Changes For Next Week

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Thats obvious, everyone knows that. Both Cotch and King are in that same position because they both play inside contested footy in different roles. 50% of Kings possessions were contested on Saturday, yet when King makes a mistake the whole world bags him, yet when Cotch does they make excuses.

Hold on, Cotch isn't some protected species, beside the few elbows the boy throws around play which King showed he is more than capable off also on the weekend Cotch doesn't stuff it up on the whole.

King on the other hand is prone to 3 brain fades of large magnitude a game. End of the day I think he will play next week and even I have him almost 1st picked Vs Pies

My edit came in response to yours as you well know. I'm not whinging about what you post, I'm criticising it as repetitive, blinkered and lacking in understanding. I'm not the first. You do bang on like a dunny door about the same things, week-in, week-out. Add Tuck to the list.

Go through my recent posting history. I have my views about them but try to find me "banging on" about Jackson, Tambling and Tuck "week in week out". I bet you can't. What a load of crap.

As for who cracked the sads, I criticised your argument, then you got insulting. I just responded. Don't worry kid, I won't be bothered from now on.

You were cracking the sads because you didn't like what I said.

Its not a kicking efficiency stat, but efficiency of every time you touch/dispose the ball. If it was a crock, why would teams want Champion Data to persist with it?

McGuane has better DE% than Deledio. Who has the better disposal?

King has better DE% than Cotchin. Who has the better disposal?

King has the same DE% as Dal Santo. Who has the better disposal?

McGuane has a better DE% than GAJ. Who has the better disposal?

As I've said before, it's a flawed stat that doesn't tell the full story.

Its interesting people use the fact that Cotchin wins possessions in contested situations and as such he is entitled to have a lower disposal efficiency because of thise fact, yet King gets hammered for being a turnover merchant because his disposals don't hit the target. Well according to pro-stats.com.au:

Cotchin has played 14 games and averages 20.5 disposals per game with 12.1 contested possessions at 66.2% efficiency.
King has played 9 games and averages 12.9 disposals per game with 9 contested possessions at 54.4% efficiency

Summary: King gets 70-75% of his possessions in contested situations and is effective with just over half his disposals. Cotchin gets around 40-45% of his possessions in contested situations and is effective with 2/3 of his disposals. Now I wonder what the King bashers will come up with to excuse these facts. I guess its just a flawed stat that doesn't tell the full story

OUT: Jackson (susp), Griffiths (shoulder), Nason (eye) Nahas

IN:
Tambling: According Hardwicks post-match he will be straight back in this week.

Morton: Time to give him another crack. With Riewoldt getting the attention he does, there is no reason why he couldnt kick 3 or 4 a week.

Cuz: See Tambling. No point risking Nason. He has played 15 games in a row in his first season. A great effort. Give him a rest and bring him back for the Pies. If not King comes out

McGuane: He is best 22, and deserves to come straight back if hes right. Send Astbury forward.

Its interesting people use the fact that Cotchin wins possessions in contested situations and as such he is entitled to have a lower disposal efficiency because of thise fact, yet King gets hammered for being a turnover merchant because his disposals don't hit the target. Well according to pro-stats.com.au:

Cotchin has played 14 games and averages 20.5 disposals per game with 12.1 contested possessions at 66.2% efficiency.
King has played 9 games and averages 12.9 disposals per game with 9 contested possessions at 54.4% efficiency

Summary: King gets 70-75% of his possessions in contested situations and is effective with just over half his disposals. Cotchin gets around 40-45% of his possessions in contested situations and is effective with 2/3 of his disposals. Now I wonder what the King bashers will come up with to excuse these facts. I guess its just a flawed stat that doesn't tell the full story
Another little dig RW ?

Pro-Stats is crap for mine use the champ data ones. King has 53/98 Cotch 136/276
Even using that King gets more than 50% of his possessions in a contested situation so could be excused for having a poor disposal efficeincy when compared to Cotchin. If you add to that the fact that King isn't as skilled as Cotchin and you have to wonder what people expect. If excuses are going to be made for some who win contested footy they should apply to others that also win contested footy.

IN:

Morton: Time to give him another crack. With Riewoldt getting the attention he does, there is no reason why he couldnt kick 3 or 4 a week.

