Champions League

Originally posted by moomba
Wrong sport, wrong board I know but I am a bit partial to the Rancho Cucamonga Quakes of Minor League Baseball.

Moomba

The Class 'A' California League, to be precise. I forget who they're affiliated with, perhaps the L.A. Dodgers...

We really need to get the "great team names" thread started. And soon. :)

Cheers,
William

Originally posted by you_idiot

The Class 'A' California League, to be precise. I forget who they're affiliated with, perhaps the L.A. Dodgers...

We really need to get the "great team names" thread started. And soon. :)

Cheers,
William

Used to be Padres, but not sure now, maybe Angels.

Dodgers don't have a California League team anymore, used have one in Bakersfield, then San Bernardino.

Moomba

Chook!!!!

You are a legend!!!!!

Bruce should be looking over his shoulder!!!!!!!!

Comprehensive reports!!!! Sound Racing Knowledge!!!!!

You should start up your own website .......

Keep up the grand work!!!!!

Again wrong sport, but the Denver Safeway Piggly Wiggly's is a great sounding name. Later they joined the NBA as the Denver Nuggets. The original Nuggets, not the current Nuggets.

Originally posted by DEVO
Again wrong sport, but the Denver Safeway Piggly Wiggly's is a great sounding name. Later they joined the NBA as the Denver Nuggets. The original Nuggets, not the current Nuggets.

Come to think of it, Devo, the ABA had some teams with some great names...

The Kentucky Colonels
Spirits of St. Louis
Oakland Oaks

Someone still needs to start that thread. :D

Cheers,
William

Re: Re: Champions League

Matchweek 2

Group E

Juventus 5 - 0 Dynamo Kyiv
Di Vaio 14, 52, Del Piero 22, Davids 67, Nedved 79.
The Old Lady routed the Kiev side with Marco Di Vaio getting two of the five and putting forward his name for Serie A first team action. David Trezeguet came off the bench late but couldn't get his name on the scoresheet.

Newcastle United 0 - 1 Feyenoord
Pardo 4.
Newcastle's Champions League campaign is practically over after losing its first home game of the series. Chilean Sebastian Pardo scored in the fourth minute, and then the Dutch side was forced to defend as the Magpies tried desperately to revive their hopes. Feyenoord had former Sunderland goalkeeper Edwin Zoetebier to thank for the victory as he pulled off a number of fine saves. Brett Emerton also played well for the winners.

Juventus 4 +5
Feyenoord 4 +1
Kyiv 3 -3
Newcastle 0 -3

Group F

Bayer Leverkusen 1 - 2 Manchester United
Berbatov 52. van Nistelrooy 31, 44.
Still struggling domestically, Manchester United proved that they are a strong European force with a fine away win over struggling Leverkusen. Ruud van Nistelrooy twice profited from dodgy German defending to guide home balls from Juan Sebastian Veron and Nicky Butt. Diego Forlan's introduction typically resulted in no more goals for United, while Leverkusen struck back through Dimitar Berbatov and could have equalised when Thomas Brdaric's header smacked out off the inside of the post late on.

Maccabi Haifa 3 - 0 Olympiakos
Ayegbini (pen) 27, 60, 85.
Maccabi Haifa proved that they would be no pushovers in Group F, comfortably accounting for first game winners Olympiakos. Yacubu Ayegbini scored a hat-trick for the Israelis and moved them to equal points with Olympiakos and with the group's hardest fixture - Old Trafford - already out of the way, Maccabi Haifa seem to be right in the mix for second place in the group.

Man Utd 6 +4
Olympiakos 3 +1
Haifa 3 0
Leverkusen 0 -5

Group G

Deportivo La Coruna 0 - 4 AC Milan
Seedorf 17, Inzaghi 33, 55, 62.
The 'Group of Death' is turning into the AC Milan killing fields, as the Italian giants carved up Deportivo with a clinical display. Filippo Inzaghi bagged a hat-trick to make it five in two Champions League games as the Spaniards gave back their hard won three points from Munich a week ago.

RC Lens 1 - 1 Bayern Munich
Utaka 76. Linke 23.
John Utaka's late equaliser further damaged Bayern Munich's chances of reaching the second stage. The Germans led through a mid-first half Thomas Linke goal, but gave back the advantage when the Nigerian smacked a powerful header past Oliver Kahn. Late efforts from Hasan Salihamadzic and Owen Hargreaves couldn't get Bayern over the line, and they remain rooted to the foot of Group G.

