BUBBALOUIS

Jan 9, 2001
Victoria, HAWTHORN, GLENF
leeds united
All time greats are very subjective heres my list from each State of Origin. What do you guys think

Victoria: Leigh Matthews,Ted Whitten
Queensland: Jason Dunstall, Gavin Crosisca
NSW: Wayne Carey,Paul Kelly
SA: Malcolm Blight, Barrie Robran
WA: Graham Moss, Barry Cable
TAS: Peter Hudson, Darryl Baldock
NT: Nathan Buckley,Michael Mclean

• Banned
TASSAINT, Gotta admit cant really go past P.Hudson and Baldock, geniuses werent they. Plenty to choose from in Tas, eg Royce Hart
Great footy state

Mr Ripper, Voss is a good choice, some reason didnt think he was a born and bred Qlder, but i guess he is, Crosisca was pretty underrated during his long career at Collingwood, but Voss is the better player

Cheers

VIC: Leigh Matthews,Hadyn Bunton
QLD: Jason Dunstall, Michael Voss
NSW: Wayne Carey,Paul Kelly
SA: Malcolm Blight, Daylight
WA: Ross Glendinning, Barry Cable
TAS: Peter Hudson, Darryl Baldock

I agree with many of yours, but Robran ? He never played real footy. I stand to be corrected on Bunton's state of origin - he may be a West Australian, and if so would replace Cable.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

Further to my nomination of Bunton (who was a Victorian):-

Playing Record

119 games and 209 goals for Fitzroy, 1931-37 and 1942
Captain of Fitzroy 1931, 1936-37
Matches for Victoria: 12

Individual Awards

Triple Brownlow medallist, 1931, 1932 and 1935
Triple Sandover Medallist, 1938, 1939, 1941
Once voted Champion of the Colony
Twice Fitzroy leading goalkicker, 1936 and 1937
Summary
Quite possibly the greatest player ever, he won Brownlows in his first two seasons, going on to carve out a stellar career.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

[This message has been edited by Carey_is_King (edited 25 January 2001).]

Originally posted by ptw:
CIK

Robran....

go back and look at a few State games....

I might put Ebert on the list as well....

Let me dig up some examples for you...

ptw

Oh, so it's Robran you are talking about.
Never had the courage to test himself in the main game did he ?
Fear of failure or the knowledge that he was a big fish in a little pond ?
Either way, he can never be ranked with the likes of Blight, because he was never put to the test.
Rusell (no neck) Ebert? Good average player- nothing more. To suggest that he would be in the same league as those mentioned is ridiculous.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

1972 Champions of Australia Game

North Adelaide vs Carlton

quote Lou Richards:

"... I hear you South Aussies like feasting your eyes on Alexander (The Great) Jesalenko on the box on Sundays. Yesterday Robran took Superjezza and the mighty Carlton apart like a soggy newspaper. Stand up and take a bow Barrie Robran - I dub thee the new king of football ..."

I think it was the same game that Jezza got a bit lost chasing Robran and ended up applauding. ???

3 Magarey Medals...Captain of S.A....3 Premierships.

look out of your own backyard a bit.

ptw

Let's see Ebert, Blight and Robran

easy comparison as they all played together

Ebert won the 1971 Magarey.
Blight won the 1972 Magarey
Robran won in 1970 & '73

all playing in the same comp against each other.

Therefore it is fair to say that the umpires in S.A. Rated Robran higher than Blight and Ebert....and Ebert & Blight abou the same...

but then you would know I suppose....

ptw

You South Australians just don't get it do you ?

The SAFL was to the VFL (in those days)
as
District Cricket is to Test Cricket.

In other words, it was second rate!!!!
So Robran had a good game against Jezza once. So ****in' what ? SA players always took the interstate games more seriously than the Vics, because they were so desparate to beat them, and it was an opportunity to play against the best.
Please also note, I have not said Robran wasn't a good player. By all accounts he was, but he never played against the best on a regular basis, so he was never tried.
To use another cricket analogy, he was a Darren Lehmann. Made lots of runs in the second rate stuff, but couldn't hack it in the big time.

