Chicago Bulls, Aussie Swim Team,
What a gut wrenching game and it was great to see Cornes stuff up in front of goal like that considering the umpire was trying to help Port win. That mark by Mooney to put us in front was terrific. In the end a very entertaining game but I am glad King, Ottens, Ling, & Wocinski will be fresh next week.

Selwood continued his form from last week and played some very smart footy.

That goal from Djerrkura was a gem and I thought he was pretty good overall but the conditions weren't very good for showing freakish skills.

Bartel, what a game he sure does love the wet :thumbsu:

Blake did a serviceable job against the AA Ruckman and although was beaten in that last quarter and time ons, I think the hit out stats were prety even. He even kicked the ball 3 or 4 times :eek:

Scarlett was terrific at FB, he is showing good signs so far:thumbsu: Ripped off getting that free paid against him. Another example of the Umpires helping Port?

Wow what a game. Those boys will be very tired tonight.

Port looked very strong and it was a good effort from them. Boak showed he is a classy youngster.

What a gut wrenching game and it was great to see Cornes stuff up in front of goal like that considering the umpire was trying to help Port win.

I bear Cornes no ill will but it was only fair that he stuffed it up. The umps were generally very good tonight considering the conditions, but it seemed that every dodgy call and every mistake they made went Port Adelaide's way.

Scarlett, Bartel, Djerrkura, Selwood and (believe it or not) Gardiner impressed me. Charlie looked like he actually wanted to play tonight and did some game changing 1%s.

Yeah I was surprised at Charlies second and third efforts. He did a good job in the game.

Reynolds made a few stupid mistakes which he will be regretting tonight.

- OMFG Gardiner actually managed to keep his feet most of the time.

- Had to laugh after Djekurra's goal (and what a goal it was) when Byrne's tried to repeat it, one hand pick up and all....and just left it behind. Djekurra is going to be a star.

i doubt you will lose come friday night becuase you are the nab specialists (not trolling either)

Un-freakin-believable!
The game was stolen when Cornes got the fifty, and I was embittered to say the least. Then Cornes, like the Gitt he is, hits the post and my faith was reinstalled!

My main observations:

· Selwood stared again with plenty of possessions, 1%’s etc.
· Djerrkura looks fantastic but the conditions did not do him justice (the bump and goal was beyond belief!)
· Scarlett was superb floating around the back line
· Another four to Mooney…in those conditions! Looking great
· Bartel showed why he is rated as one of the best in the wet
· Reynolds did some good things… and some horrific things
· G. Ablett was tagged heavily – Nath struggled in the conditions
· Grima looks like a player
· Sam Hunt only improved from last week
· Corey Enright was solid all throughout the game
· Byrnes performed well in the conditions
· Blake and West did extremely well against Lade and Brogan

· Callan non existent
· Playfair tried but didn’t succeed for the most part (due to conditions I hope)

5. Bartel
4. Mooney
3. Scarlett
2. Selwood
1. Byrnes

So thats what rain looks like, its been a while.

Very entertaining game to watch and the close finish will be good for the kids in both sides. Would have been a bloody hard game to umpire.

Both sides unearthed some stars.
Good luck next week, I'd rather see you win than Brisbane.

Years since a premiership: West Coast 0, Sydney 1, Port 2, Brisbane 3, Essendon 6, Kangaroos 7, Adelaide 8, Carlton 11, Hawthorn 15, Collingwood 16, Richmond 26, St Kilda 40, Geelong 43, Melbourne 46, Bulldogs 52, Freo n/a

Keep throwing those fancy generalisations around sunshine.

From a team and overall club point of view they're the games you want to win no matter what is at stake. It didnt matter it was the NAB Cup because both teams were fair dinkum and wanted to win just as badly as each other...and we found a way to get over the line in conditions you rarely get to see on a footy field.

Just a superior effort from the boys and all credit to them. Doesn't change the focus from round 1 at all but just builds some essential spirit and belief back into the place which every club who finished out of the 8 can do with right now.

I also think when people start discussing our recruits this year...and I have a feeling we will be talking about the 2006 draft for some years to come...there is an intangible element to it all which some might try to down play and that's guts...Selwood is one of the most gutsy kids I have seen hit footy in a long time...and I am happy to stand by the comment...and Djerrkura looks like he is a very tough and classy customer also... just waiting for 'Little' Tom now to make his debut and we might just have the trifecta this year...

This isnt a statement about how great we are going to do this year because we slogged a match out in the slush..its just a step in the right direction and we can debate how big the step is or how significant but for me its been a while since we have been injected with such ready made young talent and I am happy to say the boys overall look fitter and switched on...thats all I was looking for in the NAB Cup.

Years since a premiership: West Coast 0, Sydney 1, Port 2, Brisbane 3, Essendon 6, Kangaroos 7, Adelaide 8, Carlton 11, Hawthorn 15, Collingwood 16, Richmond 26, St Kilda 40, Geelong 43, Melbourne 46, Bulldogs 52, Freo n/a

Keep throwing those fancy generalisations around sunshine.

Marcus this our board and we can say what we want here. As a guest in our house you would do well to behave and not resort to trolling. :thumbsd:

Congratulations and well done on a great win, the whole 10 extra minutes i was saying Telstra Dome-AAMI-Telstra Dome-AAMI etc... It was a very impressive game and Bartel is a great player and Djerrkura was a handy pick up. I hope we (Brisbane) and you guys put on a good match at Telstra Dome and good luck. Please don't kill us. Congrats again and I look forward until Friday. :)

I missed the game. Didn't have access to Fox Sports. Does anyone know where I can download a torrent of the game? Much appreciated if you do. I decided it would be a good idea to head out to town and get on the piss. I spent ****ing ****loads, and had a **** night. Wish I'd just driven to the Casion as I'd originally planned to do and watched the game. Would've saved me heaps of money, and my night would have been a ****load better. :mad:

Marcus this our board and we can say what we want here. As a guest in our house you would do well to behave and not resort to trolling. :thumbsd:

I would define trolling as instigating some derogatory comments to get a reaction, on the other hand I was reacting to derogatory comments made about our club by a geelong supporter, I think theres a significant difference.

Seriously, anyone that tries to denegrate what was an excellent game to watch by taking one kick and calling it a choke is clearly just attention seeking.

As I said, good luck this week.

i doubt you will lose come friday night becuase you are the nab specialists (not trolling either)

Now i dont like to disagree with a fellow gooner, but with the exception of 04 and 06 our pre season cup form isnt really anything to write home about.

I would define trolling as instigating some derogatory comments to get a reaction, on the other hand I was reacting to derogatory comments made about our club by a geelong supporter, I think theres a significant difference.

Seriously, anyone that tries to denegrate what was an excellent game to watch by taking one kick and calling it a choke is clearly just attention seeking.

As I said, good luck this week.

Fair call Marcus, I think you were jumped on a bit. Thanks for the kind words!

I was appalled at that 50m penalty, and readily admit to being ready to hate Cornes after that, but it wasn't his fault and in the end I didn't have to anyway.:thumbsu:

Fantastically exciting game. I think Cat_Fanatic summed it best, thanks mate! Loved seeing Mooney do so well, and was very happy to see Blake, Bartel, Djeka, Enright, Selwood etc do so well. Djeka, you little beauty!!

A really good effort from the boys in the terrible conditions.

I honestly thought the game was all but over at 1/4 time (17 points down in conditions like that would have been like 7 goals on a dry day), but to the boys credits they came back and won what was a very entertaining contest.