Chad Cornes

incubi said:
There is a thin line between showing spirit and leadership and taking it too far.
He took it too far today, punching the fence and pushing and shoving your opponents all day doesnt help ur team, if anything just fires up the opposition.

Cornes might be a bit on the arrogant side, but without him playing the way he is, can you imagine the scorelines for Port in the last two weeks? All good players know how to get under the skin of the opposition, Wayne Carey was a master of it, Ablett was more subdued, but knew how to make his presence felt. Port need this from more players and in particular from Warren Tredrea. I think it's very rich to criticise anything about Cornes, when there are so many more in the Port side who are deserving of scorn. Personally I think it is a far more arrogant attitude to take a pay check and then not do your job, than playing your guts out and showing a bit of frustration. My personal opinion is the following players need to be dropped, simply for masquerading as footballers, whilst leaving the work to the likes of Cornes.
Cassisi-not the worst offender, but constantly caught on the rebound.
Burgoyne.P.- Unaccountable and unconcerned about his team mates.
Bishop- A shocker this year and seems to have given up.
Motlop- A fizzer in all respects, undoubted talent, but a headcase.
Lonie-Possibly the softest footballer in the AFL today-no value.

That's my take on it anyway, but I'm not sure too many Port people would disagree at this stage.

I just think it's ironic that the one guy who has shown a bit of Port Magpie spirit in the last couple of weeks is named Cornes.

Appologies to Brendon Lade who has also done his bit.

cypher said:
He's a gun who at least showed some spirit and leadership today and we'd gladly take him off Port's hands.

If he was younger. :)
Younger? :confused:

Total Power said:
Try 141, that was the mother of all thrashings :rolleyes: .Believe in Karma Stiffy, your time will come as well, just wait till your core leadship group retire, just dont call us trolls when you get bagged for it. We laughed at you for the past few years for not doing anything...now you are laughing at us. Its a funny game isnt it?? Once again...Karma
I never said we didn't suck. Our worst year was 2004 without a doubt. We got mother of all hidings at the GABBA but we never had 3 games in a row where we got polaxed on the scoreboard. A lot of our losses in the 2004 season were "close"

Round 1 - 75 point loss to Roos
Round 2 - 21 point loss to Brisbane
Round 3 - 9 point loss to Fremantle
Round 4 - 15 point loss to St. Kilda
Round 5 - 75 point win against Richmond
Round 6 - 43 point loss to Geelong
Round 7 - 32 point win against Port Adelaide
Round 8 - 51 point loss to Essendon
Round 9 - 3 point loss to Collingwood
Round 10 - 86 point win against Hawthorn
Round 11 - 4 point loss to Carlton
Round 12 - 32 point loss to West Coast
Round 13 - 32 point win against Western Bulldogs
Round 14 - 72 point win against Melbourne
Round 15 - 13 point loss to Sydney
Round 16 - 12 point loss to Fremantle
Round 17 - 141 point loss to Brisbane
Round 18 - 7 point win against the Kangaroos
Round 19 - 23 point loss to St. Kilda
Round 20 - 52 point win against Richmond
Round 21 - 22 point win against Geelong
Round 22 - 25 point loss to Port Adelaide

Yes we got some spankings in 2004 but we never had a trot where we were betled for 3 weeks in a row.

I don't even know why I am bothering because there are obviously a lot of precious ones amongst your group. I made a comment about a player who I think is top 10 in the AFL and his arrogance, which wasn't taken lightly by an imbecile who thought he would have a crack at my side. What do you expect me to sit back and take it from a d**khead like that??????

Then Pred comes on with one of his usual snipes. Some things never change :rolleyes:

ebo337 said:
Its called making an effort

I would call it wasting energy. If he could focus on the ball / play instead of making a song and dance against the opp. he may not have run out of puff in the 4 quarter.

Total Power said:
Its not a term associated with PAFC, i just didnt wake up one fine morning and decided, "oh theres a new club in town lets support them".

I'm not having a dig at the club here - but ummmm that's what it's attempting to do is get 'bandwagon' supporters. That's what the club has said in not so many words - they've talked about attracting new supporters, particularly after the GF win, and building up their supporter base from outsaide of the traditional areas.
Which in reality is what clubs like Port have to do. It's great to be proud and have a great tradition - but if you don't perform, don't get new members and increased supporter numbers you float along, like Hawthorn and the Kangaroos are now and find yourself in trouble. It's the way of the new AFL.

