms would have to retrench workers... and as for those poor maccas staff that would be looking for work ;)

They might be able to become school teachers :eek: :eek: .

scoop22 said:

You're not wrong. The moment I laid eyes on the fridge, I suggested to the Waubra president that the club buy shares in a local KFC store. If the bigger & better fridge comes to Waubra, i'm sure the KFC coupons that the club have will play a large role in luring him.

Any news on the footy trips front?

Waubra are heading to Cairns on their footy trip tomorrow. I hear Ballan are going up there at the same time and that Bungaree went to Sydney last week. Gordan are again spending more money on their footy trip than they did on football operations and are heading to Thailand.

Where have other clubs been/going?

Uncle CC said:
You're not wrong. The moment I laid eyes on the fridge, I suggested to the Waubra president that the club buy shares in a local KFC store. If the bigger & better fridge comes to Waubra, i'm sure the KFC coupons that the club have will play a large role in luring him.

Any news on the footy trips front?

Waubra are heading to Cairns on their footy trip tomorrow. I hear Ballan are going up there at the same time and that Bungaree went to Sydney last week. Gordan are again spending more money on their footy trip than they did on football operations and are heading to Thailand.

Where have other clubs been/going?

Learmonth are heading to the Gold Coast on Friday 13th October!!! Until Monday 16th October

You blokes need to back off the big unit fridge. It must be hard on him only having one nut. Heard that Hepburn went hard after Jordan to the tune of 30k, can anyone confirm this.

NCFL said:
You blokes need to back off the big unit fridge. It must be hard on him only having one nut. Heard that Hepburn went hard after Jordan to the tune of 30k, can anyone confirm this.

Didnt Hepburn do the same with Siez, little return for $800 per game, more money wasted, Did hear that Skontra will be an assistant in the BFL Next season more than ikley with East Point or Ballarat. When i played in Ballarat FL Skonna was playing twos footy as i knew him through my days at Ballarat Redan CC, he has applied himself very well and would be a great asset to a BFL club with what he has done at Waubra. Also heard from a mate of mine tonite that Reid is coaching Bungaree? anyone else heard that one.

Blues1995 said:
Didnt Hepburn do the same with Siez, little return for $800 per game, more money wasted, Did hear that Skontra will be an assistant in the BFL Next season more than ikley with East Point or Ballarat. When i played in Ballarat FL Skonna was playing twos footy as i knew him through my days at Ballarat Redan CC, he has applied himself very well and would be a great asset to a BFL club with what he has done at Waubra. Also heard from a mate of mine tonite that Reid is coaching Bungaree? anyone else heard that one.

I have heard Reidy may coach Bungaree, but he is not keen on doing it on his own .Maybe joint with Piggy Linton. I know Reidy has been toying with the idea of coaching over the last couple of years maybe he feels he's ready? huge call to walk way from Redan when u've just captained them to a flag. Bunga must have offered him plenty coz Jayden really like his Kanga.

gerta said:

Perfect way to beat WAUBRA. If the other Brown is coming, just leave a few Barrels of KFC in the opposition's forward line and you will not have to worry about them kicking goals. Will have to donate a few barrels each game though, and let them wash it down with some Diet Coke!!!

learmonth said:
Perfect way to beat WAUBRA. If the other Brown is coming, just leave a few Barrels of KFC in the opposition's forward line and you will not have to worry about them kicking goals. Will have to donate a few barrels each game though, and let them wash it down with some Diet Coke!!!

Mate if you put Diet Coke near the chicken the Brown Bros would stay down their own forward line, best to go for a sure thing replace the Diet Coke with a few long necks of Carlton Draught. Be like candy to a baby. Game over!!!

T REX said:
Mate if you put Diet Coke near the chicken the Brown Bros would stay down their own forward line, best to go for a sure thing replace the Diet Coke with a few long necks of Carlton Draught. Be like candy to a baby. Game over!!!

I think it might be best to keep the Brown Brothers out of the forward line. We saw the damage 1 Brown in the forward 50 did for Waubra this year.

I reckon the boys would stick to the same routine as they did this year. A danglie around there neck speaks for itself!!!!!

A picture in the Weekly Times seems to sugest the better Brown may prefer VB Learmonth , buy a box of long necks half VB half Draught maybe 4 dark Cougers a set of keys ( i hear the boys enjoy shot gunning ) put it all near the chicken and they wont need maning up.