Changes for Showdown

You know how you were pretty critical of Amon for a couple of squibbed efforts last night, we'll go back and watch the replay of last week's Sydney game and you'll see Colquhoun short stepping it to a few contests as well. Not quite as glaringly obvious as Amon's last night but they were there.
You can almost bet that Amon will be given a chance to redeem himself next week. He began to do just that in the second half.
Fair enough I'll have to look back because I've never seen Colquhoun squib. For such a tiny guy one of his best traits is his lack of fear when going into the contest with the big boys. Have watched him in a lot of SANFL footy and AFL and whilst he has developed into being more outside these days than he started, he still has the gumption to get down and dirty.

I didn't mind Amon's game other than the well and truly over analysed failing to commit the body on a couple of occasions. This might sound totally outrageous but how about instead of dropping him the coaches tell him where to improve and give him a decent chance of improving straight away under AFL pressure rather than being back in the magoos.
That's definitely a fair and balanced train of thought, but for mine, the reason given for dropping Colquhoun was that he needed to work on his inside stuff. He was then replaced by Amon who had significantly less outside impact and showed a glaringly lacking inside impact. So IMO the coaches should realise they made a mistake and reverse it. But you're right and they may take a more measured approach.

Especially if his dropping did have something to do with the tweeting which would seem the only plausible reason IMO.

Young
Moore
Mitchell

I think the coaches now see these guys as depth only players. Would take something pretty amazing from one of these guys to become regular 22's.

I'm glad to see Butcher named at FF for the Maggies for tomorrow's game, hopefully they don't send him down back.
If they decided to drop Lobbe, I'd like to see Butch or Harvey come in if either has a good game against Norwood.

Have you watched Krak closely. He can't get to contests. He is out of position all the time. We play team defence and team forward structure and he negatively impacts that because we end up having to stuff him in a forward pocket so that he can make it through a game.

I love what the Krak is doing but he can't run, he's doing zero unrewarded running. Kraks clearly been dropped because the coaches would be able to see clearly in their figures what the astute fans can also see and that is that the Krak is just not able to keep up with the pace of AFL for 4 quarters.
Yes yes yes

Fair enough I'll have to look back because I've never seen Colquhoun squib. For such a tiny guy one of his best traits is his lack of fear when going into the contest with the big boys. Have watched him in a lot of SANFL footy and AFL and whilst he has developed into being more outside these days than he started, he still has the gumption to get down and dirty.

What were your thoughts on him after the ANZAC game versus Norwood in the wet? It was early in his return from knee injury but it was a very poor performance from him in the tough and wet conditions. Tomorrow it will be good to measure how far he's come since.

Yep he was terrible that day. Cut completely out of the play. Everyone has a bad day though every now and then and a 20 year old with a knee reco under his belt gets some forgiveness because of all the other consistently good performances he has put in. I mean Boak a few weeks back V Geelong was horrendous beyond belief but sometimes that just happens. Hopefully like you say Colquhoun comes out and has a ripper tomorrow.

Let's try to keep a settled line-up if possible. They won't drop Lobbe unless injured, and Monfries had a good game despite a few wasted forward 50 entries, especially in the third quarter.

I'm all for playing Krak, but there was something resilient and gritty about the team last night and it's worth persevering with.

Nullify Jacobs and you're halfway to beating the Crows.

then **** me, use Tom Jonas to do it, and let him play himself into form with a very simple task.

Re Amon v Colquhoun, quite different strengths and styles of play. Amon is quicker and more penetrating with his running and kicking. Colquhoun is an accumulator who gets to more contests and uses the ball neatly. For me, comparing them is akin to comparing Polec and Kane Cornes. Both ok on the inside but different types of outside players.
I actually think we need Amon more at present.

I don't get the negativity around the Hoon. He is a gutsy player who finds ways of getting stacks of disposals - what's wrong with that. His kicking has improved - my only gripe is his skinniness - and that's probably because of our fitness guru's,

I couldn't see Jonas coming back into the team until he shows some form in the snafl, and if he is suffering from OP as has been suggested, even playing at that level could be some weeks away, and as others have already suggested, if TJ had played against the wobblers we could very well have lost the game.

If Carlile is fully fit ( and only if he is fully fit ) he would replace Clurey, but if not, at least another week off.

Not sure if Amon will feel the selectors' wrath, that may depend on the form of a few other players for the Maggies against the deadlegs.

Injury? Not being saved for the Crows I should think.
No idea, but I'd say the chances of him playing AFL next week are slim.

Give Carlile another week off and let Clurey play. He was magnificent tonight. So glad we've tied him up contractually.
I'd give Carlile the rest of his career off personally. Whether its injury, lack of effort, lack of mobiliy, hes never been reliable enough to play such an important position.

Austin is another Hombsch, get him in.

I'd give Carlile the rest of his career off personally. Whether its injury, lack of effort, lack of mobiliy, hes never been reliable enough to play such an important position.

Can't agree with that. A fit Carlile is a gun defender.

I totally disagree. Carlile is a very good AFL level fullback