Changes for next week

• Thread starter Thread starter bigman

personally im of the belief they should go down the same path as the SANFL and recall bad bounces but i guess then the games would go forever as it seems you dont have to be able to bounce to become an afl umpire.
I agree 100% with you Roodog,the bounces are going backwards all the time Because the umpires don't have to be accountable for their actions, if they had to recall them you would see an immediate improvement.

One thing i wouldn't change for your team next week
is Jason Porplyzia.
Probably stating the obvious for you guys...but from an outside
point of view that guy is a star player.
I've heard him talked up in the past but due to his injuries
never really watched him that much. Today he was
really good for you guys and if he stays on the park could post
a few Brownlow votes.
anywho. Just an observation.

After today he must play in the middle each week.

Some of his clearance work after 1/4 time was sensational.

He is going to be one of the first picked for this area.

I am pleased to see that none of you even have the slightest thoughts of dropping Symes.
In my opinion, he is in the best 22 for any team in the AFL except Geelong.
I rated him at Port Adelaide extremely highly.

However, i saw him make two mistakes today.
1) The high tackle in the third quarter which resulted in a goal.
2) Holding the ball near goal in the last quarter which switched the momentum of the game.

The high tackle was just unlucky and happens to the best of footballers but when he got holding the ball, it looked like he had no confidence to take a shot and was in two minds.
I love the bloke though.

Will he play all year? Or, furthermore, will he secure a spot in the best 18?

HE SHOULD.

Lets get over the fact it wasn't called holding th ball, because it wasn't. It wasn't great that the umpire bounced very poorly on a few occassions, but by calling play on, it's play on, so lets get over it.

Certainly worried about Reilly, apparently landed on his wrist again when he came back on, and took no further part. Can't be too good. Hopefully he'll be right, but I'm not confident, IMO by years end if he remains injury free he'll be our best midfielder, so hopefully he'll be right. If not, hopefully Knights can come up.

Maric has to play this week, Tippett needs to be a permanent forward. But I'm not sure who comes out for Maric. If as many are suggesting Shirley does, we would have a very, very tall side. I don't think that would be all that successful against the still hard running Eagles. If Maric is to come in, either a tall back or forward must go out IMO. McGregor probably did enough, Stevens was great, Bock and Rutten are musts. So as hard as it is, IMO if Maric comes in the hard call has to be called on Bassett. He was very good for a half, but ran out of puff, so maybe a run in the SANFL would also be good for his fitness.

A fair bit of of pressure would have to be felt by Shirley, Vince and Doughty I would have thought. Need a few blokes knocking on the door to come in. But the Eagles still have a pretty handy midfield, despite losing Judd and Cousins, and a shut-down role could be required from Shirley.

IN: Maric, Knights*

OUT: Bassett, Reilly (inj.)

*If fit.

Basset ahahahahahaha your an idiot....NUFF said, no hope he's gettin dropped....

doughty is IMO the worst player in the AFL getting a regular senior game....he ****s it almost everytime he goes near it, he make me cringe whenever it goes near him....even massie dare i say it, is a much better option...

Reilly will be fine, bit of padding will be heaps for that injury...

Maric needs to come in as the Weagles have quality rucks & plenty of talls.

Hopefully Knights is fit to resume & Reilly is OK.

Give my thoughts on the outs later.

Maric needs to come in as the Weagles have quality rucks & plenty of talls.

Hopefully Knights is fit to resume & Reilly is OK.

Give my thoughts on the outs later.

Forget Knights my folks were talking to him last night he is four weeks away at this stage.

Vince needs to be put into the middle instead of rotting away on the half forward flank. The NAB games showed if he gets into the game early he generally has a good game. I don't know why he was on the HFF; get him in the middle Craig.

Also need to remember he's only played 11 games; I have no doubt he'll become a permanent fixture in the Adelaide midfield.

Great call. Give him as many opportunities as Douglas and see what happens.

Doughty Shirley definitely need to go.

