Unofficial Preview Changes/prematch discussion vs Fremantle (OUT: Swallow, BBB IN: Wood, Dumont)

Daw straight swap for Brown
And ideally Wood straight back in (will be suited to the Subi space) for either Waite (if the MRP want to go after him) or one of Ats (with question mark) or JMac (with understanding that not likely to happen).
Agree this is what should happen this week.

Daw in for brown is a must, give goldy some help v sandilands and Clarke in the ruck

Like you I would also like Macmillan out too

Your "ins" haven't even played yet this weekend.

My understanding is Wood isn't playing and is being rested, so your point is irrelevant. Plus he should come straight back in.

I like the idea of Daw getting a chance in front of Black if Brown is out. Didn't realize every selection is based off only one week.

Not having a go mate..... But he wasn't exactly on his own there was he??? Spitta, Taz, Wright, Hansen, LT, Ziebs, Luke, Basti, Cunners off the top of my head all had multiple shocking kicks last night.

Absolutely. Plus he took a very telling mark and did some other really nice things.

My comment was in response to those who want him dropped through poor disposal, which I don't agree with despite him racking up his usual amount of dodgy kicks (ala Swallow and co)

Your continued defence of players has become equally, if not more, laughable as Arjens proposed changes.

Just sayin.

Definitely more.

Arjen has left field ideas but at least there is thought and justification to it (even if not necessarily always accurate), but at least it's not just giving typically blind 'everyone at North is a champion' nonsense.

Just an opinion, and just some food for thought, there's guys running around weekly for other clubs that aren't as good as Majak.

Don't like statements of fact based on opinions, there's been plenty of games where our talls have failed to deliver.

Disagree, if we flicked him he'll be on an AFL *list next season and the season after and probably be given a third to make sure.

* court case.
Do you think he will be given another contract if he doesn't play some senior footy and put in some reasonable performances? I would hope the club is already chatting to him about an extension, but don't hold full confidence in that. And if he doesn't get game time, would he be tempted to do a Delaney and go to Carltank or the Aints where he would get a permanent gig?

I'm amongst his strongest supporters on here, but with his contract situation and for his football development, still think this is a huge year for Maj. I reckon he will step up in the seniors but has to break into the side. With Benny Brown going down, this is clearly his opportunity. We are one-third of the way into the season and he wouldn't want to be still waiting for games coming into the run up to finals. His name has been 'In the Mix' and his form is up there. If he isn't picked for the Freo game, where helping Goldy against the Freo giants would be invaluable and slotting straight into Browny's role is obvious, then I would assume he is on the outer with the coaching panel.

Those who are deriding McDonald's game didn't focus enough on the crucial one on ones he won.

I've been critical of him for his wayward disposal, and that still needs to be fixed up, but he was more than solid in the clinches tonight.

I've been one of McDonalds biggest critics this year but when the game was there to be won last night he threw his body at the contest like a mad man!

McDonald will Not get dropped.If Brown is Injured then MAJAK should come in.I want to see Dumont in the side.Not sure who could come out for him.

Do you think he will be given another contract if he doesn't play some senior footy and put in some reasonable performances? I would hope the club is already chatting to him about an extension, but don't hold full confidence in that. And if he doesn't get game time, would he be tempted to do a Delaney and go to Carltank or the Aints where he would get a permanent gig?

I'm amongst his strongest supporters on here, but with his contract situation and for his football development, still think this is a huge year for Maj. I reckon he will step up in the seniors but has to break into the side. With Benny Brown going down, this is clearly his opportunity. We are one-third of the way into the season and he wouldn't want to be still waiting for games coming into the run up to finals. His name has been 'In the Mix' and his form is up there. If he isn't picked for the Freo game, where helping Goldy against the Freo giants would be invaluable and slotting straight into Browny's role is obvious, then I would assume he is on the outer with the coaching panel.

I know you're a fan and agree that this season is important for Maj and him being at North. Yep he could play regular footy elsewhere.

He's 24, so age isn't a concern. I think we'd be happy with his continued development and with 18 clubs in the comp, I honestly doubt you'd get better value from a late Nat draft pick. Big guys aren't dime a dozen we'll give him ago this season for sure.

We'll offer him a contract when the times right, off field stuff needs to be sorted out. I rate him highly as a FF, could be unstoppable if he can run onto the ball and not have to camp under it. I rate his ruck work and see him as the archetypal 2nd ruck forward.

Even if he spends the majority of the season in the VFL I think we'll want to keep him.

