Changes for next week

• Thread starter Thread starter bigman

could it be more obvious?

a player getting 94% game time is plainly doing what is asked of him by the coaching staff.

Youve already admitted our coaching staff dont get it right all the time. The fact they have decided to give Doughty so much game time could be another error perhaps? Given his lack of possessions, ordinary disposal, fumbling under pressure and no hope of development perhaps Im right.

Answer me this Crow Mo, given a full list and the need to develop our list, who would you drop for Doughty?

Youve already admitted our coaching staff dont get it right all the time. The fact they have decided to give Doughty so much game time could be another error perhaps? Given his lack of possessions, ordinary disposal, fumbling under pressure and no hope of development perhaps Im right.

Answer me this Crow Mo, given a full list and the need to develop our list, who would you drop for Doughty?

Goodwin or McLeod. Maybe Ben Rutten.

they have given him game consistently over 4 or 5 years.

sure. no one. I'd play him.

but then I understand the difference between developing a list, and throwing the baby out with the bath water ;)

they have given him game consistently over 4 or 5 years.

sure. no one. I'd play him.

but then I understand the difference between developing a list, and throwing the baby out with the bath water ;)

Craigs been coach for 3 and a half years, prior to that he struggled to get a consistent game under Ayres.

You do understand only 22 are named each week so someone will have to miss? Cmon name who you would drop, its easy to evade the question with a smart arse reply than to actually put your opinion out there for someone to take pot shots at it. Thats normally your domain.

Craigs been coach for 3 and a half years, prior to that he struggled to get a consistent game under Ayres.

You do understand only 22 are named each week so someone will have to miss? Cmon name who you would drop, its easy to evade the question with a smart arse reply than to actually put your opinion out there for someone to take pot shots at it. Thats normally your domain.

But that is what he is saying and what I was trying to tell you a few pages back, is that he is in the best 22. Fact is he has been in the team even at our strongest over the past few seasons. Everything suggests you are wrong. If he plays badly then he will be dropped like he was last season.

my opinion is I am going to play him, and I expect he will be named in the 22 and play.

where did you get so confused, that you convinced yourself he had to be dropped? when did that escape from your imagination and become fact???

Campbell looks like the likely replacement for Shirley.
it was mentioned on the crows site that Jericho, Massie and Otten are also in the mix. i'm wondering if they're in the mix for replacing Reilly? or just in the mix as emergencies.

But that is what he is saying and what I was trying to tell you a few pages back, is that he is in the best 22. Fact is he has been in the team even at our strongest over the past few seasons. Everything suggests you are wrong. If he plays badly then he will be dropped like he was last season.

The fact that he was dropped last year proves he isnt in our best 22 and the fact he was contracted probably saved him. There is no way to justify Torneys delisting otherwise. Last year we had numerous injuries and were unable to develop much of our youth, hence he survived. This year we must develop our youth and he cant survive if we are to be serious about it. As I see it he is in competition with Mckay, Symes, Douglas and Vince. McKay has shown promise and is definately worth perservering with. We traded pick 28 last year for Symes, if we drop him ahead of Doughty we have to shoot our recruiters. Douglas last weekend played his best game, we have to see if he develops, after 3 years on the list its a must. Vince has also shown glimpses this preseason and should be given the same opportunties Doughty has had. Its his 3rd year on the list, its make or break for him this year. If he doesnt make it we have blown another 3 years and a no 30 draft pick.

my opinion is I am going to play him, and I expect he will be named in the 22 and play.

where did you get so confused, that you convinced yourself he had to be dropped? when did that escape from your imagination and become fact???

You are unbelievable, you had a go at me for offering my opinion as to why he should be dropped if we had a full list to choose from. But you wont even name someone who should be dropped ahead of him. Guess what its okay to name someone, because that would be your opinion, and everybody deserves to have one of those.

See above for mine, but go ahead take a cheap shot.

Vince has also shown glimpses this preseason and should be given the same opportunties Doughty has had. Its his 3rd year on the list, its make or break for him this year. If he doesnt make it we have blown another 3 years and a no 30 draft pick.

If I HAD to pick between Doughty and Vince for this week? It would be Doughty every day and twice on Sundays. Don't get me wrong, I love Vince and believe he is something special BUT, he's not quite ready.... YET. He will get plenty of game time this year - progressively more as is Craigs usual MO - I have no doubt about that. Doughty is much maligned in here when he has been one of the toughest (and we need tough this week), most consistent players in our team for some time.

Moot point anyways with Shirleys injury.

Maric in for Reilly
Massie in for Shirley

Don't need to change anything else.

If I HAD to pick between Doughty and Vince for this week? It would be Doughty every day and twice on Sundays. Don't get me wrong, I love Vince and believe he is something special BUT, he's not quite ready.... YET. He will get plenty of game time this year - progressively more as is Craigs usual MO - I have no doubt about that. Doughty is much maligned in here when he has been one of the toughest (and we need tough this week), most consistent players in our team for some time.

