Unofficial Preview Changes/prematch discussion vs Fremantle (OUT: Swallow, BBB IN: Wood, Dumont)

With Brown out, I'd like to see us just play the 2 talls forward and go with a quick small forward line and move the ball quickly.
I really don't want Daw to play, he becomes a liability for us and we lose a lot of run, meaning Freo would dash out of defence with ease on the larger ground.

Wood is much more agile and can play wing and rotate through the forward line as well, much more practical option than Daw.

Out: Brown
In: Wood

I want the forward setup to look like:

HF: Higgins Waite Harvey
FF: Thomas Petrie Nahas

Gibson did some shocking things (as usual by foot), but also some crucial things so for mine he deserves to stay.

Not having a go mate..... But he wasn't exactly on his own there was he??? Spitta, Taz, Wright, Hansen, LT, Ziebs, Luke, Basti, Cunners off the top of my head all had multiple shocking kicks last night.

I was thinking the same, but I dont think Waite has much to worry about. I think if Baguley got off last week, and Waite was already caught in the air, I think a fine is the maximum he would get, if not charges dropped. I think Brown would look doubtful.
For mine, Gibson is a worry again. I think if Dal Santo and Wells were available, he would be out. His poor disposal, at the top level, is really not acceptable, no matter how many times you get the pill.

His disposal last night was pretty good actually, maybe you are thinking of someone else?

Out; Brown (inj) Atley
In; Wood Daw

If Brown injured bring in Daw to assist Goldstein against Freo and Sandi, Wood to replace Atley who needs to find form in the VFL and Wood comes straight in after a rest.

I thought Jacobs and Macmillan were both ordinary, be happy to bring Dumont in for either but that is very unlikely. Basti had a great game so he cemented his spot for mine.

Gibson did some shocking things (as usual by foot), but also some crucial things so for mine he deserves to stay.

Your "ins" haven't even played yet this weekend.

With Brown out, I'd like to see us just play the 2 talls forward and go with a quick small forward line and move the ball quickly.
I really don't want Daw to play, he becomes a liability for us and we lose a lot of run, meaning Freo would dash out of defence with ease on the larger ground.

Wood is much more agile and can play wing and rotate through the forward line as well, much more practical option than Daw.

Out: Brown
In: Wood

I want the forward setup to look like:

HF: Higgins Waite Harvey
FF: Thomas Petrie Nahas
I've already mentioned it in thsi thread but if we went with this structure it would mean there's noone to give Goldy even the briefest of chop outs in the ruck as I don't think Petrie should be in there anymore. Against Freo of all teams I think it's dangerous to go in with that being the case.

Also, Daw played at Freo when we won there last year and IIRC he actually wasn't that bad. There's also the fact that he's been one of our best talls at VFL level this season so if Browns out as opposed to a tall that doesnt go in the ruck then he deserves first shot.

I've already mentioned it in thsi thread but if we went with this structure it would mean there's noone to give Goldy even the briefest of chop outs in the ruck as I don't think Petrie should be in there anymore. Against Freo of all teams I think it's dangerous to go in with that being the case.

Also, Daw played at Freo when we won there last year and IIRC he actually wasn't that bad. There's also the fact that he's been one of our best talls at VFL level this season so if Browns out as opposed to a tall that doesnt go in the ruck then he deserves first shot.
See your point, but reckon we're doomed if Daw plays. Doesn't have the tank or smarts to be an effective tall/ruck in the AFL currently.

Why do you keep referring to his tank and smarts? How do you know the Daw 2015 model hasn't improved on the 2013 and 2014 models? From the pre-season and all VFL reports I'd say these are the two areas in which he has made massive improvements.

When did this thread stop becoming about what changes each individual poster proposes and instead became about what a select few think?

Pull your head in.
Excuse me???
Why would I have to pull my head in???
Gibbo was enormous last night, and calls to drop him are absolutely laughable.

A few odd selections, look at the ground and opposition:

Daw has to come in if Brown isn't right, need ruck support and Daw is the 2nd best ruck we have and I am confident he can create good contests and bring the ball to ground for the small forwards.

Wood is a must as Freo have big mids. Mundy, Barlow and Fyfe would have an aerial match with Wood.

