Politics Centrelink

• Thread starter Thread starter hamohawk1

Thats why we need to make it so people who choose to be on the dole and i repeat the word choose lose the dole .

This means they are forced into work or at least not a burden on the taxpayer.

Why not instead call them "innovators" or "entrepreneurs" and celebrate them?

Because tax payers don't want their tax money they worked for going to people who choose to stay on the dole .

Money paid to people on dole is money taken away from the tax payer that they worked for .

We'd be better off getting your dad to post here, I suspect all we get from you is a recycled version of his opinion.

I don't know what I said that's controversial , we are talking about people who choose to be on welfare which is the situation RupieDupie is describing . We are not talking about someone who has no choice .

95% of the population would agree with what I am saying .

Because tax payers don't want their tax money they worked for going to people who choose to stay on the dole .

Money paid to people on dole is money taken away from the tax payer that they worked for .

Like, arbitrarily increasing, power costs, housing costs, interest rates etc for no reason? People who do this get a pay rise. Maybe welfare recipients who choose to be on welfare, likewise, should also be rewarded with an increase in welfare payments?

Edited to add - whatever happened to those people responsible for the GFC and ruined millions of lives? Surely they were sent to Guantanamo Bay?

Yet you expect everyone else to care because you feel you pay too much tax. Literally every thread you post in or start is you howling about how you're paying too much tax and how everyone else should care about it. Yet, on the other hand, you couldn't give a fat rat's toss bag about anyone else. You are a self-entitled grub.
Notice how he never talks about corporate tax avoidance?

He doesn't care about the top end's rorts, all he does is lay the boots into the less well off so he can feel morally superior.

Which, yes, fits in nicely with the bolded assessment of him.

You need to choose your targets better. I do agree there are people on the dole who choose not to seek work and actively discourage any attempt at doing so.

But these are a very small %

There are a large % who are actively seeking work but for whatever reason , lack of qualifications, poor job selection, criminal history, distance etc are not landing the small number of jobs available. Do you think only 1 or 2 people are applying for each job? Some companies report up to 1000 applications can be received for entry level jobs.

can someone explain this to me: how come centrelink seem to make impossible for uni students (our future) carers (our present) or pensioners who paid tax all their life (our past) to get any sort of money out of them yet all those fit young people that went over to fight for isis in the middle east were on different pensions and the latest clown arrested in Melbourne for sending money to isis was on a disability pension

Doing my head in. **** sakes.

It goes like this: slack pricks get our tax money. No doubt many who post on here and bag the shit out of our government. Goes in their favour for the other mob to win. Rinse and repeat. Lazy turds get our tax money.

to be perfectly honest I don't begrudge slack pricks getting our tax money if they are too slack to work so be it and its not like they are living the high life (unless they blow it on drugs) what gets me upset is deserving people not getting money and evil pricks getting money.

Going thru process here to try to get support as carer for my wife. She was rejected last October for DSP after 2 years of psychological and medical tests. Specialists did tests and found health issues but in their reports to centrelink downplayed any ongoing concerns, when there def is some.

Now my wife going to a disability job provider in Tassie where we recently moved, who are very good. So no DSP but Centrelink send her to a job provider specialising in finding work for people with a disability..ironic? They want her to go for psychological and medical tests ... aghhh.

Anyways ... after providing claim form and medical report from a GP, this week-6 weeks after application ... I get a letter rejecting my carer payment claim. Reason - I never responded to their letters for more info! I never received any letter/s. I rang to query...it was rejected by a person who couldn't locate the medical report. They found it ... someone had put it on my wife's computer file and hadnt attached it or linked it to my carer payment claim. Claim will be re-opened. Why did they not call or send letter or look harder? A carer payment claim cannot be accepted without that medical report!

So ... again, we wait.

I'm aged 60 looking for work as a disability carer ... I thought there be a need ... appears not in Tassie?

Renting and living on newstart x2 is a struggle (one fortnightly amount just pays the rent) but we're surviving. People are much worse off but its frustrating dealing with c.link

6 Oct ... No news... my gov just shows rejected 18 Seo

... enough is enough!

Called my local Fed MP (Labor in Tas). Same day 3 hours later, a C.link carers group lady rings. Carer payment approved backdated to 2 Aug.

Woop Woop.

6 Oct ... No news... my gov just shows rejected 18 Seo

... enough is enough!

Called my local Fed MP (Labor in Tas). Same day 3 hours later, a C.link carers group lady rings. Carer payment approved backdated to 2 Aug.

Woop Woop.

Well done.

How many people do they force to just give up through sheer frustration or the lack of know how or lack of resilience?

Which of course is what they want.

Well done.

How many people do they force to just give up through sheer frustration or the lack of know how or lack of resilience?

Cheers.

Correct

My wife went thru lots of hoops for DSP ... rejected and didnt want to appeal and go thru more ... getting docs reports etc.

Now she is on newstart and they want her to work 25 hours min per fnite. Even tho I get carer payment! Admittedly the Job PProvider is doing good getting medical referrals etc for her. Maybe in 18 months of JP activity DSP will come.