Stiffy_18 said:
Then Pred comes on with one of his usual snipes. Some things never change :rolleyes:
There was no snipe as far as I'm concerned. You can't expect to post the inflammatory stuff you did (and don't think the fact that you also offered a compliment mollifies that), and expect nothing in return?

Nothing does change, does it Stiffy - if you always give what you've always given, you'll always get what you've always got. We'll never see eye to eye. Sh.t happens.

Chad Cornes - one of the best players in the afl, who happens to also act like a bit of a knob.

IMO to be really elite you have to have some arrogance. Think about it - Schumacher, Sampras, Carey, Jordan, Tiger ... all arrogant in some way or another - now im in no way comparing Chad to these legends but to be an elite sportsman you have to be supremely confident which often leads to arrogance.

Every supporter on these boards would have him in their teams without blinking... and off the field he is a top fella, much more so than some of the chardonnay set fruit tingles across the road....

deeps said:
no, if you watched the game, his goal was the first of many port ones for that quarter. It was AFTER a few more goals that the bulldogs came back

Really what happend was the bulldogs took their foot off the pedal, port pounced, bulldogs realised, and put an end to it once and for all

Yes, I did watch the game. What happened was Port Power got on a bit of a roll to give their supporters some false hope.

Chad Cornes thought his team was going to win and started acting all arrogant. This fired the Doggies up who proceeded to kick goal after goal after deciding that they'd had enough of the tosser's attitude.

So if Chad Cornes had kept his cool instead of acting like a knob, Port Power may well have lost by a significantly smaller margin.

Total Power said:
Try 141, that was the mother of all thrashings :rolleyes: .Believe in Karma Stiffy, your time will come as well, just wait till your core leadship group retire, just dont call us trolls when you get bagged for it. We laughed at you for the past few years for not doing anything...now you are laughing at us. Its a funny game isnt it?? Once again...Karma

And believe it when I say that things are only going to get worse for Port Power. They have no supporters, no money, no players, constant infighting and a coach with a massive chip on his shoulder against anything and anyone.

In fact, I can just imagine Choco's next speech, '... and the guy with the 'Choco to Baghdad (directly) banner, you were wrong!'. Probably not gonna happen though the way things are going for that rabble.

jmorg1 said:
Yes, I did watch the game. What happened was Port Power got on a bit of a roll to give their supporters some false hope.

Chad Cornes thought his team was going to win and started acting all arrogant. This fired the Doggies up who proceeded to kick goal after goal after deciding that they'd had enough of the tosser's attitude.

So if Chad Cornes had kept his cool instead of acting like a knob, Port Power may well have lost by a significantly smaller margin.

No he didn't idiot. He tried to fire the side up. He was pretty much doing it single handedly so he had to. Stupid comment. Back to bay 13 with you mate.

jmorg1 said:
And believe it when I say that things are only going to get worse for Port Power. They have no supporters, no money, no players, constant infighting and a coach with a massive chip on his shoulder against anything and anyone.

In fact, I can just imagine Choco's next speech, '... and the guy with the 'Choco to Baghdad (directly) banner, you were wrong!'. Probably not gonna happen though the way things are going for that rabble.

:rolleyes: have you ever made a comment about your own side?? Anything negative about Port your right on it. :D:D:D:D off idiot. Of course we are going to get worse the next 3 years, if you havent noticed we are rebuilding. Your quite a sadcase if you hate Port Adelaide more then you support your own side. That sad you can't even say our real name.

jmorg1 said:
no supporters
35,000 odd members, one of the fastest growing supporter bases in afl. Go and have a look in the parks on a Saturday arvo, the guernseys the kids are wearing are black white and teal.

jmorg1 said:
but we have loooots of assets, cash poor, asset rich, the way to be ; )

jmorg1 said:
no players
ok, i cant argue with this one given recent performances, but i reckon there would still be a few that would make the fruit tingles side

jmorg1 said:
constant infighting
proof? Unsubstantiated crap

jmorg1 said:
and a coach with a massive chip on his shoulder against anything and anyone.
good.

morell said:
35,000 odd members, one of the fastest growing supporter bases in afl. Go and have a look in the parks on a Saturday arvo, the guernseys the kids are wearing are black white and teal.

but we have loooots of assets, cash poor, asset rich, the way to be ; )

ok, i cant argue with this one given recent performances, but i reckon there would still be a few that would make the fruit tingles side

proof? Unsubstantiated crap

good.