OUT: Doughty, Shirley
IN: Maric, Massie or Campbell

Need Torney back imo. :)
Stole my thunder

Shirley and Doughty gone....Delist ASAP

Maric and Massie in.

Tippett can then play Permanent FF.

If Reilly is injured, Bring in Jericho. Play him on the wing and just let him run run run

At the end of the day we are playing the Weagles. We cant beat the anyway;). So may as well try a few things.

Out: Reilly (inj), Shirley
IN: Maric, Campbell

On form i agree with Campbell but against West Coast, i think Massie offers a little more flexibility with his added height which may come in useful against the likes of Hunter/Embley/LeCras.

While i am certainly in favour of the youth policy, it does need balance so they are not thrown completely to the wolves. With our current balance and injury list to 5 top 22 players, i think Massie's experience should also edge him over Campbell against West Coast.

If he comes in, i predict he will stay for some time.

...come to think of it. Let's balance the youth/effectiveness issue and bring in Maric, Massie and Campbell at the expense of Reilly, Doughty and Shirley

I don't think that would be that hard a call. Vince hasn't done that much and I'm not sure if he has really earnt his spot in the side.

I agree, Bassett is very good. But if Maric is to come in, which I think he should be, a tall should go out IMO. I'm sure many will disagree with me, but I think Bassett is the one I would choose at this stage, while his fitness is down. I would think in a few weeks we would probably look to pull Tippett out of the side for a few different reasons, and there'll be plaenty of opportunities, but I think we would be burnt by the Eagles if we brought Maric in for a small. That would give us Griffin, Maric, Tippett, Bassett, Rutten, Bock, Stevens, McGregor and Burton. IMO that is too many, especially when all do not demand selection.

It would be a hard call. Vince has earned his position through a very good pre-season. He played one bad game in terms of possession quality today but why ruin his confidence by dropping him. He has potential. Give him time. The same mistake was made last year dropping Campbell. It would be a poor repetition of history to do it to Vince this year on that one sub-par performance.

Re the talls we may need them against WC. If one has to go, keep Maric out till he does something worth selection. Tippett is a better ruck atm!

I just wish they'd throw the ball up permanently instead of bouncing

Agreed. Yes, the bounce is unique and great to watch but not good enough to put up with clearances and goals set up by a poor bounce. Either recall the crap ones or get rid of it. Today was a joke and the romantics will say 'it all evens out in the end' but in an individual game it doesn't.

Can all the Doughty haters give an explanation as to why he should be dropped. He has done nothing wrong all pre- season and gave a solid performance today. A lot of other players went missing today like Thompson and VB but somehow you decide Doughty is the problem. FFS this guy is going to have to win the Brownlow to get some supporters off his back.

I think today really showed how much emphasis you can put on pre-season form. In real game situations where real pressure is applied you will discover a players true form.

I wouldn't say Doughty's game was solid today, but I agree he wasn't the worst player. I think Doughty (& Shirley) are older (29-28 this year) than some of the other kids that had bad games today and therefore would be judged harsher (correct or not I don't know), especially in a time of rebuilding.

Can all the Doughty haters give an explanation as to why he should be dropped. He has done nothing wrong all pre- season and gave a solid performance today. A lot of other players went missing today like Thompson and VB but somehow you decide Doughty is the problem. FFS this guy is going to have to win the Brownlow to get some supporters off his back.

Couldn't agree with you more mate. Add to the list Macca as a quiet performance by his standards, Goody missing 3 very gettable shots on goal before the last quater and Stevo missing and absolute sitter. I wouldn't say Dougga was on his own. No need for massive changes at this point if you ask me if we play like that for 22 Rounds we will win more than we lose this year it just seemed the footy gods were with the Bulldogs.

I also find it strange that numerous people are calling for shirley and douggas head for the future of the club to bring in someone who is probably only 2 years away himself in Massie. Seems strange.

FWIW I'm pretty sure Shirley is carrying a niggle in his hip flexor. He came off a couple of times to get treatment and looked pretty sore. I was sitting above our bench on the 3rd level.