AC Milan 6 +5
Deportivo 3 -3
Munich 1 -1
Lens 1 -1

Group H

Club Brugge 0 - 0 Lokomotiv Moscow
Points for the Belgians and Russians, but a bit of a stalemate as far as second stage qualification goes. There were eight yellow cards and a red one, but no scores as these two teams seemingly confirmed their third and fourth placings in Group H.

Galatasaray 0 - 2 Barcelona
Kluivert 27, Enrique 59.
Barca continues to press as a Champions League force with a fine 2-0 away win in Turkey. The strikeforce of Patrick Kluivert and Luis Enrique both found the net either side of half time, while the defence performed the fine feat of keeping the powerful Turks goalless at home. The Spanish side seems certain of qualification in top place in this group.

Barcelona 6 +3
Galatasaray 3 0
Brugge 1 -1
Lokomotiv 1 -2

Re: Re: Re: Champions League

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Matchweek 2

Group G

Deportivo La Coruna 0 - 4 AC Milan
Seedorf 17, Inzaghi 33, 55, 62.
The 'Group of Death' is turning into the AC Milan killing fields, as the Italian giants carved up Deportivo with a clinical display. Filippo Inzaghi bagged a hat-trick to make it five in two Champions League games as the Spaniards gave back their hard won three points from Munich a week ago.

Bloody Hell!!! Depor haven't lost that badly at home, since there days in the third division in early eighties. They have been hit pretty hard with injuries (lost Valeron on the weekend) but surely it isn't that bad. Should still make it to round 2 though.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Champions League

Originally posted by DEVO
Bloody Hell!!! Depor haven't lost that badly at home, since there days in the third division in early eighties. They have been hit pretty hard with injuries (lost Valeron on the weekend) but surely it isn't that bad. Should still make it to round 2 though.

Yea, they missed Valeron, but remember Milan wasnt at full strength either. #1 Striker and Keeper out, with Brazilian Roque Junior still injured.

McKaay, who was been on fire, played, but did very little - basically nothing. Milan has a very good history in and against Spain/Spanish teams. Basically they have flair, but need room. Milan has always been good, or placed a lot of emphasis on closing down teams, which works well against the Spanish.

It has been commented that even on his short stint in Serie A so far, Rivaldo has struggled with time and being closed down. He seems to be more freed up Europe though, and looks better. He will only get better with time.

Juve's 5 goal romp suprised me a bit, especially with Trez only seeing a little bit of game time.

Is the race for the scudetto 2 horse? Milan v Juve?

Im sure Chris will disagree!

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Champions League

Originally posted by Chris_23
Nope. We stink at the moment, Milan and Juve are miles ahead. If we can squeak out a few more wins me may come good, but we look very shaky at the present time.

Yea, but your winning!

Everyone has peaks and troughs - I agree that you arnt in great form, but your on 6 points, and you got a draw away in Europe so things could be worse! Interesting to see how you go tomorrow morning.

Very lucky in Calabria tho! Was it them who beat you down there a couple seasons ago?

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Champions League

Originally posted by Smokin

Yea, but your winning!

Everyone has peaks and troughs - I agree that you arnt in great form, but your on 6 points, and you got a draw away in Europe so things could be worse! Interesting to see how you go tomorrow morning.

Very lucky in Calabria tho! Was it them who beat you down there a couple seasons ago?

Yep, hopefully we'll stick with Juve and Milan. I'm sure we'll get better. Cuper just needs to work out our formation, it's changing daily. :(

Yeah Reggina beat us 2-1 in the first round two seasons back. We had also just lost the Champions League playoff with Helsingborgs. Marcelo Lippi was sacked straight after the match.

Inter and Ajax will be SBS's feature match this week...

I know they'll air it at 10 p.m. Thursday night on delay (I'll have to tape it, because I will not miss the Grand Final edition of "The Footy Show" for anything)-- but does anyone know if the network airs live games like they did last season?

