Family & Relationships Centrelink Fraud

I got told to 'wait a ****ing minute' once when I asked if the toilet could be unlocked.

One experience also included talking to a lady with facial hair.

I'm considering reporting them to Centrelink but as he has his addresses set somewhere else it's really our word against thiers.
What are my chances of it being investigated and some sort of result?

I would say, as long as their not drug dealers, dobbers/snitches/dogs, as long as their decent people not impacting on other peoples lifes. Let them be.

What are we supposed to do with 140 bucks a week?!?!

Buy 1 point of ice, cut it three ways, use one part for yourself (will take care of food bill for a few days) Double your money with the other two parts, repeat.

Don't worry,when you get caught, our gov will plead clemency for you, so will half the media and all the FB sheep.

I got told to 'wait a ******* minute' once when I asked if the toilet could be unlocked.

One experience also included talking to a lady with facial hair.
You make a valid point. The criteria for being employed at Centerlink is that you are a complete social misfit and a general fuktard. So dobbing them in is gonna involve you dealing with someone who works there. Therein lies the issue. A Current Affair is more and more appealing.

When I owned a post office I used to fax people's dole forms in. The majority of them were scammers, particularly for single parent pensions.

It was the reason most of them move to small country towns. Centrelink were less stringent on them due to the lack of public transport and Government services.

Posted this in the 'Things that shit me' thread the other day. Applicable here.

Bit of back-story here: Last year when I moved to Melbourne, I was awarded a scholarship from Centrelink, that gave me $4,000 in my first year living out of home, $2,000 in my next two years and $1,000 in the fourth year. Last year I received my 4k no dramas, and with Uni about to start (I received it at the start of uni last year) I went in today to check when my 2k would be arriving in my bank account. Got told that I am no longer eligible for the scholarship because my parents earn too much and because I don't earn anything on youth allowance as a result. They said I need to be receiving some sort of payment, even if it's just $1 a fortnight, from Centrelink to be able to receive my scholarship.

I asked if I could go back onto youth allowance, but they said that I am dependent on my parents, and their income is too high. Even though I have a part-time job to earn the money for my own food, the money for rent and bills, the money to put fuel in my car and the money to pay any uni fees that may incur, I am still classed as a dependent child. Just doesn't make sense. I shouldn't be punished for moving 250km from home at 19 to study full-time and working P-T.

I also don't believe this 'scholarship' should be taken away as easily as that. They said if my parents' income falls below the threshold, then I can be eligible for it again, but only next year. So i'll just miss one year of it.

Hi all,
After some advice and wondering what everyones past experiences with Centrelink are.

Story as follows, my step sons father and his partner are claiming a single parent pension for 2 kids (she had a child before they got together and they now have one of thier own)
He has all his addresses set to his mums house to help get away with it.
We know they are claiming it as on our child support statement we receive he has 0 dependents listed.
They live the high life while we're both working full time paying a mortage and what not.

I'm considering reporting them to Centrelink but as he has his addresses set somewhere else it's really our word against thiers.
What are my chances of it being investigated and some sort of result?

Help them out. Take to the cheating f**kers legs with a cricket bat - that way they'd definitely be eligible for a pension

I was wondering when We were gonna see a thread like this on bigfooty. He's a ****en legend if you ask me.

I got approved for the dsp back in 2008 and I havnt looked back.

Its ****en great mate. I don't even have to bother looking for work anymore since I've decided to go back to Uni and buy another 2 years on the dole.

I save shitloads staying at home with mum and have plenty in reserves to punt with. Even pick up the odd cash job every now and then.

Tell ya what though. ****en spewing that the 13 week portability has been slashed to 4 weeks. Sucks balls. I used to be able to spend 3 months mongering with out a care in the world knowing my payment would be in every 2nd Wednesday.

Looking forward to my $208 education entry payment and additional $62 a fortnight education pension supplement back paid to feb 23 whenever it's approved.

And now you've disclosed your IP address....sleep tight tonight ;)

I have never done it but I used to work for Centrelink for a nano second and it is routine to take reports of suspected fraud. You don't have to declare your identity and even if you do it is not disclosed. It is a standard list of questions, eg names addresses, the suspected partners name and supposed address, where they work etc

All reports are investigated eventually, they use a lot of data matching from ATO, banks etc and there are thousands of people paying back money they got through cheating the system.

If you want to be a real pr**k wait five years and then report them, they will have to pay back a much larger amount and may even go to jail if it is proven that they deliberately set out to defraud the system of a large sum of money - could you live with that?

you could always give them the heads up that you are going to report them if they don't come clean and stop claiming fraudulently - you could even do that anonymously.

I am a firm believer in Karma though, what goes around tends to come around, so they will get theirs one way or the other.

Let me guess - anti-depressants, weed, alcohol are a big part of your sorry life?

What exactly is your problem? - Let me guess, you feel better than everyone who indulges in drugs?

I'm pretty sure I know who has the sorrier life...
-----------------------------------

also to the OP
why would you even give a shit what people are doing with centrelink?

"living the high life while you're working full time and paying taxes"

ahah.. straight out of a today tonight script...

also to the OP
why would you even give a shit what people are doing with centrelink?

"living the high life while you're working full time and paying taxes"

ahah.. straight out of a today tonight script..

What is the problem with that? When we are getting a miniscule $26 a week in child support and we know for a fact they are rorting the system for a minimum $800 a fortnight I think I have every right to pissed
It's not just the money it is the principle of it.

Thanks for all your responses.
For the time being I am going to let sleeping dogs lie, if things turn sour custody access wise I shall be making that phone call

I don't know anyone who can look me in the eye and say they have been honest with their tax returns.

What is the problem with that? When we are getting a miniscule $26 a week in child support and we know for a fact they are rorting the system for a minimum $800 a fortnight I think I have every right to pissed
It's not just the money it is the principle of it.

Then maybe you should rort it too

I love how people say it's easy street being on Centrelink, but they won't quit their jobs to live off it...

Then maybe you should rort it too

I love how people say it's easy street being on Centrelink, but they won't quit their jobs to live off it...
I think you missed the part where I wrote that they are both working full time aswel as claiming the single parent pension.
This is my frustration
I wouldn't care if one was working and the other not

I know a family that claim unemployment benefits, all work for cash and live in a really nice house.

They even know all the tricks of how much you can claim in compensation for all the little things that happen in life, such as a minor traffic crash, they say to have a sore neck, get paid out etc etc.

I don't know the details but I do know that one went on holiday, decided it wasn't fun enough so went to a police station there and reported stuff (made up) stolen, brought the report home and claimed back on the travel insurance for greater than the cost of the whole holiday.

Some people are just like that.

I think you missed the part where I wrote that they are both working full time aswel as claiming the single parent pension.
This is my frustration
I wouldn't care if one was working and the other not

If they are both working full time for legitimate employers and paying tax then you don't have to do a thing, sit back and watch it all turn to crap once the ATO sends their income information over to Centrelink!

I am also hopeful that in 12 months when they are supposed to be getting married that they will fall on their sword, Centrelink will surely go "Hmmm so you're listed at seperate addresses, have a child together, apparantly "single" parents and now all of a sudden marrying that very same person?"

Regardless they would lose that payment once they are married (you'd expect so anyway)

I am also hopeful that in 12 months when they are supposed to be getting married that they will fall on their sword, Centrelink will surely go "Hmmm so you're listed at seperate addresses, have a child together, apparantly "single" parents and now all of a sudden marrying that very same person?"

Regardless they would lose that payment once they are married (you'd expect so anyway)

What makes you think that they will let Centrelink know when they get married?