Changes for Brisbane Match

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

What has difference a week can make, hey? Our side is in a bit of a mess right now. From having a near full list at the start of the season, we are depleted quite badly.

I am adamant that Perrie should stay on the team, unlike a few other guys here. Sure, he dropped a few too many sitters, but we don't have a choice to let him go this week. We've just gotta hope he gets his confidence up, like during the Wizard Cup, and takes marks when we need it and kick all the easy goals. Sounds like a lot to hope for, but we've got to have hope, I suppose.

I remember looking forward to this match in great anticipation at the start of the season, but I'm not so enthusiastic anymore with our depleted side.

We've still got to have belief we can make a match out of it. If its anything, Brisbane isn't unbeatable, and lets hope that like Macca said in his column today, that the boys will work harder in training and be 100% committed during next match.

Changes

At this early stage I think Mattner & Gallagher should return to the SANFL. Doughty must come in along with either Begley or Shirley if we want another tagging option.

Originally posted by crowsfan
I am adamant that Perrie should stay on the team, unlike a few other guys here. Sure, he dropped a few too many sitters, but we don't have a choice to let him go this week. We've just gotta hope he gets his confidence up, like during the Wizard Cup, and takes marks when we need it and kick all the easy goals. Sounds like a lot to hope for, but we've got to have hope, I suppose.

Perrie is down on confidence and yes he has dropped a few sitters but he still managed to take 6 marks for the match. He really has to have extensive goal kicking practice this week and I mean EXTENSIVE. I definetly think Doughty should come in as should Belgey to add a bit more depth to the midfield as you can bet your bottom dollar that Roo will play majority of the game in the forward line. I am just hopeing and praying that Stevo makes a marvelous recovery and takes his place against Brisbane, then I would give us half a chance.:(

Out: Carey, Mattner/Gallagher??

In: Begley, Doughty

Roo to play the full game at CHF. Perrie at FF.

I think given the options open to us, we must go for leg sspeed and just try and outrun Brisbane. Hence I'd be inclined to keep Gags in.

Sydney made Brisbane look VERY slow...

Originally posted by noddy
Drastic times call for drastic measures, :(

Out: Carey, Massie, Gallagher, Mattner, Perrie. Crowell

In: Noddy, Kane McGoodwin, Stiffy, Macca23, Kb Crowgirl. Topjars

Forwards: Burns, Noddy (hon captain) Bode

Half Forwards: Edwards, KB Crowgirl, Kane McGoodwin

Centres: John(ock, Ricciuto, Stenglein

Half Backs: Stiffy, Mcgregor, Torney

Backs: Bickley, Bassett, Hart

Rucks: Clarke, Mcleod, Goodwin

Interchange: Biglands, Ladhams, Macca23, Topjars

You will notice i have put the 2 old fellas on the bench to sit along side Biglands & Ladhams & have opted for KB Crowgirl to hold chf for the man of her dreams,

What about me noddy? I've had a long term rib injury but that seems to be on the mend!

193cm and 98kg!! OK 78kg, but I'm really 193cm!

Plus I'm closer to Brisbane too!

Put me down as an emergency at least please!!

BTW, you could drop Roo and put in DaveW, he already has his jumper.

Originally posted by napsyd
You expect me to perform to the level Ricciuto has in the last two rounds? :eek: No reason why we couldn't have both of us - just to add to the confusion already by having Johncock & Stiffy_18 and McLeod & macca23. ;)

Originally posted by DaveW
No reason why we couldn't have both of us - just to add to the confusion already by having Johncock & Stiffy_18 and McLeod & macca23. ;)

Yeah, we could act as decoys so we get tagged and they let Roo, McLeod, Goodwin and Johncock run wild:D ;)

What about me noddy? I've had a long term rib injury but that seems to be on the mend!

193cm and 98kg!! OK 78kg, but I'm really 193cm!

Plus I'm closer to Brisbane too!

Put me down as an emergency at least please!!