By the way, I have a special interest in this match, because I want to see my countryman John O'Brien play in the Champions League for Ajax. :D

Cheers,
William

Matchweek 2

Group A

Borussia Dortmund 2 - 1 Auxerre
Koller 6, Amoroso 78. Mwaruwaru 83.
Comfortable win for the home side, who attacked from the outset and scored after six minutes through Jan Koller. Auxerre only attacked sporadically and it was no surprise that Dortmund went two ahead through a Marcio Amoroso tap-in. A late consolation goal from Benjamin Mwaruwaru never looked like altering the result.

PSV Eindhoven 0 - 4 Arsenal
Silva 1, Ljungberg 66, Henry 81, 90.
The Gunners emphatically put their stamp on Group A with an excellent 4-0 win away to PSV. They were ahead after 21 seconds thanks to Gilberto Silva, and then saw two PSV goals disallowed soon afterwards. PSV dropped its bundle, and Freddie Ljungberg doubled the advantage after half time before Thierry Henry doubled it again with a late brace.

Arsenal 6 +6
Dortmund 3 -1
Auxerre 1 -1
PSV 1 -4

Group B

Spartak Moscow 0 - 3 Valencia
Angulo 6, Mista 71, Sanchez 85..
The other away win of the night was Valencia over Spartak Moscow. The Spaniards asserted their superiority over the Russians with a sixth minute goal from Miguel Angel Angulo, while substitutes Mista and Juan Sanchez both netted after half time. Spartak remain pointless and goalless at the foot of Group B.

Liverpool 1 - 1 Basel
Baros 34. Rossi 42.
Liverpool burnt two priceless points in a horror home draw against Swiss minnows Basel. Milan Baros continued his rich vein of scoring form, but his teammates conspired to miss several hatfuls of chances against the Swiss visitors, who remain three points ahead of the Reds in the Group B standings. Pascal Zuberbuhler had a night out in goal for Basel, while Julio Rossi scored with their only real chance to share the points.

Valencia 6 +5
Basel 4 +2
Liverpool 1 -2
Spartak 0 -5

Group C

AEK Athens 0 - 0 AS Roma
A stalemate at the Nikos Gournas Stadium, leaving the Greeks with two points from two games and second place in the group. Unfortunately for them, they have two games against Real Madrid to come. Roma's form, both at home and in Europe, must be of great concern to their fans.

Real Madrid 6 - 0 Racing Genk
Zokora (og) 45, Salgado 45, Figo (pen) 55, Guti 64, Celades 74, Raul 76.
Just a little giggle for Real, who shared the goals between five of them in what amounted to little more than a training exercise. The only surprise was that it took 45 minutes for the home team to break through, and that through an own goal, but they made up for lost time thereafter.

Real 6 +9
AEK 2 0
Roma 1 -3
Genk 1 -6

Group D

Internazionale 1 - 0 Ajax Amsterdam
Crespo 75.
A generally unimpressive Inter, narrow and without imagination, saved by a Hernan Crespo volley to give them full points at the San Siro. A first half substitution saw Ajax fielding a fourth choice goalkeeper (Henk Timmer) but it took five sixths of the game for the home side to breach him. Ajax may consider themselves a little unlucky, with an equal share of the play and an Andy van der Meyde lob landing on the crossbar midway through the second half.

Olympique Lyonnais 5 - 0 Rosenberg
Carriere 6, Vairelles 25, 45, Anderson 34, Luyindula 75.
Four first half goals sealed the contest as Lyon ran riot over the Norwegian defence. Rosenberg was not without chances throughout the game, but excellent finishing from the home side, particularly Tony Vairelles who knocked in a first half double, saw them well clear at the final whistle. Lyon stay in contention in this tough group.

Inter 4 +1
Lyon 3 +4
Ajax 3 0
Rosenberg 1 -5

Re: Re: Champions League

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club

Internazionale 1 - 0 Ajax Amsterdam
Crespo 75.
A generally unimpressive Inter, narrow and without imagination, saved by a Hernan Crespo volley to give them full points at the San Siro. A first half substitution saw Ajax fielding a fourth choice goalkeeper (Henk Timmer) but it took five sixths of the game for the home side to breach him. Ajax may consider themselves a little unlucky, with an equal share of the play and an Andy van der Meyde lob landing on the crossbar midway through the second half.

Beautiful football. :cool:

In all seriousness, i said yesterday that we were struggling. Ajax were pretty good, but they never really threatened Toldo. I always thought we'd get the chocolates, we only need one chance.

Ronaldo. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! :D

Champions League