Ch 9, 10 & Foxtel to get the footy!!!!!!!

InTheBack!

Oct 20, 2000
BrisVegas
According to the Australian 9 10 & Foxtel will share the footy for a 500 million contract.

extract from story below.

SYDNEY, Nov 14 AAP - The AFL's richest ever agreement for free-to-air television rights involving Channel 9, Channel 10 and Foxtel will be signed before Christmas, The Australian reported today.

Club presidents denied the figure was as high as the $500 million reported at the weekend but the newspaper said the presidents gave it the thumbs up when details were outlined to them yesterday at AFL headquarters in Melbourne.

Under the agreement, Channel 10 will televise live matches which Nine, with its commitment to rugby league, cannot cover, the paper said.

And Foxtel, with its greater shareof thepay tv market, will give the code greater penetration in NSW and Queensland.

The big loser is the longtime exclusive tv rights holder Channel 7.

Here Here! About Bloody Time 7 Lost The Rights!

Now we migth get a decent telecast of footy. Time to go an Order My Foxtel!!!!!!!!

Now Foxtel Has Everything!

What will 7 do now is most likely give soccer a better go and maybe they should try the Nbl basketball like they use too.

Mags
Black And White Forever!
The Anti Essendon Vendetta Rolls On!

My biggest concern now is how CH7 will play out the last year of their contract. I have a bad feeling that Brisbane and Sydney are going to get totally shafted in 2001.

Why would ch7 bother?

And as for c7 sports - gotta think it might go the same way. I mean look at it, a couple of years ago they had a channel totally dedicated to AFL. Then they axed it but still kept up a high level of AFL content in their sports channels. In the last 2 years it has diminshed even further.

What incentive do they have to keep showing games etc in 2001?

Methinks it is going to be a lean year for footy viewing in QLD!

Even though a paper report is hardly conclusive evidence, it's now being reported as breaking news at afl.com.au so it seems a done deal.

Suffer $even Suffer.

No Bruce, no Sandy, no Dermie, no Dunstall, no Dougie, no Dipper, no Healy, no Cometti, no Kerley.

Pleasure overload!!!!

Don't count yer chickens Max Power ...

All those hacks will just jump ship from Seven and go and work for the new outfit.

I mean - who is Channel Nine going to recruit for their footy commentary - Ray Warren perhaps ?
rolleyes.gif

cheers

I wonder how this will affect us people in WA. Does foxtel broadcast the same shows & at the same time in all states, I need to know before I go & pay out money to get it.
Cheers

------------------
mantis

FYI,

Channel 7 paid 20 million for the right of last offer. This means that they now have the opportunity to improve on the Channel 9 / Foxtel offer if they so choose. It will be interesting to see whether they do excercise this option or not.

Sandie, as far as I can tell, Foxtel run the same programs nationally at the same times. Indeed, some channels such as Channel V even broadcast to New Zealand at the same time.

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

Personally I'm not fussed either way as to who get the rights. If the AFL manage to "fire a shot across the bows" of Ch 7 and the only thing that the negotiations achieve is that Ch 7 is forced to lift it's game with coverage Australia wide then that has to be a good thing.

Just a rhetorical question fo the Pies supporters, what happens to Eddie Mcguire - conflict of interest?

Cheers

Gonzo

I just had an Optus guy here hooking up a second line for the Net.

He reckons Packer and Murdoch are pissed off with Foxtel because they have done nothing with the technology at their disposal for 5 years. He said they were looking to buy heavily into Optus.

Apparently the satellite that Telstra and Foxtel use is owned by Optus.

Optus are looking to combine their Internet, Telecommunications and Pay TV so that you can send e-mails and do home banking etc from your Optus Vision TV box.

When I told him of this AFL deal he was quite taken aback. I know he is only a technician but you would imagine they would be right up to speed as far as future developments.

When you think about it, Optus certainly does have the capabilities to blow the others out of the water because they don't have to worry about marrying up separate companies.

High speed cable internet, interactive pay TV, satellites etc. You would think that if 7 could stay in bed with them they should be able to match the other offers.

We have heard all of this before and somehow 7 seems to pull something out of it's arse at the eleventh hour. Should be interesting.

