is2SWaNz

Jarrad McVeigh
Yay! Footy is back on again and the Swannies are taking on the Bombers on Sunday @ ANZ Stadium. What changes would you like to see in the Swannies line up?

To be honest, I have vague memories from the game against the Bulldogs. It was such a horrible game I had to forget about it quickly. Provided that Tadhg is fit and ready to play, I'd probably only see one change:

IN Ablett
OUT Mathews

Yay! Footy is back on again and the Swannies are taking on the Bombers on Sunday @ ANZ Stadium. What changes would you like to see in the Swannies line up?

To be honest, I have vague memories from the game against the Bulldogs. It was such a horrible game I had to forget about it quickly. Provided that Tadhg is fit and ready to play, I'd probably only see one change:

IN Ablett
OUT Mathews
THAT WILL UPSET SS

Tadhg and Lukey definite ins if they're at match fitness.

If nothing, he has a booming kick which can penetrate into the attacking 50 if need be, otherwise he adds pretty much the same toughness that Mathews does.

We're losing a tagger, but gaining a pack worker, which'll be good against the relatively fast legs of Essendon.

I'm expecting a win with the Dons badly crippled by injuries. Anyone know if Mark McVeigh's alright?

If we lose by a point
ill be sick

Apparently ANZ Stadium (Formerly Telstra) has thinner goal post padding that at the SCG. So it shouldn't be an issue like last year when Monty shaved the post.

I just have a horrible feeling that our close loss to the St Kilda Scum and a Draw to the "Glorified Truck Route" (North Melbourne) Kangaroos might come back to haunt us like last season.

Let's hope not !!! We need to give the Bombers a touch up on the scoreboard in the order of 60 points +

Go you GOODES things

Tadhg and Lukey definite ins if they're at match fitness.

If nothing, he has a booming kick which can penetrate into the attacking 50 if need be, otherwise he adds pretty much the same toughness that Mathews does.

We're losing a tagger, but gaining a pack worker, which'll be good against the relatively fast legs of Essendon.

I'm expecting a win with the Dons badly crippled by injuries. Anyone know if Mark McVeigh's alright?

seems to be some optimism from the dons camp that mcveigh will get up for the game, and maybe dustin fletcher as well
to be honest, that shouldn't make a difference, we should win the game comfortably ... and the fact i feel like that is a worry

Ablett for Matthews will do it for me.

the game against the Bulldogs. It was such a horrible game I had to forget about it quickly

Disappointing result but we played pretty well. We missed a few easy shots and they slotted absolutely everything - that was really the only difference. We were more than competitive, and in that kind of form should easily account for the Bombers.

the "Glorified Truck Route" (North Melbourne)

:)

Really looking forward to this game. I thought that ANZ was fantastic in daylight back in 2005. I think we beat the Lions by about 80pts that day. And the joy of a 210pm start rather than the tedious 110pm starts we usually have to put up with in this city gets the big thumbs up from me.

I kinda like the idea of playing at ANZ Stadium in the arvo. It's a pretty "family" environment as well. Enjoyed watching it last time, loved the Kennelly goal.

I'd like to see:

Out:

- B. Matthews
- H. Playfair (Tell him he's gotta learn to kick before we give him another game)

One of:

- J. Bolton
- A. Buchanan

In

- L. Ablett
- T. Schmidt (If he's fit)
- J. White - Play him at full forward.

I'd like to see:

Out:

- H. Playfair (Tell him he's gotta learn to kick before we give him another game)

In
- J. White - Play him at full forward.

Hmm. I'm 50/50 on that. I thought Playfair was passable against the Bullies, although certainly not a world-beater. Alot of the boys have been missing set shots, so I wouldnt drop him on that alone. Either will do really until Hall comes back.

I still can't get over his kicking action, it's just strange and not in a way that could be considered positive in any light.

Exactly.

Look, I think he showed promise in terms of his leading, marking and general play. But all that is useless if he can't put the ball between the sticks.

I think there's a difference between his kicking and say, ROKs or Magic's. We know they can both kick straight. At the moment they're just down on form and confidence. But from what I saw from Playfair, and everything I've read from Geelong supporters, he just can't kick. Send him over to Plugger's farm for a weekend!

He's not the worst kick in the side.

I know, that's why I said they should drop Jude or Amon as well :p

Even then, there's still a difference between an established player being dropped for poor kicking and a young player dropped for bad kicking. I'd love for Playfair to become a regular. We're going to need him in the forward line over the next few years. But it's better to get that kicking out of his game now. Sure, he might be able to do it whilst still playing, but this sends a message.

I reckon Henry added a marking target that we've desperately been missing without Hall. If he can present like he did against the dogs he'll be doing his job, for mind. Give him another run. He might like the space at ANZ against the depleted Dons a bit more this week.

Jude and Amon shouldn't be dropped. But some interesting decisions will be made when Fosdike, Mal, and Schmidt are ready to return.

I'd be surprised to see anything other than Ablett in, Mathews out.

If he can present like he did against the dogs he'll be doing his job, for mind. Give him another run. He might like the space at ANZ against the depleted Dons a bit more this week.

Fair call. If anything it would cripple his confidence to be dropped so soon with no obvious incumbent. He might indeed enjoy the extra space out at Homebush.

I agree with the general consensus of Ablett for Matthews. I'd like to see both Smith and White getting another game, though. Give them two successive games at least.

I'm joining the chorus.

Ablett (If fit) for Mathews.

Also soon Foskike will be back into the team. I'm going to suggest (possibly not a popular one. ) the club may possibly rest young Bird's body from the rigors of AFL football for a few weeks when this happens. It's not because he is doing a bad job but of the young brigade this year he has the least develop physique and young players can fatigue in their first season of AFL football. I dare say if he is going back to Canberra he will be told to go dominate the midfield of the league for a few weeks and come back a better player for it.

No, I was thinking Bird should be rested for this year, but maybe not. His body can stand up to it. Its not like the Swans ever brought anyone into the side whose body couldn't hold up a seasons' hard footy.

We've had forward line problems and Veszpremi was good as fit to go. But his body would've let him down. I'm at peace with the idea of him not coming in at all this year, but I'm also fine if Bird stays in.

They've been well seasoned in the reserves, so his body can stand up to the rigours. Maybe its a matter of taking away what he can from this year and working on it in the reserves ?