Changes for Brisbane

Gysberts, Wonaeamirri, Macdonald, Warnock, Spencer, McDonald, Newton, Bate, Blease all want a game.

Possible outs: Garland (injury)

Chopping Block: Maric, Jetta, Jones

Gysberts, Wonaeamirri, Macdonald, Warnock, Spencer, McDonald, Newton, Bate, Blease all want a game.

Possible outs: Garland (injury)

Chopping Block: Maric, Jetta, Jones

I don't know, Garland was walking round at the end. Thought Maric just about did enough with his limited possibilities.

But Jetta and Jones - not looking good for them, especially with the reports from Casey re Gysberts and Wonna, even Evans.

Don't forget that in theory we have Morton available as well.

IN: Malthouse

OUT: Bailey

Oh sorry, getting ahead of myself.....

Anyway, our midfield has huge issues and I'd say Gysberts would have to be a near-certain inclusion as he's a good clearance player.

Big statements must be made at selection this week I think....

Jetta and Maric are as gawn as Max.

Jones needs a kick up the arse, Rivers was better today.

Just the two changes for me.

In: Gizz and Bate

Out: Jetta and Maric.

Bennell to be our perma foward pocket.

We desperatley need a lead up half forward out there, Jurrah and Watts need to be played deeper.

Dean Bailey will ruin Addam Maric's career, such a smart footballer just needs more of an opportunity, he had too good of a pre season to get dropped, and i really dont want Bate in the side. Melbourne should win the next game and after today the forwards should get a chance to prove themselves after very limited opportunities. The forwards weren't the problem today.

Maric got subbed into the second half where he got **** all chances to do anything. I cant take much out of his performance in this game.

Out:
Jones - might have think he has the best arms in the league, but he has some of the worst feet ive seen and far too lazy when his player is running off him. Needs to spend some time in the magoo's and take of his clown shoes.

Some big statements should be made in regards to what was shown after half time.

Can't drop anyone from our backline as I feel they did ok considering it came into there area 75 times!

Jones is in real trouble. 2 games and both were poor. Jetta should stay at Casey for the rest of the year before being moved on. Rest of the group are on thin ice.

IN
Gysberts - deserves his chance after 2 great games at Casey.
Wona - we need his pressure desperately. He just seems to lift others around him, and supposedly was BOG for Casey on Saturday.

OUT
Jetta - no explanation, just an ordinary footballer.
Jones - Bailey needs to make a statement this week, and dropping Jones has to be it.

If Morton is fit, give him a game at Casey and hopefully he can build up some fitness, fast. After a performance like today, I'd surprised I can only find 2 changes, but the players who played today should be forced to play next week and make up for weak effort they dished up today.

Gysberts for Jetta - Nev played mainly in the middle, lets switch him with Gysberts. I still think Nev does and has done more right than wrong but right now Gysberts deserves a run. Jetta needs more fitness (although Gysberts probably does too).

Macdonald for Jones - So Joel isn't much of a special player but you know what you will get from him. I'd like him in to bolster our defenders and also to give Tapscott and Grimes a run in the middle. Both are winning the footy. Tapscott is kicking beautifully. Grimes not so much. Why not free them up to go forward or on the wing.

If Garland isn't fit then Macdonald is in for him, and Jones gets switched for Wona.

Overall I was so disappointed with how out on our feet we looked. Frawley will be fitter for the run. Same with Petterd. Others just need to lift their work rate.

I'd prefer Malthouse as a coach more. He's great with kids and is more up to date with modern football. Roos also doesn't seem very interested in further coaching.

IMO the key to Malthouse's success is club resources. I don't think MFC is yet at that point where a coach like him would touch us nor be successfull (all subjective on my part of course). You're right about Roos' interest in future coaching though. A year our to replenish and just take the game in might change things of course. Carlton will be in the hunt for both of those guys if they underperform this year I reckon.

Can't drop anyone from our backline as I feel they did ok considering it came into there area 75 times!

Jones is in real trouble. 2 games and both were poor. Jetta should stay at Casey for the rest of the year before being moved on. Rest of the group are on thin ice.

IN
Gysberts - deserves his chance after 2 great games at Casey.
Wona - we need his pressure desperately. He just seems to lift others around him, and supposedly was BOG for Casey on Saturday.

