gocatsgo

Reading
Firstly, great performance tonight.

Reminded me a lot of the Brisbane Lions game in round 22 last year, against a pretty good opponent on their home ground, we did what we had to do, fortunately no apparent injuries either.

What i was thinking, is that we have 4 players to come back in for the finals. Who would you change?

My thoughts are:

IN's: Scarlett, Chapman, Milburn, Wocjinksi

OUT's: Taylor (unless we're playing Hawthorn where i think we need another tall defender),
Varcoe (very unlucky, did his job tonight),
Gamble (even more unlucky, but looked tired tonight),
Rooke (extremely unlucky, but i thought we carried him a bit tonight)

I think we have to go with one of either one of Varcoe or Byrnes and on tonights form, i thionk Byrnes looks the one again. Showed more carry and accurate kicking than i have seen before.

Prismall also deserves his spot, has done enough to be guaranteed a spot i reckon.

thoughts?

I think there's going to be ONE player that's really really unlucky come september. I think we have a "best 23" where that 22nd/23rd spot is really inseperable, and the player that misses out in finals really only misses out because someone has to. It looks about right what you have, apart from Rooke. Don't be fooled by the stat sheet, Rooke has as big of impact as anyone out there with the work he does when his teammate or the opposition has the footy, and luckily the coaching staff know that. He will be the one to do something inspirational in a final when the team needs a lift.

Reminded me a lot of the Brisbane Lions game in round 22 last year, against a pretty good opponent on their home ground, we did what we had to do, fortunately no apparent injuries either.

What i was thinking, is that we have 4 players to come back in for the finals. Who would you change?

My thoughts are:

OUT's: Taylor (unless we're playing Hawthorn where i think we need another tall defender),

I think we have to go with one of either one of Varcoe or Byrnes and on tonights form, i thionk Byrnes looks the one again. Showed more carry and accurate kicking than i have seen before.

Prismall also deserves his spot, has done enough to be guaranteed a spot i reckon.

thoughts?
one of byrnes or prissa will miss
rooke is a def 22 starter

As I pointed out in another thread, if Taylor is dropped then the match committee have truly been drinking Kennets moron juice. He is our only other player then Scarlett who is good at playing on a tall. Granted he got his ass handed to him by Hall, but prior to that he had been good. Especially against the likes of Hawthorn. We need him; not only for now but also for the Finals.

we can only play 22

from tonight, varcoe was his typical self, he did some nice things but just not enough of them
byrnes got heaps, still coughed it up, but was superior to varcoe
prismall did some nice things, will contest with byrnes for a final spot in the 22, and might get the nod to keep him next year as a member of a super midfield
gamble, there to kick goals

given the lack of form of gamble, mooney, johnson the thinking might be to keep byrnes in as he adds goal kicking to the the team

as for taylor, he is learning the trade, and has still got a way to go

We must must must have Rooke in the side

When things get tough he is there with the hard hat and shovel (Actually, probably just his shovel he don't need no helmet)

After the Collingwood loss the senior players told the Coach he had to be in the side

Does Wojcinski have to come back in?
yes, he and rooke are pivital

full stop

varcoe does not do enough, if he did he would not be dropped
gamble is out of touch at the wrong end of the season, and we can't have all the forwards go awol (given mooney & johnson)

we need to fit in 4 players so four need to be dropped, therefore 2 of the following 3 will be dropped
taylor, byrnes, prismall
taylor will def be in for the hawks

bad news for prismall is that the small forwards are not doing enough, ie stokes not contributing to capacity or anywhere near it
and byrnes provides a back up

the issue with disposal affects byrnes and also lonergan, lonergan bombed it long yesterday a couple of times did not look good

with nathan back next year the forward line will function effectively

As much as I want Varcoe in the team, he has to work a lot harder.

Get more possessions and kick more goals.

BYrnes was a good player for us last night.

Wojinksi, Chapman will add another dynamic to our team.

Yes we do need to keep Taylro, we did look short last nught

if everyone is fit, prismall will not play. too many midfielders its the only spot he can play. max rooke provides a real hardness we need come finals and he can play back forward or midfield so rooke (come finals time) will be played before prismall im confident of that

Barring injuries the only changes from last year will be:

-Blake for King.
-Lonergan for NAblett (still needs to face up next week against Roos tho'.)
-Byrnes/Varcoe/Prismall/Gamble/Taylor will fight out the remaining I/C position, with Byrnes now the frontrunner due to his experience.

Rooke is a walk up and will be in the starting 18, Wojcinski certain I/C if fit.

This would be my side for the finals
B: Enright Scarlett Hunt
HB: Milburn Harley Mackie
C: Selwood Bartel Corey
HF:Chapman Mooney S.Johnson
F:Stokes Lonergan Kelly
R:Ottens Ablett Ling
INT:Blake Taylor
Wojcinski Rooke
EMG:Prismall Varcoe Gamble
-Despite people bagging him on this board, Hunt showed last night how good he is by beating Goodes easily. Automatic inclusion in best 22
- I think the only players in my best 22 who havent got spot cemented are Taylor,Wojcinski and Rooke
- Lonners has done enough now to hold off any challenge from Gamble or Hawkins
- Three EMG extremly unlucky to miss but who is there to drop
- If we play a side in the finals with a small forward line eg. Bulldogs then Taylor will more than likely miss and one of Prismall, Varcoe, Byrnes or Gamble will come in.

if everyone is fit, prismall will not play. too many midfielders its the only spot he can play. max rooke provides a real hardness we need come finals and he can play back forward or midfield so rooke (come finals time) will be played before prismall im confident of that

Prismall can kick goals and has played well in the mid/HFF role the last few weeks... would be extremely unlucky to get dropped.

Without injuries to other players Prismall will be unlucky, but in reality none of them gets dropped, just replaced by harder, more experienced players.
Given they (Prismall, Gamble, Varcoe) all want to play AFL I wonder how long we can keep them for. They have all been important parts of the Cats' success to date and their best hope of playing in a GF in the next few years is still with Geelong, so fingers crossed they will stay.

My thoughts are:

thoughts?

I wrote a couple of weeks ago that we are carrying Rooke, his form has been totally off. Last night was a pure reflection what I've been seeing for a while. Whilst he goes hard at it, often with some good tackles, he just isn't doing enough other things to keep him in the side.

I'm unsure on the Varcoe or Byrnes spot. Either shows promise, here Byrnes finally showing what he can do. Good accurate kicking, and chipped in for a few goals. Also looked good in the lead up forward at times.

Varcoe is on the cusp, but goes missing for large parts of the game, then shoots up when the game has eased somewhat. Maybe nerves?

Gamble was totally off last night, however I like what he brings to the team, very strong overhead even though he is very slight.

Agreed on Taylor though, was shown up for lack of fitness and strength last night as our number one defender.

I wrote a couple of weeks ago that we are carrying Rooke, his form has been totally off. Last night was a pure reflection what I've been seeing for a while. Whilst he goes hard at it, often with some good tackles, he just isn't doing enough other things to keep him in the side.

Agree he's certainly not at the top of his form. Possible that he's finding it hard to challenge himself given the lack of real challenge from opposition. Had 22P/7CP and 21/6 the two previous weeks so I think you are being a little harsh.

Irrespective, he'll be in the 22 for sure come finals.

Agree he's certainly not at the top of his form. Possible that he's finding it hard to challenge himself given the lack of real challenge from opposition. Had 22P/7CP and 21/6 the two previous weeks so I think you are being a little harsh.

Absolutely. The coaches love the bloke. They didn't spend ten grand sending him to Germany because they wanted him to have a holiday, they thought he was essential in the finals.

Hmmm nice use of stats, however the two games prior were only 11 and 14 disposals only. In the game with 11 disposals, 10 were rated as errors by Prostats.

For the guy to only have 6 disposals on the weekend, 3 of those errors that is something to worry about in terms of form. I stated he has had a fairly average 5 or so weeks. He's had 3 fairly average to poor weeks and two ok ones against fairly moderate opponents, i.e. Richmond and Melbourne (the stats reflected in your post).

That form isn't good enough IMO.

Hmmm nice use of stats, however the two games prior were only 11 and 14 disposals only. In the game with 11 disposals, 10 were rated as errors by Prostats.

For the guy to only have 6 disposals on the weekend, 3 of those errors that is something to worry about in terms of form. I stated he has had a fairly average 5 or so weeks. He's had 3 fairly average to poor weeks and two ok ones against fairly moderate opponents, i.e. Richmond and Melbourne (the stats reflected in your post).

That form isn't good enough IMO.

Keep him for Roos, then give him a freshen up against Weagles (good chance to look at a few fringe players anyway). Might well happen. But he won't be dropped for finals to be sure, to be sure.

In: Milburn, Scarlett, Wojak, Chappy

Out: Prismal, Gamble, Varoe, Byrnes

Seems pretty self explanitory. Our fringe players go out and our starters come in.

Gamble/Lonners playing for the 1 spot.

Wocjinski is no certainty for me. I get the impression that when he's not getting it he feels like he has to do something so he runs into packs recklessly and gives away free kicks and 50m penalties.

Have the Cats struggled without him?

I like Gamble as a player, not much last night but is very agile, great vertical leap and strong overhead.