Changes for Round 6 v Adelaide

I do like the sound of Brayden Ainsworth according to his pre-draft bio...

Hard-working and prolific ball-winning medium midfielder who uses the ball extremely well on his preferred left side.

Good luck to Brayden Ainsworth, I say.

To be fair, Parto got six straight games to end 2017. Ainsworth is lining up for his fourth in three seasons. Brander topped out at three in a row. Wasn't exactly no chance whatsoever.

You're not wrong. If Brayden lines up and plays off the HFF all game like Parto had to do, i'll retract that statement.

Also Ainsworth has had 2 years between drinks. So he hasn't been blatantly forgotten about like the latter was. Opportunity to showcase his improvement.

Cancel culture eh.

I wasn’t aware nicknames were supposed to be based in maturity?
We have had several people complain about it, and fair enough too.

And what if he was a relative or friend of yours. Would you be happy with that reference?

There is a lot of unjustified hate on here for Ainsworth. He's only 21 and has played 3 games. If we didn't have such a stable midfield through 2019 he would've got more. His disposal by foot may be lacking but he has no trouble getting his hands on the footy regularly, which is one of the more difficult parts of the game. It's way too early to write him off. And the reality is we won't have any top talent walking through the door this year from the draft so we need to persist with what we have.

I don't know if anyone saw Sam Simpson's game last night for the Cats? He is 22 and had played 6 games in 3 years. Here's an example of one Cat poster's comment on his selection:

"Simpson will be delisted at the end of the season. This is a waste of a game that could have been given to a player with a future at the club whose development actually matters."

27 touches (most on ground), 6 marks, 5 tackles and 13 contested touches

There is a lot of unjustified hate on here for Ainsworth. He's only 21 and has played 3 games. If we didn't have such a stable midfield through 2019 he would've got more. His disposal by foot may be lacking but he has no trouble getting his hands on the footy regularly, which is one of the more difficult parts of the game. It's way too early to write him off. And the reality is we won't have any top talent walking through the door this year from the draft so we need to persist with what we have.

I don't know if anyone saw Sam Simpson's game last night for the Cats? He is 22 and had played 6 games in 3 years. Here's an example of one Cat poster's comment on his selection:

"Simpson will be delisted at the end of the season. This is a waste of a game that could have been given to a player with a future at the club whose development actually matters."

The way i see it is the club must rate Ainsworth. Simpson is big on players having good disposal so maybe at training he is actually pretty good even if it looks unorthodox in photos.

I feel he also looked decent in the games he has played at the club.

And what if he was a relative or friend of yours. Would you be happy with that reference?

If he was my mate I'd probably call him a***.

It's a fair cop though and I have generally tried to avoid using the nickname recently.

I hope he tears it up on Saturday TBH. He's probably the highest performing, at junior level, young mid we have on the list so it's in our best interests for Braydon to find his feet. We need to cross our fingers and toes for MON to develop strongly too.

It was a term of endearment for me, but I will respect the wishes of said several people.

Interesting one though, given how much abuse players such as Priddis, Masten, Brander etc. have copped over the years (from myself included). Is this something we have to be careful of for all players?

It reminds me of when one poster decided that it was hilarious to call Kyle Reimers “Arse Reimers” and that they were going to single-handedly make it a thing by repeating it several times in every post. It’s actually not nearly as funny as you might think it is. It might’ve been funny back in primary school, but that’s about it.

Shorten Ainsworth when you are calling for him to kick it to you it would be Ainers Ainers Ainers . I guess thats why his nickname is bubba cos ers can sound like us especially with a mouthguard in .
Australians also say weathuh or foreva or mutha our er sounds like uh .So Ainers would sound like ......

Shorten Ainsworth when you are calling for him to kick it to you it would be Ainers Ainers Ainers . I guess thats why his nickname is bubba cos ers can sound like us especially with a mouthguard in .

I thought he was Bubba because of his baby face

Australians also say weathuh or foreva or mutha our er sounds like uh .So Ainers would sound like ......
Ok, makes sense...also Aussies have a strange obsession with the letter 'O'
Me, Davo and Stevo are goin' to the servo this arvo to get some peto, then off to the bottle-o to get some plonko, but Davo is an alco and might end up blotto then get aggro with Stevo who is a vego and loves an avo- there could be some biffo with Stevo goin' to the hospo in an ambo- his wife Juno would be devo coz she's preggo...oops think I made a typo, might need a smoko!

Brains works for me..or Brainy, Brainus, Brainsworth......or Braino.(bit like Draino?)
Anything is better than calling him an arseh*le all the time, he's just a young 'un!
Going by that video above, he's certainly got some mongrel about him!
Who knows, he might turn out good!?
The changes thread, amusing as always...

Simpson won their VFL B&F last year, not that that means a whole heap. Either way if Ainsworth were to get those stats against Brisbane I would never call him the A word again.

Also "we won't have any top talent walking through the door this year from the draft so we need to persist with what we have." - I think people were just slightly hoping we'd finally get to see X O'Neill given he was our first draft pick and a lot of supporters probably don't even realise he exists.

Changes for Round 6 v Adelaide