Changes For Round 2

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Here's the dilemma.

We lacked aggression and intensity and our skills were poor.

We need aggression and hardness, we're looking at guys like Thomson, Hislop and King. None of those guys skills are crash hot!!!

For what it's worth, changes for next week. I seriously think Terry will give Jordy the wake up call he deserves and drop him. I seriously do!

Obviously Cousins and Raines will be out.

Edwards will get the flick, along with Browne and Jordy.

Ins: Polo, Rance, Thomson, Hislop/Collins and Graham.

Skills out of defence were poor especiallly, except for Raines who's possibly injured and out.

What i'd be more concerned about are the positions and matchups.

Why was Bowden not in defence? Why was Lids doing the kick in? Put them in the positions they're supposed to be in in the first place and you'll cut the errors down by half. Thurstfield should've been on Fev with Mcguane taking the 2nd tall when needed.

Riewoldt worked hard but still needs to kick straight. Set him up as a half forward and have Simmonds in the goal square. And ffs keep Richo on the wing as a go to man. God knows his engine never stops so why park him in the forward line where his goal kicking is still suspect?

Out: Raines, Cousins, Schulz, McMahon, Edwards, Jackson

In: Rance, Thomson, Post, Collins, Connors, Polo

Now I'd change the structure of the 22. Something like this.

Tambling---Moore---Thursfield
Newman--McGuane--Deledio
Thomson---Brown---Richardson
Morton---Riewoldt---Connors
Bowden----Post----White
Simmonds---Foley----Tuck

Browne---Rance---Collins---Polo

This side has a reasonable balance of skills, experience and big bodies. We need far better kicks of the ball coming out of defense, so Deledio goes in, and Tambling is an improvement on Raines. Post should be given a shot at FF, Schulz is never going to be the answer and the kid has a big body and can take a grab. White provides some defensive forward pressure where none existed last night. Connors provides another class avenue to goal. Rance should be played as a HB/Wingman with some limited KP defense time. Polo and Thomson come in to provide some much needed toughness.

That's about as good as we can get it I feel. Still won't be anywhere near good enough to beat Geelong.

Not a bad side, only problem I got with it is Bowden in the FP. I would put Polak on LTI, upgrade Nahas and play him there as a crumber and for defensive pressure. Bowden is long gone in my opinion. Also Connors is injured for another 2 weeks or so.

Yup I'd do the same. I'd play Conners with a broken finger, just give the guy a jab. What I'd like to know is where is this fantastic depth people have been crapping on about?

OUT: Cousins, Raines, McMahon, Edwards
In: Thomson, King, polo, hislop

If Mcmahon doesnt get dropped its an absolute disgrace, yeh doubt he will because wallace wont want to admit he was a shocking pick up.

Now i thought i was gonna through a spanner in the works but beaver fever has beat me to it. That is, deledio has got to be our distributor down back. We have enough forward depth, we have enough midfield depth, what we need is a decent kick out of defence. Could be quite similiar to andrew mackie, yet better :thumbsu:

King, hislop and thomson's inclusion are simply about getting some more pressure on the ball and alot more tackles.

Whites game last night was one shinning light and should get more gametime in the middle.

ROUND 2.

--King--------Thursfield-------Moore--

--Newman----Mcguane-------Deledio--

--Tambling-----Tuck------Richardson--

--White-------Riewoldt------Bowden--

--Brown------Morton---------Hislop--

--Simmonds----Foley----Jackson-----

Shultz, Thomson, Polo and Browne

* King to play on stokes, newman on chapman and deledio to try play loose. Hopefully deledio can drop into mooney and johsons line and also be our rebound player.
Note to king, get it to newman or Deledio, do not kick yourself!

* Hislop for edwards, honestly, the kids way to skinny not hard enough. I heard wallace talk about hislop as playing up forward providing us with some much needed pressure.

* Whites delivery was excellent into the forward 50 and bowden should get loose too as he is another one of our better kickers. think houlihan last night just knocking off pass after pass into their forward 50.

out. edwards, mcmahon, cousins, raines
in: polo, collins, rance, Thompson

Hurry up Cogs and Cotch.

Also whilst having a piss at the footy last night who should stand next to me but Jake King; was not a happy camper, and that had nothing to do with the fact the dunny stank like a dead dogs arse

If I was coach, I'd drop Bowden, Cousins, Browne and Edwards and bring in Graham, Polo, Thomson and Rance.

I think Wallace will drop Cousins and Browne for Graham and Polo.