Maric in for Reilly
Massie in for Shirley

Campbell in for Shirley.

Maric in for Reilly
Massie in for Shirley

I'd agree with that.

Nup, not yet. He'll get a go soon enough. Plays a different role to Shirley. Massie is more experienced and this week we need experience.
from the site, i just assumed Campbell looked the likely replacement this week, with Massie under consideration. but i would prefer the experience of Massie in.

You are unbelievable, you had a go at me for offering my opinion as to why he should be dropped if we had a full list to choose from.

no I had a go at you, because you seem to be another one of these people - we have a lot of them - who seem to delight in having a go at our more honest performers, as if it makes them seem more knowledgable to be critical. funnily enough it's usually the same few people and same few players - and you appear have to joined this little grouping.

But you wont even name someone who should be dropped ahead of him. Guess what its okay to name someone, because that would be your opinion, and everybody deserves to have one of those.

I repeat, when did this idea that he had to be dropped escape your imagination and become fact?

See above for mine, but go ahead take a cheap shot.

yup, all criticism of you is a cheap shot. grow up.

The fact that he was dropped last year proves he isnt in our best 22

utter garbage.

in the last 3 seasons he has played 21,21, and 19 games.

and the fact he was contracted probably saved him. There is no way to justify Torneys delisting otherwise. Last year we had numerous injuries and were unable to develop much of our youth, hence he survived. This year we must develop our youth and he cant survive if we are to be serious about it. As I see it he is in competition with Mckay, Symes, Douglas and Vince. McKay has shown promise and is definately worth perservering with.

1. stop making things up. Torney and Doughty are different players, and would not have been interchangeable as far as delistings go. different type of players have different spots on our list, for team and list balance.

2. hey look, if you'd rather play the young guys, that's fine. but stop pretending you see all these flaws and faults in the player you'd rather they replace. there are times when it is actually time to move on, and give new guys a go - but when that happens it doesn't mean you have to pretend a 100+ game player is utter rubbish to justify your stance.

We traded pick 28 last year for Symes, if we drop him ahead of Doughty we have to shoot our recruiters.

oh c'mon pick 28 is not such a big deal. get real.

Douglas last weekend played his best game, we have to see if he develops, after 3 years on the list its a must. Vince has also shown glimpses this preseason and should be given the same opportunties Doughty has had. Its his 3rd year on the list, its make or break for him this year. If he doesnt make it we have blown another 3 years and a no 30 draft pick.

Douglas did well, and played his best game for the club. he'll get his chances. Vince has not shown quite so much. he'll need to make an impression and actually find a position that really suits.

but seriously, you're having a laugh if you think we need to panic to make sure a no.30 draft pick makes it.

no I had a go at you, because you seem to be another one of these people - we have a lot of them - who seem to delight in having a go at our more honest performers, as if it makes them seem more knowledgable to be critical. funnily enough it's usually the same few people and same few players - and you appear have to joined this little grouping.

I repeat, when did this idea that he had to be dropped escape your imagination and become fact?

yup, all criticism of you is a cheap shot. grow up.

The above statement is pure crap, Dogga asked why Doughty should be dropped and not other players who played a poor game. I gave my opinion, not to big note myself but to purely offer my opinion. If there is anyone on this site who delights in having a go, to appear to make themselves more knowledgable, then thats you. You dont do it about the players though, but other posters.

The fact that he was dropped last year proves he isnt in our best 22 and the fact he was contracted probably saved him. There is no way to justify Torneys delisting otherwise. Last year we had numerous injuries and were unable to develop much of our youth, hence he survived. This year we must develop our youth and he cant survive if we are to be serious about it. As I see it he is in competition with Mckay, Symes, Douglas and Vince. McKay has shown promise and is definately worth perservering with. We traded pick 28 last year for Symes, if we drop him ahead of Doughty we have to shoot our recruiters. Douglas last weekend played his best game, we have to see if he develops, after 3 years on the list its a must. Vince has also shown glimpses this preseason and should be given the same opportunties Doughty has had. Its his 3rd year on the list, its make or break for him this year. If he doesnt make it we have blown another 3 years and a no 30 draft pick.

Last year I would've agreed with you he needed dropping, but this year he has shown more toughness than previously. He's running through lines, breaking tackles and his ball movement can't be questioned.

I would have imagined that he's been told where his deficiencies lay and he's done all he's been asked of IMO.

Seen all but last weeks games and without question he is in the top 22. We are playing 2 first year players, he still has experience we desperately need.

Maric in for Reilly
Massie in for Shirley

And how do player get ready Jenny?

Players learn there craft in the SANFL only to a certain point and then they get better by gaining experience in a higher level of competition. The SANFL is a very good breading ground for player but they will only learn so much.

FFS Michael Doughty has played 120 AFL games and is still making the silly old basic mistakes that anyone would expect from a beginner who has only played between 0 and 30 games.

