Central Highlands

Hey Uncle CC or Astro Boy... Who have waubra signed to date, did they get Browny's brother from Donald? Has Mully gone for good?

Gadget, i can shed some light on these signings. A bloke called Justin O'Hehir has signed with the club. Has blistering pace and a deadly right foot kick. He also has a great work ethic on the track. Really tries he's hardest. Pretty good bloke too.

Mully gone for good. Browny's brother may be hanging around yet though, from what i hear he went alright with the ladies on satdy night and wants some more of where that came from. He may well be in love.

Think they have also signed Sam Clark for another year. Skontra heard about the lad shotgunning 24 UDL cans in 5 hours at Torquay over the pre-season break, so he could well build team morale at the Waubra functions throughout the year...

Are you sure you have all these blokes signed, as 1 of these players has trained with another club and rumoured to be very happy with training and facilities, this week. :)

From what I have been told, all these guys will play at Learmonth next season.... Which one are u referring too..Couldnt see many sides having better facilities and ground then Learmonth at this stage....

Travis Grigg from Dunstown will be handy pick up, if you are right.
How do you reckon the C/linton blokes will go in this league, They may add some depth but cant see them making a difference in this league. Daylesford is building nicely and have the hunger to take next step, after being stopped at prelim, they were 10 goals worse than Waubra but reckon they're closing the gap. Have they lost any?[/quote]

Only loss so far is Tom Reeves until late May (travelling)... Paul Rahill back in June... those three with Nick Cronin make a formiddable back line... the new non-playing coach should invigour the boys and let Luke Adams to get back what he loves doing...

From what I have been told, all these guys will play at Learmonth next season.... Which one are u referring too..Couldnt see many sides having better facilities and ground then Learmonth at this stage....
Keep Posted, can't divulge unlike yourself, as players are not over the line yet, when they are on the park you can say;) you have them.

Browny's brother may be hanging around yet though, from what i hear he went alright with the ladies on satdy night and wants some more of where that came from. He may well be in love.

Brown Jnr actually rolled one of his cankles this week at training and may have broken it. The physio had difficulties determining if the damage was done to the calf or the ankle as it is very difficult to tell where the calf finishes and the ankle starts on the big man!

Couldn't agree more. Some teams/players who get carried away before Christmass, and get super fit early, run the risk of getting injured or burnt out before the season even starts. Its a long year and there is still plenty of time for players to get fit and loose the KGs that they may have put on during the break. Having said that, the season will no doubt sneak up on a few and now is a good time to start getting stuck into some decent training.

Isn't that what you did last season??
Trained your arse off all preseason, only to get injured and miss out on the first few games. Is that why you aren't training this year??

It's all fair to say you have the best facilities but what you lack is when it comes finals time.... (ticker) You can't complain with that call AJ.

50+ Years....

Isn't that what you did last season??
Trained your arse off all preseason, only to get injured and miss out on the first few games. Is that why you aren't training this year??

Yeah, spot on Don. I'm planning on having cankles by the time the season starts and I've always wanted to weigh in at over a dollar. You won't see me at trainining until early August.

It's all fair to say you have the best facilities but what you lack is when it comes finals time.... (ticker) You can't complain with that call AJ.

50+ Years....

Can only judge from last season, and thought the boys equipped themselves very well.... Will be better for the finals run from last season, and if Sobey had been fit, and veldhuis and davies played, im sure they would have made up the 4 points to beat Hepburn....

As for the past 50 years, u may be right, but the culture is changing, and its starting with the locals, who are doing all the hard work and right stuff on the track, that should entail Learmonth to play finals footy again this season....

Can only judge from last season, and thought the boys equipped themselves very well.... Will be better for the finals run from last season, and if Sobey had been fit, and veldhuis and davies played, im sure they would have made up the 4 points to beat Hepburn....

As for the past 50 years, u may be right, but the culture is changing, and its starting with the locals, who are doing all the hard work and right stuff on the track, that should entail Learmonth to play finals footy again this season....
Good to hear. Also good to hear Shane Powell has been training.

I would have said Hepburn were over $100,000, so it is pretty hard to compete.

