Changes for round 5 vs Blues

• Thread starter Thread starter mulehoops

So, because some clubs have failed to develop those players enough yet, Redden gets a free pass in this team week in week out?

That about right?

Not a free pass, he's been average this year and for much of his time with us which is unfortunate, but I don't think the decision to recruit him was wrong.

The recruiters obviously rated the draft and felt it was weak (It appears they were right).
At the time Redden was 25, entering his prime and filled a direct need within the team.
It seemed an obvious decision to bring him in - it hasn't panned out as planned, but at the time it was the correct decision.

As it turns out we haven't been burnt by any Fyfe or Parker types going late, so I think it's a nil-all draw.

People have lowered their standards considerably with Redden

Unfortunately for him, he's not Cyril Rioli who can still impact the game and get away with having 10 touches a game. He's a 167 game midfielder.

10 touches at 50%DE with 3 clangers. No clearances, no goal assists. This is what we gave up a first round pick for.

giphy-downsized-medium.gif
Absolute complete dogshit.

Hutchings is better

And you have faith we’d be able to develop them better??

Nope, absolutely not. Maybe Collins considering we do seem to have good development for our KPD's to be fair.

Not a free pass, he's been average this year and for much of his time with us which is unfortunate, but I don't think the decision to recruit him was wrong.

The recruiters obviously rated the draft and felt it was weak (It appears they were right).
At the time Redden was 25, entering his prime and filled a direct need within the team.
It seemed an obvious decision to bring him in - it hasn't panned out as planned, but at the time it was the correct decision.

As it turns out we haven't been burnt by any Fyfe or Parker types going late, so I think it's a nil-all draw.
I do see your point, but i'm only looking at it on face value. Jack Redden in his prime cost us a late first round draft pick, that is a fact.

So far that has netted us a player who, since he's been here has arguably hit the worst form of his 10 year career.

Right now he's averaging 16 disposals (9 year low), 2 marks (career low), 4.8 tackles (Equal 9 year low), 3 clearances (9 year low) and 51 rankings points (career low) per game.

Regardless of what we could have had with that pick, his performances aren't up to standard. People sugar coat his game, but it is what it is.

Also correct me if i'm wrong, wasn't he traded for pick 17? Which would have netted us one these players you missed?

upload_2018-4-15_13-45-55.png

I think people are alot more forgiving of Redden because we are winning. If we had lost this week, there'd be pitchforks regarding his selection.

Will be interesting to see if the MC believes the injury explains his poor stats, because they're pretty damning. On the whole this season he's been underwhelming.

Dunkley (except for last night’s clanger) has done infinitely more for WB than Redden has for us.

But darksharks is right - you can’t say it was a good decision on face value simply because the players around that pick aren’t stars for their sides.

Regardless of the draft pick we used, he should be one of our midfield leaders given how much footy he’s played. That’s why we were willing to give up a first rounder for him.

People treat him like he’s a third year kid.

Watch us play a powerful high-physicality midfield away from home. Bookmark it that he will not have more than 15 touches.

Nope, absolutely not. Maybe Collins considering we do seem to have good development for our KPD's to be fair.

I do see your point, but i'm only looking at it on face value. Jack Redden in his prime cost us a late first round draft pick, that is a fact.

So far that has netted us a player who, since he's been here has arguably hit the worst form of his 10 year career.

Right now he's averaging 16 disposals (9 year low), 2 marks (career low), 4.8 tackles (Equal 9 year low), 3 clearances (9 year low) and 51 rankings points (career low) per game.

Regardless of what we could have had with that pick, his performances aren't up to standard. People sugar coat his game, but it is what it is.

Also correct me if i'm wrong, wasn't he traded for pick 17? Which would have netted us one these players you missed?

View attachment 483507

Not happy with his performance, if he got back to 2012 form we'd be in a better position.

I'm talking more about the recruiting at the time, which was a good decision.
If you'd told me he'd turn out like this, I'd rather take a chance on an average 18 yr old player of course.

I think people are alot more forgiving of Redden because we are winning. If we had lost this week, there'd be pitchforks regarding his selection.

Will be interesting to see if the MC believes the injury explains his poor stats, because they're pretty damning. On the whole this season he's been underwhelming.
With the exception of a handful of games (Sydney last year, bulldogs last year, couple of pre season games) his whole career at WCE has been underwhelming. I honestly shouldn't be able to rattle them off like that.

I'd rather we played Partington right now.

He’s also 28 in December this year.

Hardly the age profile of someone you want to be carrying

Out: LeCras (susp), Redden (inj), Venables (inj)
In: Karpany, Hutchings, Partington

Gone like for like if we are forced to make the changes, with a bit of youth coming in. LeCras for Karps. Redden for Hutch. I can't see Anus being named on a HFF as Partington can play DV's role more effectively. If we decide not to hard tag P. Cripps, we may replace Redden with Anus.

Cant see Karps getting a game ever again.
We could be losing 2 in-form smalls on top of Ryan who we lost last week. Who else can trouble the scorers? Karps had a shocker rd1 as a forward in a team beaten by >100 pts. Played very well in rd2 in a team that won by 60. May as well see what he's got at senior level in 2018.

Not basing the comments on last night at all - more like the last 3 years

He's also being played out of position.

Watch us play a powerful high-physicality midfield away from home. Bookmark it that he will not have more than 15 touches.
Reckon he’ll actually do quite well in that sort of game. Close right contest. Priddis like one might say.

What are these pills you speak of? I thought concrete was a schedule 9 drug not OTC
the pills are new from china, quick hardening cement powder, instantly tuff princess aura, some side effects however - a new found enthusiasm for life and footy, an aversion to pessimism, cant drink a glass half empty!
can take a heavier dose but in danger of crossing into sparkling rainbows, fanboi and tinselled unicorn territory..and nobody wants that!
(honestly some people have to invent a reason to be unhappy)

Reddens not a flashy player, playing a role, seems to be improving slowly,
he might yet turn a corner and surprise everyone..it won't be the last time it's happened here!
If he doesn't, natural selection will remove him, others are pushing up...

Before yesterday's game, where he was apparently hampered, he was averaging 18 disposals, 3 marks, nearly 5 tackles, and 4 clearances. Even including last night's down game he's third in tackles and fourth in clearances in the side.

Last season he averaged 20.4 disposals, 5 tackles and 3.5 clearances.

View attachment 483507

You're wrong. The pick we traded ended up as pick 21 which was used by North on Ben McKay. The next picks before Partington were Kieran Lovell, David Cuningham, Ben Keays (academy pick so the most we could've done was bid on him), Josh Dunkley, Kieran Collins and Darcy Tucker. The only one of those I'd be upset on missing out on would be Dunkley, but he reportedly had an agreement with Sydney that they'd match a bid by a non-Victorian side.

We could be losing 2 in-form smalls on top of Ryan who we lost last week. Who else can trouble the scorers? Karps had a shocker rd1 as a forward in a team beaten by >100 pts. Played very well in rd2 in a team that won by 60. May as well see what he's got at senior level in 2018.
He didnt trouble the scoreboard in Rd 2. Play partington on the HFF. Or even try Bayok.

I've already brought in Parto for DV. Karps would be coming in for Lecca.

Bayok isn't ready mate, he's only played 2 games of WAFL league. Karpany pushed up the ground last week, using his skills to great effect. He can play LeCras role as a deeper forward; may replicate the good form he showed at senior level last year before injury/suspension (can't remember which).