Changes for Round 3

• Thread starter Thread starter C-Dog

Terry, please bring conners into the 22
drop Edwards and drop nahas
For Conners and tambling

Connors is overrated at this stage by too many people, he is not ready to play after just one week in a Coburg seconds practice match, and is not a walk up start quality player.

why drop nahas? i thought he played a good game and showed something late. and it was geelong, that is a massive step up from VFL to the best team in the country.

I can understand where you're coming from, but we need some bigger bodies out there that'll really get in and under. Nahas looked okay but I think another year for him to build up his core strength is definately required, he got tackled and went down like a sack of s*** too many times for my liking. Same with Edwards we need bigger bodies in the line up.

OUT: Nahas, Edwards, Graham?? (only maybe, probably could get another week)
IN: Tambling(not anywhere near as bad as what some of you boys think), Thomson(if fit) if not maybe Connors, Pattison

PS: Whats the situation with Coughlan?? how long left now i love the style of footy he plays.

I can understand where you're coming from, but we need some bigger bodies out there that'll really get in and under. Nahas looked okay but I think another year for him to build up his core strength is definately required, he got tackled and went down like a sack of s*** too many times for my liking. Same with Edwards we need bigger bodies in the line up.

OUT: Nahas, Edwards, Graham?? (only maybe, probably could get another week)
IN: Tambling(not anywhere near as bad as what some of you boys think), Thomson(if fit) if not maybe Connors, Pattison

PS: Whats the situation with Coughlan?? how long left now i love the style of footy he plays.

I know that nahas was hammered early but in 2H he won some ball and showed a wee bit...enough to warrant 1 more game to see what he's learnt

Cogs had 40 touches in the vfl practice match on the weekend so thats enough for me to have him back. It would be out of titch and nahas who would get dropped. I think Titch is going to be a great player in the future but his light body and lack of strength can be a real liability for us at times. Collins has also shown excellent form and deserves a chance in the ones.

The other change i would consider for this week is to play Richo forward. His form up field in the first 2 weeks has been exceptional however we are seriously lacking a key forward at the moment and he has had some blinders against the doggies at FF.

In: Coughlan, Thomson, Tambling
Out: King, Nahas, Edwards

Laidley said the Dogs' bigger bodies beat them, so we need to counter that. I know I said Tambling needs a month with Coburg but he's a better bet as a small forward than Nahas. Put the heat on him to turn the heat up or face the cold reality of life in the VFL.

No change.

Cogs needs at least another 100$% game time - this time in a fair dinkum game - not a praccy match.

Connors needs to do something - anything.

Collins - is currently sittiung behind the line of Cogs, Cotch and cuz. so at least 4 weeks away.

Cleve - well i really want him to come on - so lets ee how he plays for the burgers in the real stuff.

Tambling might come in if the hammy is ok.

for who - probably edwards - whilst he slotted a crucial goal at a crucial time he still needs to do more. tambling does much more (and so he should) so should get the nod if fit.

King should hold his spot despite what people her are saying - i was at the game and the work he did off the ball - hard stuff - was great. yeah he turned it over for a goal but he had a few cats looking over trheir shoulders - which is what we need.

Nahas - you can't drop the guy after one game - he had a few chances and he needs at least two more games unless he does absolutely nothing this week.

Gus - only 4 taps but only 28% game time - he will get better and at the moment is our best option to back up simmonds.

Those who suggest Putt just make me laugh - that is desperation talking.

Pattison, Collins, Thursfield, Coughlan and McMahon named in our extended squad on the footy show. I can't remember if Thomson was named in it but don't think he was which is extremely disappointing. By all reports was BOG with Cogs and Sanchez and Thursfield weren't much good.

Still no clue who to come in and out at the moment, probably another few baffling decisions.

Pattison, Collins, Thursfield, Coughlan and McMahon named in our extended squad on the footy show. I can't remember if Thomson was named in it but don't think he was which is extremely disappointing. By all reports was BOG with Cogs and Sanchez and Thursfield weren't much good.

Still no clue who to come in and out at the moment, probably another few baffling decisions.
Pretty sure Tambling might have been there too? Might have just been seeing things though, Thomson wasn't in there 100% sure on that, maybe want to give him 1 more week to see if he can do it again?

Out of those 'IN' though I would like Cogs and Collins to probably come in, will be stupid to not have Cogs play, don't name him then not play him, if he is ready, give him a go, what more could happen to the bloke?

So IN: Cogs and Collins
OUT: Schulz/King(Not sure, probably down to match-ups) and Edwards

No use dropping Graham after a game, 3 different ruckman in 3 games? I don't think so, need to give these players a real go in the ruck and get some confidence.

