Changes For Round 23

We need the poise and skill of Howe back.. as well as the run and carry of Murray. Well in the first week of finals.

We need to take risks. Wouldn't be looking at Appleby.

Sometimes you need a work horse Gimp. Appleby is very talented at shutting down his opponent.

Nobody should take this game as a given. Our wins this year have been built on extreme commitment, and anything short of that and we will lose. Our backline is so undermanned that any slackness upfield will see them under too much pressure to hold the opposition out.
Secondly, Freo have a lot to prove. last week cries out for redemption, and their players must respond.
Thirdly, a number of very good players are back, and some are providing their swan song. They will be very hard to beat, especially at home.
I think internally they'd be treating the game as crucial as every one before it!

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Nobody should take this game as a given. Our wins this year have been built on extreme commitment, and anything short of that and we will lose. Our backline is so undermanned that any slackness upfield will see them under too much pressure to hold the opposition out.
Secondly, Freo have a lot to prove. last week cries out for redemption, and their players must respond.
Thirdly, a number of very good players are back, and some are providing their swan song. They will be very hard to beat, especially at home.

I'm sure the team won't be cavalier about it. I'm bummed Howe looms unlikely. He'd strengthen us heaps. De Goey surely needs as much touch as possible before finals. Our other options like Treloar, Moore and Appleby look like they'll miss. I reckon we'll go with minimal changes.

Sometimes you need a work horse Gimp. Appleby is very talented at shutting down his opponent.

I agree with you he is good at shutting down his player.. in the dynamics of a Dunn Howe Scharenberg backline.. yeah he'd go allright.. but if we're gonna go into the 1st final with all 3 out.. you simply cannot play him and expect run from where exactly.. Crisp and Maynard.. if one of Crisp or Maynard has a stinker.. we've got f all run.. which is why it's important to get Murray in there.

I think between Howe, Langdon, Crisp and Maynard we're alright for rebound. If Moore can come in and free up Howe and Langdon and Appleby can free up Crisp and Maynard we're set. That's a good balance for mine.

When I really give it some thought.. Crisp will be the only one giving us run.. add Appleby to the mix doesn't really give us run coming out of the backline.. Langdon Maynard Howe.. to an extent.. mate we need to take a punt on Murray.. I havent fogotten about Johansson. He turned it over in the gf.. but won the norm smith.

I think between Howe, Langdon, Crisp and Maynard we're alright for rebound. If Moore can come in and free up Howe and Langdon and Appleby can free up Crisp and Maynard we're set. That's a good balance for mine.

Dunno just me.. I like taking punts and being aggressive. So Murray over Appleby for mine. X factor is required.

When I really give it some thought.. Crisp will be the only one giving us run.. add Appleby to the mix doesn't really give us run coming out of the backline.. Langdon Maynard Howe.. to an extent.. mate we need to take a punt on Murray.. I havent fogotten about Johansson. He turned it over in the gf.. but won the norm smith.

I do see where you're coming from and agree we need rebound. For me, all of Howe, Langdon, Crisp and Maynard are guys that can win the ball 20+ times a game. Especially if you orchestrate them the freedom to do it. I think that covers us. With Murray I think the opposition have successfully shut him out since his return to seniors so not sure he's that avenue to rebound. But will back him in if thats the way we go. He does have some weapons.

Dunno just me.. I like taking punts and being aggressive. So Murray over Appleby for mine. X factor is required.

Yep fair enough too. I'd play it different (as discussed above) but wouldn't be crying about it if Murray gets the game. Theres merit in it.

When I flew to Sydney for the game up there a couple weeks ago, we flew on the friday (and when I say WE, I happened to see them all at the airport, abeit different flights) the training session was that afternoon.
They usually fly over the day previous, except a couple do fly out Thurs evening.

Thurs is their main session. They train twice a week even if they have a interstate game and then have their stateside session there as well. I don't see for any change. They'll prob fly to Perth in the morning Friday.
I know Thursday is the main session, my point is though if you look at any videos the Collingwood media staff has put out in the last day, you'll note that yesterday the entire fit playing group had a strong training session, which is not the norm for a Tuesday. Hence it seems they're doing things a bit differently this week. Oh well, we'll find out in twelve hours.

Absolute nonsense.

I know Thursday is the main session, my point is though if you look at any videos the Collingwood media staff has put out in the last day, you'll note that yesterday the entire fit playing group had a strong training session, which is not the norm for a Tuesday. Hence it seems they're doing things a bit differently this week. Oh well, we'll find out in twelve hours.
The entire group wasn't out there.

I do see where your coming from and agree we need rebound. For me, all of Howe, Langdon, Crisp and Maynard are guys that can win the ball 20+ times a game. Especially if you orchestrate them the freedom to do it. I think that covers us. With Murray I think the opposition have successfully shut him out since his return to seniors so not sure he's that avenue to rebound. But will back him in if thats the way we go. He does have some weapons.

He was coming good after a lengthy stay in the VFL.. you opt for Appleby to sit on someone.. or do you gamble on Murray to tear the game to shreds in a qrt or 2.. I'd take the latter considering there are 8 sides after the 1 prize. Just gotta gamble and hope it pays off.

I saw a clip of Grundy training yesterday though.
He might have been there at the start for the brief but he along with those named weren't out there when I arrived. Gym was going off with music so they'd of had a inside session.

I think we go unchanged if nobody is injured or in serious risk of making current niggles into something more serious. If we can hit the 1st final with a settled team it would be fantastic considering the amount of injuries we have had.
Howe and Treloar both walk up if fit come our 1st final. Apples if he impresses in VFL this week is a chance to come back in, I'm not sure anyone else will be in contention with further injuries. Daicos, Brown, Murray, Fasolo are good depth for finals. Goldy is an interesting one, I'm a fan but i'm not sure he is that good that he can come into finals and impact after such a long time off. If it was a Pendlebury, Sidebottom, DeGoey... Maybe. But Goldsack I cant see it happening. I hope he proves me wrong because his experience down back would be a big in for us.

At the start of the season, if I was told we would have Stephenson, Murphy, Sier, Madgen, Mayne, Mihocek and Oxley playing in round 23, I would assume we were in tank mode.

Yet here we are, playing all these guys for a top 4 spot. No matter what happens for the remainder of the season, it's been a huge success. That said, I really expect to win a final or 2. Outside of Richmond, I will go into any finals game confident we can get the job done.

No changes this week. Hopefully bring Howe and Treloar back for our first final.

For anyone still left in any doubt this is exactly why a good system will always overcome a lack of talent, but good talent will never overcome a lack of system!

I think we go unchanged if nobody is injured or in serious risk of making current niggles into something more serious. If we can hit the 1st final with a settled team it would be fantastic considering the amount of injuries we have had.
Howe and Treloar both walk up if fit come our 1st final. Apples if he impresses in VFL this week is a chance to come back in, I'm not sure anyone else will be in contention with further injuries. Daicos, Brown, Murray, Fasolo are good depth for finals. Goldy is an interesting one, I'm a fan but i'm not sure he is that good that he can come into finals and impact after such a long time off. If it was a Pendlebury, Sidebottom, DeGoey... Maybe. But Goldsack I cant see it happening. I hope he proves me wrong because his experience down back would be a big in for us.
This just about sums it up for the medium future, but leaves out the detail that a win this week is the first priority. The side has to be selected for that.

I know it's not this week, but assume Trelore is fit week one, who actually makes way? Don't say Mayne ffs no way he'd be going. Seir is a lock to stay, just can't see who he'd take

Treloar training with the main group this week so should be ready to go in 2 weeks for Week 1 (of 4) of finals