Cuz: See Tambling. No point risking Nason. He has played 15 games in a row in his first season. A great effort. Give him a rest and bring him back for the Pies. If not King comes out

McGuane: He is best 22, and deserves to come straight back if hes right. Send Astbury forward.
Agree completely, expect I'd leave in Nahas and make Tambling work for his spot at Coburg. Would be really interested to see if he would dominate the VFL or not. Nason deserves a rest too.
give him a good rest for the one we really want tugg. Our backline doesnt need to be top heavy against the roos. ****, we now have the luxury to pick horses for courses. ;)
I agree about the horses for courses comment, but really if we ever want a top heavy backline it's against the Roos. Goldstein in great form, McIntosh, Lachie Hansen who I really rate, not sure if Petrie's out of not, but if he is Hale will come in, plus Robbie Tarrant who played down back last week but can do either end. Having said all that our main danger, apart from Hansen if he gets going, is Lindsay Thomas. Wouldn't mind seeing Farmer kill him.

RICHMOND
Luke McGuane (ankle) test
Tom Hislop (patella) indefinite
Matt Dea (foot) indefinite
Nathan Foley (leg) season
Adam Thompson (groin) season
Ben Griffiths (shoulder) season

NORTH MELBOURNE

Nathan Grima (ankle) test
Majak Daw (knee) 2 weeks
Liam Anthony (shoulder) 3-4 weeks
Jack Ziebell (broken leg) 5-11 weeks
Aaron Black (hip) indefinite
Drew Petrie (foot) indefinite
Ben Ross (hip/groin) indefinite

Any danger of Browne getting a game this weekend in place of Griff? Have 3 ruckmen in, a bit like north do wirh Hale, McIntosh Petrie and Goldstein (They usually play at least three when fit) and throw Gus and Ty forward when they get the chance?

Also a bit worried about who takes L. Thomas, love Mitchy Farmer offensively, will be good to see if he can do it both ways if he gets first crack.

I'd be very tempted to bite the bullet and play Newman on Thomas, if we can keep him quiet we will win this game, we can probably cover Newmans run now connors, lids and mitch all looking good.

RICHMOND
Luke McGuane (ankle) test
Tom Hislop (patella) indefinite
Matt Dea (foot) indefinite
Nathan Foley (leg) season
Adam Thompson (groin) season
Ben Griffiths (shoulder) season

NORTH MELBOURNE
Nathan Grima (ankle) test
Majak Daw (knee) 2 weeks
Liam Anthony (shoulder) 3-4 weeks
Jack Ziebell (broken leg) 5-11 weeks
Aaron Black (hip) indefinite
Drew Petrie (foot) indefinite
Ben Ross (hip/groin) indefinite

North's list updated:

NORTH MELBOURNE
Liam Anthony (shoulder) - 3-4 weeks
Aaron Black (hip) - indefinite
Majak Daw (knee) - 2 weeks
Cruize Garlett (calf) - 3-4 weeks
Nathan Grima (ankle) - test
Scott McMahon (knee) - 2-3 weeks
Drew Petrie (foot) - indefinite
Ben Ross (hip/groin) - indefinite
Jack Ziebell (leg) - indefinite

IN:

I don't think Morton deserves another go, we should be giving some of our younger CP guys ago, Gourdis and Post. And I do not believe McGuane is now in our best 22 and again we should look to promot Gourdis at some stage, even start rotating Thursfeid, McGuan.

McGuane would be the perfect replacement for Ben Griffiths at CHF

Surely Nason won't miss out because of a cut under his eye?

He also got concussed twice.

Says on the AFL website in the Jackson article that Nason will miss. Don't mind it, a rest will do him good as he's only a light bodied kid in his 1st year of AFL.

He also got concussed twice.

Says on the AFL website in the Jackson article that Nason will miss. Don't mind it, a rest will do him good as he's only a light bodied kid in his 1st year of AFL.

Yeah, now thinking back I remember that.

It wouldn't look real good if he ran out and got K.O'd again this week.

well RT you got something right stats by themselves are indeed flawed and dont tell the whole story.
you are being a tad mischievious to infer otherwise.

lets look at kicking as an effective disposal.
lets look at say an elite kick and an ordinary kick yet both will be classified as effective.

hmm martin streams out of the backline has few options but sees a richmond player 40 mtrs away with 3 opposition players in the area. he most times will drill a low flat hard pass to his team mate and majke that pass 7 times out of 10.
then you have someone like mcguane coming off the backline with good options 40 metres up the ground but he will do one of several things. stop prop and go sideways or backwards and halt momentum but he will hit his target 20 metres away 6 times out 7., or he will kick the ball to the 40 metre option but the ball travels so slowly it becomes a contest but this is still regarded as an effective kick.or he will directly turn it over he will do this 2 or 3 times out of 3. this is just one scenario of many where poor kicks are registering good efficiency ratings when in effect they are killing us.

yep stats without the whole are indeed flawed.