Unofficial Preview Changes and discussion Qualifying Final @ ? v Demons.

Hopefully we win the flag and the decision is made easy for Birch.

Reckon he has just really enjoyed playing some footy. I think he’ll call time.

There is no spot for him going forward, I think the sit down and hard decision needs to be this week. I'm not confident it will happen but with all my heart I believe it should. We can't carry Birch and his shortcomings. There's just too much at stake.

FYI guys Saturday probably most likely as Dees have had consecutive 6 day breaks coming in plus the shemozzle a week earlier where they flew up to Brisbane and back when the lockdown was called. Club have discussed trying to ease the burden on our playing group with the AFL and as minor premier get first choice.

Should be a ripper regardless.

In A Smith, Robinson, Andrews
Out Fullarton, Birchall, Prior.
Archie needs to come in to create a contest around the ground to reduce Gawns impact. If we can reduce Max's impact we can win. A big call I know. But he is there most dangerous player, especially later in games

In A Smith, Robinson, Andrews
Out Fullarton, Birchall, Prior.
Archie needs to come in to create a contest around the ground to reduce Gawns impact. If we can reduce Max's impact we can win. A big call I know. But he is there most dangerous player, especially later in games

Yep, Natanui nearly cost us top 4 last night so we will need to counter Gawn like we did Grundy the week before, shark as many hitouts as possible otherwise he will hurt us badly. Our defensive & offensive tackle pressure eventually saved the day against the Eagles so that’s what we will need next week for 4 quarters.

Spargo and Pickett needs to be matched up better this time. I'd bring Madden in personally but lets see if coaching group do a horses for courses. This is our free hit so we could try a different look. Drop Birchall and Lester please.

Gardiner Andrews Starcevich
Rich Adams Coleman

With Madden coming off bench.

Fullarton simply can't play next week. We're at 3-4 goal disadvantage with him in the squad. I know he's decent with the ball and he tries hard, but Gawn will literally dominate him, and asking Oscar to do 100% of the ruck would be too much. I don't think Archie is a good player, but he's a much better ruckman than Fullarton and I would feel safer with him against Gawn than I would with Fullarton

Andrews - Brown
Adams - MacDonald
Starce - Pickett

Gardiner/Lester - Fritsch/Jackson/Petracca

Rich and Kiddy (or likely Birchall) to play on the others

I’d prefer Payne over Lester but this week we can probably get away with playing Lester

Fullarton simply can't play next week. We're at 3-4 goal disadvantage with him in the squad. I know he's decent with the ball and he tries hard, but Gawn will literally dominate him, and asking Oscar to do 100% of the ruck would be too much. I don't think Archie is a good player, but he's a much better ruckman than Fullarton and I would feel safer with him against Gawn than I would with Fullarton

Bit fumbly last night but he has built good connection with midfield over last few weeks. Doubt we'll bring Archie back in, that ship has sailed.

Yeah, he had a bad game but has had weeks of positive performances and won't be dropped.

We'll keep it simple and bring Robbo in for Prior and Andrew's in for one of Kiddy, Lester or Birchall.

I think it'll come down to the type of backline we want against the Demon's more than form based outs.

Yeah, he had a bad game but has had weeks of positive performances and won't be dropped.

We'll keep it simple and bring Robbo in for Prior and Andrew's in for one of Kiddy, Lester or Birchall.

I think it'll come down to the type of backline we want against the Demon's more than form based outs.

Fast. We need a fast backline.

I think we need a backline who can defend really well above all else. If Birchall was in form I'd be dropping Kiddy on a heartbeat and keeping Lester in. With Birch out of form, it's a much harder choice.

I don't think we can win a flag with Birchall and Lester in the backline.

Plus Gardiner is still very proppy when he has to stretch.

We need to fix this issue if we can . We've had all year to do it so it's probably unlikely we'll start now . Unfortunately.

Has Matho been tried in the backline? He'd certainly have a red hot go I would think

Got shown up in the backline for speed in the second half against them last time.

Admittedly the pressure up field that night wasn’t great, however if they do get a free ride out of clearances again we at least need to give ourselves a chance and hope that we don’t go in with the same slow backline we had that night.

Hopefully one of Lester/Birchall goes. My preference is Birchall but Fages seems to love him for some reason.

I personally would take both out and bring Payne/Madden in to give us some more speed, but that won’t happen.

What Id like:
Out - Lester, Birchall, Prior
In - Harris, Madden/Payne, Robbo.

What is likely:
Out: Lester, Prior
In: Harris, Robbo

But as the old saying goes “don’t get beaten by what you know”. Midfield has to get on top but if not at least give us a chance with some speed in the backline pleaseeeee.

Took a while to get to sleep last night but woke up with a spring in the step, great atmosphere last night and a Qualifying Final to look forward to, ain't life grand.. had this song stuck in my head this morning >

Birchall missed one game this year and that was a late out
He will play and has had a solid year
His experience in finals will be a benefit

I would like to see Kiddy play assuming his injury suffered very late in the game was minor
Having finished 4th and get a second chance we could see how he goes in a final.
Robbo had a calf and with his age i hope it is not going to hang around because of his age
If Robbo is okay he comes in along with Andrews
Adams played well and should hold his spot
Fagan likes to keep changes to a minimum and reward a winning team
Going to be hard on selectors
Players at risk being: Prior, Lester, Ah Chee, Coleman & Gardiner (just does not look right YET).