Although reckon that the better sides in the comp would $40K -$50K plus coach who could be upto $20K for a playing coach these days and less about a 1/3rd for non playing.
Thats a lot of chook raffles, not sure how it can be maintained at these levels although most clubs have a dip for a few years and then pull back and go again..(except Hepburn)

Is there a salary cap in the CHFL? Clubs throwing coin around willy nilly is ruining country football. If spending continues to escalate as it has in recent years then a number of CH clubs will fold within 4-6 years.

There are that many hacks running around getting paid half-decent coin simply because club administrators/coaches are willing to believe players' self-inflated egos of themselves, rather than do genuine scouting.

Just incase anyone on here follows Ballarat Cricket there is a BCA thread on www.bigcricket.com just search for Ballarat if your interested.

STFU-Newbie.jpg

So learmonth, if Ballan's recruits are battlers what does that make your gun recruit Lockett? You've been pumping his tyres up on here for months but seem to forget he was playing seconds at Nth City. Great pick up! At least the blokes we've picked up are hard at the footy, something that Learmonth would know nothing about.

G'day guys. Just wondering how my mate Leigh Shorter goes down there. Did my trade with him and know he went from Lake Wendouree to Learmonth.
Cheers

********NEWS FLASH********

Word around the traps is that Mr Football, Rodney Watts, isn't happy at that toilet of a club Ballan. With a kid on the way, money talks and bull******** walks fellas, so pull out your cheque books because this guy will take you to September and beyond.
just like he has at ballan?
I hope ur a gun footballer cos i've looked at your posts on this & other threads & all you seem to do is slag off clubs & individuals at will.
Say something constructive.

Can Anyone Tell Me How Anthony Beacham Is Travelling Heard That He Had A Huge Dissagreement With The Commitee At Learmonth And Things Are On Tight Rope At The Moment???

This is completey opposite to what a committe member told me last week, they are absolutley rapt with Aj as senior coach. He has completley changed the mindset of the playing list and is very well liked throughout the club. Has been great with the juniors also. So l would gather that your information is way off the mark.

This guy's done nothing but start rumours and make defamatory comments. I get the feeling he's not from Natte aswell.

So learmonth, if Ballan's recruits are battlers what does that make your gun recruit Lockett? You've been pumping his tyres up on here for months but seem to forget he was playing seconds at Nth City. Great pick up! At least the blokes we've picked up are hard at the footy, something that Learmonth would know nothing about.

LOckett didnt get along with the coach and didnt put his heart and seol into it. Did have a poor season, am not questioning this, but remeber, was playing major league at Daylesford for 2 seasons out of juniors and was a real success... He will get back to that standard, and will be a major assett.. As for not liking the hard ball at Learmonth, if u look back at last year, I can remember Learmonth beating Ballan easily in both games they met last year. Whats that make Ballan..???? Just because u recruit a few battlers, doesnt mean its gonna make any difference this season..BAllan were a long way of the top 5 last year..?? Only beat sides below them...

G'day guys. Just wondering how my mate Leigh Shorter goes down there. Did my trade with him and know he went from Lake Wendouree to Learmonth.
Cheers

Nipper had his first year at senior level and improved remarkable from the start of the season.. Is a good size and expect a lot more from him this season, as he gets more confidence and understands the game..Is an athlete and had a few great games towards the end of the year..... Is wanting to learn, and teh club and coaching committee has a lot of time for him...

Really good bloke...

Is there a salary cap in the CHFL? Clubs throwing coin around willy nilly is ruining country football. If spending continues to escalate as it has in recent years then a number of CH clubs will fold within 4-6 years.

There are that many hacks running around getting paid half-decent coin simply because club administrators/coaches are willing to believe players' self-inflated egos of themselves, rather than do genuine scouting.

The Salary got scrapped a few years ago. I believe it was 30k. Was removed after a push from Hepburn to try an attract bigger name players to this league by being able to offer more money. They have always had the money so they wanted to be able to spend it. Once they raffle a truck or Motorbike each year they have the $$$ to be able to splash around.

The Salary cap wasnt controlled that well when it was in anyway. Springbank spent wll over the 30k to buy themselves a couple of premierships. Paid Tranquilly in live stock from what i hear, and cleared some gambling depts of other big name players.