Waite should get off. Just getting some practice in. For the next time we play Hodge/Lewis.
Out:
Atley, needs to get some confidence back.
Brown, rest. Too important for our future and with 22 games.
In:
Daw: not ideal game to bring him in, but don't want Petrie in the ruck
Too much. Sub him at 3/4 time.
Wood: cause I like him.

I know you're a fan and agree that this season is important for Maj and him being at North. Yep he could play regular footy elsewhere.

He's 24, so age isn't a concern. I think we'd be happy with his continued development and with 18 clubs in the comp, I honestly doubt you'd get better value from a late Nat draft pick. Big guys aren't dime a dozen we'll give him ago this season for sure.

We'll offer him a contract when the times right, off field stuff needs to be sorted out. I rate him highly as a FF, could be unstoppable if he can run onto the ball and not have to camp under it. I rate his ruck work and see him as the archetypal 2nd ruck forward.

Even if he spends the majority of the season in the VFL I think we'll want to keep him.
Agree with the first bolded, and hope the second bolded it the case. But I also think his form warrants selection this week and that he will justify it.

Why do you keep referring to his tank and smarts? How do you know the Daw 2015 model hasn't improved on the 2013 and 2014 models? From the pre-season and all VFL reports I'd say these are the two areas in which he has made massive improvements.

I just agree with everything you write because your avatar is Blighty. Sometimes I hit like before I've even read what you wrote.

I model my posting style after Blighty - mostly briliant but occasionally mind-bogglingly stupid.

Just an opinion, and just some food for thought, there's guys running around weekly for other clubs that aren't as good as Majak.

Don't like statements of fact based on opinions, there's been plenty of games where our talls have failed to deliver.
I would say welcome to BigFooty if you hadn't been here far longer than I have.

Don't expect Brad to make wholesale changes after a win, he will only make the one necessary.

Out: Brown (inj)
In: Wood

The week off will be good for Wood, and I think the bigger ground of Subiaco should suit him nicely. Hopefully McPharlin misses again so we can try and stretch them a bit down back.

Ats won't get dropped. Neither will McDonald. Gibson was alright. Massive in the last.

Brown looks likely to miss. I'd say he's the only one who'll be out.

On Brad's history when he makes them sub it is one step away from omission.

I actually don't think it would be bad for him even if he was.

For some reason on BF if someone is listed as "out" people are up in arms and get upset (unnecessarily, as being dropped doesn't mean they are crap, just an avenue to improve and gain confidence). In and outs are not reflective of players talent, it is reflective of current output.

I won't give you examples as i'm sure you are already aware of who I am referring to in recent years and it didn't hurt them.

I've been one of McDonalds biggest critics this year but when the game was there to be won last night he threw his body at the contest like a mad man!

Yep.

His disposal and decision making are average (at best), but he brings other talents including sheer will at the contest, and defensive strength and tenacity, that for mine he must keep his spot.

On Brad's history when he makes them sub it is one step away from omission.

I actually don't think it would be bad for him even if he was.

For some reason on BF if someone is listed as "out" people are up in arms and get upset (unnecessarily, as being dropped doesn't mean they are crap, just an avenue to improve and gain confidence). In and outs are not reflective of players talent, it is reflective of current output.

I won't give you examples as i'm sure you are already aware of who I am referring to in recent years and it didn't hurt them.

We have no one else who can provide what he can.

Needs to continue to take everyone on.

We have no one else who can provide what he can.

Needs to continue to take everyone on.

I like what he provides, he has rare ability to burn opponents but out of form for a while now.

If he plays next week that's fine, but if omitted I don't see it as a bad thing and would be deserved if Scott did pull the trigger.

I'd advocate bringing a small in for Browny if he can't get up. Land of the giants won't be as effective against Freo I don't feel, they just work so well to clog up the space in the forward line, and it's harder to exploit potential mismatches.

Freo win their game through workrate, spread and defensive pressure. Thus I think Dumont/Turner would be great additions.

Wouldn't mind also seeing Wood back in to work the flanks.

Did Brown hurt his knee last week against the Tigers?

Hope Goldy can bounce back to his usual best next weeek

As mentioned Daw not ideal for his first game over in the west.... how is he going in the VFL?

Would be disappointing to lose Waite or Brown, the three talls has worked really well for us. Last night it was Petrie and Waite, previous weeks it was Brown - one or two tend of get free or a mismatch to exploit.

Our four small forwards gain so much benefit also from having all three in the side.

In saying that if Brown doesn't get up I'd prefer Wood in than Daw - against a disciplined side like Fremantle we need everyone on the same page defensively, something Daw is particular poor at.

It will be hard to beat Sandilands in the hitout department but can exploit around the ground... could use Maj as third man up