Changes for next week

• Thread starter Thread starter Chris25

Him ducking his head backing into a marking contest was a lot worse than that.

Totally agree... and at least 3-4 times he let the ball go over the back of the contest when he went up... either stay down or destroy the ball FFS.

I read in the worst that Schammer has a broken nose

yeh i remember seeing mcphee and Schammer go up in a marking contest and i couldnt see from the angle exactly what happened but mcphee definately made contact with schammer.Byron was holding his nose and went off the ground.

not sure if he will miss a week though coz he came back on the ground not to long after

Just an outsiders perspective guys...(I've watched both games this year and the majority of freo's games last year.)

I reckon Hill does not look ready...Suban also isn't getting enough of it. But if you drop these 2 before a couple of the older more experienced duds that are wasting space in the team then its a big mistake.

If you are going to keep losing, may as well do it by getting plenty of experience into the kids.

I reckon bring Broughton in. Watched him over pre-season and he looks ready. At 22, he has to get some gametime soon because he has missed 4 good development years...but mature aged rookies have a tendency of slotting straight into the side.

I have no problem with you guys dropping Hill, but only if he goes with some of the senior players as well. Keep going with Suban.

As soon as we get some K!W1 action up forward, it will all be different. There will be an example set. An example for everyone to follow. Blood will be spilt. Goals will be kicked. Hospital waiting lists in the Perth Metro area will explode. Hangers will be taken at record low altitudes. Cancer will be cured. Adam Campbell will be praised and anointed as the chosen one.

Delusions aside, with Bock now out of the Crows line-up we need to capitalise on it. And that means your BFF, K!W1 Campbell...

If he doesn't come back in for this game, the selectors are officially on crack.

Delusions aside, with Bock now out of the Crows line-up we need to capitalise on it. And that means your BFF, K!W1 Campbell...

If he doesn't come back in for this game, the selectors are officially on crack.

We already look top heavy and slow though. If Campbell comes in a tall has to make way for him.

Chance of a shower at this stage for Sunday.

I think Campbell has to play. We need to have a strong target up front, and even if it is raining, how would you like to have somebody of his size and strength crashing the packs and running at you while you're struggling to pick the ball off the ground?

Adelaide will have a defence of Rutten, Stevens (if fit) and Otten. If Stevens isn't fit either Moran or Sellar will have to play. And Otten is really only a younger, although much much better version of Head, in that while he can play on medium sized forwards, he doesn't have the strength to go with a Tarrant.

As for needing a tall to make way for him, surely Head could go out and Johnson moves back to defence. Or Johnson misses out himself. I just think we need Campbell this week.

We already look top heavy and slow though. If Campbell comes in a tall has to make way for him.

Chance of a shower at this stage for Sunday.

Not necessarily. Johnson back into defense to kick Josh Head back to the WAFL. That leaves us with Solomon, Pavlich and Tarrant across the half forward line. Campbell into the goal square with Duffield or Ibbo (who have good hands) and a resting player out of Palmer/Hill/Peake/Schammer (no sense having any of these players off the ground as Peake and Schammer have had a reasonable start to the year and can play forward, and Palmer and Hill are skillful enough to rove packs).

Regardless, we can't play Pavlich too deep and Tarrant plays better as the link-man half foward. So we need a tall to go to FF, and the last 2 weeks we haven't had one to kick to. Campbell proved he was a 1/2 decent target to aim at late last year and deserves a crack.

I think Campbell has to play. We need to have a strong target up front, and even if it is raining, how would you like to have somebody of his size and strength crashing the packs and running at you while you're struggling to pick the ball off the ground?

Adelaide will have a defence of Rutten, Stevens (if fit) and Otten. If Stevens isn't fit either Moran or Sellar will have to play. And Otten is really only a younger, although much much better version of Head, in that while he can play on medium sized forwards, he doesn't have the strength to go with a Tarrant.

As for needing a tall to make way for him, surely Head could go out and Johnson moves back to defence. Or Johnson misses out himself. I just think we need Campbell this week.

Chris, you beat me to it.

Confident players play good footy, put Pav back to where he is most confident CHF and forget about him in the middle. Head, Browne are never going to be great players we need to move on from them, they should be blacklisted and told they are never to play again. Maybe told to fake a long term injury and promote two more rookies. Gilmore was in not bad form in the preseason he deserves a chance if he gets too many more weeks in the WAFL he will lose all confidence, IMHO needs to come in for Head. Campbell in for Murphy the guy plays with so much ticker, Murphy has the heart of a pea. Hilly does not look ready at all, bit overawed I think let him come on in the WAFL and if in good touch there give him another crack later in the year, Suban maybe another week or two. Deboer another game of WAFL to get fitness up but appears more ready than Hill for a shot at the bigtime. Broughton deserves a chance is not doing to much wrong at Subi, not setting the world on fire but when was the last time a close checking backman did, he needs to play you don't recruit 22 year olds and not see what they can give, we did it with Head and he failed lets hope we are second time lucky. I reckon Harvey has it in for Hinkley? I admit to never having seen much of him play but we are clearly lacking pace, Ibbotson and him need to be running through the guts. Hinkley got a chance at the end of last year and didn't look out of his depth, he has to be better than what we are throwing up at the moment. Doddy, I reckon big question mark on him, needs to lift bigtime, maybe another chance and then out. Anyone got an update on Brock, he plays with required intensity, looked quite good as well when he got his chance towards the end of last year. Geez we are missing Hayden and Mayne can't wait for both to get back, lets hope Hayden is this week although my gut tells me another week. He is too valuable to risk I would rather him miss another week to allow full recovery from the hammy than risk another month without him.
It is depressing I know to see the year start like this but to be honest I went into the year not expecting too much and that is what we are getting, it is more the way we are going about it that is frustrating. I honestly thought Harvey was going to at least bring a hardness and accountability to the club but so far I am left wondering whether he is really up to it. I would love him to prove me wrong, last year as we all know he started out with all the old hacks and we didn't succeed, towards the end of the year we copped injuries etc and gave the kids a chance and we looked better, from that I would have thought he may have learnt something, obviously not. I am praying he sees the light sooner rather than later, we have no depth I know but what we have is surely better than what is currently being dished up. My gut feel is there is a bit of disharmony at the club, Harvey is clearly trying something that aint working and I reckon the player group as a whole are not behind it. This lack of confidence is not helping right from disposal issues to not wanting to chase. Get back to basics, in a nutshell how Harvey played himself and I think we will see a change in our fortunes. Enough waffle from me. Never posted much but read the site regularily so Gday everyone, been a member since day dot and will be one for life.

