- Feb 16, 2020
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
2006 was the worst I've seen followed by 2009. The start and ends of 2001 were awful too.
But this year could top them all

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
I am still not convinced Higgins is 100% fit, just like Cunners and Jack, we are tempting fate by continuing to select him, might be time to use the "Managed" term for once.
I get that you're annoyed, but that "bereft" comment is pure garbage.
What reasons can you think of that make you want to watch this team?
Simpkin? Has been exceptional but now injured.
Goldy? An absolute colossus, but not exactly must see viewing.
Skills? Next.
Hardness? They’re all missing.
Scoring? Ummm.
Gamestyle?
The only one I can think of is Curtis Taylor but he gets the footy about 10 times a game.
The 2006 team and the way it played was the worst I can recall before this year. 2009 not too far behind but they had that win against the Saints
2011 had some horrific displays but we still ended up with 10 wins.
I don't think this team with the way they play would get near the 2011 version. Would battle against the 2006 and 2009 teams too.
Thus proving it is not "bereft of any semblance of a redeeming feature".
Thanks for clarifying.
I wouldn’t class Curtis Taylor’s small cameos as a redeeming feature.
Mate no way we are this bad. All this talk of blokes that can’t kick, poor skills, terrible 2 way runners all that was fine in Round 2 and the back end of last years. They are as low on confidence as you will ever see. I reckon they will come good Saturday in the sun. North by 25 points
Whatever.
At the moment we're at a low, but it's not 100% bad and nothing you say will convince me that it is.
The Crocker led "Last month" 2009 team would do the current side by 5 goals.
The 2006 team would gut this mob like a pig. Don't forget that side had a typical North mid season pointless resurgence.
Big Sav and Thompson would be getting silver service from Wells and Harvey who we'd have no answer for. Grant would be getting off the leash from MacAtley every couple of minutes. Brady would be holding Higgins' balls in a vice.
Arch would mark everything we'd sky into our forward line while Spud would charge through our half-forwards and Jess and JWS would rebound at every opportunity.
Our wins would be Goldie getting the points over his direct opponent, Simpkin getting a bit of it and Taylor kicking a couple of goals against the run of play. Which as we've seen this year doesn't add up to much when 17 other blokes (Tarrant and Walker would do everything right but refer "silver service") are complete pus.
Conclusion: we suck
Who takes Brad Moran?
Whatever.
At the moment we're at a low, but it's not 100% bad and nothing you say will convince me that it is.
individual cameos are great for a look into the future.
but the team hasn't looked competitive in the last 5 games. the ball movement is a joke and teams stroll it out of our forward line and and just bombard our d50 until the dam wall bursts. as a team and club it's pathetic, there are no excuses for the effort they've dished up.
when clubs perform like this, the individual cameo's don't matter because the bottom line is those players get poached and jump the sinking ship. clubs end up paying overs to keep some kind of star for marketing and provide hope.
north is bereft of any redeeming feature.Not sure why you quoted me - I didn't make and wasn't reacting to a comment about an individual cameo.
north is bereft of any redeeming feature.
cool explanationThat statement is literally incorrect.
north is bereft of any redeeming feature.
watching us now reminds me of being in carlton and st kilda's position in the past decade. we're truly hopeless, opposition team fans can switch off knowing they're getting the 4 points, even if they miss over half their shots at goal like 4 of the last 5 teams we played did.
you know the feeling you get when we're terrible in front of goal and you think "omg, we need to capitalise this momentum", well opposition teams don't even think that when playing us because "meh, north won't even get it further than the wing without turning it over anyway".
how sad it is that our best chance of getting it up the ground is by getting it out of bounds on the d50, wing and f50 and scramble the ball forward. i cringe at the thought of getting a non-advantage free kick on the wing or half forward, opposition teams just line up to waltz it back up the ground. our team has no confidence and we're not the most skillful, but you don't need skills to not allow a team to just stroll from full back to their f50.
)2013 wasn't much fun either. Heartbreaking loss after heartbreaking loss. Particularly games we were expected to win.2006 was the worst I've seen followed by 2009. The start and ends of 2001 were awful too.
did you read my post?Our blue & white stripes
Tarryn Thomas
Nick Larkey
Cameron Zurhaar
Robbie Tarrant
Ben Cunnington
Todd Goldstein
LDU
Majak
Curtis Taylor
Will Walker
Kyron Hayden
Jy Simpkin
The Huddle
Flynn Perez (name alone)
Higgins
I know you’re frustrated like all of us. But, come on...
did you read my post?
it doesn't mean much when they jump the sinking ship
2013 wasn't much fun either. Heartbreaking loss after heartbreaking loss. Particularly games we were expected to win.