OUT
Jones - Bailey needs to make a statement this week, and dropping Jones has to be it.
I agree with the 2 ins but unfortunately due to our lack of midfield depth we will keep Jones in the side but once McKenzie and Scully come in he is out the door.

Jetta and Maric need to be dropped, Garland didn't look good so MacDonald will probably come in but I would love to see us give McDonald go.

What are people's thoughts on the sub?

Lewis made a huge impact today as he enhanced Hawthorn's midfield. I never had the feeling Maric would make anywhere near the same impact prior to coming on - in fact the game was gone anyway.

I think our sub in future has to be a player who can do what Lewis did today. I know it is easier said than done when you have injuries but I think our sub has to give us more of a kick in the guts and help out the spent mids. As ordinary as Jetta was today is he an option for sub next week?

What are people's thoughts on the sub?

Lewis made a huge impact today as he enhanced Hawthorn's midfield. I never had the feeling Maric would make anywhere near the same impact prior to coming on - in fact the game was gone anyway.

I think our sub in future has to be a player who can do what Lewis did today.
I agree, Gysberts would of been perfect.

Jetta should stay at Casey for the rest of the year before being moved on. Rest of the group are on thin ice.

OUT

WTF mate, Jetta has a couple of poor games and you want him delisted! what a ridiculous thing to say.

he was our best performed player over the preseason (better than all our high draft picks), he adds hardness to the midfield that we rarely have and he is 20 years old!!! i bet you waffle on about giving watts a go, i can just imagine the **** that comes out of our mouth.

"give watts a go, hes developing, hes 20".

how about we give Jetta a go as he's only 20 as well!

1 bad game and you want him delisted, i hate coming on here after a loss as couch heroes like YOU are on their high horses calling for heads! makes me sick!

U make me sick mate

Very well said BigSexc, yes jetta was extremely poor today and that missed mark hurt us a lot however calling him to be delisted after 2 poor games is simply ridiculous. He is young, takes the game on and shows hardness, however he certainly does need to work on his endurance and his overhead marking but i think that the more game-time he gets the more he will prove people wrong

Some sort of a statement has to be made after todays showing, yet I don't think Jones will be the one to feel the wrath, with the whole leadership group and all, I feel he will be spared for the week.

I'm a massive mark for nifty Nev, although that dropped mark was unforgivable. He was the prime candidate to be subbed, and I feel it would be good to keep him in the side, it's mistakes like that that shouldn't be tolerated at the club when we need to be striving for excellence. Watts falls under this as well (Tapscotts kick across goal should also be mentioned, but no warning given due to services rendered in the back half today.)

For mine I would make 1 change. This is not player bashing of any sort, but I'm beginning to get the impression that Watts is taking his spot in the team a little too lightly. I want to see him get a bit of urgency in his game. I don't think he will get it unless he truly thinks his spot is under fire. I don't want to drop him this week, Brisbane is a good game to see if can assert himself, but the time is approaching where we can't afford to carry him in the firsts with guys like Bate and Juice performing at Casey.

Out: Jetta,
In: Gysberts

On the verge: Maric, Watts
Emg for next week: Newton, Wona, Jetta

WTF mate, Jetta has a couple of poor games and you want him delisted! what a ridiculous thing to say.

he was our best performed player over the preseason (better than all our high draft picks), he adds hardness to the midfield that we rarely have and he is 20 years old!!! i bet you waffle on about giving watts a go, i can just imagine the **** that comes out of our mouth.

"give watts a go, hes developing, hes 20".

how about we give Jetta a go as he's only 20 as well!

1 bad game and you want him delisted, i hate coming on here after a loss as couch heroes like YOU are on their high horses calling for heads! makes me sick!

U make me sick mate
Delist BigSexc's love child and bring in Newton!

Jones won't come out due a combination of his mature body and his leadership role, but if I could pick anyone to be dropped, it would be him.

He is just such a limited footballer and really hasn't offered much at all over the first two rounds, and as a consequence of that, I would be giving Gysberts an opportunity in his place. Moreover, and as I said in the other thread, I just don't think our midfield can afford to carry both him and Moloney due to their limited skillsets.

Jetta may well come out of the side for next week, but I'm with BS on him. The kid is young and has really improved over pre-season, so I find it ridiculous that we've got some totally writing him off at this point. I mean, he's only been in the system for a short amount of time, it isn't as if he's a Jones who has been given a multitude of chances and hasn't made the most of them.