The comparison between Ebert, Blight & Robran in terms of the Marjorie Medal is irrelevant, because Blight went on to play at the top level and excelled there too.

PS:- Lou Richards' comments are hardly admissible as evidence, given his penchant for outrageous remarks.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

[This message has been edited by Carey_is_King (edited 25 January 2001).]

Glenndiing and Cable champions though they may have been, the greatest of all Sandgropers would have to be Farmer.

Changed the way the game was played. My other west aussie nominee would be BUCKENARA, i loved watching that bloke play.

I thin kone of the finest players to come out of SA and get a run in the AFL would have to be Jim West.
eek.gif

------------------
If ya smell what Santos is cooking!!

Originally posted by Grendel:
Glenndiing and Cable champions though they may have been, the greatest of all Sandgropers would have to be Farmer.

Changed the way the game was played. My other west aussie nominee would be BUCKENARA, i loved watching that bloke play.

Good point about Farmer. For my money, Buckenara was a bit of a downhill skier, but anyway, I don't think he was as good as Glendinning or Cable. It's all personal opinion to a large degree.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

I am getting somewhat sick of this....

you use the example of Cricket....

Victorian Cricket is better than South Australian Cricket. On everage a grade side in Melbourne is better than Adelaide. Victoria wins the shield more often than S.A.

There are plenty of fantastic cricketers from S.A. who do not have to come to Melbourne to prove that they are.

You have absolutely no idea about football anywhere other than at North Melbourne (or is that Fitzroy ??).

Prior to the mid 1970's football was a parochial sport. It was also not professional. Players played for the club probably closest to where they lived and didn't move because they also worked in the area. There was no incentive whatsoever to relocate to Melbourne just so you could play "against the best". Therefore "the best" often stayed in S.A. or W.A. or whatever.

Victoria was "on average" a higher standard. Does not mean that there were not great players in S.A. or great teams...or that the S.A. (or W.A.) comp was not of equal to or higher standard than Victoria for large periods of time I would suggest from 1965-1984 they would have been of comparable standard.

Australian cricket is of higher standard than West Indies (on average). The West Indies kicked our arse for 25 years...they did not have to move to Australia to play in the Sheffield Shield to prove they were better.

I am not a South Australian who rants that S.A. was the premier competition...it was not....but it was comparable...ask any person who saw both competitions...ask the players who played State games about whether they would try or cared...LOOK OUTSIDE YOUR OWN PUNY LITTLE UNIVERSE....its actually quite fun...you might learn something.

ptw

Voss was recruited from Victoria.

Matera before Farmer, Frodo?

Now that's just plain weird...

Originally posted by Hawkforce.:
Voss was recruited from Victoria.

Matera before Farmer, Frodo?

Now that's just plain weird...

Matera is without douby the greatest footballer ever to wear boots IMO.

I can only look at old TV coverage of some of the guys mentioned I have never seen play and there is no doubt in my mind that today's skill and fitness levels are vastly superior to those, although I accept that they were great in their day. What I didn't hear was that sound of absolute awe from the crowd after a run, like that which often followed Matera magic. For me there is no player that compares.

CIK i think theres been a few who have thought the along the same lines as you re Bucky, the interesting thing about it being he was actually instructed not to go into the packs when he was at Hawthorn. Jeans believed he was the best finisher the side had (deadset right about that) and the
club was better off with others feeding him the ball. I only named Bucky as he (like you said) was a personal favourite.

Farmer though must have been a sensation.

Frodo on Matera, best wingman ive seen too, but best player? Nah cant have that, saw him beat to often by a little bloke from Tassie called Pritchard. Just as fast and better foot skills, only he didnt move as smooth as Roo did. :p

CHAMPS FROM EACH STATE