It annoys me no end when the argument comes up that a young player is not ready? FFS if you leave them in the SANFL they will never be ready. You need that time in the AFLK to find your feet and to gain that experience. Michael Doughty may be a little bit more valuable to the team right now but give Bernie Vince 35 – 50 game and he will be miles in front of the venerable Doughty. And if Vince is still making the same basic errors after 50 to 60 game as he is now then it might be time to look at someone else and cut our losses; that the problem with Michael Doughty, he hasn’t taken the next step up and it frustrates a certain element of the support base no end.

So that’s why Bernie Vince is the higher commodity in that duo and has to be persevered with. Doughty has tapped out and gone as far as he can, Vince has plenty of up side in his overall game and room to improve.

utter garbage.

in the last 3 seasons he has played 21,21, and 19 games.

1. stop making things up. Torney and Doughty are different players, and would not have been interchangeable as far as delistings go. different type of players have different spots on our list, for team and list balance.

2. hey look, if you'd rather play the young guys, that's fine. but stop pretending you see all these flaws and faults in the player you'd rather they replace. there are times when it is actually time to move on, and give new guys a go - but when that happens it doesn't mean you have to pretend a 100+ game player is utter rubbish to justify your stance.

oh c'mon pick 28 is not such a big deal. get real.

Douglas did well, and played his best game for the club. he'll get his chances. Vince has not shown quite so much. he'll need to make an impression and actually find a position that really suits.

but seriously, you're having a laugh if you think we need to panic to make sure a no.30 draft pick makes it.

Your flipant attitude to draft picks surprises me, maybe you can get to together with Matt Rendall and have a good laugh next time we get shafted for a draft pick.

In terms of making up flaws in Doughty you cant be serious, if you cant see his disposal and ball handling skills suffer under pressure then maybe you need to go watch a game live.

As for Torney/Doughty. They both play defence, Torney can play small so they can play the same role except Torney did it better. Torney was one yr older and out of contract. It will be very interesting to see what happens at the end of the year with Doughty. If we re sign him then I concede I was wrong, if hes delisted will you??

Players learn there craft in the SANFL only to a certain point and then they get better by gaining experience in a higher level of competition. The SANFL is a very good breading ground for player but they will only learn so much.

FFS Michael Doughty has played 120 AFL games and is still making the silly old basic mistakes that anyone would expect from a beginner who has only played between 0 and 30 games.

It annoys me no end when the argument comes up that a young player is not ready? FFS if you leave them in the SANFL they will never be ready. You need that time in the AFLK to find your feet and to gain that experience. Michael Doughty may be a little bit more valuable to the team right now but give Bernie Vince 35 – 50 game and he will be miles in front of the venerable Doughty. And if Vince is still making the same basic errors after 50 to 60 game as he is now then it might be time to look at someone else and cut our losses; that the problem with Michael Doughty, he hasn’t taken the next step up and it frustrates a certain element of the support base no end.

So that’s why Bernie Vince is the higher commodity in that duo and has to be persevered with. Doughty has tapped out and gone as far as he can, Vince has plenty of up side in his overall game and room to improve.

Why does it have to be Vince or Doughty anyways? Both are in the team right now. Vince IS being given game time. So what is the problem? I am a huge Vince fan, and I'm thrilled he's been given a chance. All I said was that if I had to choose between Doughty and Vince for this weeks game, I'd pick Doughty.

This argument is always raised by people who HAVE NOT played a team sport at the highest level!

C98 you certainly can't be watching closely mate .......you have soundly criticized Doughty for a couple of mistakes .......yet conveniently forget Vinces that had far more severe repurcussions.

Iam a Vince fan ....lets establish that fact right now!

But I am an avid supporter that "professional" players are played on merit .......until such time as the team cannot make the finals ......are we at that point yet?

It annoys me no end that Doughty has had a ripper PS, probably has worked his backside off on the track, and deserves his spot.
To start not playing players on merit causes disharmony in the team ......with the thinking " No use trying too hard as they're not going to play me in favour of kids" .......That mentality and associated lack of work ethic is a bloody cancer in a club .....and I'll not support it.

Vince will play plenty of games .....but he is going to tread the same path as Reilly .......be up and down, warming the bench alot, not getting heaps of game time .....and at 24 with a more mature body and 50+ games behind him he'll blossom .....just like Reilly.

Why does it have to be Vince or Doughty anyways? Both are in the team right now. Vince IS being given game time. So what is the problem? I am a huge Vince fan, and I'm thrilled he's been given a chance. All I said was that if I had to choose between Doughty and Vince for this weeks game, I'd pick Doughty.

And on form Jenny you'd be spot on .........Doughtys much better than he receives credit for ......he was supposedly soft and cowardly .....yet I've seen recent acts of downright bravery from the lad.

Doughty at his age is fighting for his spot on next years list .......he's started off pretty well IMO. :thumbsu: