Chance Meetings...

Aussie_Roo

Nov 7, 2000
Just wondering if anyone has ever had a chance meeting with a celebrity, whether it be on a plane, or had dinner in the same restaurant, perhaps sat next to them at a movie?? If you had, what did you say to them.

Used to work at the Tennis Centre and talked pre-concert to Phil Collins - he said he liked our Zoo !

Also opened a door for Franky Sinatra - he said "thankyou"

Minded Alice Cooper's caravan changeroom - got he's ugly without makeup.

Got Martina Navratilova's lover kicked off centre court - arrogant b***h

would have to say me and a friend seeing the scud at highpoint durring the 2000 aus open(no Anna wasnt with him lol)and getting a photo with him no autograph though damm.Oh and being interveiwed at the tennis about lleyton and at the footy at conial being shown on the hugge screen b4 a match?

I met Yeardley Smith, the voice of Lisa Simpson a few months ago. She was really cool...totally down to earth. Signed a couple things for me.

Other than that I know a couple of NFL players. One of the Green Bay Packers lives across the street from my parents, and another one was a college classmate with me at Nebraska.

Stealth Bomber : Yeardley Smith was in a must-see movie called 'Ginger Ale Afternoon'. Great dialogue. I recommend.

(Just thought you'd like to know)
biggrin.gif

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy

Yeah i met the guy in NYPD BLUE i dont know his real name but he was detective bobby simone and a real nice guy.

------------------
There are only two kinds of people in this world-COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTERS,and those who wish they were!
SHITE here comes COLLINGWOOD to kick your ass forever BLACK AND WHITE,ha ha ha jealousy will be the death of you,SHITE!!!!!

I met Lleyton Hewitt once. I was playing air hockey at an arcade and I was winning and I started to pump myself up but screaming c'mon, c'mon, slamming my fist against my chest, like Lleyton does. I was about to turn my cap backwards when I turned around to see Lleyton behind me, waiting to play. He asked if he could use the table and I was kind of embarrassed so I just said sure and left. True story.

I also saw Dean Rioli with Shane Tippamantemeeri of Glenelg, in a Food Court one day, tucking into a large bowl of Chinese. Needless to say, he's a much larger man in real life than on t.v.

------------------
It's true hard work never killed anybody, but I figure, why take the chance??

Well one day in 1985 I was a taxi driver in Adelaide and I picked up Iggy Pop from the Airport and took him into town.

I thought he would just sit there and not say a thing (I mean what does he have to say to an Adelaide Cab Driver ?)

But instead he just started to really rip into me with a whole lotta shit like "I'm Iggy Pop and your just a crap Osssy Taxi Driver" - you know that sort of shit. I couldn't believe that this so-called 'Celebrity' could be so rude and offensive. I actually used to like his music a little bit but cripes, now whenever I see this w***er on TV or hear him on the radio I just remember what an arseh*le he was to me that day.

Oh and he didn't tip either !

I've met and had drinks with Phil from Human Nature.
Been in a lift with Gary Sweet.
Know the whole West Coast Eagles Team.

Thats about it for me!

Easty - I would have loved to, don't worry about that !

But this drongo was so volatile that morning I didn't dare say a word because he could have complained long and hard to the Taxi Company and I could have been out of a job.

Still, you're right - I wimped out of that one a little bit.

Even today I often think how I could have handled it differently but hey, everyone knows what to do - after its happened !

cheers

I met Woody Harrelson in Panama, Central America, for all places! I was with my brother and parents, and we catching a flight from a town called David to Panama City. We were at the airport, which wasn't much more than an airfield, and me and my brother walked past a guy on the phone who sounded just like Woody, when we had a closer look, it was him.
It was kinda funny cos he was on the phone for ages and there was a guy behind waiting for the phone but Woody wouldn't get off it and was paranoid, thinking that the guy was listening in on him. A bit of argument followed, with Woody's small entourage approaching the man then a Panamian police officer trying to restore order. No fisticuffs or anything, just a bit of shouting in English, Spanish and Woody's broad Texan accent
biggrin.gif

He got on the same small plane as me and sat directly behind me. I didn't get he's autograph or anything, he seemed like a bit of an arrogant prat.

[This message has been edited by Sydneyfan (edited 12 January 2001).]

In New York I saw a tall black man with hair sticking straight up waiting on the footpath for a cab, it was Don King. I said g'day and after some small talk I asked him when Tyson was fighting next. He said two weeks Saturday and to put every dollar I had on him winning. Sure enough Tyson won easily hmmm, I didn't have a bet so won nothing. Doh!

iggy pop ! never heard of the tosser, hey bloodstained, you should get in contact with the piece of garbage and abuse him, go to his website or something, I will do it for you if you like

Besides lots of footy players, Pat Rafter, Phillipousis, F1 Drivers = Villeneuve, Coulthard, Schumacher, a few popstars from the 80's that I rather not mention.

------------------
If you see me getting mighty,
If you see me getting high,
Knock me down,
I'm not bigger than Life

R.H.C.P.

eastaugh, how can you label Iggy a 'tosser' (presuming you mean to abuse, rather than just accuse him of masturbation which all but the sick have indulged in on one occasion or another) if you haven't heard of him?

Is this a demonstration of superior intellect, or of superior argument?

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy

Mobbenfuhrer
That is easty, he says Iggy is a tosser even though he has never heard of him, the same way he says South Park is crap although he has never watched the show. See easty you keep putting your foot in it.
rolleyes.gif

------------------
mantis

Chance Meetings...