Changes For Round 2

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Re: Team v geelong-

Those calling for Polo will only have to wait another week as the king of turnovers will ensure his selection..... even if its a week too late.

Nah Polo will be so annoyed that it'll put him off his game, while Mcmahon will get 30 touches and get back into the team the next week :o

They haven't won a flag for 28 years or made the finals for 8 years. How much longer do you want me to give them?
How about a little longer than round 1 of the 09 season for a start. As I said we played crap last week but that doesn't mean we should simply abandon them. This sqaud is totally different to the one we had in 01 and is also different to the one we had last year. So while you're disappointed with last week perhaps it would be better to wait until at least we're mathematically no chance of making the finals before sinking the slipper in.

i don't have a problem with king - but no polo is bullshit:thumbsd:

i can understand the though process - we will need tougher bigger bodies to take on the cats

BUT

considering we cost smashed mainly due to turnovers against the blues.... surely King and Hislop as the ONLY changes to the team can't improve that section???

if bigger bodies is what got them in, surely edwards can't get a game? edwards struggled alot last week - surely polo or thomson could have can in as well?

Thursfield getting dropped is full on.

How about a little longer than round 1 of the 09 season for a start. As I said we played crap last week but that doesn't mean we should simply abandon them. This sqaud is totally different to the one we had in 01 and is also different to the one we had last year. So while you're disappointed with last week perhaps it would be better to wait until at least we're mathematically no chance of making the finals before sinking the slipper in.
believe i said this on another thread but its always the games we have no hope of winning at least according to popular opinion that we sheem to be able to pinch a win hope its this 1

i don't have a problem with king - but no polo is bullshit:thumbsd:

i can understand the though process - we will need tougher bigger bodies to take on the cats

BUT

considering we cost smashed mainly due to turnovers against the blues.... surely King and Hislop as the ONLY changes to the team can't improve that section???

if bigger bodies is what got them in, surely edwards can't get a game? edwards struggled alot last week - surely polo or thomson could have can in as well?

Thursfield getting dropped is full on.[/quote]

That is a joke.. Talk about being used as a scapegoat..
Thursfield has the be the unluckiest player in the team to miss out...and polo..
Your a joke Wallace..
Other changes are good but thursfield should have stayed in, instead of king. and maybe polo instead of hislop now i think about it...

I'll be interested to see the comments that are made if we happen to do the unthinkable and win this weekend. Everyone (including our own fans) is/are writing us off which sets us up beautifully to spring the greatest of upsets this Saturday.

How%20to%20ROFL.png

I was at the Coburgh game on the weekend and cannot believe that Polo missed out. He is cool as a cucumber with the ball whereas King just kept running into trouble and committed some shocking turnovers. Not sure where King is going to play. No Stokes means that the only bloke who will be around King's size will be Chapman. Every other Geelong forward will kill King in the air.

No polo? why play jake king for? turnover king.. rather thursfield play anyday.

Can't believe thursfield is out yet edwards stays in. Just dumb.

J King on ablett. Will be the first ever 6 brownlow vote game for ablett!!!

****ing hell put Polo in the ****ing side Wallace! how much more do we have to suck and how much can he do to be given a decent go! and ****ing King! what are you thinking!
Polo will probably request a trade at the end of the year if Wallace's contract gets renewed.

King before Polo.
WTF, I am just ****ing pissed off at this, Polo is bigger, smarter, more skilled and just ****ing better.
FFS what are these clowns doing

King in the back pocket makes me feel physically ill.
If their is one team you can not afford poor skills and decision making in nyour defensive half of the ground...

at least King plays with a bit of passion and aggression. isn't that what was missing the other night?

Seriously what the f..k is wrong with all of you. Polo will get his chance, just hold off. Stop acting like a bunch of feral's and going off at King for getting selected. I really hope King has a real f...ing ripper of a game and sticks it up all of you.

Don't get me wrong I would like to see Polo have a run as I think he is a handy player, But why blast King at his expense? What has Hislop proved at this club yet? Not much but you're all fine to let him get a game while having a go at one of the few blokes in our team who give 110% every game.

Most of you are actually turning me off coming on here as all I ever seem to find on here is blokes bitching and moaning about a club you should be supporting.

So please just give our boys a f..king break, Be a supporter of the Richmond Football Club.

Yep, it's very disappointing to see King cop it, jus shows what short memories people have.

Champion Data crucifies turnovers, yet King is somehow rated WAY above more than half our best-22.

The games where he was outmarked in defence happened largely because Wallace gave him a crack on small forwards he knew in advance would flog Newman, Raines, McMahon etc.

As for Polo, clearly there's a reason Wallace doesn't give him senior games, and it certainly wouldn't be due to petty dislike, it's because of something to do with his attitude. Ditto Connors for a fair chunk of his career and add in all the delisted blokes except perhaps for honest battlers like Hyde.

The blokes with better attitudes get games first. Do something about it if you're unhappy you don't get picked. Improve your attitude (I have no doubt he's been told where he MUST improve) and demand selection.

That's the way football clubs need to be run. On the one hand people moan that Wallace doesn't discipline players enough, yet when he does they moan about that too.

Terry Tan Wallet time to give it away

How can Polo not be picked after his performance in the preseason and apparently BOG on last weekend.
How can King, Edwards, Tambling and Bowden all be playing in front of him.
I would even play Collins this week.
I just cannot understand it, its doing my head in.
Thursfield has been used a scapegoat, the coach played him on Judd when he went forward. Thursfield is our Full Back, FFS leave him there he is not a third tall defender.
Young kid Thursfield gets dropped before a selfish soft Joel Bowden.
Guarantee that Jordan Macmuffen will be in next week

Well said Rayzor.

Everyone take a look at some of the comments King got after round 1.

