Changes for the 3rd Test

• Thread starter Thread starter Slax

Listening to this interview with Kim Hughes right now.
Fascinating character from fascinating time in Australian cricket.
Goto twitter account of Peter Donegan and
https://twitter.com/yoursportlife and click on the audio from November 7 if want a listen.

I find it amazing to realise when Kim Hughes was made Australian Test captain the West Australians did not automatically have him their captain. They picked Rod Marsh as captain. How bloody silly and awkward for Hughes and Marsh to deal with that. You are captain of Test side but forced to be made only vice captain in shield side with same guy keeping for your Test team. No wonder the tough times Hughes went through with Lillee and Marsh. He was younger, they went to the elite standard of World Series Cricket. He was not part of that group and when they came back the officials make it even more awkward. Social media would have had a melt down back then if it existed with such stupid decisions by cricket officials.
Also Greg Chappell was Test captain if he was playing in Australia. Hughes was essentially only captain in the tours Chappell would not go on overseas like in India. It was only after Chappell retired Hughes really had his own team to captain and mould.
Makes you admire AB even more, he inherited a train wreck of a team even before the rebel tours robbed him of another fifteen decent players, imagine that happening now? Then you look at the team he handed to Taylor, and what they went on, and did. If Smith can do half the job AB did, I'm hoping we'll be okay.

The same guy that averaged 30 for the whole season last year?

You do realise this whole time I've been speaking about this years form only, and the hard work put in over the winter to get back to where he was?

I know it's different, but he did have a brilliant run in the Matador as well, and that speaks to his form

I'm all for Doolan getting another crack but I have a clear Tassie bias!

Handscomb surely has a spot sewn up regardless

I'm not denying he had a shit 2 seasons. My point has been he's back to his best THIS SEASON. Anyway, clearly states above that I'm unashamedly pushing his case. Take it as you will

What team was worse. The Test team around 1978-79 when most of the best Aussie players played in World Series Cricket, the 1985-86 Test team when Lillee, Chappells and Marsh's had all gone and various players went on Rebel tours to South Africa to thin our Test options even further or the present Test side ?

Hard to say really, I do remember as a little kid I was watching channel 9 and the real cricket to me was the WSC Australian side. As a little kid I did not even really know what the stuff was on ABC. All i knew is it looked sub standard compared to the stuff in World Series Cricket but later on I realised the stuff on ABC was the official Test team. For me it was like going from seeing an AFL standard game to a VFL standard game on channel 7 for reserves players.

What I do know is present Test team and Australian cricket has no excuse like certain players are missing playing other cricket. We really are just in a serious trough of talent.

I reckon some of those guys playing on ABC in 1978 like Peter Toohey and Jeff Moss would get a run in current Test side. We are THAT ordinary right now.

Makes you admire AB even more, he inherited a train wreck of a team even before the rebel tours robbed him of another fifteen decent players, imagine that happening now? Then you look at the team he handed to Taylor, and what they went on, and did. If Smith can do half the job AB did, I'm hoping we'll be okay.

It still is incredible to think back how many Tests in short period of time Km Hughes had to play as both batsmen and captain when West Indies pace battery was at the height. That was cruel turn of luck. We played 5 Tests against West Indies earlier in 1984 and then in November started another 5 Test series. No wonder it took it's toll on Kim Hughes. There was no let up on or off the field.

Has Faulkner banged a selectors wife? I can't understand why he has been given only one test

If they go back to an allrounder at 6, I think he deserves a crack. The knock on Faulkner being less capable a bat than Marsh are borderline at best. Their FC records are very similar (Faulkner slightly higher average, but almost identical taking out Marsh's Test record), and if Marsh isn't working out, seems logical to give Faulkner an audition

Our Big Problem is finding someone to bat at 3. Khawaja is an opener not a 3. Could Stoinis work at 3. Or does Smith have to fill the void

You do realise this whole time I've been speaking about this years form only, and the hard work put in over the winter to get back to where he was?

I'm not denying he had a shit 2 seasons. My point has been he's back to his best THIS SEASON. Anyway, clearly states above that I'm unashamedly pushing his case. Take it as you will
Mate, he has made it passed the 20's once, so you'd be picking him off one game. Surely if we are picking a side of recent form Cameron White would be ahead of him.

The vic whinging about bias is sickening. Hodge is literally the only player who could call himself unlucky, and it wasn't like there was no competition for his spot. Hodge got replaced by Martyn in that season he got 203 because he failed in the matches after and it was proven to be the correct move as Martyn made a match winning 100 in South Africa immediately.
Hodge is far from the only unlucky Victorian, but batsman in other states would also have claims, so I agree claims of bias are silly.

From Victoria

Rogers should have been picked earlier, McDonald was unlucky to not play another test after the SA tour although it was ultimately injury that killed his career, D. Hussey I think was more suited to test cricket, but he never got a gig because his odi results weren't high class, going back further Jones was producing mountains of runs in 90s, but could never get another look in.

While Elliott could easily have played more test cricket it was more because he lacked the temperament and mental game rather than being unlucky. Maxwell's heading the same way with his want to play unconventional shots and needs to put them away like Steve Waugh and the hook shot, sure he might score runs, but he also gets out.