Pretty sure Tambling might have been there too? Might have just been seeing things though, Thomson wasn't in there 100% sure on that, maybe want to give him 1 more week to see if he can do it again?

Out of those 'IN' though I would like Cogs and Collins to probably come in, will be stupid to not have Cogs play, don't name him then not play him, if he is ready, give him a go, what more could happen to the bloke?

So IN: Cogs and Collins
OUT: Schulz/King(Not sure, probably down to match-ups) and Edwards

No use dropping Graham after a game, 3 different ruckman in 3 games? I don't think so, need to give these players a real go in the ruck and get some confidence.

You're right, Tambling was also in there. Don't see why they wouldn't even at least name Thomson? He played on the weekend and did really well, apparently was hitting many targets inside 50 which is what we need, plus he is a hard inside midfielder who tackles.

Game I saw of him in NAB he looked promising and also found this. He came to Richmond due to lack of opportunities, play him, Edwards is too small at the moment.

Adam Thomson (Sturt)

183/82 mid-age right foot (has other foot if nec).

*STYLE LIKE: Fairly pacy version of Simon Black

*TRADEMARK:

- Clean hands get under great pressure inside traffic then lightning, often look-away, feed straight to team mate in the clear.

*SUMMARY ASSESSMENT, RECOMMENDATION:

- Is defined by his ability inside traffic. Brilliant. Great hands - getting & delivering, typically inside traffic under great pressure, often look-away. Extremely clean, reliable & creative. Very rarely gets impeded from delivering an accurate feed. A Simon Black type with similar efficiency, more pace. The best hands, vision, decision-making and efficiency in-close that I have seen in the past few years.

- I rate him very highly. In fact I have him at 8. He won't go that early but I expect him to go around early 2nd round. Definite AFL. If I had any pick after #7 I would take him with it ... in a heartbeat.

*HURT FACTOR (Offensive/Defensive/Negative):

- All excellent.

*DISPOSAL:

- Very high Hurt Factor, especially by hand.
- Predominantly feeds.
- Brilliant by hand - extremely quick, accurate and displays incredible vision. Dynamite. Also master of the accurate look-away feed.
- Kicking is also quite reliable although not in the same league as his feeds
- Good power and depth in his kicks.
- Kicking style is reasonable, although he tends to fall back a fair way when he kicks. Fairly economical action.
- Not a noted goalkicker but is reasonably reliable at goal without being a sure thing.

*DECISION-MAKING, SMARTS:

- Terrific inside traffic, especially centre bounce, even under the greatest of pressure. Clean to get, quick, clean, reliable and creative to feed off. Exceptional "6th sense" vision and quick decision-making response to same. In short, extremely efficiently creative.
- Excellent poise. "Always" looks for an option.
- Reads both play and ball very well. Roves the ruck contest and the spill well.
- Officially only credited with only 3 HBGs for the entire U18 Champs but, by my definition of HBG being a possession gained under great pressure, a very high percentage of his possessions are HBG.
- Very unselfish Occasionally too much so, looking for a team mate when he might be better advised to carry the ball or shoot for goal himself.
- Never seems to lose his cool. Is controlled, no-fuss professional.

*HANDS:

- Very clean, all levels. Shines under great pressure and inside congestion.

*OVERHEAD MARKING:

- Not a feature of his game but he is reliable and has good judgement. U18 Champs stats have him at no contested marks out of 11 but that stat is not representative. He can be relied upon to take at least a 50/50 contested mark.

*ATHLETICISM:

- Good pace, although he seldom uses it and is not super quick. Not a noted ball carrier.
- Very agile.
- Covers plenty of ground yet doesn't look peak fit, just looking at his body. I suspect he has a fair bit of scope to harden his body and lift his fitness even further, perhaps even improving his already fairly good speed a bit in the process. Nevertheless he runs a game right out.
- Good recovery agility.
- Good reflexes.
- Very good balance. When tackled, keeps his arms free and keeps his feet. Rides a bump well.
- Evasion is good although he feeds off so quickly and doesn't often try to carry the ball, so it isn't on show very often.
- Displays a huge unaided leap on occasions.

*INTENSITY, ETHIC:

- Covers a lot of ground and at good energy.
- Attacks both man and ball well.
- Fierce and effective tackler. Does often tend to throw himself to the ground with the tackle though. Does quite a few smothers.
- Although first and foremost a play-creator, he is also very good defensively within traffic, especially centre bounce, often stifling an opponent's attempted clearance. I don't have a handle on his accountability in a flank role but he is certainly accountable to the nearest opponent.
- Does the 1%ers eg will run in from 15m away to lay a very physical block.
- Courageous.

