Changes for next week

Beams has had a fantastic fun of form for about 2 months. I don't agree with dropping him after one poor (very poor) game. I wouldn't be dropping someone with that much quality for a Grand Final. Throw our best 22 in there. He's definitely in it.

Hmmmmm His forward pressure was immense in last years finals.......

I can't remember how he went last year so I dunno if ur serious

I'm just watching the game on tv again. I think this is the first time that beams has played predominantly forward line all year. And hawks defense was fantastic last night. I think he'll b better next week.

Oh and I reckon Reid will b ok. He looked restricted but he could have been subbed. He'll play.
Swan on ABC radio said today that jolly feels good so I reckon he'll play. He competed well in ruck last night.

Sidey's last quarter was outstanding, go watch it again, clean, broke open space, hit targets. Amazing.

Yer mate. I was saying that I disagree with people's negativity on sidey. He has been great for a while now and I'm sick of ppl suggesting that he and Blair are lucky to stay in. They are our forward pressure.

Sidebottom has not played as well this year. Certainly he has provided much of the tackling pressure but he has not lifted in the finals in the manner of last year. Blair simply tries to do too much when he has the ball. Both need to focus on having a big game on Saturday.

I hope one change for Geelong will be S Johnson out! Surely he cannot do a Buddy on us and play next week!

OUT: Krak/Didak
IN: Goldsack

These two get pushed off the ball too much and can't tackle. Goldy's tackles stick and I think we'll need that against the Cats. He can play forward or back, I just like the thought of him playing.

Agreed with this. Our tackling was bad last night. Goldsack might not have the best disposal, but you know he will attack the ball which is more than you can say for a few players recently.

Goldsack is looking more and more likely to play against the Cats.

His flexibility is vital and I've always maintained that. Will be stiff for whoever goes out but he probably needs to play to give us options on a variety of Cats mediums/smalls and may have to chop out on talls pending on how Reid is going.

A role on Scarlett may also come into play.

A bit of perspective on Beams, was our best player in the last 6-8 weeks of the season along with Swan and he always plays well against the Cats..

Not sure he deserves to be dropped after one match

OUT: Krak/Didak
IN: Goldsack

Im thinking the same thing. The big bodies of Geelong will just brush past either of them.

Flip a coin on this one.

After looking at the two teams from this week and putting some match ups togather, I think Goldsack needs to come in and play as a deffensive forward for Beams. I would love if MaCaffer was match fit becuase we need him. Must have great forward preasure against the Cats if we are to win. I agree with the poster above about Krakouer being pushed off to easily by Geelong players. I will probs have Fasolo marginly ahead of krakouer due to body size. So they would be my two changes. Does anyone think MaCaffer is a chance to play?

Goldsack must come in as insurance or as a direct rreplacement for Reid. Fasolo may be a more useful sub than Didak. Didak cannot be expected to deliver what he has failed all year to produce. Krakouer and Beams probably get another chance because of our actual lack of real depth, even though both were awful against the Hawks. Leon once again is looking suspect at finals' time - am I alone in worrying how he will go against the Geelong strong bodies. Keefe is the only other player I'd consider but not against the hard bodies of Geelong in a GF. Better an injured Reid.

Wood for Jolly or for Brown is self evident given Brown's ordinary performance all year and Jolly's injury. We will probably take an injured Reid into the GF (because there is no one else) so Jolly either plays forward/second ruck to Wood or Jolly is relaced in the team by Wood. Either way, Wood plays.

Agreed, Blair's been great, little bulldozer, just ploughs through tackles, a man has to know his limitations though lol, reckon he should put the specky back in the trick bag for next year.

In: Golsack
Out: Beams

I love beams, but he is not good enough as a forward to warrant selection. That was shown last night. He needs to play midfield which is where he finds the ball regularly and uses it well, and can sneak forward and snag one. When he plays solely up forward he has a man, doesn't have the freedom.

Was listening to tripple m this morning and what they said was spot on, yeah he only had 2 disposals, but he had no pressure acts, minimal tackles. This is where Blair, Sidebottom and Krak are so good.

If beams isn't going to play on ball he shoudn't play. Something Collingwood have lacked has been a macaffer like 3rd tall in the forward line. Goldsack could act as a swingman playing a defensive role as 3rd tall on scarlett so we can isolate Lonergan/Taylor on Cloke/Dawes. Or if we happen to role dice on Reid and he gets injured he can swing back and play key backman.

Didak is not going to deliver some magic we have all expected, Leon proved that in last years grand final, He is clearly out of form. He wont get dropped, but his frail stature means he doesn't lay tackles. However i would keep him in, He has a proven record against the cats, i would use him as a sub i reckon. I remember late in the season against the cats last year he was BOG. I know hes a different player but he always seems to play well against them.

Fasolo, should not play. Is a promising kid but seriously looked out of his depth against Geelong last time. Bigger bodies just bullied him.

In: Golsack
Out: Beams

I love beams, but he is not good enough as a forward to warrant selection. That was shown last night. He needs to play midfield which is where he finds the ball regularly and uses it well, and can sneak forward and snag one. When he plays solely up forward he has a man, doesn't have the freedom.

Was listening to tripple m this morning and what they said was spot on, yeah he only had 2 disposals, but he had no pressure acts, minimal tackles. This is where Blair, Sidebottom and Krak are so good.

If beams isn't going to play on ball he shoudn't play. Something Collingwood have lacked has been a macaffer like 3rd tall in the forward line. Goldsack could act as a swingman playing a defensive role as 3rd tall on scarlett so we can isolate Lonergan/Taylor on Cloke/Dawes. Or if we happen to role dice on Reid and he gets injured he can swing back and play key backman.

Didak is not going to deliver some magic we have all expected, Leon proved that in last years grand final, He is clearly out of form. He wont get dropped, but his frail stature means he doesn't lay tackles. However i would keep him in, He has a proven record against the cats, i would use him as a sub i reckon. I remember late in the season against the cats last year he was BOG. I know hes a different player but he always seems to play well against them.

Fasolo, should not play. Is a promising kid but seriously looked out of his depth against Geelong last time. Bigger bodies just bullied him.

Agree with your point about Goldsack as a defensive forward. Has the size, pace and leap to trouble Scarlett so could provide an offensive target as well.

On Didak, I don't know. He has shown absolutely nothing for too long. He ain't going to all of a sudden kick into gear in the GF.

I would bring in Fasolo for Didak. I know he didn't look the part last time against the Cats, but the whole team looked out of place. He's a cocky kid who could provide that X-Factor. Didak to me looks a yard slower this year and is always getting himself into pressure situations because of it.

The addition of both Fasolo and Goldsack would give us a lift in pace and both are better at putting on pressure when we don't have the ball.

Would not start Fasolo on the ground though, as several players will be physically targeted in the first quarter. So we need big Leroy out there doing some targeting of our own first up.

Goldsack must come in as insurance or as a direct rreplacement for Reid. Fasolo may be a more useful sub than Didak. Didak cannot be expected to deliver what he has failed all year to produce. Krakouer and Beams probably get another chance because of our actual lack of real depth, even though both were awful against the Hawks. Leon once again is looking suspect at finals' time - am I alone in worrying how he will go against the Geelong strong bodies. Keefe is the only other player I'd consider but not against the hard bodies of Geelong in a GF. Better an injured Reid.

Wood for Jolly or for Brown is self evident given Brown's ordinary performance all year and Jolly's injury. We will probably take an injured Reid into the GF (because there is no one else) so Jolly either plays forward/second ruck to Wood or Jolly is relaced in the team by Wood. Either way, Wood plays.

Agree 100%.

If we accept the points made above regarding Beams being a mid-fielder and not a forward, who replaces him in the forward line if he is played solely as a mid-fielder? Goldsack? Can't see it myself unless he is going to kick goals as welll as negate. I have a feeling he made play in defence as reid must surely be very doubtful.

Macaffer if fit and in form would have really added some grunt to the forward line. Is there no one in the mid field who could swap roles with Beams so he plays exclusively mid field?

I have been persuaded that Fasolo is a better option than Didak provided he is the sub. Dids has been given chance after chance to produce something near his best football but has fallen well short.

If we accept the points made above regarding Beams being a mid-fielder and not a forward, who replaces him in the forward line if he is played solely as a mid-fielder? Goldsack? Can't see it myself unless he is going to kick goals as welll as negate. I have a feeling he made play in defence as reid must surely be very doubtful.

Macaffer if fit and in form would have really added some grunt to the forward line. Is there no one in the mid field who could swap roles with Beams so he plays exclusively mid field?

I have been persuaded that Fasolo is a better option than Didak provided he is the sub. Dids has been given chance after chance to produce something near his best football but has fallen well short.

yeah i understand where your coming from.

I am really starting to turn on dids now, but to be realistic, in big finals tackling, pressure and hardness at the footy are paramount. Didak hasn't looked like doing any off those things. It is highly likely that he will still play, Mick shows unbelievable faith in his players, and especially players of the ilk of didak. However he will not shy away from the tough call.

I really want Goldsack back in the team, even if Reid gets up, he could act as insurance if a tall goes down. I would really like him playing defensive forward on Scarlett, Ala Brent Macaffer on Sam Fisher last season. It is the one area i think we are lacking in the forward line, although seeing as he rarely plays up forward, it wont happen.

As for Beams, yes you have a point. In the midfield he is behind; Swan, Pendlebury, Ball, Thomas, Wellingham who are seen as our core 5 mids. I was surprised he didn't get much run in there on friday, I would play him in middle, but if mick isn't going to he serves no value to side. He was woeful in last years finals series playing in the same role. Didak or Fasolo are much more conventional half forward types who would play better roles up forward.

I just cant get Fasolo's poor game out of my mind, i dont know why, but he seemed over awed by the whole scenario in round 24. We would be throwing him into the deep end thats for sure, only way he would play would be as a Sub.

Out

Brown (assuming Jolly's fit)
Beams (seen enough of Beams in finals, time to move on)

In

Wood
Fasolo (we are seriously lacking flair, he can provide)

Just out of curiosity, are any posters still up for omitting Maxwell for anyone else still living/playing?

Changes for next week