Changes Next Week

Never really a fan of Nahas at all, but last night when he went on the ball in the second quarter he gave a bit of zip around the contest, chased and harassed and gave us a bit of a spark. Can't drop him surely.

Batchelor should never be out of the team, he will be a gun you can tell by his approach and the way he moves.

I'd bring Tuck in for maybe Edwards.
Taylor in for White.
If Griffiths is fit, get him in too.

Funny how Kingy is now an automatic inclusion for most of us, when he was the most maligned player up until the halfway mark of 2010.
King must come in. I would keep the three debutantes in. No point playing any of them for one game and then going out. They all deserve to stay in on merit anyway.
Edwards was the most disappointing player for me.
In: King
Out: Edwards

Tell you what Gives me the shits.
We put blokes on a pedestal and others just cop it for turning up. We all know Rances limitations but if that's what the grog squad thought then footy is a wierd looking game through the bottom of a plastic cup.
I wonder what they thought of cotchins first 45 min though???
Not a bad word would be said and in any case they probably thought he'd had it 25 times.

I agree that there are scapegoats. Tivendale never got thumbs up when he had a good game either.

However I still think Rance was no good. He can spoil, i'll give him that. But he lacks awareness and he does get caught with the ball. Not great attributes for a backman. On the other hand, Nahas is much maligned but I thought he was one of our best.

As to whether the grog squad thought Cotchin had it 25 times or not, well that is purely hypothetical and does not back up your argument.

ins post taylor tuck gourdis grimes moore derickx .for starters.

outs take your pick. but helbig definately stays. didnt get a lot of it but what did you expect and how few times the ball was down there. reckon he showed some real good signs just keep playing him give him a decent go. if after 3 or 5 games hes still struggling fine send him back to coburg.

I agree that there are scapegoats. Tivendale never got thumbs up when he had a good game either.

However I still think Rance was no good. He can spoil, i'll give him that. But he lacks awareness and he does get caught with the ball. Not great attributes for a backman. On the other hand, Nahas is much maligned but I thought he was one of our best.

As to whether the grog squad thought Cotchin had it 25 times or not, well that is purely hypothetical and does not back up your argument.

I'm really not trying to back up an arguement tigerdan.Maybe I've been misunderstood I'm not sure.I certainly have nothing against Cotchin,I love him too! I have nothing against the grog squad. I do however think that Rance,who I have no firm opinion on at all played better than some would have us believe.
And I will maintain forever that you are tarred with a brush of one description or another as soon as you pull on a Richmond jumper .We all fall into it at times,Im just trying to promise myself not to.
For some that can mean shagging your mum and having it laughed of which I'm sure would be the case if it were Trent Cotchin, but if it were say Robin Nahas....

ins post taylor tuck gourdis grimes moore derickx .for starters.

outs take your pick. but helbig definately stays.

So you want 7 players to come in:confused:
Tell us who the 7 are that should be omitted?

Im now hoping for no change. It was only game 1, so they should all be given another crack.

Dont understand all the panic after this game that just about everyone predicted we will loose anyway.

So you want 7 players to come in:confused:
Tell us who the 7 are that should be omitted?

Im now hoping for no change. It was only game 1, so they should all be given another crack.

Dont understand all the panic after this game that just about everyone predicted we will loose anyway.

no panic at all. just what i would call an understanding of whos good enough and whos not.
no point putting games into duds wouldnt you agree.

hmm where do the 7 fit in. from there you can work out who needs to go.or is it 8 to go.

b batchelor- gourdis - grimes/moore
hb deledio - astbury - conca.
c newman - martin - grigg
hf taylor - post - helbig
f king - riewoldt - morton
r derickx cotchin foley
int vickery tuck houli connors.

no panic at all. just what i would call an understanding of whos good enough and whos not.
no point putting games into duds wouldnt you agree.

hmm where do the 7 fit in. from there you can work out who needs to go.or is it 8 to go.

b batchelor- gourdis - grimes/moore
hb deledio - astbury - conca.
c newman - martin - grigg
hf taylor - post - helbig
f king - riewoldt - morton
r derickx cotchin foley
int vickery tuck houli connors.

Out of interest (and sorry if this is hijacking the thread), would you have played Benny Gale early in his career? It has been stated many times by BG and KB that he got way too many games in his first few years. Yet he ended up playing what, 200 games? Do you see what I am getting at?

Funny how Kingy is now an automatic inclusion for most of us, when he was the most maligned player up until the halfway mark of 2010.
King must come in. I would keep the three debutantes in. No point playing any of them for one game and then going out. They all deserve to stay in on merit anyway.
Edwards was the most disappointing player for me.
In: King
Out: Edwards
Edwards was disappointing but I'd still keep him in ahead of King. I think King is now competing for a spot with White as a defensive forward, and on last nights efforts Whitey is a mile in front.

Always a spot for White on a wing I reckon mate.
King is in our best 22. Needs to come in.
I would drop Edwards and put White on his wing. Won't happen though.

