Preview Changes for Finals Round 1 vs North

Hmm Dick is elevated.
We don't have a small forward in form except Dick.
Dick's mum is flying in.
We are playing at home.

Makes sense he won't be included doesn't it??:rolleyes:

I love how other supporters say dubious umpiring without ever pointing to where the free kicks we got were wrong. As far as the high tackles go, thats what the free kicks were for, learn to tackle better and they would not be paid. His coach and others should take a leaf out of worsfold and not make excuses.

I wish I had a dollar for every time a commentator said "West Coast get a lot of high frees, but that one was definitely there." I think they say that 90% of high frees get.

Another high free kick to shuey or selwood, watch the replay, no doubt about that or something of that sort. They look at the stats of our differential, instead of looking at each free kick. I reckon we got reamed against geelong and brissy but the free kicks were about the same. It was something like 13 goals from free kicks in 2 games at home. They were paying high free kicks when the opponent was lying on top of the ball and then 1 of our players would come in near the head and they would get the kick. It really frustrated me.

I had a look. Third thread down reads "Game Plan vs Duckers". :rolleyes:

I started that thread and was referring to the three players in your team that have ducked to gain a free kick. Darling, shuey and hams. These incidents have contributed to your excessive (by all measurable standards) free kick count. So much so that it is common knowledge within afl circles and you (west coast supporters) seem to be the only ones that argue this fact.

Not to worry, I have a feeling it will be a much closer free kick count on Sunday compared to the average eagles game at subi.

I wish I had a dollar for every time a commentator said "West Coast get a lot of high frees, but that one was definitely there." I think they say that 90% of high frees get.

It shits me. Commentators still don't realise that it's less about ducking and more about lifting the tackle up with the arm.

My issue is predominantly with the AFL for not taking this tactic out of the game. The umpires have to pay it.

I started that thread and was referring to the three players in your team that have ducked to gain a free kick. Darling, shuey and hams. These incidents have contributed to your excessive (by all measurable standards) free kick count. So much so that it is common knowledge within afl circles and you (west coast supporters) seem to be the only ones that argue this fact.

Not to worry, I have a feeling it will be a much closer free kick count on Sunday compared to the average eagles game at subi.

So if we find three players that have played for a free kick in your team, can we call you the Ducks? Please, it's such a genius insult, it feels unfair that we can't use it too?

No, you used the word 'duckers' meaning our team as a whole. That's pretty obvious, you're not playing just those three players and you didn't kick 8 goals in a row in Hobart against only those three players.

What about the ballerina Thompson or the diver Harvey?

I didn't know Darling was a ducker either? never seen him do that - once incident against Carlton is all I can remember and people seem to forget that he was hit high, even though it was his own hand haha.

BACK ON TOPIC

Anyway, don't think Dick should play.

I'd be happy bringing in MacKenzie, take Strijk out and use Schofield/Waters/Mcginnity up forward.

Brown, MacKenzie and Glass to play on Petrie, Hansen and Tarrant.

Duckers vs. Divers!! Should be a cracker. Given it's going to be a sunny 27^ we should play tall - bring lynch in for one last hurrah before replacing with Dick for the G.

Are the umpires going to cheat your way or something, otherwise we will get more free kicks. Why, dominant ruckman, goldstein and co will start holding, poor north tackling techniques, and our corralling technique which generally means we tackle less and therefore give away less free kicks.
Darling with his 18 free kicks for the year is really making a difference compared to the 36 drew petrie got oe even the 23 the perennial actor thomas got or tarrant who even though playing less games has got 1 more free. We do get a lot of head high frees, yes there is a technique, but until they change the rules they should all be paid. Swallow has more free kicks than any of our midfielders, should all those have been paid or was he acting/ducking,no he is hard at it like our mids and is caught high or pushed in the back, of course not everyone of them was correct but the ball winners generally get looked after.

It shits me. Commentators still don't realise that it's less about ducking and more about lifting the tackle up with the arm.

My issue is predominantly with the AFL for not taking this tactic out of the game. The umpires have to pay it.

The issue there mate is it is a legitimate method to avoid a tackle, players are allowed to evade a tackle and if they are caught high it is a free kick. If they want to tackle the arms they have to take the consequences, tackle lower and it is not an issue. I played 200+ ammo games and probably gave away 3 high frees in that time,why I tackled around the waist and took the player to the ground, tactics have changed but that is still an effective tackle.

A tactic designed to create head high contact shouldn't be in the game. You can't have kids going around doing that.

Anyway, I'm sure we're all sick of the discussion.

There's no doubt a couple of players on the team play for frees, and I certainly don't like it. The problem is, every single team in the league have players that do the same or worse, and for whatever reason there has been nothing like the witch hunt we've seen for the handful of Eagles guys. And when said witch hunt begins to influence umpiring to the level that it has, there's a problem.

27 degrees + horse racing track from the test on Saturday night = cool running game North.

I hope that the free kick count is closer. In fact in many ways I hope it's in your favour so that if we win it can't be cheapened by claims that we got our usual armchair ride

Bugger that I hope we're down by 3pts and Shuey elbows himself in the head and gets a free from 10m out to win the game!!

(Not that they'll be within 3 anytime after qtr time)

Bugger that I hope we're down by 3pts and Shuey elbows himself in the head and gets a free from 10m out to win the game!!

(Not that they'll be within 3 anytime after qtr time)

I hope we cheat blatantly and flog the tin rattlers.

So if we find three players that have played for a free kick in your team, can we call you the Ducks? Please, it's such a genius insult, it feels unfair that we can't use it too?

If you can find photographic evidence of players throwing their heads back from no or little contact, or quotes from senior AFL coaches that tactics we employ contribute to abnormally high free kick counts, or statistical evidence that we do infact receive abnormally high free kick numbers then sure, go ahead.

Preview Changes for Finals Round 1 vs North