Proof? Unsubstantiated crap!!
It's certainly not the case in most areas, in fact from the comp. I coach in, I'd say Crows guernseys are at least 10 to 1 every Saturday and Sunday morning. Maybe you shouldn't be in the park opposite Choco's house every weekend, it could be deemed stalking.;)

As for everything else you are pretty much spot on, but watch the drop off in membership next year and watch kids who come in fresh, as they will look to support the more successful side. This becomes cyclical with ups and downs. You got a lot of momentum with juniors from the 04 premiership, just as we will with an improved performance this year, if it continues to go well. kids like to be associated with winners and this generally fuels their support in their younger years.:)

How many younger kids do you see wearing Chicago Bulls tops anymore? None, because they can't associate with the success of that era with Michael Jordan and Phil Jackson.

Chewy said:
The whole family are are a bunch of loud-mouthed knobs.
I don't for sure about Mrs Cornes, but I'm betting she's a goose too.
I think Kane has a bit more class than his old man and his brother. Kane does have a bit of arrogance but in a good way. He is no where near as uphimself as Chad. Now that boy is Graham Cornes to the power of 10 in terms of FIGJAM factor.

Stiffy_18 said:
I don't even know why I am bothering because there are obviously a lot of precious ones amongst your group. I made a comment about a player who I think is top 10 in the AFL and his arrogance, which wasn't taken lightly by an imbecile who thought he would have a crack at my side. What do you expect me to sit back and take it from a d**khead like that??????
what do you reckon, you have the likes of goodwin, johncock, roo and co in your side, who arent exactly morally perfect either (not talking about their football ability). I dont see anyone complaining about that :rolleyes:

morell said:

Oh sorry, my mistake. Everything's hunky dory then. I was actually going by the poor attendances to your games but I guess I was mistaken since a poster on BF told me that a couple of kids in the parks wear Port Power jumpers.

Total Power said:
what do you reckon, you have the likes of goodwin, johncock, roo and co in your side, who arent exactly morally perfect either (not talking about their football ability). I dont see anyone complaining about that :rolleyes:

Goodwin and Johncock both did stupid things off the field, agreed. Most clubs have got a couple of players in similar situations, though (Port included). I wouldn't have thought Goodwin or Johncock come across as particularly arrogant though - but I guess I'm biased. Be interested in an unbiased (non Port or Crows) opinion on that one.

Don't know what you're referring to with "Roo and co"?

FWIW, I reckon Chad's a super player. I hate him with a passion, but he's a top player. I'm sure we'd learn to put up with his arrogance pretty quickly if he played for the Crows.

RogerRabbit69 said:
Goodwin and Johncock both did stupid things off the field, agreed. Most clubs have got a couple of players in similar situations, though (Port included). I wouldn't have thought Goodwin or Johncock come across as particularly arrogant though - but I guess I'm biased. Be interested in an unbiased (non Port or Crows) opinion on that one.

Don't know what you're referring to with "Roo and co"?

FWIW, I reckon Chad's a super player. I hate him with a passion, but he's a top player. I'm sure we'd learn to put up with his arrogance pretty quickly if he played for the Crows.
He is referring to Ramsgate incident when Roo got the better of Carr. Petty really.

They are a very defensive lot these days. If you so much as mentioned something negative about their players or club, they jump down your throat. They would fit well at dockerland.com :rolleyes:

Total Power said:
Now listen up intellectually challenged one. Have I ever quiestioned any player on moral basis? Please find where I have and get back to me.

Arrogance has sweet **** all to do with moral values :rolleyes:

jmorg1 said:
Oh sorry, my mistake. Everything's hunky dory then. I was actually going by the poor attendances to your games but I guess I was mistaken since a poster on BF told me that a couple of kids in the parks wear Port Power jumpers.

So what it was Mothers Day yesterday. Your game got 16,000 and Essendon VS Carlton got 32,000. Not exactly a day for footy.

Stiffy_18 said:
He is referring to Ramsgate incident when Roo got the better of Carr. Petty really.
Ofcourse it was a petty incident, if Pickett did that, it would be Alberton culture :rolleyes:
Stiffy_18 said:
They are a very defensive lot these days. If you so much as mentioned something negative about their players or club, they jump down your throat. They would fit well at dockerland.com :rolleyes:
Yet your mob cares hell lotta more than anyone about Port, so much so that you have dedicated fans like jmorg, maccas, chokie, jack and others, who dedicated their precious time creating troll threads about port :rolleyes: .Talk about kicking a man when he is down, your time will come too...and we will pay your mob back with interest that day.Karma is real :rolleyes:

Chad Cornes