Changes for Round 4 vs Collingwood

it wouldnt hurt to give armfield, browne and these types a go and see what they can do. bit of rotation and put pressure on the players that are not performing well. dont perform, miss out even if it is on a 2-3 game basis. what is there to loose. we havent won yet. even at the expense of name players ( scotland, carazzo ) no offence to them but just to keep them honest. they might be thinking they wont get dropped. it just seems that only players like russell, jackson get dropped

OUT: Russell (and tell him he won't be returning in the process).

In: Anything

How about...

Out: Russell

In: the tuckshop lady at my local primary school?

BD calling for Cloke to be dropped is ridiculous. Was in our best for first 2 and 1/2 quarters tonight. And Hadley held Watson and can at least lay a ____iing tackle!

Russell out. Permanently.

Scotland has to stay in for collingwood game - one slow game isn't a crime - not when you've spent the previous year showing the new kids how it's done. He'll be better next week.

Carrazzo too, has to stay in, will not string two poor games together.

Hampson - yawn.. Setanta in for him.

definately russell out.
pfeiffer deserves to stay in the side
and i agree that bower should almost be dropped, he plays ok but makes to many mistakes (at least that what it seems like to me)

Outs: Guess who ? starts with J ends with shithouse footballer, Jamison or bower, Houlihan.

Ins: Armfield, Anderson, Sentanta

Ins: Definately need these 3 in the team. Sentanta needed for rocca, Jammo will get out muscled. Ando and armfield to take those little squeks.

Outs: I would have russel hand in his jumper, enough said.
The next 2 are tough, I think we'll definately be too tall with irish in the team. Im happy with rotating Cloke, Hammo and Kreuzer through the CHF position but down back we may be too tall. Jammo or Bower to get the chop.
And there a few who are down on form at the moment, carrazzo, scotland, houlihan one of them needs to get dropped.

WTF?

Drop Cloke and Hadley?

Cloke is our number one ruckmen atm moment by a number of light years. He has played three weeks of very good football. Hampson has looked out of place and out of his depth, so who do you plan on carrying the ruck...Kruezer by himself?

Hadley showed tomight what a number of commentators have been saying since the off season...get some games in his legs and he will just get better. He had 16 possies, nearly all of them effective, and a lazy 10...yes 10...tackles. And you want to drop him because???

Because imho, Bentick is better than him. Personal preference.

It's a choice between Hampson and Cloke, because imo having 3 ruck options didn't work for us tonight needed as more leg speed. I have never been a big fan of Cloke - he is solid without being amazing, and as i have previously i think Hampson provides us with the mobility and extra speed that our team needs.

obvious one is setanta for russell. setanta to play on rocca, leaving jamo to pick up cloke.

maybe give hampson a few weeks in the twos to play a full game in the ruck and dominate for the ants. harts to come back or edwards if he plays well tomorrow.

pfieffer has earned another game and scotland/carrazzo, despite not doing too much are no chance of being dropped. armfield and anderson would have to be fantastic for the ants to get a call up, although i do see why people are pushing them to play on didak/davis. cant see it happening though.

obvious one is setanta for russell. setanta to play on rocca, leaving jamo to pick up cloke.

maybe give hampson a few weeks in the twos to play a full game in the ruck and dominate for the ants. harts to come back or edwards if he plays well tomorrow.

pfieffer has earned another game and scotland/carrazzo, despite not doing too much are no chance of being dropped. armfield and anderson would have to be fantastic for the ants to get a call up, although i do see why people are pushing them to play on didak/davis. cant see it happening though.

Who would you play on didak and davis?
plz dont say hoops and carrazzo.......
Dont see why armfield and ando shouldn't be given a crack and why wont scotland and carrazzo get dropped? Because of their reputation their name? One of hoops carrots and scotland need to be made an example of and dropped, hope ratts gave them a spray tonight

How about...

In: the tuckshop lady at my local primary school?

BD calling for Cloke to be dropped is ridiculous. Was in our best for first 2 and 1/2 quarters tonight. And Hadley held Watson and can at least lay a ____iing tackle!

She quick?

Out and never back again: Russell. Cost us important momentum with 2 minutes to go in third. I would still drop, sorry delist him, even if he wasn't replaced with anyone.

FB: Carrazzo Thornton O'hAilpin

HB: Jamison Waite Houlihan

C: Gibbs Stevens Scotland

HF: Hadley Kreuzer Simpson

FF: Betts Fevola Fisher

RR: Cloke Judd Murphy

Bench: Hampson, Bower, Edwards, Hartlett

Whilst I can see a few on the chopping block, I'd limit the unforced changes to two, for the better of the team.

Russell and Scotland would be the two I'd remove first. The likes of Carrazzo, Houlihan, and Gibbs not far behind.

Bentick is a no brainer. The other one to come in will depend on how well they go against Coburg today, with Jackson, Browne, Armfield, Wiggins, Saddington in the mix for mine.

When Russel went for that snap shot when we were bout 11pts down with about 4 mins left instead of handballing off to judd running past, It cemented it for me that he is GONE!!!! Terrible performance, i cringed everytime he got it... if he gets another gig this season i'll be disappointed..

We miss walker bad!
Need Bentick back too! He'll fit in with the desperation! Lil hard nut.

