Changes for next week

• Thread starter Thread starter smoovy

umm cox dominated the hitouts and threw griff around like a rag doll, cox got a heap of the ball and was regularly their link man out of defence which griff couldnt stop. all up cox destroyed him ... how on earth you say he did well is beyond me.

it was good to try griffin against cox but it was painfully obvious it wasnt working. which begs the question why he wasnt tried up forward to at least give worsfold a headache or hell even to stop seaby down back.
Let me put it a different way for you so its easier to understand! In the center square a number of times he out rucked Cox and when he didn't, he nullified the effectiveness of Cox's taps because his leap worried Cox.

In around the ground ruck contests, Griffin was fighting out of weight division but he still made sure that Cox's tap work was challenged so he didn't give his midfielders a silver service. Griffin, in the first half and especially in rhe first quarter was more than matching his own in the ruck contests against Cox.

Sometimes, its not actually getting the hand on the ball but it has more to do with restrictig your opponents on what he does when he directs the tap. Cox didn't have many clean taps down the throat of his team mates like he normally does.

Anyone that says Griffin was terrible yesterday has no idea what they are talking about. NONE!

Let me put it a different way for you so its easier to understand! In the center square a number of times he out rucked Cox and when he didn't, he nullified the effectiveness of Cox's taps because his leap worried Cox.

In around the ground ruck contests, Griffin was fighting out of weight division but he still made sure that Cox's tap work was challenged so he didn't give his midfielders a silver service. Griffin, in the first half and especially in rhe first quarter was more than matching his own in the ruck contests against Cox.

Sometimes, its not actually getting the hand on the ball but it has more to do with restrictig your opponents on what he does when he directs the tap. Cox didn't have many clean taps down the throat of his team mates like he normally does.

Anyone that says Griffin was terrible yesterday has no idea what they are talking about. NONE!

yeh okay ive got no idea right whatever, i guess my impression backed up totally by these stats are just way off the mark. honestly :rolleyes:

as for challenging cox around the ground, have you seen it on tv yet? he gets thrown around time and time again ... as i said it was worth a try but physically griff wasnt up to it and by god it showed.

anyway perhaps you will give us your rating out 10 for cox then, now that would be interesting ... i should be able to understand a rating out of 10 maybe. also i wonder how the west coast fans and worsfold for that matter saw it unfold, were they happy with the match up? you bet ya!

IN: Burton, Goodwin, Douglas, Maric, Gill
OUT: Welsh, Doughty, Bassett (inj), Griffin, Shirley

Lots of changes. No brainers are Burton and Goodwin in and Bassett out injured. Welsh hasn't been consistent enough for me and there can only be either him or Ricciuto in the side with how Ricciuto is these days. Douglas is firing in the SANFL. Reward him, because he is the future, but also would be better than Doughty in the same role. Maric a straight swap for Griffin. I've gone for Gill in for Shirley because with Hawthorn's forward line I'd like to see three talls back and I also think Gill can burst a pack more so than Bock. I couldn't pick Shirley in front of any of the midfielders and would have Mattner playing the tagging role.

This of course won't happen. Craig doesn't like to change a team after a loss and who can argue with him, they don't often lose two in a row. Still, it's what I'd like to see.

Rutten to match up on Roughhead.
Bock to match up on Franklin.
Stevens to match up on 3rd tall. Luckily for us Boyle is injured.
Torney to take Hodge when he goes forward.

F: Ricciuto McGregor Porplyzia
HF: Burton Gill Douglas
C: Van Berlo Goodwin Knights
HB: McLeod Bock Reilly
B: Stevens Rutten Johncock
R: Hudson Thompson Edwards
I: Maric Torney Mattner Massie

I couldn't pick Shirley in front of any of the midfielders

Why? Because he's one of the few like Huddo who actually goes in and wins it?

Honestly...

But nah let's stick another skinny kid in who'll have a minimal impact as an outside receiver instead.

Slappy - I saw Griffin beat Cox at the centre bounces. Cox was better around the ground as he has the muscle to push our giraffe around. I was quite impressed with Griff just like Stiffy said before and I think he cause some major headaches at centre bounces for Cox.

hmm well i only saw a young guy doing his best but ultimately failing against the best ruckman ever. im all for giving him a go against cox and id do next time too but my main issue with griff today was that he would have been a 200cm headache in the forward line or a possible matchup for seaby who was red hot.

we lost the ruck badly so that being the case was griffin used to maximum effect? i think not.

yeh okay ive got no idea right whatever, i guess my impression backed up totally by these stats are just way off the mark. honestly :rolleyes:

as for challenging cox around the ground, have you seen it on tv yet? he gets thrown around time and time again ... as i said it was worth a try but physically griff wasnt up to it and by god it showed.

anyway perhaps you will give us your rating out 10 for cox then, now that would be interesting ... i should be able to understand a rating out of 10 maybe. also i wonder how the west coast fans and worsfold for that matter saw it unfold, were they happy with the match up? you bet ya!