It was the first match I have watched live in more than 12 months as I spent last year O/S to be honest I thought we played really well and I have never been happy after a loss before but today I thought we really showed something. Perhaps good times to come this year or perhaps I haven't watched enought footy in the past 12 months and I'm full of shit?

i agree mostly except he did make a couple of crucial last quarter disposal errors,but thats ok. he was far from one of our worst performers.(and has been in our best 10 in most pre season games)
bloody crows supporters, calling for vince to get the axe,you are the same people who cry out about nc not blooding any new players for the last few years, saying douglas should have gotten the sack after a couple of average games in pre season, the season is over we lost 1 game, etc etc these young guys need a good run of games to get confidence and skill and timing and speed of game. give em a ****ing break. There are some class young players at the crows, and remember, as a result of being a good consistant side for most part of our history, you dont get the high draft picks that other teams get, which in turn get them top picks which you would expect have that xtra something special and therefore that translates mostly to having standout first games. and if you armchair critics cant see the class that our young midfielders possess well you have less clue than i give you credit for. By the way how many people said when porps was drafted he was just average yet 4 to 5 YEARS later he is everones new fav. He has improved his mental and physical strength but he was just as talented when he was drafted-i remember. give the young guys a chance and reserve some judgement after half the season at least. one game comments always seem so far fetched whan you look back on them.
One concern I agree with is Shirley:thumbsd::confused::mad::( (lots of emotions none good) has not looked comfortable at afl level for over a year now (barring 4 games end of last year) and we must try something new. I would rather he not play and we not tag than have him play. Put this way Would the team be better off without the tag and shirleys 6-12 possies or a potential new and more upsided youngster with more tricks more speed stamina and height. You have my answer. Try Campbell as a tagger even.
BTW Doughty win a "brownlow"? thats classic but i get your drift. Probably only win a "brownnose" from nc. Mind you wowoden won a brownlow

I am assuming Radar is fit and Knights is not

In Maric
out Shirley

no need to weild the axe just yet

Was just about to say the same thing myself. Doughty had a great pre season and knowing Neil Craig he won't be dropped. I don't think Shirey will be dropped either.

The AFL site says that Reilly's injury is minor. Most of the posts here believe it might be more serious. Has there been any reports from CrowTwon about his status?

John Reid on 5AA this morning said that our medicos think that its serious, suspecting a fractured wrist but Radar will have scans today.

A brownlow? No, he doesn't have to do that, the problem I have with Doughty is the same I have with Massie, great players until it comes to kicking it basically. Yes, Doughty wasn't the only one today to kick the ball straight to the opposition(granted most of them used to be teammates), but his disposal has always been and always will be poor, he makes too many errors on a consistent basis, and isn't going to get any better I'm sorry. I didnt see the first quarter, but from what i saw today of Doughty, his performance could not be rated as solid.

As for changes, I'd keep Vince, whilst he made a few errors, he also did some good things and IMO he'll be better for the experience.

Lets not go too over the top with a 3 point loss to a team that was inspired by the 300th game of one of their all time greats and a very good team at that. I'd say bring Maric in to allow Tippet to play as a permanent forward, that will probably be at the expense of an injured reilly, depending on SANFL/Training form, I'd consider bring Massie back in for a Shirley or Doughty, Massie just gives that bit more flexibility on a medium sized defender. We don't have Torney anymore for this job and Doughty and Shirley don't have the airiel skills, I hope Gallman comes along as this defensive mid/medium defender, we got exposed a little on the weekend in this position. So for me:

In: Maric, Massie
Out: Reilly (Inj), Shirley (Omt)

John Reid on 5AA this morning said that our medicos think that its serious, suspecting a fractured wrist but Radar will have scans today.

Hopefully its only as i did to myself a couple of weeks ago and just some ligament damage in the wrist, that would just be a couple of weeks with some good physio, a fracture would be shatering for him, poor bloke just can't catch a break.