- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- West Coast
this rioli injury seems worse then they lead on ngl

LIVE: St Kilda v Hawthorn - Rd 12 - 7:30PM Thu
Squiggle tips Hawks at 66% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 12 Games
Lost the game at selection, far too tall going in against Brisbane
In: Kennedy, Rioli, Watson, McInnes
Out: Waterman, Cole, Brander, Hickey
Out: a couple of talls
In: a couple of zippy midfielders
GWS will carve us up with pace if we go in that big & slow again
Some of you lot can not fathom a bench make up...like stuff names..Brander will get his time after JK.
Darling, Waterman, Allen, Brander and 2 ruckman was way too excessive and we lacked run obviously across a 4 Qtr game. With Cripps and Rioli back it creates more run on the interchange bench by having them 2 start. This season is not going to suit having too many in and under players that are slow like Masto.
Id like to think Petruccelle is going to be kept with these new rules.
McInnis would probably have been a better fit than Hickey for round 1, but oh well. I agree he's not headed for a spot in the 22 unless something crazy happens though.McInnes has nothing to offer in AFL sadly. Don’t understand the Watson in for Cole either.

So ....... get rid of the hangover but replace it with a cold?In: Ah Chee
Everyone else: Sacked
Premiership hangover solved - back-to-back confirmed.
Agree - was gobsmacked with the side the selection committee decided to go with up in Brissie in humid conditions - one word that comes to mind is "stupidity". Would have thought Ah Chee would have got a guernsey for better balance.Playing 2 x rucks, 4 x Key Forwards, 2.5 x Key Defenders (if you include the big boy Hurn who plays on the 3rd tall) in feral Qld conditions where it becomes a 'scrub it along the ground the furthest' match every single time, the same as in Tasmania.
No wonder we got belted.
Its even worse than the effort of selecting a side that they put in to play against NM in Tassie last year. (From memory they picked Barrass, McGovern, Schofield & Hurn to play on a B.Brown only forward-line.)
I'm filthy that's the way we started the season. Kudos to Brissy for wanting it more & working harder, but if you put a team with your forward-line average height of 194cm accross 5 of your 6 forwards when none of them could stick a mark in slippery conditions - which you knew were coming, you're going to be exposed by any team.
Everyone out here blaming the mids when the first 'position' that let down the club was the selection committee - and not for the first time.
Hickey was lost, sure, but 1st game with a new club. Also recognize the efforts of other 'mvp' candidate rucks like Grundy & Gawn this round, either somethings changed with the way rucks impact the game now, or it was just the shitty conditions across the country for football to be played at a high-skill standard
That makes Hagdorn comments make more sense - surprise surprise - he just said that Rioli wouldn't be available for selection to make the trip to Brissie but did not make mention of any particular injury! Why the Club kept the reason so secretive is a bit mind boggling though?Why wouldn’t the club, who has a history of being very open with these things (Schofield, Cole off the top of my head) come out and say that? Why would they fabricate a foot injury to a promising player ahead of Round One?
That makes Hagdorn comments make more sense - surprise surprise - he just said that Rioli wouldn't be available for selection to make the trip to Brissie but did not make mention of any particular injury! Why the Club kept the reason so secretive is a bit mind boggling though?
Before selection heard that Vardy was in doubt so perhaps with hindsight it may have been better to hold Vardy over.Hurn Barrass Sheppard
Cole Gov Jetta
Sheed Redden Masten
Petch Darling Allen
Rioli Kennedy Ryan
R - Hickey, Shuey, Yeo
I - Hutchings, Duggan, Venables, Smith
In Kennedy, Smith, Rioli
Out Vardy, Brander, Waterman
Vards is carrying something.
We were too top heavy.
Brander wasnt our worse, but I'm choosing Petch over him
I look at Masten and I see the same thing I have seen for almost 200 games: what is he really offering?
He offers no defensive pressure and rarely tackles
He is extremely weak over the ball
Has barely won a contested possession in his life
Doesn't hurt teams at all on the scoreboard
The counter argument seems to be his capacity to run, which would be great.......if this were a track and field team.
Footy requires far more then just an great aerobic capacity or the capacity to run an excellent 3km time trial