*CONSISTENCY:

- Very consistent, both game to game and within a game.

*AFL VERSATILITY:
- Is a natural inside onballer, with better pace than those types usually have, so you would want to make the most of his attributes in that role. I think he can even play that role in his first year. He is gifted in that role. Other than that, could play anywhere down the flanks. Could potentially be a good AFL BP but you would lose the benefit of his superior prime attributes if you didn't play him onball.

*SCI (SCOPE FOR CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT):
- Normal.

*QUERY:
- Nothing of significance.

*SOME STATS:

- Stats summary '04 U18 Champs:
Averaged 16 disposals and 3.7 marks in his 3 games. (Best TD 19).
Kicks to feeds: 18-29 (1:1.6).
Kicks long vs short: 9-4 (2.3:1).
Kicking accuracy: 5/18 ineffective incl 3 clangers.
Handball accuracy: 2/29 ineffective incl 0 clangers.
Total accuracy: 7/47 ineffective incl 3 clangers.
Gets own ball?: 20/47TD were HR. 3 HBG.
S.P. clearances: 8 incl 7 BU incl 6 CBC.
Tackles: 6
Marking: 0 of 11 were contested.

*OTHER STUFF:
- Reserves '04.
- Had been listed as 180/78 but '04 DC measured 183/82

Indeed but then if he's not right why even play him on the weekend? I guess they want him to gain a bit more match fitness. He ultimately has to take Wallet's love child Edwards spot so big task for Thommo.
I'd say that the sternum injuries are what he is coming back from, they would probably like a bit more fitness, which is what I alluded to saying maybe just give him another week to replicate the form(Showing he is fully fit) and he'll be in.

Then again Tambling shouldn't have been named ahead of him, bit harsh about Edwards being TW's love child, he is an alright player, just a bit light on at the moment, does need to go though.

Likely squad we'll get tonight:

B: Polo Moore King
HB: Newman McGuane Rance
C: White Deledio Jackson
HF: Riewoldt Richo Bowden
F: Brown Schulz Morton
R: Simmonds Tuck Foley
I (from) : Graham Nahas Edwards Hislop Tambling Thomson Collins

Effectively same 22 as last week plus the 3 in bold added to the squad. Cogs gets through this week named for the Dees

On paper you can see how that side would get r*ped by the Bulldogs unless most of them have blinders. Missing some serious class in Cotchin, Coughlan and Cousins through the middle. If King keeps his spot this week I won't be too happy, heart only goes so far until some skill is needed. Gives away too many free kicks, chops up the ball and is caught out in overhead marking contests. He is the epitome of a VFL player.

Barnzy, your write-up on Thomson seems to be from the year he was drafted. One thing - he ain't quick!

Well, I didn't write it myself I just found it. Inside mids don't often get the chance to show their speed as they're feeding it out to others. I saw a few games he played for Port and it's not like he's super slow.

I think we need to put Thursty on the extended bench because if a tall pulls up lame before Monday we'll have no one to cover but midfielders.

I don't know if Tambling will play as he didn't join in full training and was with Petts in the rehab group. Although once again, it's a fair while 'til Monday and it might have been precautionary and he'll train fully in our 2nd session.

Well, I didn't write it myself I just found it. Inside mids don't often get the chance to show their speed as they're feeding it out to others. I saw a few games he played for Port and it's not like he's super slow.
From what I saw he's pretty slow. But he's tough and gets first hands on the ball and that's what we need.

I think we need to put Thursty on the extended bench because if a tall pulls up lame before Monday we'll have no one to cover but midfielders.

I don't know if Tambling will play as he didn't join in full training and was with Petts in the rehab group. Although once again, it's a fair while 'til Monday and it might have been precautionary and he'll train fully in our 2nd session.
Not really, we all know that Richo is going to line up on a wing regardless, so if Moore/McGuane was to go down we can move Richo forward and Schulz down back. Same thing applies if Schulz/Riewoldt was the one to pull out. Move Richo/Bowden forward and put the extra midfielder to good use against the Dogs fleet of midfield runners/midsized forwards.

On paper you can see how that side would get r*ped by the Bulldogs unless most of them have blinders. Missing some serious class in Cotchin, Coughlan and Cousins through the middle. If King keeps his spot this week I won't be too happy, heart only goes so far until some skill is needed. Gives away too many free kicks, chops up the ball and is caught out in overhead marking contests. He is the epitome of a VFL player.

King is only in cause Raines is out. I reckon throw Polo down pack for Kings spot, and bring in Andy Collins or Coughlan for Jakey.