Atley has to play at Subi. Dumont lacks the pace so he sits out. I would bring Turner in before Dumont.

Outs are hard though, other than an injury to Brown.

Those not selecting Wood I presume have just forgotten that he was rested and not dropped. He just comes straight back in, no question. Wouldn't mind going in with a smaller forward line if Brown and/or Waite don't play, it would be a mistake to go back to Black at this stage. Black needs a month of VFL domination first.

Want to see Turner and Dumont again soon, not sure this is the week though. Really 50-50 on Daw, he is an obvious replacement for Brown but not sure he is ready for senior footy.

Why do you keep referring to his tank and smarts? How do you know the Daw 2015 model hasn't improved on the 2013 and 2014 models? From the pre-season and all VFL reports I'd say these are the two areas in which he has made massive improvements.
Absolutely agree with your sentiments. I guess FTS missed the NAB Cup and VFL games. Been pretty unanimous on here that Maj is looking much more like a footballer rather than an athlete chasing a piece of leather. His form of the previous week with Werribee was outstanding and last week's game was played in a puddle so his non-performance was nothing to get too concerned about. In some ways I feel it would be better if he were rested tomorrow or just played half a game, to be fresh for Freo.

Daw straight swap for Brown
And ideally Wood straight back in (will be suited to the Subi space) for either Waite (if the MRP want to go after him) or one of Ats (with question mark) or JMac (with understanding that not likely to happen).

He's good one week, horrible the next at best in VFL... Watch and see when he plays an AFL game, if he does... He is not up to it unfortunately for us.
Has all the raw athleticism, but can't convert that to AFL in a sustainable manner. It's because he doesn't work hard enough due to fitness, and he can't read the play well for a big fella. Meaning he becomes a liability on the field.

He will never be an out and out AFL player.

My only concern is our midfield and their ability to kick the ball to North's advantage going into our forward line.

Majak may struggle against the Freo-sphincter. Would rather he got some games against the lower sides like *.

Would hate to read on here how poor he is if we don't at least breakeven in the guts.

He's good one week, horrible the next at best in VFL... Watch and see when he plays an AFL game, if he does... He is not up to it unfortunately for us.
Has all the raw athleticism, but can't convert that to AFL in a sustainable manner. It's because he doesn't work hard enough due to fitness, and he can't read the play well for a big fella. Meaning he becomes a liability on the field.

From what I saw in the NAB Cup, he has improved his timing, positioning, and decision making and his fitness was already much improved in 2014. ANyway, only way to find out is from playing in the seniors and with Brown potentially out for a handful, this is his opportunity. This year is pretty much make or break for him.

He hasn't been horrible in the VFL yet this season. A couple of BOG's and a couple of ok weeks. Nothing horrible about that.

As for the rest - I wouldn't have disagreed with you based on previous output and I've previously posted what I think Daw needed to improve on to get another chance. The evidence is there that he has improved those things. So I think he should at some stage get another chance - this week even if Brown doesn't get up.

But you saying it's a done deal, put a fork in him - well all I can say is I don't think that's an accurate assessment at all and I hope he proves you wrong.

Just an opinion, and just some food for thought, there's guys running around weekly for other clubs that aren't as good as Majak.

Don't like statements of fact based on opinions, there's been plenty of games where our talls have failed to deliver.
From what I saw in the NAB Cup, he has improved his timing, positioning, and decision making and his fitness was already much improved in 2014. ANyway, only way to find out is from playing in the seniors and with Brown potentially out for a handful, this is his opportunity. This year is pretty much make or break for him.

Disagree, if we flicked him he'll be on an AFL *list next season and the season after and probably be given a third to make sure.

* court case.

To be frank I don't think it matters much who plays as a KPF for us, the Freo sphincter is gonna do what it does. What will be more important is that our big guys give a genuine contest, don't let the ball get over the back where Freo will have numbers waiting, apply pressure and take their (limited) opportunities when they come. I think Daw can do that, plus give Goldy a decent chop out. Our small forwards are the ones we need to produce the goals against the sphincter.

I wouldn't care if he had half a dozen touches so long as he made McPharlin or Johnson accountable, put on as much pressure as possible and laid a couple of crunching tackles (and we won, of course).

Of course we wouldn't be talking about this if Brown didn't go down clutching his knee.