Catchya

While I agree to an extent on bringing Campbell in, he hasnt exactly set the world on fire in the WAFL. Only the 2 games this year so far but has kicked the 5 goals.

I would be looking at playing McPharlin forward, I honestly dont think Adelaide would now have 2 defenders capable of going with both Pavlich and McPharlin in the air. Send Tarrant to the backline where he can take one of Tippett/Walker.

I would also play Crowley on Porplyzia, probably will be the crows most dangerous goal kicker this week. Solomon to play across Half Forward with a defensive tag on McLeod/Johncock.

Use Kepler Bradley down forward during his break from backing up Sandilands in the ruck.

If Hayden is fit to play I reckon we will see a return of Ibbotson in the midfield, even if Hayden doesnt play this must happen. Looks a bit lost down back in a key defensive role, we need his creativity and pace through the midfield.

Not many will agree with me here but imo Hill should be dropped back to West Perth for at least a couple of weeks. We have to remember Hill is not a Palmer, a Joel Selwood or a Daniel Rich. To get 15 games out of him in his debut year would have been a huge effort considering his size. We have given him a taste of the big time but now its time to go back and get some form up and force his way back into the lineup. He is only a kid and a bit much to expect 22 games from him just yet.

Out: Thornton, Head, Hill, Browne
In: Hayden, Broughton, Gilmore, Hinkley

Tarrant played his best game for Fremantle in round one at fullback then was poor last week as a forward so why do people want to move him back to the forward line?

B- Hayden Tarrant McPharlin
HB- Broughton Grover Mundy
C- Ibbotson Duffield Schammer**
HF- Bradley Solomon Hinkley
F- Peake Pavlich Johnson

R- Sandilands Hasleby Palmer

Int- Suban Crowley Dodd Thornton

In- Hayden Broughton Hinkley
Out- Hill Head Browne (I'd drop Thornton aswell but it won't happen)

**If Schammer's unavailable I'd play Gilmore

Tarrant played his best game for Fremantle in round one at fullback then was poor last week as a forward so why do people want to move him back to the forward line?

B- Hayden Tarrant McPharlin
HB- Broughton Grover Mundy
C- Ibbotson Duffield Schammer**
HF- Bradley Solomon Hinkley
F- Peake Pavlich Johnson

R- Sandilands Hasleby Palmer

Int- Suban Crowley Dodd Thornton

In- Hayden Broughton Hinkley
Out- Hill Head Browne (I'd drop Thornton aswell but it won't happen)

**If Schammer's unavailable I'd play Gilmore

tarrant was not poor last week

Tarrant started at FB, plus lead hard all day and created and led his man to the ball.

If you actually listened to the commentary, you could here that he was working his arse off, was being ignored, but still kept going.
Unlike our erstwhile leader who dropped his bundle and refused to chase

All well and good but I'm sure we didn't give up a top ten pick and Medders for 9 possessions and no goals in his 3 quarters as a forward. He shits his pants infront of goal but played well at fullback round one so leave him there.

There's room for Tarrant, Grover and McPharlin down back. Add Tarrant and Hayden to the back six for Duffield and Head and all of a sudden the backline looks a lot more potent.

All well and good but I'm sure we didn't give up a top ten pick and Medders for 9 possessions and no goals in his 3 quarters as a forward. He shits his pants infront of goal but played well at fullback round one so leave him there.

There's room for Tarrant, Grover and McPharlin down back. Add Tarrant and Hayden to the back six for Duffield and Head and all of a sudden the backline looks a lot more potent.

Absolutely spot on Dom. The free ride Tarrant gets here compared to players like Mundy, Peake, Johnson and now even Pav is staggering. We are so grateful he bobs up with 10 possies it goes unmentioned he kicked 1 point from a sitter.
I like your idea for the backline. Duff would be very good playing mostly forward of centre as he usually kicks a good ball into the 50. Head would look great for Souths tomorrow night at Medibank.

just on The West site. Hopefully it's not just the journo cutting & pasting BigFooty...

Subiaco defender Greg Broughton and Claremont midfielder Matt de Boer are tipped to join fellow first year players Stephen Hill and Nic Suban in the team to play Adelaide at Subiaco Oval on Sunday. Experienced defender Roger Hayden remains just a 50-50 chance to return from a hamstring injury.

Depends on the break really. I broke my nose in my cycling days and needed surgery to piece it together again. Wore a mask for about a week and wasn't allowed on my bike for that time.

My eyes just started watering reading this