Out of interest (and sorry if this is hijacking the thread), would you have played Benny Gale early in his career? It has been stated many times by BG and KB that he got way too many games in his first few years. Yet he ended up playing what, 200 games? Do you see what I am getting at?

simply put and im from tassie i have never rated benny gale as a footballer. well not in the same light as many richmond supporters do.
he became a solid citizen.

in answer yes i would give games to any kid who was put on the list for a myriad of reasons.thatld include gale.

put it this way after 7 yrs of jackson ive sen enough but with post in yr 3 give him more games lets find out for sure and quickly.

mcguane after 6 yrs sheesh i knew after 3. bugger mcguane. hes had 6 yrs give gourdis a go he can only fail at worse you never know he may be an upgrade on mcguane.

hope this answers your question.

its a balancing act but if we have a lot of ordinary players the only way to upograde is by playing younger ones. you may not always get an upgrade but at least you are looking.

I am far from nahas biggest fan, and I still don't think he will make it, but he took the game on and gave us every chance.

Edwards was poor but I still cannot work out how he gets out of packs sometimes. It's amazing.

But for me the worst 2 players were Newman and deledio. Our only 2 players who have played 100 games. Newman was cut up by betts and lids couldnt get into the game coupled with that screw up in the last that caused a goal. Also cotchin and Martin struggled to impact the game, especially in the first half.

We do not move for our backmen tho. We are so stagnant that we kick long to Vicks and Gus. Who are 3 on 1. I've also noticed when we kicked long it's more often to Carlton players advantage. Side note Vicks was pretty good, loved the Judd holding the ball.

Houli was okay, but defensively terrible. Didnt run both ways.

Conca, bachelor and hellbig all had great debuts and did things that made you stand up at points. Obviously made mistakes but the good far outweighed the bad. None of them should be dropped unless fatigue or injury comes into it. Games games and more games!

Rance was fine, needs games to really see if he can settle.

We are a very young and inexperienced side the 3rd quarter showed what we can do, but it's still a while away. No need to jump down the boys throats at the first chance

Half of you guys are dead set knobs. How many of you are stating your opinions after watching on TV or looking at the statistics after the game?

McGuane played great, crashed packs, made plenty of spoils and hes opponents didn't do much while on him.

Same goes for Rance, I think everyone is forgetting how many times the ball went inside Carlton's forward 50... If it wasn't for our backline we would of lost by 10 goals.

And the biggest laugh of all is all the Nahas bagging... take him out of the game in the second quarter and add 4 goals to carlton's half time score.
Two best posts in the whole thread. Both spot on.:thumbsu:

On Newman and Deledio, great first quarter by Newman then carved up by Betts. Poor match up though. We all know Newman leaks goals on creative forwards. I thought Deledio should have been thrown into the middle for 15 minutes to get him in to the game. I admire Hardwick for sticking to his guns, but you have to get your star playmakers firing.

People bagging Astbury are off the mark as well. Not a great game but its the first game of his second season. FFS, what do people expect?

If there is to be any change next week, I think gus is the one who was poor. Looked lumbering all night and we could see what Derrickx has got.

p.s. kainokaino, I'm stating my opinion after watching on TV. :D

Always a spot for White on a wing I reckon mate.
King is in our best 22. Needs to come in.
I would drop Edwards and put White on his wing. Won't happen though.
Don't think whitey gets enough of it to play on a wing tugga. He is a 60m palyer when he gets it, but would need to start getting the ball another 10 times a game to establish himself on a wing.

King for Edwards is a no brainer, has to happen.

I don't mind playing 2 defensive half forwards, if king continued his goal kicking form from last year he will be dangerous and with him up forward can allow Morton a run on the wing.

If the saints go in again without another tall or 2 up forward , Astbury gets dropped or can be the sub as we would be too tall

I reckon Deledio will tear it up, make up for Thursdays game and can see them putting an out of form Mcqualter on him

ah sml defensive forward. its become a catch cry. when are we ever going to say oh a small well rounded forward who can kick goals spend time as part of rotatyo=ions get a bit of the ball and defend as well.
bloody hell the lauding of white he was ordinary. the bar is set so so low at our club.
i wonder why when eddie betts got on top he wasnt given a go at tagging him.

can i also ask how many goals did carltons small forwards kick again with an emphasis on forward. and how many did ours.

ah defensive forward just another excuse for glass half full footballer.

Out: [Any of the following]
Helbig - Not ready for AFL level
Houli - WOG (Worst On Ground)
McGuane - Has peaked as a player and is not AFL standard
Nahas - Small who is 23 [!] and not AFL standard

Edwards would want to improved a lot next week

redneck

Rance (susp) - Gourdis
(surely he'll go for that)

Helbig - Tuck
(need at least one less bit-game players)

Edwards - King
(his touch is horrible ATM, go find some confidence)

Conca to sub for Batchelor, Connors to start on ground, big game or go join Edwards for a spell.

Out: Helbig, Edwards

In: King, Tuck

Thought Helbig tried hard but lacks polish. Edwards was pretty awful tbh

King to come in and Tuck to come in to actually win us some clearances - has to play in our team

In - Outs are based not only on performance, they take into account whom we are plays on...
St>Kilda have beaten us the last so many games (due to thier midfield), bid bodies, tackling. SO we will need a "big body" or two.
This could mean either Tuck, Miller (to assist on forward line), Moore (if fit) to come into considerations; Helbig tried hard attached the ball (the reason he was in the side, in the first place). Other possible omitions as l said early, will be based on MATCH UP'S.
GO TIGERS.

Hey guys, stay positive, otherwise keep "all the rubbish to yourselves"...