This is what will probably happen:

Out: Raines and Cousins
In: King and Thomson

Terry will use the excuse that the players need to redeem themselves, and we end up getting beaten by 45-60 points. Geelong to have a bad game.

This is what will probably happen:

Out: Raines and Cousins
In: King and Thomson

Terry will use the excuse that the players need to redeem themselves, and we end up getting beaten by 45-60 points. Geelong to have a bad game.

agree.

hes gotta drop McMahon though or ill lose all faith, give rance a ****ing go running off half back. Atleast he will have drive and will be able to lay a tackle.

Is Raines out?
If so, he'll be dropped too, and maybe Thomson will be brought in. Or Rance.

Edit: Yes he is, thanks Herald Sun site.

OUT - mcmahon, Browne, Raines, Cousins, Bowden and the rest

IN - Coburg.

150pt loss. so when i place $200 on Geelong next week i should make some cash lol

you would be lucky to get back 5 bucks from that.

does anyone not think that post should get a game?
i thought matt white was terrible last night.. only did good things he did were in the last quarter when nothing mattered

No changes except for injuries.

Dropping blokes off the back of one shit game dosent do them a bit of confidence.

However, they should be told that they have to screw their heads on right or else.

Bring in Thomson for Cousins, and start him in the centre next week, I love how he chucks himself at everything, we need a bit of bitch in the middle, Thomson will bring that I reckon.

Not sure on who for Raines, either Rance or Jake King, depending on match up's.

McMahon, Brown, Deledio, Simmonds and Edwards all need to seriously look at the woeful performances they put in last week. If they put in another shit one, should consider sending them to the two's. :thumbsu:

No changes except for injuries.

Dropping blokes off the back of one shit game dosent do them a bit of confidence.

However, they should be told that they have to screw their heads on right or else.

Bring in Thomson for Cousins, and start him in the centre next week, I love how he chucks himself at everything, we need a bit of bitch in the middle, Thomson will bring that I reckon.

Not sure on who for Raines, either Rance or Jake King, depending on match up's.

McMahon, Brown, Deledio, Simmonds and Edwards all need to seriously look at the woeful performances they put in last week. If they put in another shit one, should consider sending them to the two's. :thumbsu:

So we should be happy with horrible and lazy performances and go about our merry way?

OUT: Cousins, Raines, Schulz, McMahon, Edwards

IN: Polo, Thomson, Rance, Post, Hislop

And really line-up as follow:

F: Morton Post Tambling

HF: Brown Riewoldt Bowden

W: White Jackson Richarson

HB: Deledio Moore Rance

B: McGuane Thursfield Newman

R: Simmonds Foley Tuck

INTER: Browne Thomson Polo Hislop

EMER: Collins Graham Schulz

Why is Bowden in a lot of peoples teams? He was absolutely pathetic last night. Drop him back to the VFL again or basically you're saying we are happy with his efforts. No wonder this club has been a rabble for so long, it's culture is down the toilet. Doesn't have the guts to make the hard calls. He better be dropped.

So we should be happy with horrible and lazy performances and go about our merry way?

Give them a chance to right the wrong's from the previous week.

How could you justifiably drop blokes from the side judging by a single game?

Give them a chance to right the wrong's from the previous week.

How could you justifiably drop blokes from the side judging by a single game?

Good teams cut players that put in lazy, disinterested and poor performances straight away. We shouldn't be about creating a culture that lets players get away with it for several games.

Next weeks team should be:

F: Morton Schultz tambling
hf: brown simmonds riewoldt
C: Richo Tuck Collins
HB: Polo Rance Newman
B: Moore Thursfield Bowden
R: Browne Delideo Foley
I: Jackson, White, Graham Thomson
Emerg. Mcmahon, Hislop, king, connors and some other new player

Thomson is an absolute must for you guys to get in.

I followed him closely at Sturt last year and have a real belief in his ability. He never shirks a contest and throws himself in at every contest, get high tackle counts and adds great defensive pressure. His outside game is also pretty decent but i guess Richmond already has a lot of 'outsiders'.

He will stand up and at least give a decent contest to the likes of Bartel, Ablett, Kelly, Corey, Ling and Selwood.

i really hope the boys got a spray from the coaching staff today. and from now on we need to play our best preforming 22 not the best looking 22 on paper.

Good teams cut players that put in lazy, disinterested and poor performances straight away. We shouldn't be about creating a culture that lets players get away with it for several games.

Never said about letting them get away with it several times.

This is off the back of one game, and you cannot drop blokes without giving them a chance at reprieve.

They put in another shit performance? Im with you all the way. But they need the opportunity to right the wrong's, otherwise its simply not fair. :thumbsu: