Changes for Perth

Smith won't come in for Doherty.

It's either for North or it's not at all.

It's either Hauritz or a paceman for Doherty or Doherty keeps his place.

There is no way the selectors will replace Doherty with someone who won't be any better in the wicket taking column. It would be a backwards move.

They replaced Hauritz in the same scenario.

Does anyone happen to know Steve Smiths batting average this season? Would be very lucky to crack 30 I reckon.

25, and you can bet he'll be disappointed with it. He hasn't converted his 50s into 100s, which was a strength of his last season (he may even have had a 100% conversion rate). He's still a gun batsman, just maybe losing concentration perhaps? He is generally getting starts and isn't falling in the same way each time, so it doesn't appear to be a technical issue. He's young, raw, and he'll be back, but it's indicative that he's probably got some maturing to do before he's ready for Test cricket.

For the record, his bowling average this season is a very solid (for a spinner in Australia who isn't Steve O'Keefe) 38, with a SR under 60, and he bowled beautifully and with much more control than usual (generally) for NSW today. He is looking much improved already in that department.

to be fair to haury he's put his head down and got on with it in positive fashion since punter shafted him and brought his tassie mate in. i'd still prefer sok though. sounds like johnsons coming in for bollinger:confused:

Bolliner out after one test for johnson is kinda weird.

He wasn't at his best but he was still a heck of a lot better than the tripe johnson has been bowling lately.

It looks like we are doomed to waste years on johnson like england did with harmi, ponting never wanted him dropped and the selectors just dropped him for a match to sate the media and fans, in theirs minds he's a constant match winner.

I mean seriously what could he have done in the past week in the nets and serving drinks to warrant a recall, considering just how far off the pace he was at the gabba he should have been down the bottom of the list of quicks to be called up.

If Steve Smith goes into the WACA test, he will go for 0- 450 in both innings.

Mate pull your head in and stop polluting the forum.

He wasn't at his best but he was still a heck of a lot better than the tripe johnson has been bowling lately.

His first spell was allright. After that there was a lot of tripe. And slow tripe.

He looked like he needed about another 150 overs of bowling.

In Hughes
Out Katich

In Smith
Out Doherty

In Khawaja
Out North

In Johnson
Out Siddle

Yeah, I'm also one who'd be drastic and make four changes. We're not going to win with our current side. I don't know why I'm including Johnson but I just think if we're going to win this series that he's going to be the guy to lift and help us there.

It looks like we are doomed to waste years on johnson like england did with harmi, ponting never wanted him dropped and the selectors just dropped him for a match to sate the media and fans, in theirs minds he's a constant match winner.

I mean seriously what could he have done in the past week in the nets and serving drinks to warrant a recall, considering just how far off the pace he was at the gabba he should have been down the bottom of the list of quicks to be called up.

Mate pull your head in and stop polluting the forum.

His first spell was allright. After that there was a lot of tripe. And slow tripe.

He looked like he needed about another 150 overs of bowling.

And johnson needs about 150 more than that.

I guess bollinger can serve the drinks at the WACA, that should have him in prime shape for the 4th test....
:D :thumbsu:

Completely agree with your initial post. I'm staggered that people are including Johnson in their teams for the 3rd test. The was a guy who was dropped just over a week ago because he failed to take a single wicket and was struggling to land the ball on the pitch. He had no control, wasn't ever really threatening to take wickets, and yet all of a sudden we're sending out an SOS for him to play in Perth? What the? He's only bowled in the nets, hasn't played in any matches to get some match form back, and the Poms have admitted that they are aware of his tactics and they aren't falling for his old ploys which used to generate wickets. Johnson's in need of a long stint in the SS to regain any semblance of form.

Well they didn't really have to worry about leaving the one going across them, because he wasn't really putting in anywhere that gave them a chance to nick it, so of course they are going to say that.

Disagree completely. He bowls the same crap to every team and they get sucked into trying to drive a full wide one that they end up toe edging/low outside edge through to the keeper or slips. The poms batted perfect to him in this regard.

If Johnson comes back in for the Perth test for Bollinger, we will lose.

A fair bit of revisionist history of his career.

But my point being that with Cook (1st and 2nd) and Strauss (2nd) being out there alot he couldn't exactly angle it across them. And he couldn't keep off the right handers pads.

"North out, Smith in
Bollinger out, Johnson in
Dohers out, Hauritz in
Katich out, Hughes in"

Disagree with Smith and MJ being in, Hauritz and Hughes were obvious enough. Although I'm surprised they have picked Hauritz.

Of course this could be wrong and the guy could be be lying - although from memory he's been leaked the squad a couple of times and has been spot on. But it is worth noting the first two paragraphs of this FoxSports article:

"North's position in Australia's Test team is in jeopardy as selectors mull a possible four changes in a bid to save the Ashes series.

The squad for the third Test in Perth starting next Thursday was expected to be named Friday, with New South Wales teammates Hauritz and Hughes set for inclusion."

http://www.foxsports.com.au/cricket...h-for-ashes-test/story-e6frf3gl-1225968487800

It's a lottery whoever gets picked, but I find this non-playing of Johnson in the Shield nutso regardless of whether he is in the test team or not. That bloke needs to bowl in matches.

I wouldn't want to be a selector right now though as they have backed themselves into such a corner with the batsmen through their own stupidity, it isn't funny.

I found it odd that Steve Waugh was complaining about the selectors having chopped and changed so much during the last 12 months. They only time they have brought in players is when forced to through injury. They haven't taken one pro-active decision - unless you count Doherty in the first Ashes test match.

Johnson coming back in after a few sessions pissfarting around in the nets is an utter ****ing disgrace. Absolutely staggering. He's bowled trash for the majority of his career barring two test series nearly 2 years ago, I find it hard to believe he's become a competent bowler after spending a week in the nets with superfraud Troy.

Disappointing for Bolly but the timing of his injury has really had a massive impact on his preparation and output. When he's up and going he's probably our best bowler but he looked a shadow of himself in the last Test.

Love the inclusions of Hughes and Smith. They are the future and need to be given every opportunity.

Unfortunate for Khawaja but he will get his chance in due course, no doubt.

i know our selectors are a pack of incompetent muppets but i'm still not ready to believe this stuff about johnson miraculously making the team.

the guy was absolutely shot with absolutely no confidence or belief in himself, an embarrassment to watch, a massive drag on the team and a massive psychological booster for the poms. and that was barely a week ago. if they've backtracked and brought him back in it would be a case of absolutely mindblowing muppetry on a scale never before seen.

unbelievable if true. he and siddle will do sfa again and tie down 2 spots. for gods sake give copeland a go.

hauritz aswell eh? "people of springfield, i am hereby flip-flopping"

Woohoo!!!!!!!!

No Doherty, thank goodness. Well done Foundation, we have almost done it in record time.

Smith for North is fair enough, he is good enough to bat at 6. Hauritz is a better bowler than Doherty AND a better batsman.