We love a player when he's going great. Plays some bad games and we don't support him, We bad shit on them, call for them to be delisted etc.

What would have happened with Foley then? He was a terrible kick, Not great work ethic. But he worked on it and now is a great player for the club. Just give blokes a chance. Were one game in and your all acting like its the end of the world. We lost big deal chin up, get ready for round 2.

The Winning Culture

Jake King
He might be new to everyone else. But any Tiger fan knows how great he was last year. He's a legend. The type of player you build a club around. He might not be the most skilled player, but his heart, courage, toughness and work ethic is just something to admire. These players are so rare and valuable.

It's been well documented but he has the AFL push ups record and also asked Terry Wallace if he could punch Barry Hall's injured hand before a game. :thumbsu:

Chris Newman
Next captain of the club. Enough said.

Depth
I though we had depth all over the ground. We've got 10+ guys who can rotate through the midfield, just like those great sides I mentioned before. We've got a guy who I think will be a Premiership fullback one day and two decent guys in the ruck..

Great win by the TIGERS!!:)

JAKE KING IS GOING TO BE A STAR!!!:thumbsu:

Jake King B.O.G, just from Richo.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=421043&highlight=Round+1+Jake+King

:)WHAT I don't get is that just days before the season started I read where Brian Royal said Dean Polo was definitely in "our best 24".
Working on the basis that we put our best 22 on the park against the Blues and that we made five changes to that line-up, none of which were Polo (and the fact that both Johnson and Polak when fit would be starters in the best 22), it's clear they don't rank Polo in the top 30!!!!

Pure spin from our coaching debut.

Absolute f***** disgrace!!!!!!

This is why our supporter base is a laughing stock. Polo may have struggled or been late to a training session, who the **** knows?

The ins show that we have gone for toughness around the footy and hopefully the man.

Two major areas where we were hammered against carlton were our kicking and our strength/tackling. I thought defensively and offensively we were alright, it was in the midfield and coming off half back where we butchered it. So, where do the changes sit with me?

Ins
Hislop: Adds extra hardness and tackling ability but has average skills (wont add or negate IMO). Goes missing.
King: Has heart, pace and hardness and average to good skills (don't believe the hype) but SHOCKING decision making and no aerial ability due to his height. If his head is screwed on properly, can be a key player for us, if not we can expect the likes of corey jones to kick 5 in a quarter against us.
Rance: Probably my favourite prospect for this year. Pace, strength, height, skills, leadership (look at the way he ordered around coburg's defence last year as an 18 year old!) and natural defensive instincts. Should add alot.
Graham: will get slaughtered against ottens but needs the experience. to be honest, I can't wait till patto is fit again :(
Nahas: Baptism of fire, if we were going to play him we should have played him against a team of skinny kids like melbourne or essendon...against geelong he will be completely out of place. If he gets a goal or two early, look for the geelong guys to really get stuck into/break him.

Polo addresses neither of our problems. He can find the ball and has a great tank, but hes not very quick (borderline slow), has barely above average skills and is still quite thin. Thats regardless of attitude!

Outs: Browne and McMahon were obvious from last weeks efforts. Thursfield VERY unlucky. I thought he was ok. Would have dropped edwards or jackson myself.

Just to get this straight. Everyone here knows there is a selection commitee, it's not like Wallace pick the first and final team each week. For all we know Terry may want Polo in but the final decision doesn't rest on him. Terry prolly wanted Jordie in this week but again not completly upto him.

Polo addresses neither of our problems. He can find the ball and has a great tank, but hes not very quick (borderline slow), has barely above average skills and is still quite thin. Thats regardless of attitude!

hes not really that skinny now, has a thickness about him, very strong through the core and would back him in to mix it physically with the geelong units. Has that element of mongrel which we lack. The highlighted points you made, thats enough for mine against Geelong, hes not that slow imo and geelongs midfield isnt overly quick, bartel, enright, corey ling.

and FTR agreed with the rest of your views

just thinking surely we wont go into a game vs big strong geelong with nahas 67kgs, edwards 76kgs and King the angry ant all in the same lineup? surely not

Re: Terry Tan Wallet time to give it away

I do think Polo will come into the side for Edwards, well I hope anyway.

God knows where wallet is coming from, it could get very messy at Kardinia.

We brought in Nahas to add some tackling pressure to our forward line, yeah? I can't see him sticking any of those tackles :(

It's not always about sticking tackles. It's about having the defender see an opposition player running full pelt at them. This causes them to, hopefully, rush their disposal, which may result in a turnover.

Hislop is too slow and not very skilled, i havent seen him do much tackling
either. naha made about 1 tackle and got caught cold in all his pre-season games and didnt look all that good.

What does Polo have to do to get a crack honestly .Was a standout in preseason and in the nab cup and even last week for the burgers.It must be killing his confidence.Match commitee is weake as water dropping Thursfield and trying to make him a escape root.He had 1 bad game in 2 seasons, but has always been in our top half of players and they drop him thats bullshit.How about they drop those senior blokes like Simmo with his dropped marks or Browns turnovers from last week.

We brought in Nahas to add some tackling pressure to our forward line, yeah? I can't see him sticking any of those tackles :(
stupid post, just because you put on weight doesnt mean you can all of a sudden tackle anyone in your path. if you have a good technic and you can bring down anyone.

What does Polo have to do to get a crack honestly .Was a standout in preseason and in the nab cup and even last week for the burgers.It must be killing his confidence.Match commitee is weake as water dropping Thursfield and trying to make him a escape root.He had 1 bad game in 2 seasons, but has always been in our top half of players and they drop him thats bullshit.How about they drop those senior blokes like Simmo with his dropped marks or Browns turnovers from last week.

geese everyone get off the 'polo in' bangwagon. There is about 10 pages of it. He's not in the team get over it.