Strategy Changes and pre-game vs Gold Coast.

Don’t see it that way. Yes he’s not getting heaps of the ball, but he had 6 contested possessions and halved a number of contests.

I saw him running really hard to cover options defensively, which typically is unrewarded work externally.

He’s the sort of player who will slowly improve and play his best footy after he’s 25/26, and just needs games. He’s played 57 so far, his best yet to come.
Other than off the ball running what do you like about him? I'd say below average contested game, below average in the air, below average disposal. Has a long kick though.

When sharp is within 15m of the ball he doesn't know how to move to get it and he's not damaging enough where players look for him. Stoppages on his wing he is all by himself but has no idea how to make himself useful. He looks like a runner playing footballer. You need at least one more string to your bow than just running.

Had a good crumb in ,f50 in the first qtr. A natural footballer would have had a quick snap.

We are trying to win a flag we need to improve everywhere we can. If we were an offensive juggernaut maybe having sharp just running around manning up outlets would be ok.

Whan and Young?
I don't see any possible way for Whan to get a gig in this midfield any time soon so probably right.

Young is interesting. Its going to be a difficult choice for how best to use him in relation to the rest of the team moving forward.

I don't see any possible way for Whan to get a gig in this midfield any time soon so probably right.

Young is interesting. Its going to be a difficult choice for how best to use him in relation to the rest of the team moving forward.

It’s a great problem to have.
Wagner rotating as a defensive/offensive midfielder has been great.

If anything when Young is back he could take Johnson’s spot. I’m keeping Erasmus.

Drizz on to the wing.
Cooper on half back. Walker still to come back in.

I think Aish is done at AFL level so I feel like Coops injury highlights how much we need to draft another genuine HBF this offseason because we can not go back to that land of the Giants backline unless no other option.
Options for this year

Chappy back to being a distributor. Need a defender in to cover his previous role. Looked great last night as I think that was an in game move. Draper could cover Chappy once his confidence returns.

Walters played at half back. Amazing kick, very intelligent footy brain so could make the switch easy enough. His body the main problem.

Outside suggestions
Retool Sturt to play half back. Might be too much to change roles like that mid year.

Move Freddie to half back when Sturt comes in. A bit the same as above.

Options for this year

Chappy back to being a distributor. Need a defender in to cover his previous role. Looked great last night as I think that was an in game move. Draper could cover Chappy once his confidence returns.

Walters played at half back. Amazing kick, very intelligent footy brain so could make the switch easy enough. His body the main problem.

Outside suggestions
Retool Sturt to play half back. Might be too much to change roles like that mid year.

Walters I don't think can defend well enough at his age. I would prefer JOM if going down that way though I can see it. I think Chapman as the distributor was tried when Draper was playing, it just doesn't work with everyone else in that backline.

I would be very against Sturt and Freddy going there as they are just not defenders IMO and fill an important slot up forward.

The simplest option is probably moving Wags back there and finding someone in his role. We'll get through this year and hopefully Whan as mentioned is good to add immediate depth next year

Simpson > Banfield (he looked so assured in the backline, very surprising but next man in mentality, he deserves to retain)
Pearce > Draper, back the kid in we know what he can do.
Driz to sub, gives him limited minutes and he is the most impactful and gives us the best flexibility.

If a back goes down we can shift Wagner back, if its a mid he slots straight in wing or inside, if its a forward Bolton plays more forward time.

Glad we had a wet weather game to get us ready to the sticky conditions next week.

TBH, I have spent the better part of 5 hours watching and screenshotting the AP incident. Even watched it at 33% speed using VLC. And I cant see where he actually hit the head. Will obviously get 3 weeks by the MRO, but I still cant see it :(
Look to me like the arm was what impacted and was chest high.

If Pearce misses, Davies deserves a go. He has been the better player at Peel

Being the youngest or second youngest team every week is great early in a rebuild but we've been rebuilding for almost a decade. It'll end up costing JLo his job if he doesn't pick the older guys that aren't superstars but bring a level of maturity.

O'driscoll to build fitness in the WAFL

McDonald in for Pearce.
Aish in for Simpson.

I think Aish is done at AFL level so I feel like Coops injury highlights how much we need to draft another genuine HBF this offseason because we can not go back to that land of the Giants backline unless no other option.

If Simpson needs surgery and his season is done we may look at Sellwood or another HBF in the mid-season draft.

Options for this year

Outside suggestions

Walters is too old to be re-invented at HB. If he was 29 it would be worth a go.

You want natural footballers who read the play at HB. Freddie runs around like a headless chook at times, he'd get exposed at HB IMO. If we're moving a forward to HB Bruce Reid is a better option.

If Simpson needs surgery and his season is done we may look at Sellwood or another HBF in the mid-season draft.
This is unfortunately an option. I say unfortunately because Cooper was developing nicely in the AFL.

It looked like a nasty AC joint and/or broken collarbone. Just broken collarbone would be best outcome and that alone is 7-8weeks. If a nasty AC likely 3 months and doneski.

Strategy Changes and pre-game vs Gold Coast.

Write your reply...