Sorry guys but i forgot to mention that Jars has the coaching role & you know what his thoughts are on expatriates living interstate who have also suffered long term injuries playing in a crunch game are like,

Drastic times call for drastic measures,

ORANGE BOYS Napsyd & DaveW, (sorry guys best i could do)

Sorry guys but i forgot to mention that Jars has the coaching role & you know what his thoughts are on expatriates living interstate who have also suffered long term injuries playing in a crunch game are like,

Drastic times call for drastic measures,

ORANGE BOYS Napsyd & DaveW, (sorry guys best i could do)

You don't get it do you?

I'm a better kick than Perrie. I've more heart than the fearless Marsh and Schell. Hell I'm nearly as useful as that legend of the game, David Gallagher!!

I think the selection committee should really look at what they're missing out on here.

No?

:(

I tell you what. I'll be the umpire!! :D

You don't get it do you?

I'm a better kick than Perrie. I've more heart than the fearless Marsh and Schell. Hell I'm nearly as useful as that legend of the game, David Gallagher!!

I think the selection committee should really look at what they're missing out on here.

No?

:(

I tell you what. I'll be the umpire!! :D

After much deliberation & soul searching,

Interchange: Biglands, Ladhams, Macca23, Topjars, Napsyd, DaveW & if we can manage it the bloody kitchen sink, :D

After much deliberation & soul searching,

Interchange: Biglands, Ladhams, Macca23, Topjars, Napsyd, DaveW & if we can manage it the bloody kitchen sink, :D

To tell you the truth, I'd be more useful to the Crows if I could get selected in Brisbane's starting 22.

Originally posted by Danni (on the Brisbane Board)
The worrying aspect of playing under-par senior players is the underlying notion of "a 33% Voss/Lynch/whoever, is still better than a 100% morrison/copeland/whoever"

Watching that game today - Aker, Voss, Lynch, C Scott, McDonald, Pike , for starters - all look like they are either injured in some way or unfit.

Power, B Scott, Notting, Hart, Charman, Michael, Johnson look to differing degrees that they are off their game.

There were times where it was like a slow motion nightmare. Everyone for the majority of the time seemed a beat or 2 behind the play.

Leppitsch was either brilliant/flukey or ****-poor. Didn't seem to have a middle ground. Not sure where White's head was today. And the occassion seemed to much for Ashcroft.

Pace. Where was it? Physical presence, pressure, man on man tests of strength, all seemed to be lacking.

I don't believe there is ever a 'due for a loss' or a 'loss you have to have', all I know is we haven't been out of 2nd or 3rd gear for a number of weeks now, and today when we needed to shift it up a notch or two we were found wanting.

Oh well, game over, Congrats to the Swans, they have come out fighting in the last couple of weeks and it was always going to be a big ask for us to win today based on our recent performances.

At this moment, the Crows are looking like they could thump us next weekend, even with Carey out from his surgery.
Sounds like Brisbane are struggling a bit too with injuries/form, though surely this is an over-reaction after their only loss of the season. I just hope they all don't rediscover their form this WE or we could see a repeat of last year's final! :eek:

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Sounds like Brisbane are struggling a bit too with injuries/form, though surely this is an over-reaction after their only loss of the season. I just hope they all don't rediscover their form this WE or we could see a repeat of last year's final! :eek:

Think Danni is jumping at straws Kane & is obviously upset at losing to the Swans, to be honest the Lions losing on sunday is not good news for us & i expect Leigh Matthews to really fire up his players, this game will be a good test for some of our young hopefuls & will either make them or put them back in the pack,
( in young hopefuls i refer to Gallagher, Mattner, & i expect Henschell & Doughty)

Kane, there is a Lions supporter on the main board who claims NEVER to have seen them play that badly!

I'd suggest that that one is probably a "Johnny Come Lately", wouldn't you think!! :rolleyes: Can see the wheels falling of the bandwagon as we speak.

I doubt Danni has any reason to be worried. The main thing I got out of the Swans game is the fab 4 are off the boil so if Macca had a blinder and Roo keeps up his good form and the rest play at 100% then we may have some chance.

I also felt they looked very slow for whatever reason so IMHO we would be best served to replace Carey with an additional midfielder, use a healthy bench rotation and try and run the buggers off their feet.

Think Danni is jumping at straws Kane & is obviously upset at losing to the Swans, to be honest the Lions losing on sunday is not good news for us & i expect Leigh Matthews to really fire up his players, this game will be a good test for some of our young hopefuls & will either make them or put them back in the pack,
( in young hopefuls i refer to Gallagher, Mattner, & i expect Henschell & Doughty)

I agree noddy. As I said earlier I would rather play Brisbane after a win but I guess we will have to take them on after a loss. Voss was out of touch because he was suffering from head cold all week. I doubt you will have those effects this time around and I am sure he will come out firing and he will lift his side up. The problem with Brisbane against Sydney was that Lions were not mentally prepared. To good sides like Brisbane these things don't happen 2 weeks in a row.

I expect Brisbane at their best on saturday and I am sure Matthews rates Adelaide and will pump up his players to be brutal. I just hope its not a blow out.:(

My source from West Lakes tells me that Marsh has rolled his ankle and is having an extensive treatment done on it in a hope that he will be fit for Brisbane game. He is responding well to treatment and if he recovers he looks a certainty to come in and take Carey's place. Apparently the club is confident that he will recover in time. Taking this into account here is how I would line them up:

_F: _ 40. Chris Ladhams _ 22. Ian Perrie _ 5. Ronnie Burns
HF: _ 23. Andrew McLeod _ 35. Rhett Biglands _ 9. Tyson Edwards
C: _ 20. Tyson Stenglein _ 26. Mark Bickley _ 36. Simon Goodwin
HB: _ 15. Jason Torney _ 16. Ken McGregor _ 18. Graham Johncock
B: _ 34. Ben Hart _ 8. Nathan Basett _ 1. Andrew Crowell
1R: _ 4. Matthew Clarke _ 32. Mark Ricciuto _ 10. Matthew Bode

Int: _ 3. Kris Massie _ 11. Michael Doughty _ 28. James Begley _ 31. Ben Marsh:eek:

There is a way I can see us winning.:D .
- We MUST win the midfield battle and I think we can do it if everyone gives 100% on the night.
- Lately we have been going wide to the wings and then bringing the ball into our forward lines wide which doesn't help with our conversion. We MUST be more direct and use the corridor more.
- Our key forwards MUST provide contest and take an occasional mark. Our crumbers must be at their feet on EVERY occasion.
- We MUST be more accountable than we were against Collingwood and every player MUST be VERY CLOSE to their opponents.
- Our defenders must come ready to play. Bassett wil Probably take on Lynch and I would back Crowell against Bradshaw. Hart can pick up Brennan or White depending who is there at the time. McGregor should be played as a loose defender that ill need to mop up everything that comes down. A bit like he did against Kangaroos.

If all this happens then we win by 1 point.;) :) :D

If its anything, the local rag reported that Jonathan Brown won't be playing this match, so if that's true, it would only help our cause, you'd think.

Anyone heard anything about Brown?

Originally posted by crowsfan
If its anything, the local rag reported that Jonathan Brown won't be playing this match, so if that's true, it would only help our cause, you'd think.

Anyone heard anything about Brown?

According to Brisbane's web site Brown will miss this week and Morrison will be his replacement. If Morrison plays CHF then I wold feel comfortable but if Morrison is moved to defence and Leppitch is moved to CHF then we might be in strife.:(

Well I have been thinking about the structure & reckon Perrie plays better at FF then CHF, which means we need a make-shift CHF. I have gone for Bassett as he will provide a contest like Stevo would. With McGregor's height/strength needed at FB on Lynch, I have slotted Crowell to CHB. Hopefully will be OK with wise heads around him, including Goody who I reckon should return to the backline to find some form (no point having him in the forward line kicking points). Gone for pace up forward on the flanks, as Brissie are apparantly looking a little slow at the moment with injuries/form, so we should look at exploiting this. Massie deserves to start a game, & Begley, Dogga & Shirley (instead of Mattner as a 2nd tagger if required) would be my ins for the week.

