Preview Changes and prematch discussion vs Carlton

I have no idea who we even have to pick from a form and/or fitness perspective.

Is Daw fit enough yet? Is Durdin still alive? Is Hosie a possibility? etc

I'm genuinely perplexed as to what is going on with our selections on a weekly basis and roles being allocated.

Based off a few commentaries on our staffing, adding a line coach may be the biggest selection.

Outside of that, Larkey has LDU have only played a half, I wouldn't even think of selecting them. Walker is also a game away from consideration.

Maj, Murphy and maybe Hosie are the only three I would consider from the non-injured group. Maj as KP back or forward while Murphy in defence or even wing/onball. Hopefully that frees up Bonar for the midfield.

Based off a few commentaries on our staffing, adding a line coach may be the biggest selection.

Outside of that, Larkey has LDU have only played a half, I wouldn't even think of selecting them. Walker is also a game away from consideration.

Maj, Murphy and maybe Hosie are the only three I would consider from the non-injured group. Maj as KP back or forward while Murphy in defence or even wing/onball. Hopefully that frees up Bonar for the midfield.

Yes very strange that murph is talked up and yet they bring in a midfielder who has played a couple of games in that position ahead of him.... give him a go in the middle

By the look of it you probably qualify for a spot at selection committee then.

I understand it must be difficult with so many injuries for sure.

I'm sure there is logic to selections and roles given (both to seniors and juniors) but be stuffed if I can work much of it out just being an observer.

Got a feeling we will win and win well. Larkey, LDU and the bull to come in for JZ, Hayden and either Atley or Jmac. It’s 16 min qtrs an we have no scratch matches. Unless the 3 coming in I have proposed have a high risk of re injury they should play

Hahahahahahahahaha

good one!!!

I like these changes.

Mind you, if our game plan wasn't already at maximum boring level, then surely adding Boycott would achieve that. Perhaps we could give it to Ray Illingworth? That way if we disagree with an umpiring decision, he can just walk all our players off the ground.

Drop Curtis Taylor and bring in Chris Tavare. No need for excitement!

Got a feeling we will win and win well. Larkey, LDU and the bull to come in for JZ, Hayden and either Atley or Jmac. It’s 16 min qtrs an we have no scratch matches. Unless the 3 coming in I have proposed have a high risk of re injury they should play
I love the optimism but have you been drinking! PS I hope we win too.

Marstermind when was the last time we lost 6 in a row?

We’re pretty low right now, I just want to contextualise how low this ebb is.

if we lose this game of course

We lost 10 straight through the last 5 of 2016 and first 5 of 2017.

I've been asking myself, it's this the worst North side I've ever seen? I'm in my late 40s so my memory spans back to the early 80. In '84 we just missed the spoon by percentage. We only won 5 games but the relatively good percentage came through staying in games and rarely being thrashed. A different era but we still averaged nearly 100pts a game. In 2017 we had to win the last game to avoid the spoon but lost a lot of close games.

I can't recall a more insipid, disorganised and uncompetitive North side than this one. In the past I always had the feeling we could snag a win here or there, maybe bounce back from poor losses with a random win. I don't get that feeling with this team now. They are the dictionary definition of hopeless.

Spot on.

Pittard - Tarrant - Atley
Macmillan - McKay - Higgins
Polec - Hall - Dumont
Zurhaar - Walker - Taylor
Mahoney - Daw - Hosie

Goldstein - LDU - Simpkin

Bonar - Scott - Williams - mcDonald

OUT: Wood Ziebell Brown Hayden
IN: LDU Daw Hosie Zurhaar

Brown's confidence is shot. Any other time, I'd drop him to the VFL. However there isn't a VFL, so I think we just need to back him in again. Hopefully if we get some decent delivery, he can snag a couple and get his confidence up.

I love the optimism but have you been drinking! PS I hope we win too.
Mate no way we are this bad. All this talk of blokes that can’t kick, poor skills, terrible 2 way runners all that was fine in Round 2 and the back end of last years. They are as low on confidence as you will ever see. I reckon they will come good Saturday in the sun. North by 25 points

I often wonder where the team that played like we did against GWS and St Kilda has gone (injuries are a given). I had real hope that we finally had a good blend of youth, experience and heart. If we even see a glimpse of this, we will be in with a chance this week. If not, they will flog us which will be sad as I don't think we are as bad as we are playing either.

We lack attacking skilled HB's, we lack attacking skilled mids. Every other side has options, we don't really, at least not exposed. In the end, without them the fact we have other strengths will only paper over the cracks of the eventual goal of a premiership.

In the first quarter against Richmond, we managed ONE inside 50. Let that sink in. So, clearly, our issues reside in the midfield and halfback areas. The fact that our best ball user got the ball 35 times and we still only managed 28 inside 50’s is also notable. In a normal length game that would easily equate to a 42+ disposal game! Something is seriously out of kilter...

IN: LDU, Daw, Zurhaar
OUT: Kyron, Ziebell, Wood

My gut tells me we will lose Jy through injury. Higgins needs to be in the guts right now.

I've been asking myself, it's this the worst North side I've ever seen? I'm in my late 40s so my memory spans back to the early 80. In '84 we just missed the spoon by percentage. We only won 5 games but the relatively good percentage came through staying in games and rarely being thrashed. A different era but we still averaged nearly 100pts a game. In 2017 we had to win the last game to avoid the spoon but lost a lot of close games.

It's hard to recall, the worst north teams I can recall this millenium occurred during patches of 2009, 2011 and this year.

As shite as we were a couple of weeks ago, wide running dogs teams have given us a torrid time for the better part of 15 years.

Yeah '84 stunk. Coming off the horror '83 finals series. Some (forced from memory) retirements, Abernethy left for Collingwood. We still had some legendary names in the team. Greig, Schimmlebusch, Glendinning, Jim and Phil.....but we turned it around with youth. Larkin, German, Smith, Crocker etc.

It's hard to recall, the worst north teams I can recall this millenium occurred during patches of 2009, 2011 and this year.

As sh*te as we were a couple of weeks ago, wide running dogs teams have given us a torrid time for the better part of 15 years.

The 2006 team and the way it played was the worst I can recall before this year. 2009 not too far behind but they had that win against the Saints

2011 had some horrific displays but we still ended up with 10 wins.

I don't think this team with the way they play would get near the 2011 version. Would battle against the 2006 and 2009 teams too.