Slappy you can't just use stats like that they don't tell the whole story. You saw the game on TV we saw it live, where you can actually watch the whole field and see the set ups etc that you don't get on tv due to them only wanting to use close ups of pretty much every contest. Back to the stats - can you split those stats into Centre bounce hitouts vs around the ground hitouts? Those stats also don't show what stiffy was talking about in the ability to nulify cox's clean hit outs. Have you ever heard the expression lies, damn lies and statistics?

The likeliness of players such as Doughty, Shirley, Mattner, Welsh, Griffin etc being dropped is very small.

Slappy you can't just use stats like that they don't tell the whole story.

im not one for stats to be honest which might explain why im a fan of kenny at FF and the way he brings the ball to ground in a contest and gives the crumbers a chance. theres no stats for this sort of thing but its important.

but when there is such a massive gap in stats, like cox and griff yesterday, i cannot see how you think he did well. scan thru this thread and see what eagles fans think.

we will agree to disagree or some such guff. :)

g'day fellas,

im young hawk supporter, just wondering what your thoughts are on the hawks and how you will plan on beating our so called 'ugly football' which has us sitting at 2nd spot.

however, i wish to see some matchups if any1 has the time i would greatly appreiciate that, as i dont ever get to see many adelaide games.

in my opinion i think in order for hawthorn to win, one man jarryd roughead can do it up forward, not so much 'buddy'.

thanks guys.
=)

You reckon you play ugly?

Be ready to get schooled at ugly football. You'll probably win by 5 goals, but we'll play uglier so :p

im not one for stats to be honest which might explain why im a fan of kenny at FF and the way he brings the ball to ground in a contest and gives the crumbers a chance. theres no stats for this sort of thing but its important.

but when there is such a massive gap in stats, like cox and griff yesterday, i cannot see how you think he did well. scan thru this thread and see what eagles fans think.

we will agree to disagree or some such guff. :)

Sorry slappy but most Eagles supporters think that their team has never flooded under Worsfold. Many of them I do not respect their football opinion as I don't think they actually really understand the modern game. Don't get me wrong as they have some very good posters but the majority I don't respect at all.

You have also used stats about Bode saying he has less goal outputs, hence why I think you have a slight love of stats - those years that he kicked under 10 goals how many games did he play, was he injured? What was his tackle count and his goal assists for that year? You have also stated in another thread that Edwards could be a possibility up forward. If you have watched our games from the start of the year you would know that Edwards has played up forward and he has not been very good at all. He is an attacking midfielder and a handy back pocket type but no where near what Bode offers us up forward and no amount of stats will prove that.

In: Goodwin, Burton, Douglas, Gill
Out: Ricciuto, Mattner, Edwards (inj), Bassett (inj)

B: Johncock, Rutten, Stevens
HB: Douglas, Bock, Torney
C: Knights, Goodwin, van Berlo
HF: Burton, Gill, Porplyzia
F: McLeod, McGregor, Welsh
R: Hudson, Shirley, Thompson
I: Griffin, Reilly, Massie, Doughty

Goodwin & Burton are likely to be available, & assuming Bassett & Perrie won't be. Edwards form is effected by his injury, so rest him (there is no need to play injured players). We can't afford to carry Roo, so he needs to find form at Westies. Mattner needs to think more about his decision making with Sturt.

With Perrie out & Bassett injured, a good opportunity to bring in Gill & return Bock to CHB, where he plays his best football.

With Johncock back, IMO we can afford to play McLeod as a forward, with Douglas adding some pace in the backline.

Sorry slappy but most Eagles supporters think that their team has never flooded under Worsfold. Many of them I do not respect their football opinion as I don't think they actually really understand the modern game. Don't get me wrong as they have some very good posters but the majority I don't respect at all.

You have also used stats about Bode saying he has less goal outputs, hence why I think you have a slight love of stats - those years that he kicked under 10 goals how many games did he play, was he injured? What was his tackle count and his goal assists for that year? You have also stated in another thread that Edwards could be a possibility up forward. If you have watched our games from the start of the year you would know that Edwards has played up forward and he has not been very good at all. He is an attacking midfielder and a handy back pocket type but no where near what Bode offers us up forward and no amount of stats will prove that.

well that settles it then.

funnily enough edwards has a decent goal kicking record but there i go on about stats again.

Goodwin & Burton are likely to be available, & assuming Bassett & Perrie won't be. Edwards form is effected by his injury, so rest him (there is no need to play injured players). We can't afford to carry Roo, so he needs to find form at Westies. Mattner needs to think more about his decision making with Sturt.

With Perrie out & Bassett injured, a good opportunity to bring in Gill & return Bock to CHB, where he plays his best football.

With Johncock back, IMO we can afford to play McLeod as a forward, with Douglas adding some pace in the backline.

2 things - Roo won't get dropped - you kick 7 goals in the SANFL and then go into the back lines of a team struggling to kick goals ?

Roo has earnt the right to play more than one poor game before being dropped. I thought he was going well in his comeback prior to last week, before he got hit by Rooke he was starting to find the ball v Geelong in the clinches. Shall we just discard his 306 game career and retire him after 1 poor game? Rubbish

As to resting Edwards why? I thougt he played well last week as he does every week.