Sandie,
I had Fox in WA & can answer your question
Sports are all "live " regardless of where you live. Most other channels are at the advertised times (i.e delayed to you). That is for cable if you have sattelite it is all in Eastern States time. (no difference to the sport). All shows are national.

------------------
Goatmaster
the prime minister of the principality of Mooball

*Getting slightly OT*

Foxtel are launching a special movie channel Showtime 2 next month especially for WA viewers. Same as Showtime 1 but delayed for a few hours.

NHL is also coming to Fox Sports next month.

Here is a stab at TV commentators -

1 commentator per game, 2 special comments (7 began trialling this system last season)

Nine -

Callers: Fathead Eddie, Brian Taylor, Michael Roberts, poach Anthony Hudson & Craig Hutchinson from 7.

Special Comments: Take your pick, tonnes to choose from. Lyon, Walls etc, etc.

Reckon Ten & Fox will share resources.

Callers: David Hookes, Quarterbrain, Taylor, possible 7 rejects

Special Comments: Washed up hacks who 9 don't want.

Nine And 10 And Foxtel will all use the same commentators it will work like how channel 7 and C7 have been telecasting it for the last couple of years.

Eddie wont be the host for Collingwood games he has president duites to perform instead. Like u can see he hasnt been doing Collingwood games on Triple M Melbourne Football.

Nine will use there stuff and there commentatery and well just telecast back on to channel 10 etc.

Mags
Black & White Forever
The Anti Essendon Vendetta Rolls On!

[This message has been edited by Mags (edited 14 November 2000).]

Obviously sharing coverage of major footbal isn't unprecedented. In the States the NFC is covered by FOX, the AFC by NBC or CBS (or both) and Monday Night Football is covered by ABC with ESPN also televising Sunday Night games also, so this can work well if thought through properly. Of the Ch7 commentary team I would only hope Ch9/Ch10 recruit Dennis Commetti and Anthony Hudson. The rest of them give me the shits.

I bet that if Channel Seven does lose the rights to AFL they will try and focus their sports coverage onto the NSL Soccer especially since it's so big here in Perth and the public has been crying out for live home and away games to be televised.

Splitting major football across networks isn't unprecedented. In the States the NFC games are covered by FOX, the AFC by CBS and/or NBC, Monday Night Football by ABC and Sunday Night by ESPN so the Ch9 / Ch10 proposal could work well if thought through properly. The only commentators that I hope they recruit from Ch 7 are Dennis Commetti & Anthony Hudson (maybe Robbo too). I am also a bit worried by a commentary team consisting of Darryl Eastlake, Tim Webster and boundary rider Tim Bailey...hellllp!!!

Ahhhhhhhh such great news. I am guessing we will see commentary from the likes of:

Channel 9: Eddie, Sam, BT, ummmmm who else is left there lol

Channel 10: Quarters, and perhaps that Gerard Whateley will be used more???? Just a guess

Foxtel........I don't know how that works, would they be able to just get anyone???

I think it all sounds kinda refreshing
smile.gif
Let's see, if it all goes ahead, who jumps from Seven lol

From today's Herald Sun.

Dennis Cometti, Tony Lockett and Anthony Hudson are the main targets. Dermie and Quarters could also be targeted. Bruce and Rex could possibly not even be approached.

A couple of quotes from Stokes-
"this will be as significant as the ARL and Superleague decisions five years ago"...
Theatrics?

"International experience shows that continuity of agreements between a sport and a television network is the single most impotant factor in the success of a sport"
I don't have any idea on that. Does anyone know? i would imagine a lot of rights changes have actually strengthened a lot of sports (IMO).

"when changing television networks, the result is never an unqualified success" ...
Proof Kerry??
rolleyes.gif

All these quotes from an email where in an attempt to assure employees that the network was committed to retaining the rights.

And an "interesting" one from the paper for BSA and Danni-
"Seven's record with interstate coverage should stand in its favour"
... and they went on to say something about broadcasting 300 hours into Sydney last year. That good was it?
confused.gif

It's interesting to note how many media commentators etc will be 'manouvering' right now. Calling all their contacts etc. But you can't go too far in case CH7 gets it at the 11th hour.

Makes the musical chairs caused by the return of Timmy to TV look like a picnic

Ch 9, 10 & Foxtel to get the footy!!!!!!!