Scotland has to stay in for collingwood game - one slow game isn't a crime - not when you've spent the previous year showing the new kids how it's done. He'll be better next week.
Except it's his third slow game in a row. The honeymoon must be wearing him out.

I think Hartlett will return, depending how he goes in the Ants reserves today. We continually break down at CHF, and he's the only likely prospect for that position. So:

In: Setanta, Hartlett
Out: Scotland, Russell

The worry is that takes away some run, so maybe Armfield in for Carrazzo who hasn't given us much. All eyes on the Ants today.

Although I agree whole-heartedly that Scotland should be dropped, I think as the game is against the Filth we should keep him in. Scotland always goes well against his old mob so as a token of good faith we should give him a chance to redeem himself.

And with that person saying drop Cloke??? WTF... did you see how many clearances he won and how much heart he puts in his games. Plus it's against his old side who he hasn't played against yet... so I expect him to go wild.

Hampson had limited game time but is useful and has a strong body and games like these are the experience we need to give him.

For mine...

Out:
Russel - definitely out!!!!!!!
Houlihan - if no room in the forward line for him, then out!

Possible Ins:
Armfield - we need a bit more aggression and tackling.
Hartlett - out of suspension, may be considered
O'hailpin - His heart is needed to show the way to those few who have none.

Possible outs:Russell,Scotland,Hampson,Bower.

Possible ins:Setanta,Browne,Armfield,Benjamin

I know Benjamin might not be ready but Bulldogs took a risk playing Josh Hill & look at how he's performed.

Whilst I can see a few on the chopping block, I'd limit the unforced changes to two, for the better of the team.

Russell and Scotland would be the two I'd remove first. The likes of Carrazzo, Houlihan, and Gibbs not far behind.

Bentick is a no brainer. The other one to come in will depend on how well they go against Coburg today, with Jackson, Browne, Armfield, Wiggins, Saddington in the mix for mine.

I really wish we had have dropped Gibbs at about round 15 or so last year, and given about 3 games in the ants to get his confidence up. I reckon thats what we might do this year, probably after about the midway point...

Unless he starts carving it up that is;)

It's simple, drop the passengers and liabilities.

Passengers & Liabilities:

Russell - Hasn't got a footy brain, doesn't read the game and has no defencive skills, lacks special attributes to make up for this such as hardness at the ball etc. Should be playing in the reserves for Hawthorn.

Pfeiffer - Can he get a kick? Looks to be a bit slow? Hope he proves me wrong.

Houlihan - Too slow, gets exploited for pace, hasn't beaten an opponent to the ball for 6 years, has great skills but against good teams with pace he wont get a chance to use them because he wont get a kick. Can't tackle, it's simple, players who can't tackle and keep up with opponents are liabilities and cost goals. Our opponents are exploiting his lack of pace, endurance and tackling skills brilliantly.

The Backline - needs to work on spoiling, too often defenders get a fist to the ball and it only went a few meters and sat up for opposition crumbers. be good to see more big fists going towards the boundary. Simply needs time to develop and time for the kids to grow out.

Bannister - Borderline, Dropped a crucial mark that cost a goal V Essendon but seems to always put in and generally has good skills and defencive smarts, just lacks class and good disposal skills, holding his spot just.

Out of form:

Kade Simpson - Why can't he kick anymore? Mr Turnover.

Bryce Gibbs - had the fumbles for the first time in his career V Essendon early on.

Ins and Outs:

Ins - Jackson, Wiggins, Anderson

Outs - Houlihan, Russell, Pfeifer

Fair dinkum, those saying that the likes of Cloke, Hadley, Scotland need to be dropped, need to pull their heads in. None of them will be dropped.

A lot will obviously depend on the Ants game today, but one thing is obvious. We need runners, and badly. We need players that will run out a game. Every single game this year we have been run over by the opposition when we couldn't afford to be. We've been in a winning positions in all 3 games but let it slip.

Jackson should come in. He can run out a game, he has fantastic endurance and reasonable pace. I wouldn't bring in Hartlett or Edwards because they'll just make us even more top heavy and none of Waite, Fisher, Kreuzer, Cloke etc deserve to be dropped and replaced by them.

Russell continues to prove that he is an average footballer so he may well be dropped. His decision making is poor, and some of his lack of skills is astounding. Carrazzo is another who is really under the pump and must be close to being dropped to find some form and kicking skills with the Ants.

I would only make the 1 change.

In: Jackson

Armfield, Setanta and Bentick would be close to coming in.
Scotland, Pfeiffer (not so much), Russell and Carrazzo really need to lift.

good call jeremias.
i strongly agree and have changed my previous post of ARMFIELD IN.
Our clearances were 1st class, but our ability to run out the game with our tired errors was shocking.

IN: Jackson
OUT: Russell

also think Setanta will be burning he missed out and would come back hungry against rocca

There are only a couple of changed that we need to make, I think the team was solid apart from Russel and Pfeiffer (more Russel, Pfeiffer needed more input). I think it's time to bite the bullet and drop Russel for the last time...

OUT: Russel, Pfeiffer
IN: S. O'hAilpin, Bentick (if he's available)/Jackson

Changes for Round 4 vs Collingwood

Write your reply...