In case anyone goes 'woe ... another on benefits'

Been on Newstart and applying for carer jobs in both Dubbo NSW and Launceston Tas since April. Very few interviews. Allegedly plenty of jobs in this field. Surely coz I'm 60 thats not why I can't get a look in. I have 6 years experience in both home care (aged and disability) and an aged care facility.

Well done.

It's also probably why the NDIS has been introduced to replace the same but better service of the DSC.

The DSC will actually go into centrelink and demand centrelink provide services and support to applicants who can't look after themselves properly. Many applicants with needs often aren't aware of their entitlements or can't explain what they need. Centrelink abuse this inability and simply turn them away. The applicant can go to the DSC and a suitably trained person, who knows the person and their needs, then takes the reigns.

Under the NDIS, the applicant can turn to a website................and get the same shit treatment by NDIS as they do centrelink.

You need to choose your targets better. I do agree there are people on the dole who choose not to seek work and actively discourage any attempt at doing so.

But these are a very small %

There are a large % who are actively seeking work but for whatever reason , lack of qualifications, poor job selection, criminal history, distance etc are not landing the small number of jobs available. Do you think only 1 or 2 people are applying for each job? Some companies report up to 1000 applications can be received for entry level jobs.

Had a job interview with Iron Ore back at the start of August. They were after 8 people (they didn't specifically say 8, just people for various roles). I was an internal applicant with 6 years current company experience and overall some 20 years experience in the line of work they were seeking. The positions were also advertised externally for what was meant to be 3 weeks. They took the adds down after 5 days due to 4,000 applicants.

Thought that the response to this was amusing and a strange response. Of course you would continue to ring if the number was engaged...http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-10-...relink-received-busy-signal-in-a-year/9086518

More than 55 million calls to Centrelink were greeted with a busy signal last financial year, in what the Opposition says is proof the agency is in crisis.

Appearing before a Senate Estimates committee, the secretary of the Department of Human Services (DHS) Renee Leon blamed the increase on automatic dialling apps.

"That's not 55 million unique calls, our analysis of the telephone data is that in the vicinity of 20 per cent of those are repeat dialling apps that people now have on their smartphones," she said.

"55 million doesn't mean there were 55 million people who tried to ring, because many of those were repeat calls."

Thought that the response to this was amusing and a strange response. Of course you would continue to ring if the number was engaged...

More than 55 million calls to Centrelink were greeted with a busy signal last financial year, in what the Opposition says is proof the agency is in crisis.

Appearing before a Senate Estimates committee, the secretary of the Department of Human Services (DHS) Renee Leon blamed the increase on automatic dialling apps.

"That's not 55 million unique calls, our analysis of the telephone data is that in the vicinity of 20 per cent of those are repeat dialling apps that people now have on their smartphones," she said.

"55 million doesn't mean there were 55 million people who tried to ring, because many of those were repeat calls."

Also seems strange to point out 55 million unique people weren't trying to call Centrelink... since we have a population of around 25 million...
Too true, very strange response.
It was a :huh: moment when I read it.

Centerlink don't decide who gets what , they simply distribute, checking credentials as part of it.
Centerlink are crap at their task.
Simple communications that should be able to be resolved with an online form or email, require a phone call or a personal visit, with both of those services being inadequate.
Government should establish the tasks dealt with , and the minimum service requirements and put the whole thing up for tender.

https://www.theguardian.com/busines...ures-offshore-law-firm-found?CMP=share_btn_tw

An offshore law firm regarded Serco, a company that runs sensitive government services in Australia and the UK, as a “high-risk” client, expressing concern about its “history of problems, failures, fatal errors and overcharging”, the Paradise Papers reveal.

Chief among the law firm’s concerns about Serco were allegations of fraud, the cover-up of the abuse of detainees, and the mishandling of radioactive waste.

Yep
That same Serco......

call the ****ing election

Like, arbitrarily increasing, power costs, housing costs, interest rates etc for no reason? People who do this get a pay rise. Maybe welfare recipients who choose to be on welfare, likewise, should also be rewarded with an increase in welfare payments?

Edited to add - whatever happened to those people responsible for the GFC and ruined millions of lives? Surely they were sent to Guantanamo Bay?

You use the word maybe. Well Maybe.....NOT .
You can pedal it as right wing extremism by pulling up irrelevant examples all you like.
People who have no means to keep themselves alive should , out of the kindness of the hearts of others, be given resources to stay healthy, sheltered and fed.

They aren't robbing from the rich, Robin Hood style. They are robbing from the average who are often struggling themselves.

Yet you expect everyone else to care because you feel you pay too much tax. Literally every thread you post in or start is you howling about how you're paying too much tax and how everyone else should care about it. Yet, on the other hand, you couldn't give a fat rat's toss bag about anyone else. You are self-entitled.

That's Bullshit.
The "self entitled" are those who think they should be well supported for nothing.
In days gone by they would have died.

You were the one who replied to my post though, didn't you read the context of it? The struggle of people working for median income and therefore people on welfare (of working age and capability) being smarter than the plebs who work for an income?

Secondly, that's why I included a smarter and more sensible option which does not lead to inflation...
You only think its smarter and more sensible, but that's because you are stupid.

That's Bullshit.
The "self entitled" are those who think they should be well supported for nothing.
In days gone by they would have died.

What has any of that got to do with anything I posted?

How about you specify which part of my post you feel is 'bullshit'?