Changes for the Grand Final

• Thread starter Thread starter acuguy

rooke fumbled every time he was near the ball, i thought he was worse by a substantial margin.

I thought Max Factor did alright, considering Maxwell tried to use his head as a basketball in the first 15 minutes of the match.

Will be a lot better for the run IMO. :thumbsu:

So, we know that Egan is out. I'm assuming everyone will come up and there won't be any injuries. That said..

In: Prismall
Out: Byrnes

I am not one those who overrated Pris like some on here. But honestly why not make this change? Pris's disposal is light years ahead of Byrnes, who has speed and nothing else. Pris is another who could go into the midfield and would actually be able to DO something.

The Herald Sun really has no idea. Someone seemed to think that Hunt might be dropped for Tenace???! :confused:

And as others have said no way will Hunt get dropped. Nablett won't be dropped. We've stuck with him this long and really if your only going to put Charlie or Tommahawk up there I'd rather stick with Nablett

I think King should replace Blake who sadly found the tempo too hot for him in the Prelim.

I'd also like to see Prismall in for Byrnes (too many clangers for mine). Not sure this will happen though.

I know it would be a bold move but given Bombers like for a speedy, defesive forward (Byrnes & Varcoe so far in 07) I can't help but think that Djerrkura would be the perfect inclusion. His pace is outstanding and his strong body means that his tackles stick every time. He also isn't scared to stick his head over the ball and could go into the centre in a pinch. He reminds as a tougher, faster version of Stokes and one that could have a serious impact this weekend. It's a long shot but one I'd like to see.

For me it's

IN: King, Djerrkura

OUT: Blake, Byrnes

I know it would be a bold move but given Bombers like for a speedy, defesive forward (Byrnes & Varcoe so far in 07) I can't help but think that Djerrkura would be the perfect inclusion. His pace is outstanding and his strong body means that his tackles stick every time. He also isn't scared to stick his head over the ball and could go into the centre in a pinch. He reminds as a tougher, faster version of Stokes and one that could have a serious impact this weekend. It's a long shot but one I'd like to see.

For me it's

If the kid had played 8-10 games and was match fit I would totally agree with you.He is an excitement machine and will play regular seniors next year.2 VFL GAMES is just not enough preparation for a Grand Final.

For me it's

Ummmmmm, NO. Djerrkura would be overrawed by the occasion. Making your AFL debut in the grand final? And Varcoe played better in the VFL grand final anyhow. Yes, he will probably be a good player in the future, but seriously, including him in the team next Saturday would be suicide.

I did say it would be a brave move but this kid has more talent and guts than the other options. From all reports he's pretty switched on so there's no reason why he couldn't play. As for being overrawed, I don't think it would affect him any more than it will Varcoe.

It probably won't happen but given the choice of 3, he's the one I'd go for.

Djerrkura missed from about 15 metres out in VFL Pressure yesterday, he couldn't step up to play his debut AFL just like that... eh.. He'll be good in years to come though.

Out: Blake.
In: King.

The only changes, poor Egan, and will be hard to tell Blakey too... He's had a fantastic year.. and now this means he doesn't get either a VFL or AFL Premiership.. :(

So, we know that Egan is out. I'm assuming everyone will come up and there won't be any injuries. That said..

In: Prismall
Out: Byrnes

I can't disagree with that, his disposal by foot during yesterday's final was brilliant. His pass from the boundary that dropped on to Tomahawk's chest, brilliant.

I actually don't think they will make any changes. I don't necessarily agree but thats what I think will happen. I would go for King over Blake but I don't think they will make the move. They went with Blake over the past 3-4 games and so I think they will stick to that. I think Byrnes will stay. They won't play Prismall over Byrnes because they are different types of players. Prismall doesnt have the leg speed of Byrnes and they have constantly played that small quick forward that harasses the defenders. Therefore its really only Varcoe that could oust Byrnes but I don't think he has done enough to do that. Finally Egan would play if fit but by the sounds of Bomber, he must be still a way off. If Egan did play Im stuffed if I know who they drop. Rooke would be the one on the block but he adds so much grunt.

In: King and Prismall

Out: Blake and Byrnes (with a delisting to follow.)

Leave Nathan in me thinks as he would take another tall. He wasnt great on Friday night but he did set up two goals. Who knows, he might 'do an Ablett' and go NUTS.

Max
Hunt
Dasher
Dog
Moons

Matty Egan is my favourite player but with the above 5 injured/carrying niggles we just can't afford to bring him in at 80% (if he's even that fit). We need him to properly match up Port's forward line but we can't take the risk IMO.

I don't reckon we will make any changes.

Byrnes should be out but won't.

King or Blake? I don't care anymore. Ottens has to do the job either way.

One Change? In Varcoe Out Byrnes

Although Varcoe didn't blitz it yesterday, his chasing and tackling was a treat. On the other hand Byrnes is a fair dinkum dud who I associate with losing (can't help this bias). For this reason, I'd bring Varcoe in.

As much as I'd like to see Kingy elevated, can't see it happening. He looked slow yesterday, and at times he was outbustled.

Thoughts?

King in for Blake.

Blake couldn't get near it against Lade last time they played. Just doesn't have the size to match it with Port's rucks.

For me it's

I like your thinking. It would be a very very bold move but you are right about being a better option than the other two.

It would be a stroke of brilliance if it happened and it worked but it's low percentage and I'm not aware of any first year player debuting in a GF team. Won't and shouldn't happen

You are right - it probably wont happen.

I am attracted by the prospect though - it would be a great story - 19 yo first year struggled with injury, gets fit at just the right time to play in back to back flags in two weeks - the afl flag in a debut game.

Has anyone ever debuted in a grand final?

You are right - it probably wont happen.

I am attracted by the prospect though - it would be a great story - 19 yo first year struggled with injury, gets fit at just the right time to play in back to back flags in two weeks - the afl flag in a debut game.

Has anyone ever debuted in a grand final?

Not sure on that one, but the guy (Lower) who Port are replacing Wilson with hasn't played a game all year. :thumbsu:

Charlie Gardiner??? Both Catdog and Finrod should be committed to a mental asylum.

Mate lighten up did you not see the :D next to Charlie's name in Finrods and mine aswell

blake should definitely make way for king - he's going to be a liability against the port big men - king's the superior ruckman, has regained his fitness, is in pretty good vfl touch, and would back up ottens properly.

bomber himself said on friday that blake was a liability, that every time ottens went out of ruck we lost momentum...

seeing that port cleaned him up just a few weeks ago, and what an average finals campaign he's had, i can't see why king shouldn't be returned to his rightful spot..!

blake should definitely make way for king - he's going to be a liability against the port big men - king's the superior ruckman, has regained his fitness, is in pretty good vfl touch, and would back up ottens properly.

bomber himself said on friday that blake was a liability, that every time ottens went out of ruck we lost momentum...

seeing that port cleaned him up just a few weeks ago, and what an average finals campaign he's had, i can't see why king shouldn't be returned to his rightful spot..!

returnofthekingkx5.jpg