F: McLeod, Perrie, Burns
HF: Ladhams, Bassett, Edwards
C: Stiffy, Stenglein, Doughty
HB: Torney, Crowell, Goodwin
B: Hart, McGregor, Massie
R: Biglands, Ricciuto, Bickley
I: Clarke, Begley, Bode, Shirley

F: McLeod, Perrie, Burns
HF: Ladhams, Bassett, Edwards
C: Stiffy, Stenglein, Doughty
HB: Torney, Crowell, Goodwin
B: Hart, McGregor, Massie
R: Biglands, Ricciuto, Bickley
I: Clarke, Begley, Bode, Shirley

Geez that is a short team Kane, but there's no-one else that deserves a game at the moment.

Shirley could be a real chance to play this weeks the second tagger, because both he and Stinga are good defenders as well as run with players and that releases another premier on-baller to play up forward.

Make no mistake. For us to win it the big guns all have to fire - Roo, Macca, Goody, Edwards, Bodey. Can't just leave it to the Roo

What do you think of the idea of doing a Port Adelaide and playing a small two man full forward line with the other 4 forwards playing up around the centre line giving the two players the 50 metre arc to themselves??

Roo and Macca would be the 2 to do it with, and Brisbane wouldn't dare leave a tall on them because of the mismatch.

Man on man with space to move they would kick plenty IMO.

Time to think laterally.

What do you think??

Originally posted by macca23
What do you think of the idea of doing a Port Adelaide and playing a small two man full forward line with the other 4 forwards playing up around the centre line giving the two players the 50 metre arc to themselves??

Roo and Macca would be the 2 to do it with, and Brisbane wouldn't dare leave a tall on them because of the mismatch.

Man on man with space to move they would kick plenty IMO.

Time to think laterally.

What do you think??

It not a bad idea but you are robbing our 2 best midfielders. I would most certainly play those 2 forward at some stage. Maybe rotate the likes of Roo, McLeod, Edwards, Ladham and Goodwin through the forward line and play Ronnie as the 2nd small leading forward because he is in rare goal kicking form. aybe play then 15 meters in fron of square and leve 50 meter arc wide open for them to run around.

Not a bad strategy macca23.;) :)

Kane, given Ayres' defensive comments re Mattner reported by Macca23, I'd say he will be playing again this week whether we like it or not.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
It not a bad idea but you are robbing our 2 best midfielders. I would most certainly play those 2 forward at some stage. Maybe rotate the likes of Roo, McLeod, Edwards, Ladham and Goodwin through the forward line and play Ronnie as the 2nd small leading forward because he is in rare goal kicking form. aybe play then 15 meters in fron of square and leve 50 meter arc wide open for them to run around.

Not a bad strategy macca23.;) :)
On our midfielders:
Roo - Our best in recent weeks, so can we afford to take him out of the guts (even though he is the best forward out of them).
Macca - Disappointing in recent weeks. We need him to return to his early season form & fire-up this week. Do we play him off a HB flank to ensure he finds plenty of the ball?
Goody - Not 100% fit IMO. Good overhead, so could use as part of the Macca23 strategy, but his kicking for goal has been atrocious. Would only give him some of the game in the midfield. Alternatively, could return him or Macca to a half back flank. Perhaps rotate both through the midfield off HB.
Edwards - A better midfield option that Macca or Goody at this stage & could be one of players to rotate from the FF line using Macca23's strategy.
Ladhams - Apart from the Power game is a very reliable shot on goal. We need him kick a bag this week. Don't think he is suited playing out of the square as more a crumbing than a marking forward.
Bodey - Had a quiet one last week, so we badly need him hitting those packs hard & giving us plenty of run.
Bicks - Again had a quietish one last week, but need him mainly in the midfield as that is where he has played some good footy this year.
Stiffy - Is it time we let him loose in the midfield? Would be who I would lean towards playing out of the square with Burns. Then rotate with Roo & Edwards a bit.