Re Mattner, release to the wing where flair might help, but again outstanding v Kangaros ONE GAME AGO. Why is the whole footy world (media and fans) so reactive these days. One win and everyone is great, one loss and no one can play. If Goodwin and Burton are back (please let them be) one in for Bassett, and one of Massie/Shirley/Doughty out for mine

Out: Bassett, Edwards (inj)
In: Gill, Goodwin

We've got 10 weeks to make decisions on a few players........one of those is Gill and with a tall out.....it might be the opportunity to give him a crack

2 things - Roo won't get dropped - you kick 7 goals in the SANFL and then go into the back lines of a team struggling to kick goals ?
So do you think the way Roo is playing he deserves his place in the team? I reckon he is really struggling with the pace of AFL & would benefit from a game or so with Westies.

IMO, it would be a mistake to play Douglas as a permanent forward. I don't think there is a place in the midfield & defence is easier to play. My understanding was that he played in defence earlier in the season when I was overseas.

Roo has earnt the right to play more than one poor game before being dropped. I thought he was going well in his comeback prior to last week, before he got hit by Rooke he was starting to find the ball v Geelong in the clinches. Shall we just discard his 306 game career and retire him after 1 poor game? Rubbish

As to resting Edwards why? I thougt he played well last week as he does every week.

Re Mattner, release to the wing where flair might help, but again outstanding v Kangaros ONE GAME AGO. Why is the whole footy world (media and fans) so reactive these days. One win and everyone is great, one loss and no one can play. If Goodwin and Burton are back (please let them be) one in for Bassett, and one of Massie/Shirley/Doughty out for mine
Roo hasn't played a decent game since he has returned (ie. more than 1 poor game!), though has been unlucky with 2 heavy knocks. I'm by no means saying retire him, but IMO he is really struggling.

Edwards has been nowhere near his best - fumbling, poor disposal, etc. Apparantly he is carrying an injury, which would explain why his uncharacteristically not producing like he normally does.

I had 2nd thoughts about dropping Mattner, but this is not the 1st time he has had a poor game. Sure he had a recent great game, but his form line has been inconsistent. Massie, Shirley & Doughty have been far more consistent in the last month.

. My understanding was that he played in defence earlier in the season when I was overseas.

Correct. When Stiffy went down NC put Goodwin ( I remembered) there for the last 10 minutes of the 2nd quarter. Then Douglas played the 2nd half in the back pocket

And IMO this was the only time he has actually looked comfortable playing AFL football. As a half forward flanker he didn’t look like he knew where to run and was hesitant to have a shot on goal.

7 goals is a fair effort but, I would like to see him given a go in between the spot – play him on a wing and drop Doughty

There seems to be a general consenus that shirley/doughty/mattner are under the microscope some what. (all midfielders to a degree).all with some games under their belts and should by now ,be starting to exert a greater influence on the game, yet all fail to do so.
There seems to be a general consensus that stevens /bock/mcgregor are under the microscope (all tall forwards/backs) all with some games under their belts and should by now, be starting to exert a greater influence on the game yet all fail to do so.

Against W.C we were well beaten in the air,now with bassett gone the tall forwards /backs are under even more pressure to contest better in the air.How is this going to be rectified?
Possibly bock to the backlines and Gill( as he is the only tall forward /back) we have,unless maric comes into a key forward role.
The midfielders issue is a bit different because we have greater depth here, i.e douglas,vince,goodwin,burton.
For me doughty and shirley are simply not damaging enough when they have the ball,allbeit they spend a fair whack of time tagging but i really think there is potential to turn one or two of these other guys into taggers and yet at the same time being more proactive and damaging than doughty/shirley.

So for me this week.
OUT:shirley,doughty,welsh,griffen,(omit).bassett(inj)
note :griff has done a great job but the grind of AFL has caught up with him and he needs a rest.
IN:douglas (this boy is as good as goodwin at the same age),goodwin,burton,maric(time to see what this kid can do),and gill(now ,he was mentioned around the selection table before last week against W.C,graigy said he hadn't yet looked at his game against westies on saturday so maybe it's his time.
If either goodwin or burton are not ready then bernie vince has earned a crack ,with some excellent games for W.W.T.

i also beleive the inclusions of douglas,burton,goodwin,maric and gill will help our strength in the air,and will give the team more drive.

anyway thats my opinion and mine only so ,thanks.

GO THE CROWS!!!!!!!

7 goals is a fair effort but, I would like to see him given a go in between the spot – play him on a wing and drop Doughty

He played most of the game in the midfield on Saturday. Dominated that area of the ground. Kicked 3 goals from the midfield in the first 3/4.

The only time he spent any significant time up forward was in the last quarter where he spent about 20 minutes up there and kicked 3, before he went back on ball and got his 7th.

Effectively he kicked 4 from the midfield, 3 from half forward.

well that settles it then.

funnily enough edwards has a decent goal kicking record but there i go on about stats again.

When he has been the midfielder dropping in to take marks, not as a forward crumber who holds the ball in the area. This year Edwards has been quite down on his chasing and pressure.